Avalanche Preserve Recreation Area

Boyne City, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +7 votes  + Forrest Omland › July 5, 2014
A+
There are so many wonderful attributes to this course. Things are really improving with the help of the local club and the TLC is starting to show. It's one of the first courses I ever played and it's still my favorite. The view at the top is amazing and worth the walk. June '14 update: new Discraft Chainstar baskets on the front 9 plus a practice basket (thank you Boyne City!) and several log benches added too.
-  +7 votes  + Chance Randall › June 3, 2014
A
Great challenging course. The local disc golf club it really putting in work on all aspects of the course, new tee signs, tee pads, benches, and they have trash cans at nearly every hole!
Great mix of long open shots and tight wooded holes.
Breathtaking view from the 18th hole. If you're looking for a Pure Michigan disc golf course this is it!
-  +5 votes  + Joshua Siwek › July 7, 2014
A
Update 7/7/2014 - The course continues to improve! The baskets on the front 9 have all been replaced by brand new chain stars, and more signage continues to crop up making the course easier to navigate. Once there's some solid & even footing on all the tee pads, this course will get the bump to A+ Update 7/15/13 - Played the course this weekend and it has received some much needed love and attention, my thanks to those involved!! The Tee boxes had been raked over and were respectably level ...
continue reading ›
-  +5 votes  + steve nolff › July 8, 2013
B
Nice course that plays up a small ski type hill. Pros: Nice variety of short and long shots. Good mix of tight technical wooded holes and open throws. You really get a nice idea of the variety of landscape found in this area. Plenty of trash cans and benches for us. The course is much improved since I last played it a couple years ago. Removing the fourth? hole, which could have an apartment complex and parking lot come into play was a good idea, though it created navigation issues for u ...
continue reading ›
-  +5 votes  + Sarah Archer › July 12, 2013
A
This is a beautiful course with the front 10 being fairly flat and open. The back 8 is very wooded and holes require some walking in between. The view looking over top Boyne city and lake Charlevoix once you finish is completely worth all the walking. Needs a lil work but has to be my favorite course.
-  +5 votes  + Nick Rockey › July 12, 2013
A-
+Awesome trails, trees, this place is simply beautifully carved out of a little slice of heaven! +Awesome elevation holes, with a good overall mix of wooded, longs and uphill / downhill shots +Gravel tees played great, they were firm and level, looked like they had just been raked out +A lot of love has been put into this place and it shows, garbage cans here and there, enough benches here and there. +You could play this as a 9 or 18 +Really good flow, easy to navigate +I actually don't ha ...
continue reading ›
-  +5 votes  + David Gross › September 12, 2013
A-
Avalanche is a beautiful technical course, there has been an awesome improvement of the course, better tee pads, and a cleaner course. We still need tee signs, but that's not due to lack of trying, we have out up two different sets of signs which have both been broken, thanks to Jason, Forrest, Bobby they have turned the course around and got things Rollin again, avalanche has so much potential, and with all the years I have played it I have never seen a bunch of under par rounds even in tournaments, it is challenging and deserves a good rating. Come play avalanche!!!
-  +5 votes  + Gary Bruce › April 9, 2014
B-
Avalanche has come a long way. The views are always good. The local club is doing a lot of hard work. Can't wait to play on the new baskets.
-  +5 votes  + TODD URMAN › April 16, 2014
A+
If you havn't played avalance.in a while, you need to check out the improvements this summer. This course has has one of the most well rounded layouts around.
-  +5 votes  + Aaron S › April 19, 2014
A+
Great place to relax and throw some discs, it's a long course and lots of improvements over the last two years and many more coming along in the near future. The course is a challenge but no matter the players skill level, they can enjoy the experience and the scenery. Even if you don't play the entire course it's still fun to play the first half with not a whole lot of time commitment.
-  +5 votes  + Patrick Hood › May 16, 2014
A
Great course. Open long shots with rolling hills to tight shots through tunnels of tress Avalance has whatever you need. Lots of upkeep and great new tee signs being out up.
-  +5 votes  + Marc Hamlin - Team Tilley's › June 1, 2014
B
I should first mention that I haven't been here recently, and I've heard that Boyne Valley DGC has began working to improve many of the "cons" I've listed below. Once their hard work is finished, Avalanche can easily be an A-range course. The course itself: Pros: A great hike through the woods on a beautiful piece of property. I love playing this course in the spring, but the morel mushrooms can get distracting. There is a good mix of shots as far as wooded/open and short/long. Lots of ben ...
continue reading ›
-  +5 votes  + Matt Toy › June 3, 2014
A-
If this course had more directional signage and hole lengths, it would be an A+. Not to mention the 1/4 mile walk between holes 15 and 16…there has to be a way to put a hole or two in there. This is a very challenging course, very fair fairways, and the view on 18 cannot be beaten. I played this course a long time ago when it first went in and it is getting back to it's glory days. Boyne City/Boyne Falls needs to get back on board with Michigan tournaments, it is a must play.
