Avalanche Preserve Recreation Area

Boyne City, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +9 votes  + Forrest Omland › June 6, 2015
A+
There are so many wonderful attributes to this course. Things are really improving with the help of the local club and the TLC is starting to show. It's one of the first courses I ever played and it's still my favorite. The view at the top is amazing and worth the walk. In 2014 new Discraft Chainstar baskets were added on the front 9 plus a practice basket. Thank you Boyne City! Trash containers and log benches at every hole, all new tee signs installed in 2015, and tee pad improvement in the works. Keep the reviews coming!
-  +7 votes  + Chance Randall › June 3, 2014
A
Great challenging course. The local disc golf club it really putting in work on all aspects of the course, new tee signs, tee pads, benches, and they have trash cans at nearly every hole!
Great mix of long open shots and tight wooded holes.
Breathtaking view from the 18th hole. If you're looking for a Pure Michigan disc golf course this is it!
-  +6 votes  + steve nolff › July 8, 2013
B
Nice course that plays up a small ski type hill. Pros: Nice variety of short and long shots. Good mix of tight technical wooded holes and open throws. You really get a nice idea of the variety of landscape found in this area. Plenty of trash cans and benches for us. The course is much improved since I last played it a couple years ago. Removing the fourth? hole, which could have an apartment complex and parking lot come into play was a good idea, though it created navigation issues for u ...
continue reading ›
-  +6 votes  + Marc Hamlin - Team Tilley's › June 1, 2014
B
I should first mention that I haven't been here recently, and I've heard that Boyne Valley DGC has began working to improve many of the "cons" I've listed below. Once their hard work is finished, Avalanche can easily be an A-range course. The course itself: Pros: A great hike through the woods on a beautiful piece of property. I love playing this course in the spring, but the morel mushrooms can get distracting. There is a good mix of shots as far as wooded/open and short/long. Lots of ben ...
continue reading ›
-  +6 votes  + Matt Toy › June 3, 2014
A-
If this course had more directional signage and hole lengths, it would be an A+. Not to mention the 1/4 mile walk between holes 15 and 16…there has to be a way to put a hole or two in there. This is a very challenging course, very fair fairways, and the view on 18 cannot be beaten. I played this course a long time ago when it first went in and it is getting back to it's glory days. Boyne City/Boyne Falls needs to get back on board with Michigan tournaments, it is a must play.
-  +5 votes  + Jason McCary › June 23, 2014
A+
Check it out yo! It looks good!
-  +5 votes  + Joshua Siwek › July 7, 2014
A
Update 7/7/2014 - The course continues to improve! The baskets on the front 9 have all been replaced by brand new chain stars, and more signage continues to crop up making the course easier to navigate. Once there's some solid & even footing on all the tee pads, this course will get the bump to A+ Update 7/15/13 - Played the course this weekend and it has received some much needed love and attention, my thanks to those involved!! The Tee boxes had been raked over and were respectably level ...
continue reading ›
-  +5 votes  + Sarah Archer › July 12, 2013
A
This is a beautiful course with the front 10 being fairly flat and open. The back 8 is very wooded and holes require some walking in between. The view looking over top Boyne city and lake Charlevoix once you finish is completely worth all the walking. Needs a lil work but has to be my favorite course.
-  +5 votes  + Nick Rockey › July 12, 2013
A-
+Awesome trails, trees, this place is simply beautifully carved out of a little slice of heaven! +Awesome elevation holes, with a good overall mix of wooded, longs and uphill / downhill shots +Gravel tees played great, they were firm and level, looked like they had just been raked out +A lot of love has been put into this place and it shows, garbage cans here and there, enough benches here and there. +You could play this as a 9 or 18 +Really good flow, easy to navigate +I actually don't ha ...
continue reading ›
-  +5 votes  + Tyler Skea › September 11, 2013
B+
Avalanche Park is an awesome challenging course with lots of nice uphill, downhill, and bender shots. A select few people have been putting a lot of hard work into it, and it's becoming one of my favorite courses easily.
-  +5 votes  + David Gross › September 12, 2013
A-
Avalanche is a beautiful technical course, there has been an awesome improvement of the course, better tee pads, and a cleaner course. We still need tee signs, but that's not due to lack of trying, we have out up two different sets of signs which have both been broken, thanks to Jason, Forrest, Bobby they have turned the course around and got things Rollin again, avalanche has so much potential, and with all the years I have played it I have never seen a bunch of under par rounds even in tournaments, it is challenging and deserves a good rating. Come play avalanche!!!
