Johnson Park

Wyoming, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + Tyler Lepsch › July 21, 2017
A
-  +1 votes  + Eric Klein › July 9, 2017
A
-  +1 votes  + Brandon Braisted › July 9, 2017
A+
-  -1 votes  + steve s › July 7, 2017
C-
-  +1 votes  + Andrew Pastoor › July 6, 2017
A-
-  +0 votes  + Joe Hermenet › July 6, 2017
B
-  +2 votes  + Kevin Stacey › July 2, 2017
A
Great revamped course with new tee pads and baskets. You gotta come and check it out!
-  +0 votes  + Jason Ponchahar › June 30, 2017
B+
-  +0 votes  + Robert Duck › June 26, 2017
B
love it solid course hard walk though
-  +1 votes  + Seir "Jim" Monroe › June 25, 2017
A
-  +0 votes  + Corey Matthysse › June 23, 2017
B+
They did get fixing up an old layout!
-  +2 votes  + Brad Mol › June 22, 2017
A
-  +3 votes  + Curtis Gardner › June 21, 2017
A+
Lots of elevation with a great layout.
-  +3 votes  + Ian Hamilton › June 19, 2017
A
With the new renovations, this course is by far one of the best in the area now. The mowed fairways, extreme elevation changes, pads, and baskets, this course is on its way to a whole other caliber. Very backhand friendly, with a lot of trickery as well as a few technical holes that make this course so fun!! I can see this course getting very trashed and can't wait to get some buckets out there to help with trash. AWESOME JOB EVERYONE!
-  +4 votes  + Chris T › June 16, 2017
A-
Thanks to a lot of hard work from a lot of different people, Johnson Park had new baskets and new tee pads installed on 6/15/17. A few holes were changed from the original layout, but a large portion of them remain the same. This course is a challenge with tight lanes and elevation changes.

Some of the branches need to be trimmed to define better lanes off the pad, but this is a hell of a course!
-  +3 votes  + Chris Lozen › June 16, 2017
A-
Played with the new tee pads and baskets in and a couple of new holes in place. Pads are great, both long enough and wide enough. Baskets are the Innova Discatchers with the infamous chastity belts. A lot of elevation out here with a good mix of flat, uphill and downhill shots. Most of the holes are open, but the pin placements add a good challenge. The three new wooded holes about midway through the course could use a bit more defined lines and brush cleanup, but they'll most likely beat i ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Alex Hull › July 1, 2017
A
-  +2 votes  + Erin Feeley › March 27, 2016
A-
Really loved the lay out and realizing the long history and considering the work of thievery, I would most for sure put weighted grade. Loved the elevation play and will defiantly go back.
-  +1 votes  + Josiah Lonsway › March 24, 2016
A
Kroll Layout, Temp Baskets, Blustery Winter day, beautiful views, elevation/ wind/ trees. Great practice course for most shots. Huge potential for larger holes. Worth playing.
-  +1 votes  + Scott Stacey › November 17, 2015
A
-  -1 votes  + jeremy woodward › July 30, 2015
F-
Not well kept in any way, spent more time chasing discs in the long (waist high) grass then we did shooting. 13-15 are unplayable with the overgrowth
-  +1 votes  + Michael K › August 26, 2015
A+
This is where I cut my disc golf teeth. I miss the baskets, wish the county would buy more, and that people wouldn't steal them. One of the best parks I've played. Posts aren't the same, but still a great park right after a mowing and on a cooler day.
-  +1 votes  + Shane Swaney › April 9, 2015
A-
Needs pad work
-  +1 votes  + Chris sias › September 20, 2014
B
-  +2 votes  + Durk A. Gordon › July 16, 2014
A-
needs baskets and t pads and this is thee best course around. I kinda dont even mind not having baskets or teepads this place is still awesome
-  +0 votes  + Eric Smith › June 27, 2014
C
-  +1 votes  + Nathan Nifong › March 24, 2014
A-
This course was the first one I played back in 1999(I was 8 years old). Last fall Tyler Frisbie and I hit up the course. It was a blast from the past. The constant elevation change makes for a challenging course. It felt really old school hitting the posts. This would be an +A course if it had baskets and better tees.
-  +1 votes  + Nick Bosovich › July 10, 2017
A-
New design is fun! Lots of up and down hill shots makes it something different in GR. Some cool shots, a few holes I would change but overall I really like this as an addition the DG in GR. Good amount of blind shots so play in a group but really and enjoyable addition, I will be back soon!
-  +2 votes  + Travis Lepsch › October 29, 2013
A-
This is my favorite course around GR. If it had baskets and pads, I'm sure it would soon become a favorite of many more people. Great quiet and open space.
-  +1 votes  + David Lancaster › June 14, 2013
B
-  +1 votes  + Alan Moll › June 1, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Adam Wurm › April 26, 2013
C
Needs pads and baskets, would be a fun course.
-  +3 votes  + Victor Wahl › April 23, 2013
A
Add baskets and pads and this is the best course in GR.

Ive only played here once and we had 18 baskets put in longer alt spots then the originals. Awesome course! A lot of ankle high thorn bushes though. I give it a A based on the way it was when i played it.
-  -2 votes  + Chris D › November 6, 2012
F+
First course I ever played. Baskets were stolen a decade ago. Used to be a fun little beginner course. A proposal for a new 36 hole course was shot down.
-  -1 votes  + Alex Stanton › September 8, 2012
C-
Hated this course. It really has so much potential! The "fairways" are knee high weeds, and its very easy to loose a disc. I left with cuts all over my legs and most likely poison ivy. I do not plan on coming back.
-  +1 votes  + Nate Smith › July 11, 2012
C
My son and I wanted to play a new course so we ventured to Johnson. Lots of potential with huge hills and a lot of land to use. We got lost a couple of times since all the signs are faded or broken. We were very surprised by all the great terrain and will play it again when things are updated a bit. My son thinks it is the best pole hole course he has ever played.
-  -3 votes  + Roger K › June 30, 2012
D-
Old style (post) no baskets. Need to be part Ibex to play here. Played in spring before grass, insects and poison Ivy started. Would not play in warm weather. Will not be back.
-  +2 votes  + Steve Hedstrom › October 2, 2011
B-
Johnson park is mainly a pole hole course now, after baskets were stolen years ago. The land is great and the design uses it to it to make some really fun holes. Tee pads are now mostly natural with some just totally sand and hard to run up to. Fairways mostly look like they are mowed once a month or less. Have some water and bug spray with when playing in spring or summer. There are some awesome hills at Johnson, so you get to shoot big downhill bombs, down and up, big uphill shots, trees ...
continue reading ›
-  +5 votes  + Scott Johnson › June 25, 2017
A-
-  +0 votes  + Anthony Mentalewicz › May 11, 2011
B+
baskets get this course an A
-  +1 votes  + Brad Fuller › May 5, 2011
B
Love johnson.
-  +0 votes  + dan carrigan › October 18, 2010
A
-  -3 votes  + Tyler Sherman › October 17, 2010
B+
-  +0 votes  + Randy Shreve › September 27, 2010
C+