Johnson Park

Wyoming, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Sign In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +5 votes  + Chris Lozen › June 16, 2017
A-
Played with the new tee pads and baskets in and a couple of new holes in place. Pads are great, both long enough and wide enough. Baskets are the Innova Discatchers with the infamous chastity belts. A lot of elevation out here with a good mix of flat, uphill and downhill shots. Most of the holes are open, but the pin placements add a good challenge. The three new wooded holes about midway through the course could use a bit more defined lines and brush cleanup, but they'll most likely beat i ...
continue reading ›
-  +4 votes  + Scott Johnson › June 25, 2017
A-
-  +4 votes  + Chris Thorsgard › June 16, 2017
A-
Thanks to a lot of hard work from a lot of different people, Johnson Park had new baskets and new tee pads installed on 6/15/17. A few holes were changed from the original layout, but a large portion of them remain the same. This course is a challenge with tight lanes and elevation changes.

Some of the branches need to be trimmed to define better lanes off the pad, but this is a hell of a course!
-  +3 votes  + Steve Hedstrom › August 12, 2017
A-
Updated Review: Johnson park was a pole hole course after baskets were stolen years ago. 18 NEW Innova Discatchers are awesome and installed June 2017. The land is great and the design uses it to it to make some really fun holes. Tee pads are now all cement and help with the run up so much better than the sand natural pads they used to be. Fairways are maintained and mowed. Have some water and bug spray with when playing in spring or summer. There are some awesome hills at Johnson, so you ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Andrew Pastoor › July 6, 2017
A-
-  +3 votes  + Curtis Gardner › May 30, 2018
A+
Lots of elevation with a championship level layout.
-  +3 votes  + Ian Hamilton › June 19, 2017
A
With the new renovations, this course is by far one of the best in the area now. The mowed fairways, extreme elevation changes, pads, and baskets, this course is on its way to a whole other caliber. Very backhand friendly, with a lot of trickery as well as a few technical holes that make this course so fun!! I can see this course getting very trashed and can't wait to get some buckets out there to help with trash. AWESOME JOB EVERYONE!
-  +2 votes  + Travis Lepsch › October 29, 2013
A-
This is my favorite course around GR. If it had baskets and pads, I'm sure it would soon become a favorite of many more people. Great quiet and open space.
-  +2 votes  + Alex Hull › July 1, 2017
A
-  +2 votes  + Corey Matthysse › October 15, 2018
B+
They did a great job at fixing up an old layout!
-  +2 votes  + Victor Wahl › April 23, 2013
A
Add baskets and pads and this is the best course in GR.

