Hocking College

Nelsonville, Ohio     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +3 votes  + B-R-A-D Mearkle › October 21, 2010
A+
This course in Fall and Winter is amazingly tough/unregretable. a slight wind added a bit of discomfort but the improvements on the course and lack of leaves in the trees just made today spectacular. i truly love the technicality of this course
-  +1 votes  + Joel Crawford › November 2, 2010
A
-  +1 votes  + mike daugherty › March 15, 2011
B+
-  +2 votes  + SKIPPY BALL › March 17, 2011
B
Tees where a bit MUDDY and slick! But they have really done a sweet job on the course. Give it thumbs up for sure.
-  +0 votes  + Brian McCormick › March 30, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Eric Platt › April 10, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Ian Brown › April 23, 2011
A+
I put a lot of sweat into this thing and I am glad to see it has a great rating.
-  +1 votes  + Matt Wright › July 12, 2011
A
I loved this course! Directly behind Hocking college in a beautiful setting. I was skeptical after I arrived because the first hole kinda sucked, however, once you work around the back of the 1st building into the woods, hang-on cuz it gets fun! The holes are short most all under 300' unless you play from the longs which do not increase by that much. The wooded holes I thoroughly enjoyed. Elevation insane! Throwing down mountains, up mountains, across valleys, surrounded by mature trees an ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + John Sales › July 31, 2012
B+
I rate this course 4 out of 5 stars. Pros - Plenty of parking - Bathrooms are at the Student Center - The map is handy but the trails are very defined as well - 8 holes have multiple tees - There are next tee signs that are extremely helpful! - Tee signs are great and you can see that a lot of work went into them - Baskets are in excellent condition (I believe they were also labeled but don’t quote me) - The overall flow is good. #18 ends at #1 right by the parking lot. There are ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Tim Rice › July 26, 2011
A-
-  +2 votes  + Chris C › August 17, 2011
A-
A very fun course with lots of variety. The holes in the hills were spectacular with rewards for well-placed shots and obstacles for missed shots. Several holes surrounded by very steep drop-offs. Great use of terrain and elevation. Just about the best course I've played. Prepare to spend a couple of hours - you'll want to try extra drives on quite a few holes. Bring water and bring a friend - hard to describe some holes, you'll want to share this course.
-  +2 votes  + Shane West › October 3, 2011
A-
Course is tight and technical, the wooded holes and the change in elevation make it a great course!!!
-  +1 votes  + Larry Bright Jr. › October 9, 2011
B
great technical couse with not much distance, but some very tricky wooded shots with ravines and cliffs to throw off or around. tricky terrain on the wooded holes, but the hike is worth it. there is a lot of areas where discs can go off sides of ravines with some treacherous walks to fetch them, so i'd scout the area before playing the course. natural tee pads are always a negative, but the area was well groomed and the course flow was very easy to follow. most holes have 2 tees, which is al ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Johnny Fenwick › October 14, 2011
A
Great course. Must play with technique. Think about your shots. Really long players can get in trouble here. You'll use every shot in the bag. Bring your A game, if you dont you may leave a little frustrated. Probably the most scenic course around. Even if you dant play its worth the hike, especially in the fall. Hocking College OP has been keeping up with the course management. Some of the holes have been cleared out a little for those who thought this course to be a little too demanding.

Proud to call Hocking College DGC my home course.
-  +1 votes  + Mike Buchanan › October 27, 2011
A
The staff at Hocking College has done an excellent job on this course. The current layout is a great improvement over the old 12 hole layout. The only thing the course needs at this point is a little work on the tee pad surface. This is a great technical course with excellent use of elevation. Very nice to have a course of this caliber a half of a mile from my residence.
-  +1 votes  + Eric G › April 24, 2012
B-
Its a decent course, but there are some really steep hills to climb and while the scenery is good, there are a lot of trees to contend with. Worth playing, but not my favorite.
-  +0 votes  + Ronny Debick › May 1, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Jared Heberling › May 22, 2012
A+
This course truly is an epic journey through the hills of southern Ohio. Awesome use of the land! One of the best courses you will ever play in Ohio. HANDS DOWN!
-  +0 votes  + ManFred "The Basket Molester" › August 1, 2012
A+
Awesome frikin course! Besides having trouble finding where to start I have 0 complaints.
-  +0 votes  + JJ svarda › September 9, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Douglas Fresh › November 10, 2012
B
This course is a workout. First 2 and last 3 holes are in the open, the rest follow a path through the woods with lots of elevation changes and tight, technical shots. Several baskets perched on hills with severe drop-offs around them. Long teepads give more challenging lines. Only cons are the natural pads (some of which have gnarly roots/rocks), lack of permanent signs, and lack of direction on a few holes.
-  +0 votes  + Adam Selzer › September 30, 2012
A
Great course! Even without concrete pads it is in the top 5 courses I've played in Ohio. Very technical, you'll need almost every shot in the bag at some point.
-  +0 votes  + Sean gebhard › September 3, 2013
A+
a little grown but it brings funs challenges with it I love this course.
-  +0 votes  + Michael Ruth › January 13, 2013
B-
Hard to keep the course groomed with all the runoff water but it's still a great course. Not too hard not too easy.
-  +0 votes  + Jonathan Farley › April 1, 2013
B-
I enjoyed the course. Leave your drivers at home cause you are not going to need them though. This course is still very tough despite the lack of distance.
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Eakin › April 6, 2013
B+
Very fun short course. Don't have to worry about being to sore after this one. Really nice area. Great for forehand or backhand players. Great beginner course but still challenging enough for everyone to enjoy a day of golf.
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Collins › April 16, 2014
A
Easily the least known course in ohio that is actually worth traveling to. The annual tournament there is always a blast thank you movdgc and Hocking College
-  +0 votes  + Bryant Williams › May 27, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Joe Ambuske › July 18, 2013
A
Fantastic physically demanding course!
-  +0 votes  + DETROIT J › July 23, 2013
B
Fun shots ! Maybe a bit difficult for less experienced players . DO NOT overthrow any holes , at least 9 holes have major drop-offs behind the basket . Also , if it is wet or raining you dont want to play that day . With natural tees and dirt floor on 85% of the course footing is a joke when wet. Very hilly , this course is a hike , you'll need to rest. All in all if you are a B player or better , you should enjoy this one.
-  +0 votes  + big skinny › October 13, 2013
B
lots of vertical played fairly short. enjoyed the course