Iron Hill

Newark, Delaware     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +1 votes  + Jimi McIlvain › August 24, 2015
A+
The highest SSA for a permanent 18 hole course in the US. 10,000' of woods rocks and elevation change. 4 distinct layouts. 2 permanent tee pads and baskets on every hole.
-  +0 votes  + Colin Butgereit › June 27, 2011
A-
Beautiful course! Very well manicured. Good signage. Very challenging and interesting. Very much forces you to throw straight.
-  +0 votes  + ray mclaughlin › October 13, 2010
A
I really struggled with this rating (between A and A+) and gave it an A only because I know the people who are working on the course are not yet done.I have yet to play a course that is simultaneously as pleasing to the eye on each tee shot as it is punishing to the score if that shot is not accomplished.Even more intriguing is that it is still fun to play when those errant tee shots go where they will.If you are a fan of big open courses do not play here.That said the fairways are wide enough t ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + BRIAN MAY › June 7, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Sean Burkett › August 9, 2011
A+
-  +0 votes  + Brian O › January 9, 2013
A+
Excellent layout, some of the best signage anywhere, and gorgeous scenery combine to make this a gold standard course. Three tees and two baskets per hole offer something for everybody, but be prepared to be humbled if you play gold-to-gold!
-  +0 votes  + Tim Stevenson › May 21, 2012
A
Professional grade.
-  +0 votes  + Matt Sandy › February 8, 2012
A+
I think this is easily the best course in Delaware. ( Carousel is close behind though).
Requires so many types of shots, and really emphasizes precision drives. You have to stay on the fairway. There are some chances to birdie on the front nine, but the hill can easily re-take those strokes on the back nine. Hole 17 is crazy. But awesome. Crazy awesome.
Leave your Big Distance drivers at home you really just need fairway drivers, but bring premium plastic like champion or star discs, youre DX and pro will become turnover discs, or just get shredded on the rocks.
-  +0 votes  + Tim Eubanks › July 30, 2011
A
the course flows better than most.. I have been to alot of courses where you just cant figure where to go to the next tee. great signage, great tee pads, great challange if you want it, Iron hill has it all. red, blue and gold(pro) tees to short and long baskets on most holes.
Maybe i am glowing b/c i just had my best round (long to long) and I scored under 80 for the first time.
-  +0 votes  + Mark Mahaffey › October 21, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Christopher "THUMBER" da Rosa › July 1, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + DJ Anderson › July 2, 2012
A
Played 2 rounds gold to gold this weekend during the DDGC and what a great experience. One of the challenging courses I have played to date. The locals really put in some time. Great variety of shots!
-  +0 votes  + Timothy Henshaw › March 7, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Roger Cole › April 14, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Phil Rossopher › March 14, 2016
A+
Iron Hill is my 3rd favorite course, but that's only because I'm a homer and I love Sedgley Woods in Philly and Hickory Hills in Traverse City. I love them, but they don't have the level of challenge of Iron Hill. What Jimi said. It's 10,000' of disc golf challenge that has the only true golf course layout I've played with discs. (No, I haven't played Nockamixon or Sankanac or any of the newer courses.) My traveling days were the 1990's where every course was a par 3 pitch-and-putt, even for ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + gabe c › July 28, 2013
A-
amazing course. very difficult long to long. signage is dead on, and very well maintained.
-  +0 votes  + Torin Morgan › June 23, 2014
A+
Perfectly groomed fairways and plenty of distance for the longest throwing pros. One of the more enjoyable courses I've ever played and definitely one of the best courses on the East Coast.
-  +0 votes  + LongJon Silverz › June 1, 2014
A
Great course. Design is good, holes are very creative and show a lot of variety with many elevation changes and obstacles. Course is heavily forested. Most holes are very long with many longer than 600ft from the long tees. Only drawback is that it is very difficult to figure out when playing for the first time. Its hard to find the next hole sometimes and there are no signs and maps at the short tees. Also the short tees are in bad shape. There are many rocks and roots on the ground that can may throwing difficult. This course is worth going out of your way to play!
-  +0 votes  + Justin Jones › July 17, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Brent Sulecki › July 25, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + Brian Sneddon › April 19, 2015
A
-  +0 votes  + Brian Lusby › December 14, 2015
A
Awesome wooded course with multiple lines on practically every hole. 2-3 tee pDs per hole with 2 baskets (dsc catchers for long, chainstars for short.) Course is well maintained and paths are very clear to almost every tee pad. Awesome signage on gold tees, could use some on short tees. Plenty of next tee signs/markers as well.

Disc return could really use a lock.

Go disc here!
-  +0 votes  + David Zeitler › July 8, 2015
A+
De La Vega in Santa Cruz used to be my favorite before Iron Hill came along. This is a TOUGH course and will challenge you mentally and physically.
-  +0 votes  + Scott Miller › September 9, 2015
A
Excellent course but very challenging for first timers; play the short tees because you will lose discs with off tosses. Wonderfully enjoyable layout, great signage. Reward yourself when your in the area. However as with many courses from the area keep your eyes peeled for ivy.
-  +0 votes  + Stephen Lester › August 30, 2016
A
-  +0 votes  + Dallas Stovall › February 27, 2016
A+
I loved playing here when I lived in Newark over the summer.