Punderson State Park

Newbury, Ohio     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +10 votes  + Larry Bright Jr. › May 18, 2013
A+
i really like this course and what they are doing with it. it has one of the best local clubs who do a phenomenal job of organizing events at the course. punderson has 3 sets of very challenging tees where the red and blue tees are now all concrete, and the white will be done very very soon. a few of the holes also have long pin placements (#9, 12, and 15) adding to the difficulty of those holes quite noticeably. this course is just simply amazing...it is very very wooded and technical, bu ...
continue reading ›
-  +8 votes  + Cup Cake › February 5, 2012
A
I am new to disc golf, so some of you may not take my review seriously, but it is because this is such a beautiful, scenic, course that I wanted to get involved playing disc golf. The course, now with 18 holes offers some challenges and really makes you think about what you are doing. Just played with some guys who really knew their stuff and it was amazing to see some shots which I thought were impossible. During wet weather it is muddy and messy, just wear some water/mud proof boots and you ar ...
continue reading ›
-  +5 votes  + david tilson › November 14, 2011
A
I can't say enough about this course.I've played 10 different courses and this is still by far my favorite!Every time i play here i love it more.Great job on the layout.The three new holes are fantastic.All around a beautiful course.
I just wanna thank tom,andy,steve and everyone else who's helped out and is helping finish this awesome course.
-  +4 votes  + Aaron Collins › April 4, 2013
A+
Wow! Being from Columbus, all the wooded holes I usually play are no more than 350 feet. Im descent at dg and am used to driver-putter holes. going to punderson at first I was skeptical that it would be as nice as all the locals said it was. Long to long is my favorite layout just for the fact that I get to use my drivers for two shots instead of using my mid range off the tee as I do on most courses. Just a boatload of fun. The pricks that bash this course for being too hard should grow some ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Bill "The Ninja" Savage › November 12, 2011
B+
-  +3 votes  + Matt O › July 31, 2012
A
Finally got a chance to check out this course; and I wasn't disappointed. Tight wooded fairways that you almost absolutely must stay on. Course is secluded from the rest of the park, which is a big plus. Quiet, serene surroundings make for a relaxing round. Update - Course is coming along very well. The blue tees make this a pro level course. Red tees are now all concrete. Perfect piece of land for a disc golf course.
-  +2 votes  + duane koczan › May 30, 2013
A-
-  +2 votes  + Jay Kovach › March 7, 2011
B+
this course is going to be sweet, this is what i look for when playing a course these types of shots
-  +2 votes  + Chris Warfield › October 29, 2012
A+
Hardest course i have ever played in my life, came out to a scrambles a few weeks back and i was utterly amazed. this course is the best course in ohio in my opinion out of the 15 that i have played. deffinitly tops Veterans memorial Park and Portage Lakes DGC 2 of my favorite courses
-  +2 votes  + John Sales › September 1, 2011
A-
I rate this course 4.5 out of 5 stars. Pros - Portable bathroom at the parking area year round - The entrance is marked by a Disc Golf Course sign and there is very nice Kiosk - The map is high quality and accurate but generally not needed because the paths are so well defined - Practice basket located by Hole #1 - Three Tees per hole! - 11 of the Tees are concrete and very large (Gargantuan)! Just fantastic work! All other tees are natural or stone and are kept in good working condit ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Brian Shega › October 27, 2011
A
-  +2 votes  + Michael Klingmann › June 6, 2013
A-
Love this course, despite it being extremely challenging. Wide array of shots required here. As of 2012, Punderson is now a 18 hole course...1-12 is pretty defined and easy to find...the last six holes are under construction and hard to follow but still playable. The course volunteers do a great job here with the tee pads and pin positions!!! I would have rated this course higher, but Punderson is SUCH a mud pit. No point in playing here after a good rain, so muddy its hard to keep footing for a decent throw.
-  +2 votes  + eric " Sharky " boyd › June 23, 2012
A
I really like this course ! Some of it is under construction, but is playable. Course plays thru woods, some tight fairways, elevation changes, and a few water hazards. All shots in the bag are needed to succeed. 3 sets of tees per hole, makes every pad unique. Although not all pads have concrete (yet) , the ones that do, are awesome !! The baskets ( mach 3 ) are in excellent locations and condition ! This course has a ton of personality and will only get better as time passes.
-  +2 votes  + james moose graham › October 23, 2012
A+
Don't believe I have ever enjoyed just walking through a course before but this course made it happen. Great colors in the fall. Tight wooded technical course with good and fair length. Never felt there was not a gap I couldn't hit for being to small. Options on tees are great and offer both distance change and different looks.
-  +2 votes  + Rowdy Yates › May 10, 2013
A
Hands down the best course in North East Ohio. The local club at this course is full of great people who continuously strive to keep this course steadily improving. For players, the course offers a very wide variety of tee options with three tees per hole, as well as some holes having short and long pin placements. The holes are all tightly wooded, yet have clearly defined fairways. This course will reward players that carefully line their shots up, hit their lines and keep their disc in the fai ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Nate Brockway › January 27, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Rick Gzesh › June 13, 2012
B+
This course will be an A+ destination course when they are through with it., but right now it is a B+. All 18 holes with 3 tees for most are in but many of the tees are still gravel or dirt providing uneven footing. But great news, I was there today and ran into Tom Mote and he told me that they just got granted enough funds to hopefully complete the concrete tees by the end of summer. That would be great! Some additional clearing is also still needed but when it is done, it will be a premier course.
