Union Strikes at Indy

Sunday, October 17, 2010 at Independence Lake County Park in Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Disc golf singles tournament

About this tournament

Come help the 101 celebrate the return of the famed 'Picnic Course' with a day of delicious discing! We wil ... more
Log in or Sign up to contribute to this discussion.
« Prev123456Next »

Aaron Nitz    October 20, 2010 at 7:16pm

Great tournament, guys. Awesome weather, great courses, great tee pads on the Chuck D. Thanks for your TD efforts and the volunteers you had helping you. Now if you could just help me on my putting....


Douglas Fresh    October 20, 2010 at 6:11am

Hey Mike, thanks for posting the scores. My name is linked with some other guy's PDGA number though. Mine is #29336. Weird thing is it's another Doug, but he's in Maryland.


Mike Fortunato    October 19, 2010 at 6:08pm

Scores will be posted this evening. Thanks for your patience. Also, thanks to Ben for documenting the day.


Tony Vidal    October 19, 2010 at 8:37am

Posting scores?


Ben Seese    October 19, 2010 at 5:37am

My pictures are online: http://www.discgolfscene.com/profile/4420/pictures/album_4672
And full-resolution versions on Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/benseese/sets/72157625194452124/
(feel free to download & re-use -- just keep my name attached)

Sorry no legitimate action shots, I was busy throwing all day. According to my score card, I was the busiest guy out there!


Douglas Fresh    October 19, 2010 at 2:24am

I was in the group that allowed the player in question to join. We had finished 10, which is the hole we started on, before he came up and joined us. For some reason there were no cards in front or behind us for several holes. I don't understand why we had to head all the way back to 10 as a 3-some with no other groups by us, but then I'm not a TD. It's ****ty to hear about the other guy getting 8 penalty strokes when the dude that joined our group got nothing. Again, I'm not ... more


Chris Jackson    October 19, 2010 at 1:31am

I saw a similar scenario at the Hambrick open back in July. The TD put all AM2s in 3-somes. Someone who was supposed to be on my card started one hole back. Since you cannot play a tournament round as a twosome, we had to try to find out what to do. The TD decided to have us wait until the other group finished the previous hole and then let him join us (the correct card) with no penalty. Then he would witness me and the other player on my card play our last hole since he already would have ... more


Brooke Plantz    October 19, 2010 at 12:25am

I had a great time at Union Strikes! The tournament ran smoothly. Forch & the 101 did a great job.

On another note it does make me smile to hear some upset players mainly because it shows you can never make everyone happy especially disc golfers. I hope some of you A3 bashers take note!


Jamie The Sauce Mosier    October 18, 2010 at 11:46pm

Playing course in the wrong order 2 strokes. It would be the same thing.


Scott White    October 18, 2010 at 10:16pm

That said, if it were my group I would not allow a player to join that was not grouped with me on the leaderboard and had no name on the scorecard. The group of players should have said "no way, go find your hole" but they didn't and allowed the guy to join. Not much the TD can do about it after the fact.


Scott White    October 18, 2010 at 10:11pm

The only deja vu here is a TD getting blamed for a mistake made by a player.

I can't find anything in the pdga rulebook for a player going to the wrong group. (anyone else? I have limited time) That would boil down to TD discretion and to me it looks like Fortch made a fair call.


Shaun Adkins    October 18, 2010 at 10:09pm

agreed. fortch is of the people persuasion and therefore sucks.


Mike Fortunato    October 18, 2010 at 9:20pm

@ Brandon:

What I meant by saying "It was my understanding that the player in question had completed all the holes, but on another card." was that he had completed all 18 holes with the same group, but on the wrong card. Sorry to hear that you're so upset and that you won't be playing any more of our events.

@Shaun: I love you too!


Brandon "Double B" Butler    October 18, 2010 at 9:10pm

Also we gave the other opportunity to throw the holes he missed but I was told if a player missed a hole they got a 7. The other guy might have cashed without the 8 stroke penalty. No announcement was made to note a rule change. All in all the whole thing was bs and I shan't be playing another local 101 tourney


Mike Fortunato    October 18, 2010 at 9:09pm

- Orange Soft Challenger
- Pair of sunglasses


Shaun Adkins    October 18, 2010 at 9:01pm

i always intend to offend. seems like ben knows something i dont. i was just running my mouth with the intent of getting butler an answer. i did pose it as a question, not a statement. **** your feelings fortch.


Brandon "Double B" Butler    October 18, 2010 at 9:00pm

The player in question joined the card he was not supposed to be on after they finished their first hole( which was ten) did someone watch him shoot every hole or did he just play up to them as a single? He thought he was supposed to start on nine so who watched him play nine and ten?


Luke Holtzapple    October 18, 2010 at 8:55pm

Sorry I didn't make it yesterday. Now I have to wait unti January for Cali dreamin!


Mike Fortunato    October 18, 2010 at 8:48pm

To address Brandon's concerns:

I made the decision that penalizing the player in question for playing on the wrong card would have been a bit severe. Since he did complete all holes (which is what I was told), I felt that he deserved the score he got, even though he was on the wrong card, whereas the player who showed up late did not complete all the holes, therefore he took a 4 stroke penalty on all uncompleted holes. I made sure to let the player in question know that in the future, if ... more


Ben Calhoun    October 18, 2010 at 8:32pm

deja vu


« Prev123456Next »