-  +5 votes  + Jesse Reda › September 28, 2013
A-
Great course, one of my favorites!
-  +5 votes  + Gary Bruce › June 2, 2015
A-
Avalanche has come a long way. The views are always good. The local club is doing a lot of hard work. Give these pretty haired Boyne boys some props. Thanks fellas.
-  +5 votes  + TODD URMAN › April 16, 2014
A+
If you havn't played avalance.in a while, you need to check out the improvements this summer. This course has has one of the most well rounded layouts around.
-  +5 votes  + Aaron S › April 19, 2014
A+
Great place to relax and throw some discs, it's a long course and lots of improvements over the last two years and many more coming along in the near future. The course is a challenge but no matter the players skill level, they can enjoy the experience and the scenery. Even if you don't play the entire course it's still fun to play the first half with not a whole lot of time commitment.
-  +5 votes  + Patrick Hood › May 16, 2014
A
Great course. Open long shots with rolling hills to tight shots through tunnels of tress Avalance has whatever you need. Lots of upkeep and great new tee signs being out up.
-  +5 votes  + Ric Evans › May 29, 2014
B-
Beautiful property & it's been getting lots of love lately, which it really needed. I wish it utilized it's killer big-downhill-ripper potential for a couple holes, and the tees still need lots of stabilization, but a fun course to play and tons of 2's available out there...
-  +5 votes  + Tony R › July 14, 2014
A
Pros: The setting is a beautiful. The course includes a number of forest types, as well as some old field/meadow holes. It has great variety, ranging from very technical wooded to open meadow holes. The course includes some long walks and takes a while to play, but the walk is very enjoyable. The course was clean and well maintained (except for the tee pads as described below). Cons: The tee pads. Almost all of the tee pads are sandy/gravel, and many were hollowed out when I played. This is a b ...
continue reading ›
-  +5 votes  + Rick Kole › August 4, 2014
A
The only reason this course got an A ibstead of A+ is one reason only. The hike. Although its not a great distance, it can still be daunting if you arent familiar. But i believe thats what makes this course unique as well. The topography and scenery are beautiful and challenging. From long, open holes to tight technical ones. This course offers a bit for everyone. In addition, the local disc golf club is consistently updating and maintaining the course to keep it fresh and also safe. My go-to course in the area.
-  +5 votes  + Alyssa Ellsworth › August 5, 2014
A
Challenging course with a mix of open spaces to practice long shots, and wooded areas for accuracy. Trash cans are at almost every hole which is nice because there is not much garbage lying around. The scenery is very nice and relaxing which makes for a great place to disc golf and forget about everything else going on in your life. The distance from the t-pad to the basket varies greatly from easily aceable holes, to very long holes that are a great challenge (hole 16).
-  +5 votes  + Daryl Michael › August 10, 2014
A
What a gem! The journey through these 18 holes is extremely enjoyable. A blessed view of Boyne City and Lake Charlevoix from the top of Avalanche Mountain greets the person upon course completion. Thanks a million to the many who have put time and energy into increasing the cleanliness, navigation, and quality of the course!
-  +5 votes  + Mikey "dreams" Grubaugh › May 18, 2015
A+
Lots and lots of wonderful things have been going on here in boyne city. Come enjoy this beautiful course, definitely my favorite of all time.
-  +5 votes  + Mark Mulka › October 14, 2014
A-
First time. Lots of trees,trails and hiking, I like that:)
-  +5 votes  + K.J. Becker › October 20, 2014
A
awesome disc golf course. very well maintained. cant wait to go back
-  +5 votes  + Jake Wilson › October 21, 2014
A+
This is a beautiful and challenging course. The view from hole 18 is unmatched; it's even better than the view from hole 19 at Hickory Hills. I've played quite a few courses around Michigan, and Boyne is definitely one of my favorites. Challenging for righties and lefties alike, this course is a mix of technical shorter to mid-range holes and longer holes that defiantly test your hyzer and anhyzer shots. Uses elevation well; hilly, but the paths are not too steep and are well maintained. I was ...
continue reading ›
-  +4 votes  + Rob "Zilla" Wiltjer › August 22, 2013
A+
I LOVE this course. It's tight and challenging. It makes you a better player by testing your accuracy. And the view at the top is always worth the hike.
