OB/HAZARD RULES CLARIFICATION: I just received this inquiry:
I watched both of the videos and I didn't hear you say anything about this, but perhaps I missed it. This question came up recently at May ...
show more ›
OB/HAZARD RULES CLARIFICATION: I just received this inquiry:
I watched both of the videos and I didn't hear you say anything about this, but perhaps I missed it. This question came up recently at Mayors: do you get 1 meter of relief from the OB line on a hole that is designated as "Hazard" if you land in-bounds, or do you have to putt while standing out of bounds?
Here's an example: Last time I was at Mayors someone landed in-bounds on the island for hole 11, but he was basically laying on the rock line that designates OB. It is my understanding that on a hazard hole you do NOT get the 1 meter of relief from OB, so I told everyone that. Then someone else in our group said, "But you aren't allowed to have any part of your body out of bounds when throwing", which I was unaware of. So, essentially, he was put into a situation where he couldn't take his 1 meter of relief from the rock line to stand in bounds, but he also couldn't putt from out of bounds. What should he/we have done in this situation?
Hey bud. No relief on a hole that is designated hazard.
You were correct and they were misinformed. The point of designating the hole as "hazard" is precisely so that you CAN throw from out of bounds. They must take their shot from their lie (whether there is a fence uncomfortably close to their stance or even if they are standing in the hazard)