-  +5 votes  + Tony R › July 14, 2014
A
Pros: The setting is a beautiful. The course includes a number of forest types, as well as some old field/meadow holes. It has great variety, ranging from very technical wooded to open meadow holes. The course includes some long walks and takes a while to play, but the walk is very enjoyable. The course was clean and well maintained (except for the tee pads as described below). Cons: The tee pads. Almost all of the tee pads are sandy/gravel, and many were hollowed out when I played. This is a b ...
continue reading ›
-  +5 votes  + Rick Kole › August 4, 2014
A
The only reason this course got an A ibstead of A+ is one reason only. The hike. Although its not a great distance, it can still be daunting if you arent familiar. But i believe thats what makes this course unique as well. The topography and scenery are beautiful and challenging. From long, open holes to tight technical ones. This course offers a bit for everyone. In addition, the local disc golf club is consistently updating and maintaining the course to keep it fresh and also safe. My go-to course in the area.
-  +5 votes  + Alyssa Ellsworth › August 5, 2014
A
Challenging course with a mix of open spaces to practice long shots, and wooded areas for accuracy. Trash cans are at almost every hole which is nice because there is not much garbage lying around. The scenery is very nice and relaxing which makes for a great place to disc golf and forget about everything else going on in your life. The distance from the t-pad to the basket varies greatly from easily aceable holes, to very long holes that are a great challenge (hole 16).
-  +5 votes  + Daryl Michael › August 10, 2014
A
What a gem! The journey through these 18 holes is extremely enjoyable. A blessed view of Boyne City and Lake Charlevoix from the top of Avalanche Mountain greets the person upon course completion. Thanks a million to the many who have put time and energy into increasing the cleanliness, navigation, and quality of the course!
-  +5 votes  + Mikey Dreams › August 26, 2014
A+
This is a great course for all skill levels it is challenging yet forgiving. The uphill battle on the back nine makes the course great for exercise. Challenging shots will help define you as a player. This is not only my home course but my favorite course to play. Our leauges every Wednesday have been doing awesome.
-  +5 votes  + Mark Mulka › October 14, 2014
A-
First time. Lots of trees,trails and hiking, I like that:)
-  +4 votes  + Jason McCary › June 23, 2014
A+
Check it out yo! It looks good!
-  +4 votes  + Kevin Reddy › July 4, 2013
B+
I very much enjoyed the course and the scenery along the way, with the long hikes between some of the holes. Course would get an A if they put in some new simple post tee signs to replace the nice ones that have been destroyed and are mostly missing. Concrete tee pads would also be necessary for that A. All that said, I do like the course, and hope to play there again. Even my girlfriend liked walking this course, and she hates disc golf - LOL.
-  +4 votes  + Tyler Skea › September 11, 2013
B+
Avalanche Park is an awesome challenging course with lots of nice uphill, downhill, and bender shots. A select few people have been putting a lot of hard work into it, and it's becoming one of my favorite courses easily.
-  +4 votes  + Jesse Reda › September 28, 2013
A-
Great course, one of my favorites!
-  +4 votes  + Ric Evans › May 29, 2014
B-
Beautiful property & it's been getting lots of love lately, which it really needed. I wish it utilized it's killer big-downhill-ripper potential for a couple holes, and the tees still need lots of stabilization, but a fun course to play and tons of 2's available out there...
-  +4 votes  + GT Foley › August 4, 2014
A
Great Course. Great league players. Sweet view from the top!
-  +4 votes  + Andrew Frykberg › August 15, 2014
A-
-  +4 votes  + Jenn W › September 28, 2014
A
Out of town visitor. Beautiful course!
-  +4 votes  + K.J. Becker › October 20, 2014
A
awesome disc golf course. very well maintained. cant wait to go back
-  +4 votes  + Jake Wilson › October 21, 2014
A+
This is a beautiful and challenging course. The view from hole 18 is unmatched; it's even better than the view from hole 19 at Hickory Hills. I've played quite a few courses around Michigan, and Boyne is definitely one of my favorites. Challenging for righties and lefties alike, this course is a mix of technical shorter to mid-range holes and longer holes that defiantly test your hyzer and anhyzer shots. Uses elevation well; hilly, but the paths are not too steep and are well maintained. I was ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Ryan "RMFK" Kretz › May 8, 2011
B+
Course was Beautiful! The view was awesome at the 18th hole! The course was a little tight at spots, but for most part is not to rough on an average disc'r. The bad part was after hole 5 or so, it was pretty much no tee signs at all because they were all broken off. Hole 11 is up the trail at 10's basket or next to the basket at 9 behind the old cellar. The post has a 12 written on it, but it is 11's tee pad. Not nearly as bad as a hike as everybody made it out to be. The worst part was the step ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Craig Miller › June 12, 2011
A
Course is long lots of up and down hills walking and shots and nice views of lake Charlevoix
-  +3 votes  + Rob "Zilla" Wiltjer › August 22, 2013
A+
I LOVE this course. It's tight and challenging. It makes you a better player by testing your accuracy. And the view at the top is always worth the hike.