-  +4 votes  + Kevin Reddy › July 4, 2013
B+
I very much enjoyed the course and the scenery along the way, with the long hikes between some of the holes. Course would get an A if they put in some new simple post tee signs to replace the nice ones that have been destroyed and are mostly missing. Concrete tee pads would also be necessary for that A. All that said, I do like the course, and hope to play there again. Even my girlfriend liked walking this course, and she hates disc golf - LOL.
-  +4 votes  + GT Foley › August 4, 2014
A
Great Course. Great league players. Sweet view from the top!
-  +4 votes  + Andrew Frykberg › August 15, 2014
A-
-  +4 votes  + Jenn W › September 28, 2014
A
Out of town visitor. Beautiful course!
-  +4 votes  + Adam Hubble › October 20, 2014
A
Challenging up and down wooded course. Great local supporting club that is improving tee boxes... making this course better each time I play
-  +4 votes  + Greg Marcusse › October 21, 2014
A
This was an absolutely beautiful course, great scenery and clean. The holes offer a variety of different challenges and vary well with distance. Just played in the 2nd annual haunted hyzer there as well, Tournament was well organized, nicely decorated/themed holes, nice prize payout as well, cant wait for the next one!!! This course has definitely become one i plan on visiting again and again and hope to bring others as well.
-  +4 votes  + John "Gentleman John" Wolf › October 21, 2014
B+
Such an amazing course! I may only have played it once at the Haunted hyzer but heck it was so grand! so well kept and planned out. yes some holes are far from each other thus why the B+ if I lived closer I would play this course a lot! I loved the fact that there were waste baskets at each tee! SO CLEAN!!! Much cleaner than Hickory in traverse my home course! Tough basket layout for lots of holes and good planning!
-  +4 votes  + Kyle Williams › October 21, 2014
A
I have seen a lot of courses across Michigan. After playing Avalanche Preserve two things came to my mind. The first was that it was an absolutely gorgeous area, the second was that it has potential for more. It seemed like the course was laid out very well, wrapping around the natural hiking area of Avalanche Preserve. It is not very often you see a disc golf course put in without at least taking a couple trees out here and there. It seems they have done a fantastic job of protecting the a ...
continue reading ›
-  +4 votes  + Greg Argyle › April 5, 2015
B+
I like the mixture of holes, it flows pretty well, and there all all kinds of different shots to test you. I really think that cement tee pads would be a huge improvement, kind of like the one on hole #2. I'm not a huge fan of fly pads or natural pads. The whole course looks amazing, and is a ton of fun. It's maintained very well. There could be some filler holes on the back 9 (I think from 15 to 16, and 16 to 17 - but don't know how it would work with blind shots and interfering with people bik ...
continue reading ›
-  +4 votes  + Chris Stone › May 7, 2015
A
Lots of recent work has made a great improvement to this course. without the walk from 15 to 16 I"d call it an A+.
-  +4 votes  + Jennifer Kuehle › June 1, 2015
A
A fantastic course, and playable for all abilities. The Boyne Valley Disc Golf Club, and the city have done wonderful work on this course. It's so nice to have the amenities available as well! The course is wonderfully maintained, and it's nice to have benches and trash cans!! Thank you for all your hard work, it really shows. GREAT course, fun holes, but rewards for good shots!!!
-  +4 votes  + Erin Feeley › June 3, 2015
A
Wonderful course to say the least. I was really taken back by the pure nature and the layout. Thumbs up and I hope those extra pins go up.
-  +4 votes  + Kevin Gillhespy › June 5, 2015
A-
Great course well maintained little bit of a walk from 15 to 16 other than that loved the layout next time I will be bringing a camera to take pictures over looking lake Charlevoix.
