Holly Woods

Holly, Michigan     1 course · 24 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +6 votes  + Paul DISC-OR-DIE Holstein › March 27, 2012
A
HollyWoods is my home course, and my favorite course. With a full 24 holes that span from short and strait to long and blind, there is something for everyone. Most of the course is in a secluded wooded area, the pads are cement, picnic tables and garbage cans are everywhere, and the park keeps everything clean and well maintained. The course can be played as 9 (with two alternate holes), 18 or 24 and there is a nice pavillion for running tournments. Pencils and scorecards are always complime ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Kurt Reichert › April 15, 2011
B+
-  +2 votes  + Scottie Reslock › June 4, 2011
B+
-  +2 votes  + Kevin Gillhespy › July 25, 2015
B
-  +2 votes  + Ron Jacobs › November 15, 2015
A
-  +1 votes  + David Tomlinson TBS › November 30, 2015
A
I love this course. Good mix of holes alot of birdie opportunities on the original 18, then the extra holes challenge your game. Well maintained with garbage cans on most holes. I just wish the teepads on the original 18 were a little longer.
-  +1 votes  + Jake Nave › April 19, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + donny v › March 26, 2012
A
Nice course and worth the drive. All kinds of terrain (new holes are a whole different animal) and might favor lefties. FH and OH shots come in handy on many holes. The woods are tricky and filled with many trees to shot around. Some longer holes (400-550+ feet) with major elevation changes and trees can knock yoou back down to earth after a hot start. Some water hazards but mostly dry.

Busy (60 cars when we left) but players were well behaved and a bunch even let us play thru.
-  +1 votes  + brent moreno "WPD" › June 27, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + billy montpas › September 3, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Jason Riberas › October 17, 2012
A-
This course was definitely a challenge. Many had told me how difficult this course is, and it was, especially the back 6 or the heavily wooded holes. But with many elevation changes, and with all the woods, that's what makes this course a challenge. You could be shooting very well, until dun dun dun, the back 6 comes into play and then it changes your game. In order to succeed in this course, shot placement and accuracy.
-  +1 votes  + Daniel Ruppert › March 12, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + KC Griffin › September 8, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + john carter › November 25, 2011
A-
greatest layout Ive been to, all the holes were fair, enjoyed every hole, liked in the beginning having a pratice putting area. The 1st 3 holes were also uniquie bc ive never seen that be4. I enjoyed playing here very much, would be my home course if lived by.
-  +1 votes  + Andy Smith › February 25, 2013
B
This is where I learned to play and was my home course till moving. I love the original 18 hole course the best but use the back holes if the course gets backed up. There are some unrealistic holes here even for giants in the D-golf world. Needs some clean up on lots of the wooded holes. Bring bug spray! Careful on 9 it will take your disc. Over all a good spot to play and I still go there. Lots of duces opt.'s for players. I really hate having to lower my rating because of people's miss care ca ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Brent Mitchell › February 9, 2012
A-
Fun course, looks like they are doing some work on a few holes
-  +1 votes  + Ben Bobowski › July 25, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + jeremy ruston › May 21, 2013
B
-  +1 votes  + Erin Feeley › June 20, 2015
A-
Fun course to play with a wonderful wooded setting. Too bad no booze though. Can't have it all though.
-  +1 votes  + Zak L › July 30, 2015
A
-  +0 votes  + - br33zy - › August 7, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + allen fleming › September 22, 2013
A-
Love it was easy at first but then it got challenging awsome course
-  +0 votes  + Paul Grasso › April 9, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Kelley › April 8, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Tony Maccarino › April 3, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Dave Minock › July 8, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + steve sevonty › July 15, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Reddy › April 19, 2011
B-
Signs need to be updated to reflect correct hole numbers, including alternate layout.
-  +0 votes  + Shawn Boucke › September 6, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Matt Weiler › June 15, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jim Knudson › June 16, 2014
A
1st time through. Really, really liked the course.
The 2 state park courses are way up on my list (also Sleepy Hollow). Holly has some water in play on a couple holes, Has elevation changes.Has many wooded but fair holes.
Has long open and long tight holes. Bring all your shots.
Best of all you, don't need SUNSCREEN!! Always a place to stand in the shade.
