Leila Arboretum

Battle Creek, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +2 votes  + Ken B › July 31, 2014
A
Extremely difficult, surprising course here. They have vortex baskets, which are amazing, but no signage and just put cement tees in. With some signs, and maybe markers on the baskets pointing you in the right direction to the next hole, this could be a world class course. I really had fun shooting a +15 and that doesn't happen often. *REVISED* Cement and signs in and pretty good. They have also been slowly widening some of the fairways, which was needed. A little more beating in, some trash cans and benches, and water/bathroom area, this will be the standard for pro courses in the area.
-  +1 votes  + MEAT BABY › November 26, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + William Maddix › May 1, 2013
A
Incredible course, expertly designed, in a beautiful park. Once it has concrete tee pads and signage, this will be one of Michigan's premier courses. That's what's holding it back from an A+. Right now it's not easily navigable unless you're with someone who knows the course already. And it's tough. Really tough. Might not be a good course for newbies just learning how to play.
-  +1 votes  + Dean Cugs › May 22, 2013
C+
All the things that come with a new course: questionable tee pads some present some not, unbeaten paths that make it tough to navigate, and no signage. Brand new baskets with webbed design inner chains. (Vortex Basket) These are sick! Great layout and usage of park. Leila offers an ace run on 9 and a picture perfect open shot on 15.
Mosquitos are ruthless from start to finish.
.
Few seasons and legit pads this course will draw crowds.
-  +1 votes  + Alex Schaub › May 30, 2013
C
The baskets are amazing! Good amount of variety though out the course that makes you throw every shot in your bag. The difficulty of the coarse makes it much less enjoyable. Narrow fairways in the woods, no signs (i'm sure they are on the way), difficult to navigate because nearly every hole is blind. Compared with the other great courses in the area I don't believe it will be worth playing as much as I had hoped. :-( Respectable but overall disappointing.
-  +0 votes  + Chuck H. › June 8, 2013
A
Love the layout. Obviously it's brand new,but once the tee pad's are in and signage is up...WOW! Very tough course that has it all. Long holes through the forest that require you to manage your game, big bomber holes with baskets protected by tall pines or tucked behind a small pond. Hyzer's, anhyzers, backhands and forehands. Really a challenging course, but fair. Par will be a really good score, because I don't see many easy birdies on this course.
-  +0 votes  + Josh Pena › June 12, 2013
C+
Do not go unless you are playing with someone that has already gone and knows the layout. The course is new and is overgrown, fairways are extremely tight with narrow shots and long drives. The tees consist of integrated paved paths and rubber mats, when we played we were told that the cement was in the works. the new gortex baskets are nice word of caution throw hard or your at risk of not staying in. hard course to play but with use it will get better.
-  +0 votes  + John Keeler › April 30, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Jordan Snyder › November 17, 2013
A+
Really great course now that teepads and signs are up. Might have to be my regular course from now on. If you can master this course, you can play anywhere. Good luck shooting par!
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Moran › May 18, 2014
B
Prepare to get your ass handed to you! 18 brand new signs, tees, and baskets laid out in a beautifully kempt park. Navigation from basket to tee can still be confusing and the course could benefit from the addition of alt tees for the casual player. Gotta be ON to save par on the majority of the holes. Probably more fun as a doubles round unless you're a masochist. Not the course to play on vacation with your mom.
-  +0 votes  + Ragna Bygde › October 23, 2014
B
I wrote a review about Leila a while back and its time to change it, there has been tons of work done at the course and I actually enjoy playing there now! there are actually lines to hit now! There are still some holes that doesnt have a natural flight path of a line but seeing the results made so far, Im sure its in progress! From a D- to a B in a couple of months is awesome and hoping to see this course as a course played by many and actually enjoyable by more players of different caliber!
-  +0 votes  + Michael Gearhart › May 2, 2014
C+
-  +0 votes  + Lance Rogers › May 14, 2014
A
Epic course. String together two or three near perfect shots and a great putt and you will have a shot at par. Definitely not for ego-maniacs nor the faint of heart. I would like to see a restroom, more trash recepticles and perhaps a practice basket.
-  +0 votes  + Steve Hedstrom › June 8, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Tom Bos › June 26, 2014
C+
Tough course! There is no signage as to where the next tee pad is from the basket & they seem to be a fair distance away. Spent more time looking for discs & the next pad then playing. Would rather go to Begg or other courses close right now...
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Fulkerson › September 5, 2014
A
Course needs Maps, or a arrow pointing to the next tee-pad, some are not that intuitive otherwise this is an amazing course and a competitor for best in Michigan
-  +0 votes  + Joel Cook › September 10, 2014
C
Didn't have too much trouble navigating the course. Tee pads with placards for the "hole" and the vortex baskets were nice. It just wasn't much fun to play it. There are too many courses around that I would rather play. This course needs a second set of tee pads.
-  +0 votes  + Christopher McIntosh › March 13, 2015
B+
I am a beginning disc golfer only one year into play this sport. All I have to say about this course is: welcome to the big leagues! I place this course in the division that Coldbrook park is in the professional division at least in my opinion. This is a fun course to play on but more suited to the intermediate and professional disc golfer, beginners(like myself) will get frustrated easily and not do good here. Is an 18-basket Par 57 single cemented teepad disc golf course within an arboretum. ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Forrest Omland › April 2, 2015
B
Wow! What a nice long epic course. Throw here a few times and you'll definitely become a better player. It could use lots of trimming and tiny stump removal (and more trash cans) but the signs and most of the tee pads are cool, and the place is beautiful. Tough but awesome.
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Hart › May 29, 2015
C
This course is a very challenging course. I would not recommend playing competitively. You will no doubt shoot really high. Like bogies frequently. Very narrow fairways and lots of trees. Not to mention long holes! The course needs to make the current tees pro tees and add new tees for regular tees. I do not recommend playing the course by yourself. Could easily get lost when trying to find the next whole. This is a course that I will probably never play again unless I want to go hiking and just ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Eric Brown › June 18, 2015
A
The best word to describe this course is purgatory, some where between heaven and hell. The toughest course I have ever played, played over 80 courses. Small miracle I didn't lose a disc. The toboggan course has a twin sister called Leila.
-  +0 votes  + Chris Flaherty › June 22, 2015
B-
-  -1 votes  + jonathan link › May 8, 2013
A+
straight sick. best around.
-  -2 votes  + Nate Best › May 31, 2013
B-
Great scenery, baskets, and some really memorable holes. However, some of the lines seem unkept, no cement pads sometimes no pads at all, no maps, bad direction to next hole. Could def. turn into a great course if a little more work was done to the little things
-  -2 votes  + Josh Noce › November 30, 2013
B
This will be a really good course once it gets beat in a little(or a lot) more.
-  -3 votes  + Corey Kieft › November 26, 2013
A-