-  +3 votes  + Ryan "RMFK" Kretz › May 8, 2011
B+
Course was Beautiful! The view was awesome at the 18th hole! The course was a little tight at spots, but for most part is not to rough on an average disc'r. The bad part was after hole 5 or so, it was pretty much no tee signs at all because they were all broken off. Hole 11 is up the trail at 10's basket or next to the basket at 9 behind the old cellar. The post has a 12 written on it, but it is 11's tee pad. Not nearly as bad as a hike as everybody made it out to be. The worst part was the step ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Craig Miller › June 12, 2011
A
Course is long lots of up and down hills walking and shots and nice views of lake Charlevoix
-  +3 votes  + Jonathan Winslow › August 24, 2013
A
-  +3 votes  + John C. Worden › September 28, 2012
B+
It is a long, tough walk to the top. When you reach the summit, it will be worth it! Beautiful view at the 18th basket
-  +3 votes  + Marcus Clary › July 27, 2015
A-
I played this course for the first time recently, and I had a blast. Every hole was interesting and challenging, and the landscape and different shots made it a great experience. It's a bit of a hike but such a beautiful place and the view at the end was worth it. I ran into a guy named Forrest while on the course and he was out there working on improving the tee-pads on an 85 degree day. It's awesome to see someone working hard on their scene and course. The hard work shows in the course as wel ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Rochelle Wieber › July 12, 2014
A+
Great course and beautiful views along the way.
-  +3 votes  + Tom Snider › July 14, 2014
A+
Lots of trees but fun!
-  +3 votes  + Elric VanDerVenter › September 7, 2013
B+
-  +3 votes  + Justin Ducker › October 23, 2014
A-
Super fun course. Real tight with a good mix of uphill to downhill shots. Its actually the first course ive ever played ever. Real awesome layout but still needs a little more work and definitely more holes. Overall though its a great course and if your thinking about playing here you should do it because if not your missing out. Plus the view on 18 is tits!
-  +3 votes  + Josh Wiesenauer › October 24, 2014
A-
Just played this course and it looked great. The course was very clean with trash cans at plenty of holes. The course is technical with very tight lines. There a a few holes that are pretty open as well. There is a variety of shots with a lot of elevation changes. There is plenty of opportunity to add more holes if they decide to. A few long walks between holes but plenty of signs to get you where you need to be and benches to take a quick rest. This course was fun to play and challenging at the same time. The best part of all is the view from the top of the hill though.
-  +3 votes  + Adam Raphael › October 25, 2014
A
Great course! Great job done by the volunteers keeping the course up to par! Looking forward to more course improvements.
-  +3 votes  + TJ Meisterheim › October 25, 2014
A-
Had an amazing time at the Haunted Hyzer a few weeks ago. The course is beautiful. I think some of the extra holes should get put in permanently, not only because it's a fun course, but to reduce the long walks between some of the holes. This is probably my favorite course in this part of Michigan.
-  +3 votes  + Uncle Todd-CJLP President "Disc Golf Course Design" › November 4, 2014
A-
I love all the improvements to the course. It was way overdue and impressed by the local club! Keep up the good works friends :)
-  +3 votes  + William Fuller › October 27, 2014
A
The course is looking great the new baskets are so much better. The new benches are really nice when you need a rest. And when the city keeps it mowed it looks really nice. It will be even better when all the tee sings are done. The course is one of the best courses in Michigan . The only thing that would make it better is cement tee pads it would get a lot more use because a lot of people are worried about twisting a ankle on some of the pads. But I love the course.
-  +3 votes  + Robb Bernstein › October 27, 2014
A
The course at Avalanche Mountain has some of the best disc golf holes and is one of the oldest courses in Northern Michigan. This course is a challenge for all levels of players, but an all around really fun course. The Boyne Valley Disc Golf Club has worked really hard to improve the course such as, new tee pads, and new baskets.
-  +3 votes  + Amy Gee › October 28, 2014
A-
As a regular player at Avalanche, I must admit that it spoils me. The course offers a great deal of challenge and different types of hole layouts. Even after playing courses from Grand Rapids to Marquette, it is by far my favorite. I look forward to future course improvements and hopefully some additional holes in 2015!
-  +3 votes  + Sammy "Two Toes" Kantola › October 30, 2014
B+
+ Avalanche is the fastest growing course in the surrounding area, thanks to the cohesive community/city involvement and the extremely dedicated Boyne Valley DGC. New trails, well kept fairways, new baskets, no trash. The BVDGC is certainly raising the bar for all other courses and clubs, leading by example, and looking good while doing it. +Avalanche leaves very little to be desired in it's course design. Featuring unique holes, elevation change, tight woods and open fairways, no two holes f ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Matthew Bloom "Team Carly's Angels" › July 13, 2015
A+
Loved playing this course, I really loved how you every kind of shot your looking for in a disc golf course;there's open shots, there's woods shot; everything you could want. The only thing I would like to see would be cement tee pads, but besides that a great course
-  +3 votes  + Christopher Kirby › November 4, 2014
A-
This course was a very pleasant surprise. The scenery was amazing, especially late in the year when all the leaves change colors. The course itself is very well maintained and easy to navigate. It has a good mixture of right and left holes, with some being very technical. The only negative thing I can really say about the course itself is that it is lacking tee pads. Overall excellent course!