-  +0 votes  + Josh Hanson › June 19, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Jon Londer › July 21, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Joe Wingett › September 7, 2015
B
-  +0 votes  + Nancy Leat › November 15, 2015
A-
holes 14-17 should be referred to as 'the gauntlet', not for the faint of heart as you can see from my score.
-  +0 votes  + Brian Goodmurphy › July 1, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Adam Mitchell › June 5, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Steve Brown › December 21, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + James Kahn › April 16, 2015
A
-  +0 votes  + Matt ROOTS DG Waisanen › January 11, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Hoffman › January 6, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Paul Kirby › May 23, 2011
B+
Great, Technical course. Not groomed very well though.
-  +0 votes  + Don Covert › October 12, 2010
A-
-  +0 votes  + Michael Ball › September 25, 2016
A
Outstanding course!
-  +0 votes  + Michael Flood › March 27, 2016
A
-  +0 votes  + Jeff McGuire › June 12, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Keith Oliver › March 18, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Luke Sangster › December 24, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Zachary Barrett › August 1, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Greenhalgh › June 14, 2016
B+
-  +0 votes  + Moonraker Elite › November 1, 2010
B+
-  +0 votes  + Rob Jerisk › May 18, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Geoffrey Johnson › July 23, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + john schultz › October 4, 2010
B
-  +0 votes  + Karen Reese › March 25, 2012
B+
Nice course...nice variety of basket placing...Holes 14, 15 & 16 r tough...
-  +0 votes  + Nick Vanderkolk › June 18, 2011
B
Regular course is well designed and fairly challenging. The alternates are very difficult and a few holes are just plain retarded. The regular course has tee pads that are too short (5 feet long at most), but it seems like they wised up on the alternates and put in proper pads. Course was well groomed and other golfers were cool.
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Franz › April 30, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Reisig › April 4, 2012
A-
A very fun course. The additional six are quite....challenging. The origianl 18 is very fun with a lot of diverse shot opportunities. The signs are decently kept with exceptional pads. It is very easy to find the hole and the following one. There are A LOT of trees
-  +0 votes  + Twiggs T › July 5, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + ken "sega salt" moote › December 12, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Josh Bickel › April 28, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Reddy › May 23, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Scott "Jammer" Gross "Team Tilley's" › April 8, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + David LaPorte › July 24, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Greg Argyle › August 31, 2016
B+
-  +0 votes  + jeff j › July 4, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf- › October 7, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Spencer Marcola › July 7, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Ryan "Krum" Collins › July 7, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Notcha Momma › July 10, 2011
B+
need longer tee pads and some holes are ridiculous to attempt to nail a target, otherwise its a great course.
-  +0 votes  + michael granquist › October 14, 2011
A
A very challenging course lots of fun....
-  +0 votes  + Parker Lovell › June 30, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + Anthony Litts › October 5, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + steve nolff › May 7, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Griffith › September 8, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Mike Shields › August 19, 2015
A-
Wish we had more state parks like this one!!!
-  +0 votes  + nicholas kowalewski › September 5, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Mike Doolittle › October 10, 2011
A
I have only played this course once. I LIKE IT :-}
-  +0 votes  + Bobby Savel › September 18, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Zac R-GIRaFFE › June 17, 2012
B-
A lot better maintenance that would have been a outstanding park
-  +0 votes  + Jacob Turner › November 20, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jeffrey Sutherland › April 8, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Joe Parker › November 6, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Willy Lange › February 21, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + James Wiese › April 29, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + David Lonteen › September 9, 2015
A+
-  +0 votes  + Michael OConnell › August 23, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Mathew Paulus › April 1, 2012
B
First time playing at Holly Woods and now I know why they call it that.
-  +0 votes  + Stephen H › March 30, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Mathias Miller › June 25, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Travis Fournier › May 30, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + James Hensley › May 6, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jared B › April 29, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + lwwj mailman › April 19, 2013
A
very windy
-  +0 votes  + Dave Irwin › May 27, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + David Thomas › June 14, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Paul Doherty › August 19, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Mike "AXE" Smith › September 11, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + doug granby › June 15, 2012
A-
if the course had maps or direction and distance at least on polls would consider an A
-  +0 votes  + Meghan Key › July 10, 2012
A-
Challenges are great, the back six can be very hard but worth playing.