Ive only played here once and we had 18 baskets put in longer alt spots then the originals. Awesome course! A lot of ankle high thorn bushes though. I give it a A based on the way it was when i played it.
-  +2 votes  + Durk A. Gordon › July 16, 2014
A-
needs baskets and t pads and this is thee best course around. I kinda dont even mind not having baskets or teepads this place is still awesome
-  +2 votes  + Brandon Braisted › July 9, 2017
A+
-  +2 votes  + Erin Feeley › March 27, 2016
A-
Really loved the lay out and realizing the long history and considering the work of thievery, I would most for sure put weighted grade. Loved the elevation play and will defiantly go back.
-  +2 votes  + Kevin Stacey › July 2, 2017
A
Great revamped course with new tee pads and baskets. You gotta come and check it out!
-  +2 votes  + Michael David Kridler › August 26, 2015
A+
This is where I cut my disc golf teeth. I miss the baskets, wish the county would buy more, and that people wouldn't steal them. One of the best parks I've played. Posts aren't the same, but still a great park right after a mowing and on a cooler day.
-  +2 votes  + Josiah Lonsway › March 24, 2016
A
Kroll Layout, Temp Baskets, Blustery Winter day, beautiful views, elevation/ wind/ trees. Great practice course for most shots. Huge potential for larger holes. Worth playing.
-  +2 votes  + Brad Mol › June 22, 2017
A
-  +2 votes  + Eric Klein › July 9, 2017
A
-  +1 votes  + Nick Bosovich › July 10, 2017
A-
New design is fun! Lots of up and down hill shots makes it something different in GR. Some cool shots, a few holes I would change but overall I really like this as an addition the DG in GR. Good amount of blind shots so play in a group but really and enjoyable addition, I will be back soon!
-  +1 votes  + Thomas Clark › September 1, 2017
A-
-  +1 votes  + Travis Wesseldyke › July 24, 2017
A-
-  +1 votes  + Brad Fuller › May 5, 2011
B
Love johnson.
-  +1 votes  + Seir "Jim" Monroe › June 25, 2017
A
-  +1 votes  + Tyler Lepsch › July 21, 2017
A
-  +1 votes  + Alan Moll › January 28, 2018
A
-  +1 votes  + David Lancaster › June 14, 2013
B
-  +1 votes  + Chad Reuss › August 10, 2017
A
This course offers tons of elevation changes. It is quite a workout walking up all the large hills. The course offers the player a large variety of shots. The cement tee pads are extremely large and offer the prefect amount of grip. I put this as one of the best public courses in Grand Rapids. There really is only 1 hole I wish they would change, that being hole # 14. It is a terrible 120 ft hole. This course is a must play if your in GR!!
-  +1 votes  + Nathan Nifong › March 24, 2014
A-
This course was the first one I played back in 1999(I was 8 years old). Last fall Tyler Frisbie and I hit up the course. It was a blast from the past. The constant elevation change makes for a challenging course. It felt really old school hitting the posts. This would be an +A course if it had baskets and better tees.
-  +1 votes  + Scott Stacey › November 17, 2015
A
-  +1 votes  + Chris sias › September 20, 2014
B
-  +1 votes  + Shane Swaney › April 9, 2015
A-
Needs pad work
-  +1 votes  + Ryan Klootwyk › May 14, 2018
A
Since the baskets have been changed, this course has every shot in the book along with some very cool elevation changes. A new favorite GR course
-  +1 votes  + Trey Bower › July 22, 2017
A
Very fun course
-  +1 votes  + Robby Smith › August 21, 2017
A
-  +1 votes  + Dakota Johnson › July 24, 2017
A-
-  +0 votes  + dan carrigan › October 18, 2010
A
-  +0 votes  + Mike Eldridge › May 6, 2019
B
-  +0 votes  + Josh Bickel › May 13, 2018
A
TONS of elevation here.
-  +0 votes  + Jacob B › July 17, 2019
A-
-  +0 votes  + Anthony Mentalewicz › May 11, 2011
B+
baskets get this course an A
-  +0 votes  + Robert Duck › June 26, 2017
B
love it solid course hard walk though
-  +0 votes  + Jason Ponchahar › June 30, 2017
B+
-  +0 votes  + David Burkholder › June 19, 2019
A+
-  +0 votes  + Ben Gosset › October 9, 2018
B+
Good technical course lots of elevation changes but kind of short.
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Downing › October 1, 2017
A
-  +0 votes  + Jake Machiela › August 5, 2017
B+
Course renovation is awesome
-  +0 votes  + Les Shaner jr › March 23, 2019
A-
Would been A but got turned around looking for one tee pad. So far top 2 in Grand Rapids
-  +0 votes  + Spencer Gee › March 4, 2018
A-
-  +0 votes  + jeremy woodward › August 1, 2017
A-
-  +0 votes  + Drake Evans › August 17, 2018
B-
-  +0 votes  + Stephen Lester › October 5, 2017
B
-  +0 votes  + Joel Bowser › September 7, 2018
A-
-  +0 votes  + Joe Hermenet › July 6, 2017
B
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Westover › July 10, 2018
B+
-  +0 votes  + jon lorenz › June 21, 2019
A
Absolutely love this course and the hard work the local crew has been putting in on it. A new practice basket was just installed this week near the sand on hole one which is a great addition. Only reason for not giving this course an A+ rating is I believe that holes 13 and 14 could use a small amount of TLC and they are only being judged more harshly because of the layout change that occurred in 2017 I believe, all the other changes are fantastic.
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Ely › January 28, 2018
A
-  +0 votes  + Nate Krumm › March 16, 2018
A-
-  +0 votes  + Sam Rodgers › April 23, 2018
A-
-  +0 votes  + Tony Colon › April 24, 2019
A+
-  +0 votes  + Jacob McDowell › February 7, 2019
A+
Great elevation changes and fun shots through out the course
-  +0 votes  + David Fisher › May 5, 2018
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jared Saucedo › July 23, 2019
A
-  +0 votes  + Max (2chainz) Moross › August 9, 2018
A
Really hilly lots of elevation shots nice tees nice newer baskets mapped out real well
-  +0 votes  + Curt Greve › September 25, 2018
A
This is a challenging course with lots of ups and downs. It's not disc golf cart friendly but other than that it's a really nice course.
-  +0 votes  + Quentin Gerke › September 23, 2018
A-
-  +0 votes  + Adam Dinsmore › September 24, 2018
B
-  +0 votes  + Michael Shway › September 24, 2018
B+
Beautiful course layout with a lot of elevation. Johnson keeps me in shape and feeling Shway!
-  +0 votes  + Brad C › April 8, 2019
A-
Very fun course with many uphill, downhill shots. Lots of elevation. Some of the wooded holes need better lines.
-  +0 votes  + Noah Minasola › May 14, 2019
A
The hands down best course in the GR area. Tons of fun elevation shots. Don't throw your disc to the right on 18 into the tall dune grass....might take awhile to find it.
-  +0 votes  + Aidan Baker › July 30, 2019
B+
-  -1 votes  + Randy Shreve › September 27, 2010
C+
-  -1 votes  + Nate Smith › July 11, 2012
C
My son and I wanted to play a new course so we ventured to Johnson. Lots of potential with huge hills and a lot of land to use. We got lost a couple of times since all the signs are faded or broken. We were very surprised by all the great terrain and will play it again when things are updated a bit. My son thinks it is the best pole hole course he has ever played.
-  -2 votes  + Tyler Sherman › October 17, 2010
B+
-  -2 votes  + Adam Wurm › April 26, 2013
C
Needs pads and baskets, would be a fun course.
-  -3 votes  + Alex Stanton › September 8, 2012
C-
Hated this course. It really has so much potential! The "fairways" are knee high weeds, and its very easy to loose a disc. I left with cuts all over my legs and most likely poison ivy. I do not plan on coming back.
-  -4 votes  + Chris D › November 6, 2012
F+
First course I ever played. Baskets were stolen a decade ago. Used to be a fun little beginner course. A proposal for a new 36 hole course was shot down.
-  -4 votes  + steve s › July 7, 2017
C-
-  -5 votes  + Roger K › June 30, 2012
D-
Old style (post) no baskets. Need to be part Ibex to play here. Played in spring before grass, insects and poison Ivy started. Would not play in warm weather. Will not be back.