Veterans Memorial Park

Parma, Ohio     1 course · 26 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +5 votes  + Ryan BahrMike Broda Memorial DGC › November 8, 2010
B+
I really enjoy playing parma. In my opinion it is a devoloping course. Becomes more fun as i discover better or just different ways to throw the holes. Now with 18 holes it definately steps it up a notch! the back nine is awesome technically challenging just like the front with some big payoffs if you hit your lines just right and some thorns in your @ss if you shank it. Technical shots which is what makes this game fun, and that is what this course is made of. Even the long shots ie 7, 15, 10, ...
continue reading ›
-  +4 votes  + eric wernetMike Broda Memorial DGC › October 21, 2010
A
the best course in Cleveland just got better! We all win! I totally envision this as a wonderful compliment to Sims. Not exactly the same as Massillon/Canton but very similar, without the length of Canton.

Sims: a little bit of tight, then open bomber holes.
The Vet: accuracy is key. hit your shots, bring down your score!


Mike and the Parma crew: THANKS! The next round is on me!
-  +3 votes  + Mike BrodaMike Broda Memorial DGC › October 21, 2010
B+
Ben H Beachwood, OH 5/4/2010 The fourth and final course in the Cleveland area is the most difficult. A great mix of wooded shots with small elevation changes gives the course a great risk / reward feel. This is really the only one of the 4 Cleveland courses where you can get yourself in trouble & have to scramble to save par. Birdie options on 1 & 9 are a must for a solid round, while the rest are difficult, but possible. Why only a 3-star? Because it only has 9 holes. The local crew is s ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Greg MarshMike Broda Memorial DGC › October 9, 2011
A-
Very challenging and covers a nice chunk of land. Odds are you wont be having too many bogey free rounds here. Better signage would be a good improvement, and If there were any way to incorporate the (2) over the water holes that were added for the tournament, the course reach A+ status!
Deer cruise through the park like its a petting zoo witch is enjoyable to view, and if you wear shorts, tread carefully off of some of the fairways, or be prepared to have your legs shredded !!!!
-  +2 votes  + Matt SmithMike Broda Memorial DGC › July 12, 2015
B+
I really enjoyed playing here and the course has potential to keep improving. They have a nice mix of wooded and open shots. You can also see deer up close in the park. This course is worth a little trip. The back nine are really fun with tight wooded shots and great elevation changes. The local discers are super friendly!
-  +2 votes  + Tim BurtonMike Broda Memorial DGC › May 14, 2012
A-
Really enjoyed playing here, this course has a very clean layout through the woods. Its a very fair course allowing you to hit big if you can hit your line. Plenty of elevation changes with pin locations going either way allowing you to pull out many different shots.... Only con is the thorns in the ruff
-  +2 votes  + Eric CherryMike Broda Memorial DGC › March 2, 2011
B
I really like this course now that they have added the back nine. Kudos to all involved in clearing the lines on those holes. There's no concrete on the back nine yet, which is the only reason I don't rank this course higher. Something tells me it's in the works though.

This place is well worth the drive now. The front nine is challenging yet fair. Lots of elevation changes challenge you all over the course. The new "tournament" holes are cool as well...now if I could just keep my discs from getting wet on them. :P
-  +2 votes  + Brad PresuttoMike Broda Memorial DGC › June 11, 2011
B+
This is a very hard course that will eat discs for beginners. Lots of tight spots, hard turns, big thickets of shrubbery. Fun course to play if you're playing well.
-  +1 votes  + Tom RandauMike Broda Memorial DGC › November 8, 2010
B
I like the course alot. Its hard to adapt to the tee pads being a foot to two feet shorter than what im used too on the front nine but for a clearer front nine and a newer back nine its a must play for anybody. More than once through I recommend.
-  +1 votes  + Greg BergquistMike Broda Memorial DGC › October 9, 2011
A-
This course has come a long way. Currently there are concrete tee pads on all 18 holes (A recent addition). There has been some changes on tee pad position and pin positions (and more to come). Course is set up in two areas, front nine in one section, back nine in another, but the walk from hole 9 to 10 is only 300 feet. Challenging course that, with practice, can make you a much better player. Well organized leagues as well. Only an A- right now because there aren't proper tee signs on the back nine...yet (soon to come).
