Michigan Intercollegiate Disc Golf Challenge Series 2010-2011

September '10 - April '11 • Mishawaka, Indiana
Mixed league
This league has ended.
No upcoming league rounds are scheduled.

About this League

Mixed league - 65 all-time players - 0 active players
$10.00 one-time player fee for this league
$5.00 ace pool entry
Now entering the 5th season, the Michigan Intercollegiate Disc Golf Challenge Series pits college students against each other in match-play doubles and singles competition on selected weekends throughout the 2010-11 school year. All matches are handicapped to ensure that all players can be competitive regardless of skill level. The series also includes a club division for non-college players. COLLEGE STUDENTS PLAY FOR FREE!

League News

Leonard Johnson   May 4, 2011 at 1:14am

Brennan Billow wins 1st MIDGC Book Scholarship

After dropping the lowest event score for the season, Brennan Billow edged out Kyle Jansen 442 - 439 to win the first-ever MIDGC book scholarship. This scholarship will cover the cost of his books for the fall semester, 2012 (up to $300!).


Leonard Johnson   May 4, 2011 at 1:10am

FSU Wins 2010-11 Season Championship

Congratulations to the FSU Disc Golf Team on their winning their 2nd MIDGC Season Championship! See you in the Fall!
Remember, all students play for free and will be competing for a book scholarship and berths to both the 2012 Michigan Disc Golf Championships AND the 2010 Michigan Match Play Championships!


Leonard Johnson   April 26, 2011 at 3:32am

MIDGC Finals @ Bluegill this Saturday!

Join us for the MIDGC Finals at Bluegill this Saturday. All those who have earned points this season can play in the first ever, singles match play bracket challenge for a mere $20. (Those who have not yet earned points this season, but who would like to play in the bracket may reserve a place on the waiting list by posting a note here! and may do so for a small fee of $30 ...which includes entry into a $100 ace pool and at least 3 chances on 3 different holes to win a $20 cash CTP!).


Leonard Johnson   April 21, 2011 at 4:04am

Match Play Bracket for Finals (theoretical)

Assuming all top points winners in both the club and intercollegiate divisions attend the finals, here is what the brackets would look like:

1st & 2nd round foursomes (after the 1st 12 hole match winners play each other and losers play each other, with all 1st round and 2nd round match winners, getting $10 per win)

Leonard Johnson v. Jeff Coates
Craig Clingan v. Scott Wilson

CARD #2 (top college players)
Brennan Billow (FSU) v. Mike Fox (ND)
Garrett Brady (SVSU) v. Randy ... more


Leonard Johnson   April 17, 2011 at 5:02pm

Scholarship Race Update

After adjusting scores (dropping the lowest of the possible 7 event scores to date), the following top five students in the individual points race will be vying at the upcoming MIDGC Finals to have their fall semester books paid for:

1) Kyle Jansen - 333 pts
2) Brannan Billow - 322 pts
3) Alex Franko - 251 pts
4) Greg Marcusse - 213 pts
5) Randy Gallagher - 183 pts

EARNING PTS TOWARD THE SCHOLARSHIP: Those college students who play in the match play singles bracket, will earn 30 points ... more


Leonard Johnson   April 11, 2011 at 5:45pm

LTU/Cass-Benton, Sat. April 16th

Join us for doubles at the new course on the campus of Lawrence Tech this coming Saturday. Reg from 9 - 9:30. Students play for free. Then, following lunch, we'll meet at Cass-Benton (est. 2:30) for singles.


Leonard Johnson   February 21, 2011 at 5:37am

Thoughts on the 2011-12 Season

Students should play for free. There are plenty of individuals/clubs out there with the player-base, the interest, the passion for the sport, and the resources, to sponsor a two-person team to compete in the MIDGC 2011-12 Championships. They don't even have to be the same two people for each event! $20 per 2-person team per event is all it would take. Imagine how fun it would be if every club represented in the MDGO, for instance, would pit 2 of their own college players in an event against ... more


Leonard Johnson   February 10, 2011 at 4:36am

Feb. 26th Meet at Rum Village

Because Wilson is not available for play on the 26th, both rounds of the MIDGC #5 event will be held at Rum Village. Lunch break site TBA. Registration from 9 - 9:30 at Rum. Hope to see you there!


Leonard Johnson   December 6, 2010 at 6:03am

Date for Finals Set - New Format Announced!!

Mark your calendars. The 2010-11 MIDGC Finals will be played at Bluegill on Saturday, April 30th.
This year, the format will include the first ever, Michigan Match Play Championship Bracket. The top 12 players in the points race will have the first choice of playing in a true match-play bracket with $400 added cash ($50 entry fee and a top cash prize of $500 to the winner!). The top 4 colleges in the points race will have the option of designating a player to compete for the Match Play Champion ... more


Leonard Johnson   November 30, 2010 at 5:09am

Updated 2011 Dates

Please note the changes to #5 and #6:

#5 - Sat February 26th at George Wilson/Rum Village (for ND)
#6 - Sat March 26th at Midland/Freeland (for SVSU)
#7 - Sat April 16th at LTU/Cass-Benton (for LTU)

Finals - Sat April 30th at Bluegill

Fall dates:

#1 - Sun Sept 25th Three Rivers (for Club Dead, our sponsor)
#2 - Sun Oct 16th Oshtemo (for WMU)
#3 - Sun Oct 30th Deerfield (for CMU)
#4 - Sat Dec 3rd Northend Riverside in BR (for FSU)


Leonard Johnson   November 3, 2010 at 1:12am

Top Club Player/Alumni Points Standings (after #4)

1) Pat Hawks (Club Dead) - 200
2) Mark Roberts (Club Dead) - 178
3) Leonard Johnson (Club Dead) - 168
5) John Bentling (Dogs of Disc) - 109
6) Jimmy Wiklanski (Mt.P) - 83
7) John Loose (Club Dead) - 82
8) John "Nacho" Norkowski (Mt.P) - 76


Leonard Johnson   November 3, 2010 at 1:07am

Top Student Points Standings (after #4)

1) Brennan Billow (FSU) - 214
2) Alex Franko (FSU) - 187
3) Randy Gallagher (WMU) - 183
4) Kyle Jansen (FSU) - 170
5) Garrett Brady (SVSU) - 162
6) Mike Fox (SVSU) - 148
7) Austin McCollum (FSU) - 120
8) Jonathan Porter (SVSU) - 115
9) Greg Marcusse (FSU) - 64
10) Jack Toscano (ND) - 47