-  +0 votes  + Kristen Sievert › August 4, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Moe Dixon › March 17, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jonah Butterfield › May 24, 2013
A-
I love this course!
-  +0 votes  + Alex Wigand › August 1, 2012
A
Awesome course. mosquitos can get annoying certain times of the year. Worth the drive though.
-  +0 votes  + Nate Wegryn › July 28, 2012
A
Cool layout and variety, BRING BUG SPRAY!
-  +0 votes  + Grant Coleman › May 30, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Chris C. › June 23, 2013
A-
*Good Variety, seems to favor RHFH/LHBH to a degree.
*Holes 14-17 are MONSTROUS. Incredible change of pace.
*All concrete pads which is a plus, but they could all be wider. The teepads on the original 18 could be longer, but it's level enough behind the tees to run up from off the pad.
*Baskets are in good shape.
*Tons of litter, not enough garbage cans on the extras.
*Not enough seating, bring your stool.

TL;DR- The land/design is really nice, the actual execution and upkeep of the course leave something to be desired. Still A-.
-  +0 votes  + Jake Schneider › June 28, 2016
A-
Great, challenging track. Like others said, starts out with some birdie opps, then becomes progressively more difficult. You really have to thread some needles through some trees. Clean, scenic, loved it - just wish I lived closer.
-  +0 votes  + dave lloyd › November 11, 2012
B
If you don't like losing your **** stay on the fairway
-  +0 votes  + Tony Turner › March 30, 2016
B+
Excellent for a home course.
Every hole is different - good variety.
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Franklin › September 25, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Skyler Stoker › October 20, 2016
A-
Challenging course in some parts with a good variety of hole designs
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Boynton › October 26, 2014
A
I really enjoyed the course. An excellent layout. It isn't long, but the length is perfect. Technical, but good fairways. There are a few holes where it's pull and hope, but that is about it. For the most part, I would say that this is a first-rate golf course. Good signage, and the tee pads could be a bit longer. Very easy to get from hole to hole.
-  +0 votes  + Chris Lozen › November 2, 2016
A-
-  +0 votes  + Mike Wood › July 27, 2015
B+
Need a good forehand shot for this course, which I don't have. Tuff for backhand. Pretty challenging, nice variety.
-  +0 votes  + Nick Wickham › April 16, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Jason Van Sickle › April 13, 2013
A
I love the course though many of the holes are challenging for me because I really don't have a long drive most of the time. There are a few holes that could have a little work done to clear some of the debris from them. Overall I love to play the course.
-  +0 votes  + donny stevens › June 19, 2013
A
had fun did ok for 24 holes
-  +0 votes  + Brian Hyzertron Crouch › June 23, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jonathon Miller › June 4, 2013
B
Would be a great course if it were maintained
A bit better. The weeds are a bit overwhelming in spots. Enjoy the course tho, fun holes, solid baskets. Tee boxes are pretty short as well.
-  +0 votes  + Bart Kowalewski › December 28, 2016
B
-  +0 votes  + "Mag1c" Mike V › August 13, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Josh Cook › July 30, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Neal McKay › July 2, 2013
A-
I play here a lot and love the course design. Only if the tee pads were nicer.
-  +0 votes  + Jason hyzer bomb Cupp › August 4, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + cameron green › July 26, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Eric Walker › April 26, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Kristin Hatfield › August 13, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy B › August 28, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Troy Podges › July 29, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + chaz wells › August 2, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Hamden › August 6, 2013
A-
love it, wish they would clear-cut a little more
-  +0 votes  + Storm Snow › September 25, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Goofy Mitchell › October 4, 2015
A
Fun course
-  +0 votes  + shaun moore › September 21, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + connor leidal › September 10, 2016
A-
Great run, the long holes through the woods are insane. Need to be able to throw a variety of different shots to succeed here. Only down fall is the small pads.
-  +0 votes  + David Lewis › December 29, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Chad Hayward › September 17, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Zach Emery › October 8, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jacob Cavender › August 30, 2014
A
A lot of trees
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Ripaldi › July 26, 2014
B+
Very tight course. few water hazards but nothing too dangerous. Flowed very well and didnt run into any problems
-  +0 votes  + ian hicks › April 30, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Martin › April 15, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + mateo lawry › January 17, 2016
A-
-  +0 votes  + Nathan Hill › May 1, 2014
A-
Fun course overall with MEGA HOLES at the end that are very wooded, some tee pads are pretty short but the design was great.