-  +3 votes  + Russell Van Horn › November 4, 2014
A
Love the course. It has a great mix of open shots, and tight technical ones. The course maintenance and appearance is constantly improving. I would love to see 6 more baskets added where there are long stretches between baskets.
-  +3 votes  + Aaron Himmelspach › April 12, 2015
A+
Avalanche is a challenging and beautiful course. Be sure to warm up at the new practice basket and huge field for driving. The league welcomes newcomers and pros with open arms. Awesome experience with awesome people.
-  +3 votes  + Martin Kirk › April 19, 2015
A-
This was the first official Northern Michigan course I played and I really enjoy this course. The only 2 issues I have with it are the tee pads having divots that could twist an ankle (which i know are being worked on), and hole 16 being so difficult to par lol :P ....maybe I'm just not good enough to part it yet. Either way this course is definitely one of my favorites and overall I am happy with it :)
-  +3 votes  + Chad Jones › May 27, 2015
A-
Really enjoy playing the Boyne Avalanche Preserve course. Its challenging and has some of the best views Northern Mi. has to offer. It is a top level course with great locals and club always a pleasure to play there. The only thing is it could use tee pads. although the dirt ones are well maintained. Tee pads would make a great difference to game play and safety. This is just a minor detail if you haven't played here yet you definitely need to put it on your to do list. Northern Michigan has great courses to offer and this is for sure one of the top courses in the North.
-  +3 votes  + Brian k › May 28, 2015
A-
No concrete

Awesome corse big rips nice baskets
-  +3 votes  + Bryan Murphy › June 2, 2015
A-
Great combo of open and tight technical wooded holes. The only thing I would possibly tweak would be a couple basket placements on the shorties to make them more of death putts to add more of a challenge. Great course though, very clean and taken care of. Can't wait for more permanent holes and tee pads
-  +3 votes  + devin simon › June 3, 2015
A-
Its a great course with good assortment of holes first course i've ever played and its come a long way. and is only getting better. It is a bit of a walk but worth it with a great view at the end. if you haven't played it you should. thanks everyone for the work you done to this course.
-  +3 votes  + anthony carpenter › June 4, 2015
A
Being one of the older coarses in northern Michigan it was the most out dated for the longest time, but as of recent it seems to be progressively getting better. I played a tournament there last weekend and had observed the new tee signs that look amazing and depicts an appropriate overhead view of the hole. I was also very pleased to find that their was some sort of seating on nearly every hole which is almost a necessity when it comes to a very broad range of terrain like this coarse has. Tee ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Nathan Frischkorn › June 8, 2015
A-
Avalanche Mountain is a very nice course, and the Avalanche Mountain Open was a well done tournament. I liked the mix of shots, and I thought the alternate holes were very well thought out and could actually all be made into permanent holes, resulting in a nice 24 hole course. The only cons that I noticed were that some of the teepads were in rough shape, and the walk between 15 and 16 was rough. All in all, a nice course on some beautiful property with an absolutely killer view at the top. Well worth the hiking when you get to that point
-  +3 votes  + Dave Maddox › June 12, 2015
A-
Heavily wooded, big hills and amazing scenery. Over all an excellent course and very characteristic of what we enjoy playing up here. Lots of work done within the last year is kicking this place up a few notches. The new baskets and tee signs are AWESOME!..benches and trash cans at every pin are always a huge bonus! This course is great as 18, but would be even better to see some of the temporary holes used in tournaments made permanent so it loops back to the bottom of the hill easier instead o ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Scott Thoren › June 15, 2015
A-
Played during the Avalanche Open. Well maintained, little to no trash on course. Much of it was more hike than disc golf so the extra holes were needed so I didn't feel like I was just on a nature walk. The whole course is beautiful as well, and when you get to the top you wish you brought your camera.