-  +1 votes  + James HumphreyMike Broda Memorial DGC › June 20, 2015
A
-  +1 votes  + dan ottMike Broda Memorial DGC › November 24, 2010
B+
This course is a lot of fun. The new back nine will be great once there are some tee pads in there; as it is now, it's a little treacherous when wet.
-  +1 votes  + John SalesMike Broda Memorial DGC › April 6, 2011
B-
This review was done on 07/31/10. I currently give this course 3.5 out of 5 stars. Pros - Heavily wooded 9 hole course. - Tees are small but concrete. - Baskets are in good shape and level. - Tee signs show accurate par, distance & elevation and are in decent shape. Some small vandalism on signs. There are reflectors showing direct to pin and signs to the next tee. - Grounds/foilage are kept up for a heavily wooded course. Some people may consider this course as not being kept up becaus ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Matt OMike Broda Memorial DGC › October 6, 2011
B+
I like this course. I play Portage Lakes a lot, so the excess trees aren't a big deal for me. You don't have to worry too much about throwing towards non-disc golfers, which is one of my biggest pet peeves at some other courses. Once the concrete tees are in for the back 9 and some more tee signs are installed, my rating will be higher. This course does have it's challenges as there aren't a lot of easy birdies. Had a good time, played scrambles. The group of people at Parma DGC are very friendly.
-  +1 votes  + Daniel RaglandMike Broda Memorial DGC › April 26, 2012
A-
Wow! A nice course in a very small area. The designers of this course did a great job using the available space...nice use of elevation, OB, mando's, etc to create an interesting array of holes. Most holes are relatively short, but some were quite challenging requiring accuracy through trees and around corners. The new signs for the back nine were being installed as I played....making this a great small course in the city. Phenomenal job by the club that maintains this course!
-  +1 votes  + Bill VaughnMike Broda Memorial DGC › January 12, 2012
A-
Great example of maximizing the piece of land that you have. Lots of issues have been overcome, course seems better every month, great club with "can-do" attitude, lots are allowed to help out and put in their two cents. Absolutely believe the course will only get better in the years to come. Is there another true disc golf "club" in north central Ohio?
-  +1 votes  + Michael KlingmannMike Broda Memorial DGC › April 27, 2012
A
Excellent wooded course! Love playing here! Wide variety of shots! A must play when in cleveland!
-  +1 votes  + Mitchell SinticMike Broda Memorial DGC › September 18, 2012
B+
-  +1 votes  + Carl HokesMike Broda Memorial DGC › May 9, 2013
A
Great Course, I think the back nine could be cleaned up a little but other than that beautiful place to play.
-  +1 votes  + Jeff TiceMike Broda Memorial DGC › October 13, 2013
A-
Nice course could use a little more signage got a little lost on a few holes. Saw lots of wildlife. Had four deer follow us around for a few holes. Some real nice hole designs. Lots of hills and trees makes for a pretty technical course. The baskets on the first 9 are pretty old and beat up but the back 9 are a lot nicer. If I ever get back to the Clevland area I would go back
-  +0 votes  + Kevin HitchMike Broda Memorial DGC › July 21, 2012
A-
Kinda rustic through the woods in a nice park with a lot to do. The course is very woodsy and tight, lots of elevation changes. I've heard it compared to Massillon. It is similar but much longer and tighter, and the doglegs frequently make for long approaches due to the sharpness of the dogleg angle and how much further you need to go to reach. The first couple and the last few holes are among the easiest. It is in pretty decent shape. Quite a bit of thorny rough in spots, as well as poison ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Ryan LepleyMike Broda Memorial DGC › June 25, 2011
C+
-  +0 votes  + Michael Tomato TomeckoMike Broda Memorial DGC › July 6, 2013
A
it was a little damp :)
-  +0 votes  + dan schmidtMike Broda Memorial DGC › November 7, 2010
A
-  +0 votes  + Kenneth TyburskiMike Broda Memorial DGC › October 14, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Troy LMike Broda Memorial DGC › November 1, 2010
B
-  +0 votes  + Larry Bright Jr.Mike Broda Memorial DGC › August 14, 2015
A-
Great course!! This course has a great mix of technical and distance shots with some really cool holes. Uses the land very well, with a good bit of elevation change and some tough wooded fairways. One of my favorite tournament courses, that can either eat you up or be rewarding if you can hit your lines. The Parma crew has done a great job with this course and is a definite must play course and one one of the better in the NEO.