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Smith › June 3, 2014
B
Course is totally different if you play the 24 hole side. The first 12 are very simple and easy and help you get a good score going where after that you get picked apart by long skinny fairways. It's fun to go play for a change of pace but thats about it.
-  +0 votes  + Jeff H. › June 9, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Shane Palacio › August 17, 2014
A
It's always a pleasure to make it down to this course, It hands down is one of my favorites.
-  +0 votes  + Brian Sweet › October 17, 2016
B+
Solid course where you have to be good and escape shots or know how to throw flex shots. You might hit the first three gaps and think you're in a good landing zone only to have to hit another 3 tight windows to the pin. It's either really rewarding but lots of luck or completely frustrating. Worth playing at least once.
-  +0 votes  + Christopher Bence › August 13, 2014
A-
Great course with some trees
-  +0 votes  + terry m › August 23, 2014
A
i havent played in over 10 years.so i took my wife with some borrowed disks and we had a blast what a great corse for the addvanced and the beginner.two thumbs up holly woods
-  +0 votes  + Dan Gilford › September 15, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Tony Stanley › June 8, 2015
A-
Great course, lots of variety. The only Con is that its so popular and you always end up waiting for someone, or someone is waiting on you.
-  +0 votes  + Joe McConnaughhay › October 17, 2014
A
This course was very challenging. But very nice.
-  +0 votes  + Jeff Hulet › October 6, 2014
A-
I am just learning and do not know what a Great/ Good course is like. I Like "Holly Woods" because it is close to home.
-  +0 votes  + Dan Brock › October 11, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Hart › September 23, 2015
B-
Really enjoyed Holly Woods. Great range of shots needed. Although it was very popular, and I realized we were in for a long day. Would love to be able to play this again with no pressure. I will be back....
-  +0 votes  + Chad Pavlinac › December 16, 2014
A
Loved it! Has a little bit of everything for everyone.
-  +0 votes  + Garrett Emenheiser › June 14, 2015
A-
Lots and lots of trees and hills but a really fun course .
-  +0 votes  + Donald flook › May 28, 2015
A
-  +0 votes  + Chris Trumbull › July 12, 2015
B
-  +0 votes  + Joe C › May 10, 2015
A-
great course, long shots, lots of hills, trees. very clean, easy to follow course.
-  +0 votes  + dyl b › June 8, 2015
A-
Challenging course with a lot of elevation.
-  +0 votes  + Bryan Vivian › July 25, 2015
A
-  +0 votes  + Tyler Elias › June 23, 2015
A
My home course, I play this course often and love it every time. Its a great course with a mix of open fairways and heavily wooded areas. All range of skill levels available and an all around fun course.
-  +0 votes  + Ken M. › July 9, 2015
A
Holly is one of my favorite courses to play. A wide variety of holes, some in the woods, the first 3 open. There are some long and very challenging holes that you can avoid and most people do, but I like them. I'm not a long thrower but you can par (get a 3) on a couple of them if you make a great tee shot. This course is popular because it's well designed and fun to play. Should be ranked higher, in my opinion.
-  +0 votes  + Steve Simison › September 4, 2016
B
A lot of trees!! and the rough was pretty thick. Great layout loved playing it.
-  +0 votes  + Josh Marshall › July 10, 2016
B+
-  +0 votes  + Bill Murray › August 27, 2015
A+
If you don't like this course it probably has to do with you being garbage at the sport
-  +0 votes  + aaron mk › October 26, 2015
A-
Awesome course. Score some birdies early because the back #14 through #17 can make you rack up the strokes. Beautiful layout.not to crowded. Could use some bigger tee pads. Also gonna need some help from the tree's to score los.
-  +0 votes  + Kenneth Rumble › March 21, 2016
B+
-  +0 votes  + Brad Brinker › June 20, 2017
B+
-  +0 votes  + Matthew Stewart › July 9, 2016
A+
-  +0 votes  + Tom Wagner › November 25, 2016
A-
I highly recommend playing this course after the leaves fall.
-  +0 votes  + Steven Trapp › August 11, 2016
A-
Awesome course. Gets super challenging so score low on the shorts.