-  +1 votes  + Andre T Hooks › July 16, 2012
A-
even though course in under construction, it is truly a beauty. with red, white, and blue tee pads , along with multiple pin positions , descent sized fairways that allow you to put a lil mustard on ur throw and at same time punishing you if you go too crazy with it. elevation changes and water hazards add dificulty to any level of player. definatley worth a drive to play here, and you can count on a round lasting about 3 houres if you dont have too big of group.once course is finished ill give it an A+
-  +1 votes  + Dave Hab › January 22, 2013
A
Wow, awesome course in the woods by a lake, very scenic. Holes are well manicured & taken care of. Tees, 3 per hole, blues can be extreme, are huge concrete pads & have a brick embeded in them w/hole info & little sayings engraved on them. White tees were gravel but they appeared ready for concrete. Signage & baskets are in excellent condition. A fun & challenging course for all, put this course on your list.
-  +0 votes  + Joshua Lammerding › April 18, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Chip Flounders › November 25, 2013
A
This is an awesome course with 3 sets of huge tee pads for each hole. Fun for everyone. The only problem is some fairways get really muddy after rain. Just bring a towel you will be fine.
-  +0 votes  + T. Parker › April 21, 2012
A
This course is in a wooded area next to a scenic lake. The trees are mostly large and mature. The elevation changes throughout the course definitely plays an important role. This course reminds me of the course at Delaware State Park outside of Columbus. It's a good course and it's getting better.
-  +0 votes  + katie meloy › June 24, 2012
B-
The course is really coming along. Keep up the great work!
-  +0 votes  + Chris Woolsey › September 18, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + todd steuart › September 23, 2012
A
very nice course very technical, well placed shots are needed very very wooded but not impossible to make pars and even birdies course has water and out of bounds to add to the already difficult course
-  +0 votes  + Jared Heberling › April 23, 2013
A+
the course looks great guys! I can tell a lot of hard work has been put into this course. If you have a chance to play it you must.
-  +0 votes  + Vic S › January 27, 2013
A-
20 degrees(felt like 5), 20-25mph winds & gusting with snow & ice. Great Course,I look forward to playing it once it's nicer out! Skill course mainly with red tees
-  +0 votes  + Jack R Toriello › March 31, 2013
A-
Nice course. All woods, but fairways are do-able yet challengeing, fun pin locations and elevation changes. White tees yet to be poured but other than that an excelent course. Course is well marked and maintaned
-  +0 votes  + Dominic G › April 15, 2013
A
Great course with cool looks from the tees and fairways. Its very fair but not easy by any means. HUGE difference in how the course plays from red to blue tees. Long tees were brutal after a round from the shorts. I'll be playing longs first next time out. The scenery really makes you appreciate Ohio beauty. My only complaint is the lack of drainage. It was very wet and sloppy and that made shots harder than they should be. Great overall course. One of my personal favorites in NE Ohio.
-  +0 votes  + Ted Chell › June 9, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Zusy › July 26, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Rachel Kraus › July 26, 2013
A-
Interesting Layout going in almost a figure 8. They keep up on the course really well. Lots of trees but that's what makes in challenging.
-  +0 votes  + Alan Tabaj › August 19, 2013
A+
I am so lucky to have this great course in a great State Park across the street from home. If it wasn't for this course I probably wouldn't be into the sport as much as I am. Its truly a relaxing time to go shoot 9 or 18 from the reds whites or blues. The Club Punderson Disc Golf is always improving the course. Great Great Great Place to Play and call My home course. Thanks Guys!
-  +0 votes  + Lee Spencer › November 2, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Tammy Spencer › November 2, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Dan Davis › March 23, 2014
A+
Possibly the best course I have ever played. Each hole is very unique and challenging in its own way. I can say I have played many great courses and every course has a few boring holes, I can't say that about a single hole at Punderson. Fair but tight fairways and great use of elevation change and ob's. I can't wait to get back and play this amazing course during the summer and fall!
-  -1 votes  + ManFred "The Basket Molester" › April 5, 2012
A-
-  -2 votes  + Bob Becker › July 30, 2013
A-
-  -2 votes  + Greg Platt › June 25, 2013
B+
-  -3 votes  + Joseph Latina › July 26, 2013
C-
Course is challenging and the site for the course is awesome. The course layout in terms of circulation is good (B+ to A-). In terms of reasonable layout and design of the holes is lacking (C at best). Great group of locals and a lot of work has been done. After last round back in July of 2012, still needed more work. To clear a bunch of trees and then leave one standing in the middle of the intended fairway or close to tee pads is poor design. Good, intended shots should not be punished. ...
continue reading ›
-  -4 votes  + Chuck Goetz › May 30, 2011
C+
-  -18 votes  + Will Nelson › December 13, 2010
F-
Quite possibly the poorest designed course I've played. Heavily wooded, lots of low ceiling shots, poison ivy, and water hazards if you miss a five foot wide path.