-  +0 votes  + Shaun HoverstenMike Broda Memorial DGC › July 23, 2016
B
I spent 30 mins in the blazing heat searching for my favorite disc on hole ten...thirty seconds into looking I saw a tractor with two teens who work for the park drive by, stop, then move on. Finally I see they are down by hole 13 so I walk down to ask if they saw a red disc fly or on the ground and one of them had it!! What an ass...he straight picked it up with me thirty feet away looking in the tall grass. That soured my mood for three holes or so where I almost quit before finishing hole ten (I went and reteed as I was flustered and had no idea where my lie was)
-  +0 votes  + Greg PlattMike Broda Memorial DGC › June 17, 2012
C+
-  +0 votes  + tony paserbaMike Broda Memorial DGC › April 3, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + james moose grahamMike Broda Memorial DGC › November 8, 2010
A-
-  +0 votes  + Cory KingMike Broda Memorial DGC › May 26, 2015
A-
Nicely maintained, wooded, technical course. Solid concrete tees, baskets are in good shape, and the layout flows wonderfully. Great park with plenty of activities and amenities for all. Midrange and fairway driver oriented, keep the distance drivers at home. Great use of elevation, and a solid mix of hole layouts. Can get repetitive with the fairly heavily wooded holes, a few long bombs would be nice. Plenty of seating throughout the course, and the brush and trees can be punishing if you ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Jansen van GalenMike Broda Memorial DGC › May 14, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Matt StifflerMike Broda Memorial DGC › August 17, 2014
A
Great through the woods/elevation and usage of it! It would be nice to see some short tee's in the future just for a change of pace once in a while.
-  +0 votes  + David Le PereMike Broda Memorial DGC › August 19, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Dan HillMike Broda Memorial DGC › February 8, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + rocky frumMike Broda Memorial DGC › January 2, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + Adam SelzerMike Broda Memorial DGC › December 2, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + H Keith BowersMike Broda Memorial DGC › April 29, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Dominic GMike Broda Memorial DGC › September 17, 2012
A-
One of my favorite courses. I really enjoy a course that rewards you as well as this one does for hitting fairways. And that doesn't always mean an easy birdie either. If you don't get off the tee or hit the fairway its a true scramble for par. It has all of the elements of a good course. Nice tees, fairways and everything was well marked along the way. A good variety of hyzer, anny, and straight shots with great use of elevation.
-  +0 votes  + Bob BeckerMike Broda Memorial DGC › October 9, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Adam WoodwardMike Broda Memorial DGC › August 28, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Chris WarfieldMike Broda Memorial DGC › June 19, 2012
A
fun course definatly harder than my home course, nice cement tee pads but misleading signs otherwise it would be a A+ course in my book!
-  +0 votes  + Vince ColwellMike Broda Memorial DGC › November 4, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Jared HeberlingMike Broda Memorial DGC › November 28, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + C HarsaMike Broda Memorial DGC › February 16, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + Bill PerryMike Broda Memorial DGC › January 28, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + ManFred "The Basket Molester"Mike Broda Memorial DGC › April 5, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Kyle HronekMike Broda Memorial DGC › May 15, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Robin WWMike Broda Memorial DGC › October 10, 2015
B
#9 is an amazing challenge fun hole. A lot of easy shit. #12 & #15 are right on top of each other. This course got the better of me. I will be back.
-  +0 votes  + Chris WoolseyMike Broda Memorial DGC › June 29, 2012
B+
Very nice layout, nice tees and nice signs, a lot of trees though!!!
-  +0 votes  + Ricky LutzMike Broda Memorial DGC › July 2, 2012
B+
Trees :/
-  +0 votes  + Jake WonderMike Broda Memorial DGC › May 6, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Stormey GiaimoMike Broda Memorial DGC › September 10, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Sisqo ByMike Broda Memorial DGC › September 11, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + brian aMike Broda Memorial DGC › January 30, 2014
B
good wooded course. long baskets are very challenging
-  +0 votes  + Neil HickmanMike Broda Memorial DGC › May 28, 2013
C
very tough course
-  +0 votes  + Tristan WilsonMike Broda Memorial DGC › May 25, 2015
A-
-  +0 votes  + dan panfilMike Broda Memorial DGC › August 8, 2013
B+
Very technical course. Very beginner un-friendly maps of layout are way off seems like a lot of changes made without updating maps. Always crowded and feels rushed. Notta fan of this course.updated*** had agreat round here today and actually had fun at the course ... gonna be one of those courses that either eat you alive or make your day.