-  +0 votes  + Ray F › August 12, 2016
A-
-  +0 votes  + Shawn Herbert › June 19, 2017
A
Excellent course, I am a little biased with it being my home course though. Lot's of variety on the holes, some open and some tight, some left and some right. The first few holes are open and straight which I love for warming up on the round, then it starts to get technical in the woods and you start seeing the elevation changes. The back 6 holes are BEASTS from the long tees (C,D,E, and F in particular).
-  +0 votes  + Megan Binienda › March 20, 2017
C
The front holes on this course really irritated me for some reason. Extremely muddy and just straight shots for the most part. No fun or adventure. I didn't start enjoying the course until I made it to the back at hole 10. The elevation change is insane and such a great challenge. The short "pads" tho for the back holes didn't look like they were defined very well, looked like it was just a flag in the ground. Otherwise I was pleased with the rest of the course. Hopefully it'll be a lot better in the summer with less mud on the front tpads and everything is grown in.
-  +0 votes  + Garrett Gormley › May 24, 2017
A-
-  -1 votes  + Cassidy Mayne › June 29, 2014
C
No real lines on way too many holes. Felt like playing plinko. The pads were WAY to short. No way to get any real run up unless you start 5' off the pad and pray you don't loose your footing in the dirt. A few of the pads are dangerously unleveled. I know you want the rain to run off but the feeling of falling forward while driving was way to much. Few nice holes but not enough to really make it worth driving back just to play, might play if in the area but doubt it. Lots of trash cans, and some picnic tables are pretty much the only positives I have for this course.
-  -1 votes  + Tommy MUDMAN Wcisel › May 1, 2011
A+
The new holes r very difficult but really hilly course and like a fat girl, TONS OF FUN!!
-  -1 votes  + Sol Brown › April 1, 2015
A
Nice old, well-used course, plenty of par 3 holes over 300. Hills, old trees, lots of variety in the forest. No real water hazards but there are a couple places a bad bounce or terrible line could put you in a swamp or cattail bog.

Some people skip from #10 to #18 to avoid the very long par 4s and a particularly challenging par 5. This caused a bit of a bottleneck for my group but as long as the right-of-way is yielded to those playing all the holes I don't think it's a problem.

-  -1 votes  + Kenneth Mize › February 23, 2013
A
-  -1 votes  + - Buckwheat › July 5, 2015
B-
Nearly perfect! Of course the Tee Box Slabs could be cleaned off, especially this close to Tourney time, they are very slippery. Loved the fact that SOME Hole Posts had the Distance posted on them along w/ the Hole Number. Would be awesome to have them ALL be that way. Some tough, long, wooded Holes in the back that really could increase the scoring difficulty.
-  -1 votes  + maliki hager › March 17, 2015
B-
-  -2 votes  + Jeff Bauman › September 4, 2011
C+
The back 6 makes this course.
-  -2 votes  + nicholas eastman › March 3, 2012
C+
fairways need to be cleaned up bad and people need to learn how to use the trash
-  -2 votes  + Kris Jansen › October 15, 2010
B
Some of the last holes are kindov rediculas based on the amount of trees, hills, and super long distance. don't like those holes, but the first 18 are Awesome! great distances and areas for where the holes are placed. great course to work on your driving and aim. overall I really enjoy playing at this coarse: B
-  -2 votes  + Brandon Redmond › June 22, 2011
A-
-  -2 votes  + Sean Kecskes › October 5, 2011
C
This course started off great but near the end there isn't even a fairway on the holes. Might as well stand in an uncut forest and throw your disc as far as you can. A lot of road noise as well. It seems like there is a lot of new growth that never got trimmed down. Also, avoid this course at all costs if it is warm and rained at all in the recent past. Millions. Of. Mosquitoes. I tried to like this course but I don't think I'll return.
-  -2 votes  + jason kosenko › May 28, 2012
D+
-  -2 votes  + Michael Cameron › September 11, 2012
C+
-  -4 votes  + Angel Gilbert › August 27, 2012
C
i hate this course a lot plain and simple
-  -6 votes  + john jeff carter › November 25, 2011
A-
this was the best course i have been on yet it started off for four holes pretty open but wow it went into woods and doglegs long holes water swamp everything hit me it was alot of fun playing this course needed a few more beaches and signs but all in all a great course