-  +3 votes  + John C. Worden › September 28, 2012
B+
It is a long, tough walk to the top. When you reach the summit, it will be worth it! Beautiful view at the 18th basket
-  +3 votes  + Rochelle Wieber › July 12, 2014
A+
Great course and beautiful views along the way.
-  +3 votes  + A Hubbs › October 20, 2014
A
Challenging up and down wooded course. Great local supporting club that is improving tee boxes... making this course better each time I play
-  +3 votes  + Greg Marcusse › October 21, 2014
A
This was an absolutely beautiful course, great scenery and clean. The holes offer a variety of different challenges and vary well with distance. Just played in the 2nd annual haunted hyzer there as well, Tournament was well organized, nicely decorated/themed holes, nice prize payout as well, cant wait for the next one!!! This course has definitely become one i plan on visiting again and again and hope to bring others as well.
-  +3 votes  + John Patrick Wolf › October 21, 2014
B+
Such an amazing course! I may only have played it once at the Haunted hyzer but heck it was so grand! so well kept and planned out. yes some holes are far from each other thus why the B+ if I lived closer I would play this course a lot! I loved the fact that there were waste baskets at each tee! SO CLEAN!!! Much cleaner than Hickory in traverse my home course! Tough basket layout for lots of holes and good planning!
-  +2 votes  + Cal Benke- Team Tilley's › November 12, 2010
B
Some long walks. Get more baskets. View on 18 is worth the walk.
-  +2 votes  + Jonathan Winslow › August 24, 2013
A
-  +2 votes  + Bob Knapp › June 15, 2013
B+
Nice course. Other reviews are accurate about the walking....I was convinced that I must have missed some holes after walking 1/4 mile between some holes. Locals were very kind -- the views are amazing.
-  +2 votes  + Brian Reisig › July 9, 2013
B+
love the woods nice and technical shots make you work for par or birdie tee pads were not bad but not great
-  +2 votes  + Eric Lucyk › July 16, 2013
A
-  +2 votes  + Tom Snider › July 14, 2014
A+
Lots of trees but fun!
-  +2 votes  + Chris Mascho › July 30, 2013
C+
Great course. Put in cement teepads and i'll up my review big time.
-  +2 votes  + Aaron Himmelspach › September 1, 2013
A
Great course to play giving it an A
-  +2 votes  + Elric VanDerVenter › September 7, 2013
B+
-  +2 votes  + Kyle Williams › October 21, 2014
A
I have seen a lot of courses across Michigan. After playing Avalanche Preserve two things came to my mind. The first was that it was an absolutely gorgeous area, the second was that it has potential for more. It seemed like the course was laid out very well, wrapping around the natural hiking area of Avalanche Preserve. It is not very often you see a disc golf course put in without at least taking a couple trees out here and there. It seems they have done a fantastic job of protecting the a ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Justin Andre › June 6, 2011
B-
Course needs some LOVING..... or we need to whoop the individuals that have destroyed all the Tee Signs. Definately would be nice to see some more baskets added to shorten those long walks... View at 18 Beautiful!!!
-  +1 votes  + bryon figueroa › March 22, 2012
B
Great variety of shots awesome nature walk very fun,some shotty baskets on first 5 holes and a few strange tee box placements
-  +1 votes  + Brian Carroll › April 8, 2011
B
The holes were excellent to play but for our first time on the course, we had to walk up nearly every fairway before throwing because the tee signs were torn off or removed. Can see where this course is challenging when full bloom.....lots of walking, more walking than I have done in some time.
-  +1 votes  + Philip Penzien › July 30, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + Cole Morison › July 8, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Jammer Gross › August 29, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Bill Towne › June 12, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + Eric Grinwis › June 30, 2013
B
-  +1 votes  + Josh Romstadt › July 10, 2013
A+
-  +1 votes  + Robert Wagner › July 11, 2014
B+
-  +1 votes  + Justin Ducker › October 23, 2014
A-
Super fun course. Real tight with a good mix of uphill to downhill shots. Its actually the first course ive ever played ever. Real awesome layout but still needs a little more work and definitely more holes. Overall though its a great course and if your thinking about playing here you should do it because if not your missing out. Plus the view on 18 is tits!
-  +0 votes  + Angel Gilbert › August 27, 2012
A
I have played this course in 05,06, and in 07. I really liked this course almost stepped on a snake on this course all curled up ready to strike. cant wait to go back up there and play it again.
-  -1 votes  + Josh Wieschowski › June 23, 2011
C+
Long course, we played after several rounds at other courses so we were tested. Beautiful scenery, the only thing holding this course back...........there needs to be a down hill bomber for the last hole, throwing out toward the rink. It was lame to walk the steps out instead of letting a few rip at a basket. Vandalism was prevelant at pretty much every hole.
-  -2 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf- › September 8, 2011
C-
-  -4 votes  + john jeff carter › April 22, 2012
C-
this couse is alot of walking some holes 100 yrds some 2to8 hundred yrds to get to the next hole alot of differnt holes in wood and open most are very fare they back nine follows a snowmoble tail so the farways are close together did i say alot of walking!!!!!!!
-  -4 votes  + john carter › May 17, 2012
C+
Dnt know the date I played this course