-  +3 votes  + Miles Chisholm › June 19, 2015
A
This is one of my favorite courses. Played a few times and still itching to go back and play some more. Course is challenging but clean and well maintained. The view from the top of the hill is worth the walk itself. Every time I go back I make new friends because the locals are awesome. Definitely should check this course out. Some may relate this course to Hickory Hills but add some more intensity to the walk. Hope you enjoy.
-  +3 votes  + William hasseld › June 19, 2015
A
Play here all the time this course is very well put together and maintained. Thanks to everyone who takes the time to keep this course beautiful!!
-  +3 votes  + Anthony Barrientoz › June 19, 2015
A-
I have only played this course twice now and wish I lived a little bit closer so I could come out to the course more often. Very enjoyable course, very clean the times I have been there. I let everyone know about the amazing time I had at their haunted hyzer tournament and how great the course was! The club definitely knows how to throw an awesome event! Will be back!
-  +3 votes  + RYAN KASPER › June 19, 2015
A
Course is awesome.. tee pads need work.. CONCRETE
-  +3 votes  + Matt Wixson › June 20, 2015
A
This was the first course I ever played, and I've loved it and disc golf since! It's just enough of everything to keep players on their toes and alert. Love the location see well. Only thing I could see improving this course would be adding more homes permanently as I've heard rumors about since this season began; that and the two rubber tee pads are just odd and hard to play or adjust to, especially since there's only two, which I never understood anyways.
-  +3 votes  + james-JOSH- russell › July 12, 2015
B-
Every hole on this course is awesome! Nice mix of short technical, mid technical, long technical, and a couple of open-long bomber holes. The view from the 18'th basket from the top of the mountain is priceless! Bring your camera. Cons- The course plays its way winding up the mountain and several of the holes use some of the existing walking path as part or most of its fairways. I saw at least a dozen hikers and hitting one of them is a definite concern. But mostly its the long walk up hill from ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + jeremy wiesenauer › July 13, 2015
A+
I had an awesome time and enjoy the tournaments. Wish I could make it out more often. Kinda bummed about the prize for second place in am3(disc and a clipboard) but the fun and exciting action made it well worth it. Well done. Look forward to More local tourneys. Been playing there for 8-9 years now and have watched the course become a work of art. The disc golf club has made multiple improvements and they have went above and beyond toake sure that everyone can enjoy the disc golf and what north ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Scott Lammers › July 13, 2015
A-
Avalanche has always been one of my Northern Michigan favorites.The work you guys have done in the last few years and the mowing makes Avalanche one of the prettiest and best kept courses in the state(and the views don't hurt either).Put carpet or cement tees on every hole and It would be rated an A+.
-  +3 votes  + Johnnie Leigh › July 13, 2015
B
The course very nice and i had fun playing it, i would like to see different teepads. Either all concrete teepads or teepads like #2 with the stone tile. thats all that i wasnt a big fan of about it.
-  +3 votes  + Bryce Kennedy › July 13, 2015
B+
Great course & lots of improvements recently by the Boyne Valley Disc Golf Club make this a very enjoyable, yet challenging course. A variety of different shots required to navigate the course, some wooded, some wide open. There are some long walks between holes, but the signage makes it very easy to find the next hole.
-  +3 votes  + aaron clark › July 14, 2015
A-
Wonderful course. Some pretty challenging holes that, personally, take some smart golf to play, a good change-up from the easy duece holes I've seen more often. Not saying a 2 isn't going to happen but if you go for too much and miss you could easily be looking at a 4 and even a 5 on some holes. Has some great teesigns but could use some new teepads. All except a couple are natural and the others are tiny rubber pads and one tile pad. Which are okay until they get wet, then they are pretty slick ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Beau Tillotson › July 15, 2015
A
Avalanche Preserve is an excellent course to play for both beginners and advanced players. The course has beautiful scenery all the way through. It is very clean with trash receptacles and bench seating at every hole. There are good people behind the advancing of this course. It is already a wonderful course that is constantly improving. I recommend all to experience this course and once you finish the 18th hole, you can enjoy the view of the city and the lake at the top of the hill.
-  +3 votes  + Zac Cauchy › July 15, 2015
B+
Concrete teepads would make it an A-. There are some inordinately long gaps between holes which I would say makes the 18 hole layout a B, but tournaments generally fill those in a little bit.
