Al Quaal Recreation Area

Ishpeming, Michigan     1 course · 9 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +1 votes  + Nate Simpson › September 13, 2012
F+
wind is sweet coming at you from all directions in big open fields teepads are right next to baskets and course could utilize the property way better.
-  +1 votes  + Tim Kopacz › November 19, 2013
F
The course suffers for two reasons - 1) the property alotted to disc golf in this park is below average at best compared to the remainder of the park. This area and space made available for the course is crowded, congested, and shared with too many other activities like picnic, volleyball, and horseshoe. 2) The design is HORRIBLE, unsafe, non-technical, and unimaginative. With a bit more work, even this lackluster portion of the park could yield a better beginner course. Install some level and defined tees, NEVER cross fairways, and MOVE TEES AWAY FROM BASKETS!!!!
-  +1 votes  + Kyle Greiner › July 18, 2012
C-
This course was a pleasant surprise from what I expected. It's not worth going out of your way for, but is worth a play if you happen to be in Ishpeming for some reason.
-  +0 votes  + eric colbrook › July 13, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Davis _ › April 30, 2012
C+
I stopped by this course while I was visiting my aunt who lives down the street from it. At the time, early fall of 2011, it had a few problems with design and course flow. If the course could use more space in the park and had a designer's touch, the scenery and harsh lake shore winds could make this an awesome place to play.
-  +0 votes  + Josh "StuFish" Swain › August 10, 2013
C-
1st time playing this course and I enjoyed it. It's a nice park with cool elevation changes and ever-changing winds, but a few holes need to be reconfigured. On my 2nd round of 9 I had to ask the folks at the volleyball court if I could throw over them (which resulted in a polite glove clap from the gallery upon parking it) & I was contemplating playing a third 9 holes, but a large caravan of several vehicles was BBQ-ing directly on the no.1 fairway... lol
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Moran › January 8, 2014
C-
Only thing it really has going for it is its open fairways, a rarity in the area. Good place for rippers if you need a break from the technical courses that populate the region.
-  +0 votes  + Erin Feeley › November 17, 2014
B-
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Gillhespy › August 11, 2014
C
this is the first course that I saw golf carts on....9 homemade baskets fairly open has potential.
-  +0 votes  + Jeff Schettner › September 27, 2014
D+
-  +0 votes  + Mr. Dover › October 30, 2014
F-
-  -1 votes  + Drew Hill › October 30, 2011
C+
-  -1 votes  + Cory J › June 16, 2012
B
This course is very open. Only 1 hole has a lot of trees to avoid. The 2 major downsides to this course are, 1) The course plays through a horse shoe course, a volleyball net, and the outfield of a baseball field. 2) The tees are relatively close to the baskets, making it take longer if there are a lot of players out. This is a lot longer than Harvey, but with how open it is, its more fun and less frustrating.
-  -1 votes  + Sebastian Hohl › August 18, 2012
B