-  +0 votes  + Luke MohamedMike Broda Memorial DGC › June 9, 2013
B-
Pretty nice course. Having only one tee box per hole lowers my score. My girlfriend and I play and she typically will throw from the front tees. Other than that, the shots are challenging and fun. Definitely could lose a disc if you're not careful.
Unfortunately, some vandalism has gotten the best of some holes as tee boxes and hole maps have been graffiti-ed over.
-  +0 votes  + Brian MMike Broda Memorial DGC › September 17, 2013
B
A little tight, but fun once you know the layout.
-  +0 votes  + Rob ArnoldMike Broda Memorial DGC › August 24, 2013
A-
Great course. Loved the layout. Difficult because it's in all trees. 15 is a really rough hole & impossible to find your disc if it goes off immediate fairway.
-  +0 votes  + Lee SpencerMike Broda Memorial DGC › May 10, 2015
A
-  +0 votes  + Ruslan LozitskyMike Broda Memorial DGC › September 17, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Stephen KolbusMike Broda Memorial DGC › October 30, 2014
A-
Okay so maybe my rating is a little high, but i play here so much since this the best course within 10 minutes from me. Its basically my home course Positives: get lots of practice with technical shots hardly any of the holes are wide open, good flow of the course after playing probably a few times the layout is very easy to remember, and use the land they have very well with alternating pin placements/holes. Negatives: lots, and lots, and lots of trees make playing in fall difficult for fi ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + RJ RothMike Broda Memorial DGC › July 26, 2014
B
Enjoyed playing, but a couple holes could pose health hazards. Keep your head up and eyes open when there are people playing behind you.
-  +0 votes  + Kenny BoyertMike Broda Memorial DGC › July 6, 2014
A-
I started playing disc golf a month ago, I live nearby and I really like the layout of this course its also very challenging.
-  +0 votes  + Mike ArnoldMike Broda Memorial DGC › July 22, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + DJ VondruskaMike Broda Memorial DGC › August 1, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Joseph CruzMike Broda Memorial DGC › September 29, 2014
A
Challenging wooded course. Lots of sharp vines!
-  +0 votes  + Floyd SherrodMike Broda Memorial DGC › May 5, 2015
C-
A lot of blind shots and "poke and pray" holes. You have to hit a very fine line on many holes or it is extremely punishing. Lots of hard turns. Borderline unfair. Would like to see more choices/strategy off the tee.
-  +0 votes  + Tony RawleyMike Broda Memorial DGC › October 10, 2015
B-
-  +0 votes  + Brendon BernsMike Broda Memorial DGC › May 16, 2016
C
-  +0 votes  + Gerald ConawayMike Broda Memorial DGC › August 6, 2015
A-
-  +0 votes  + Crosby HillMike Broda Memorial DGC › October 3, 2015
B
-  +0 votes  + Eric NicholsMike Broda Memorial DGC › December 4, 2015
B
You can tell this course has people who care about it. Some things can't be fixed due to the size of the space and the stupid kids who like to destroy other peoples hard work. Fun and challenging par 3 course with tons of character. A few holes need tweaking, which I'm sure will be done in the near future. Well worth adding this course to a trip through Cleveland!
-  +0 votes  + J.P. HorvathMike Broda Memorial DGC › September 29, 2015
B
i feel at home in the woods. this was a great technical layout. no where near as easy as it looks. i am giving it a B because i got lost looking for a pin to one hole (saw the tee box, just no pin), tee box and the distances were wrong on a few holes.

i think the back 9 will be where you get some redemption. at it seemed that way for me.
-  -1 votes  + Will NelsonMike Broda Memorial DGC › December 13, 2010
C+
a ton of trees everywhere. Some cool holes, some not so cool. An average course, if it were longer than 30 minutes away I wouldn't make the trip.
-  -2 votes  + Jesse "Scoop" SantiagoMike Broda Memorial DGC › October 23, 2013
C
-  -3 votes  + Ryan KolbusMike Broda Memorial DGC › July 5, 2015
A-
home course love the diversity of the course front 9 is longer back 9 is more technical nice course well maintained love the open field by parking lot good for warming up