-  +3 votes  + Hunter Brisson › July 23, 2015
A
Awesome course. The club has put in a lot of hard work to get it to this point and it shows. Great mix of shots, great signage, and a plethora of trashcans and benches make this course one of my favorites. Just waiting on some concrete tees and it'll be an A+.
-  +3 votes  + Cam Muller › July 23, 2015
A-
The guys have done a great job with the course! You can tell there are a lot of people working to constantly improve this wonderful golf course. Love the temp baskets added during tournaments and events, they make this course top notch. Would like to see the tee pads improved on a few of the holes. All in all of you get the chance to visit Boyne city do not pass up the chance to toss at Avalanche
-  +2 votes  + Kyle Mihatsch---Team Tilley's › June 1, 2015
B+
More classic northern michigan disc golf here. Set in beautiful hardwood forrest on a ski hill this course uses its elevation very well playing up the mountain with a good variety of shots. Almost every hole on this course is "deucable" yet the holes still demand accurate and fun shots. Any skill level can enjoy this course. There are few cons to this course but they need to be listed. Concrete tees would be great but the gravel pads that are currently there are in great shape and are some of t ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Cal Benke- Team Tilley's › November 12, 2010
B
Some long walks. Get more baskets. View on 18 is worth the walk.
-  +2 votes  + Cole Morison › July 8, 2013
A-
-  +2 votes  + Bob Knapp › June 15, 2013
B+
Nice course. Other reviews are accurate about the walking....I was convinced that I must have missed some holes after walking 1/4 mile between some holes. Locals were very kind -- the views are amazing.
-  +2 votes  + Brian Reisig › July 9, 2013
B+
love the woods nice and technical shots make you work for par or birdie tee pads were not bad but not great
-  +2 votes  + Josh Romstadt › July 10, 2013
A+
-  +2 votes  + Eric Lucyk › July 16, 2013
A
-  +2 votes  + Chris Mascho › July 30, 2013
C+
Great course. Put in cement teepads and i'll up my review big time.
-  +2 votes  + Mitchell O'Brien › May 31, 2015
A

-  +2 votes  + Donnie Murphy › June 18, 2015
B+
-  +1 votes  + Justin Andre › June 6, 2011
B-
Course needs some LOVING..... or we need to whoop the individuals that have destroyed all the Tee Signs. Definately would be nice to see some more baskets added to shorten those long walks... View at 18 Beautiful!!!
-  +1 votes  + bryon figueroa › March 22, 2012
B
Great variety of shots awesome nature walk very fun,some shotty baskets on first 5 holes and a few strange tee box placements
-  +1 votes  + Brian Carroll › April 8, 2011
B
The holes were excellent to play but for our first time on the course, we had to walk up nearly every fairway before throwing because the tee signs were torn off or removed. Can see where this course is challenging when full bloom.....lots of walking, more walking than I have done in some time.
-  +1 votes  + Philip Penzien › July 30, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + Angel Gilbert › August 27, 2012
A
I have played this course in 05,06, and in 07. I really liked this course almost stepped on a snake on this course all curled up ready to strike. cant wait to go back up there and play it again.
-  +1 votes  + Jammer Gross "Team Tilley's" › August 29, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Bill Towne › June 12, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + Eric Grinwis › June 30, 2013
B
-  +1 votes  + Robert Wagner › July 11, 2014
B+
-  +1 votes  + Raechel Massey › July 30, 2015
B+
Great course, lots of birdie opportunities. A little hike beween a few holes but always a fun round.
-  -3 votes  + Josh Wieschowski › June 23, 2011
C+
Long course, we played after several rounds at other courses so we were tested. Beautiful scenery, the only thing holding this course back...........there needs to be a down hill bomber for the last hole, throwing out toward the rink. It was lame to walk the steps out instead of letting a few rip at a basket. Vandalism was prevelant at pretty much every hole.
-  -5 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf- › September 8, 2011
C-
-  -7 votes  + john carter › May 17, 2012
C+
Dnt know the date I played this course
-  -8 votes  + john jeff carter › April 22, 2012
C-
this couse is alot of walking some holes 100 yrds some 2to8 hundred yrds to get to the next hole alot of differnt holes in wood and open most are very fare they back nine follows a snowmoble tail so the farways are close together did i say alot of walking!!!!!!!