Hippo Ridge DGC

Athens, Ohio     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Sign In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +2 votes  + Mike Tortolon › August 16, 2017
A
Really awesome course that will test every shot in your bag. The owner has several tees for each hole and takes great care of the course.
-  +1 votes  + Scott Campbell › February 24, 2019
A
Incredible course! I’ve played this course a few time now and I love it more every time. I had the opportunity to play all my rounds with the owner/designer and I truly enjoyed talking with him about the history and development of his course. Each set of tees is a different challenge. You will use every shot in your bag. There are several very unique holes that very enjoyable. If you live near the course set up a tee time and make the drive to play it. If you live far away do the same it will be well worth the trip.
-  +1 votes  + Mark Magers › February 23, 2019
A+
Best course I have ever played, beautiful scenery and wide variety of shots, very well maintained with distinct fairways.
-  +1 votes  + Joshua T › April 23, 2019
A
I had the pleasure of playing the course for the first time today. It's beautiful to say the least. The owner/designer Ken is extremely friendly and was a pleasure to throw a round with. He obviously is passionate about our sport and is definitely building the disc golf community in his area and beyond. The first couple of times you play it's nice to have him as a guide. There are no tee signs or markings for the pin locations. There are however four distinct tee pads for each target. Speak ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Randall G › March 10, 2019
A+
Best course in Southeast OH imo...
-  +1 votes  + Silas Wallace › March 24, 2019
A+
Hippo Ridge dgc is by far my new favorite course. This course has everything I want and nothing that I don't. Friendly environment, wide variety of shots, very well maintained, multiple tee pads, and no real threat of losing a disc. On top of that, the host/corse designer was quite hospitable and helpful. Good times at Hippo Ridge DGC. 1 love.
-  +1 votes  + Samuel R Daugherty Jr › March 14, 2019
A+
Love the course thanks Ken for having put it in. Wished I'd found disc golf earlier in my life. Having got my first ace here makes it more special..
-  +1 votes  + Rob Teridon › September 2, 2018
A
A great 18 holer in the Athens area. 4 different teas for each hole. Nicely wood but all reasonable fairways. Underbrush well maintained. Lots of elevation changes.
-  +1 votes  + OU Oh Ya › September 5, 2018
A+
Awesome course nestled in the foothills outside of Athens Ohio. Multiple pin/tee placements. Wide variety of shots (uphill, downhill, hallways and open). Best course in the area in my opinion. Great host and land owner has made his property into an amazing course, jealous. Wish I lived closer! Check it out!
-  +1 votes  + Ken Appell › February 22, 2019
A
I really enjoy the different shot selections required to make it around the course. It is an even split between left and right hand holes. The course is very well maintained and is dog friendly. Spending a Sunday afternoon out at Hippo Ridge is the highlight of the week for both myself and Scooter the Wonder Dog.
-  +1 votes  + Jerod Black › March 10, 2019
A
Very fun, yet challenging course with 4 different tee pad locations for each hole... The Guardian Aliens play here often... My wife loves it!
-  +1 votes  + Eli Webb › March 27, 2019
A+
Excellent course , owner/designer very friendly. Challenging and very fun course that requires different throws. From a thumber to your max distance drive and ace potential. 100% worth your time to set up a rendezvous with ken and play some disc golf
-  +1 votes  + Bob Williams › March 14, 2019
A+
Best DG course in OH, hands down!
-  +1 votes  + Michael A › March 17, 2019
A+
Perfect place to chase them chains.Very well maintained. Beautiful layout. Challenging holes. 3 tees per hole. You definently will not be disappointed. "Pick up stick" the game. Just ask.
-  +1 votes  + Claudia Carmor › April 7, 2019
A+
Fantastic course! Loved that the course fits any level. Additionally, the course is full of beautiful and creative hippos in all the shapes and colors. Ken is a great host.
-  +0 votes  + Josh Barry › June 21, 2019
A-
Played the white tees. A very challenging course. Most holes are very technical with varying size trees in the fairway. Tee pads are natural, made out of mostly wood chips. For the longer distance holes it is difficult to get an even run up. There is very few flat areas, elevation is a factor on every hole. Ken is a very gracious host, made time to play with is.
-  +0 votes  + Austin Casto › July 11, 2019
A+
This is one of my favorite courses and has an amazing owner!