Grand Woods Park

Lansing, Michigan     3 courses · 54 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +6 votes  + Harold FernandoMain course › August 7, 2012
A-
Great course, some technical shots, must have a good line selection...some of the holes can really mess you up. Water hazard at play, most of the holes have a backhand and forehand route which is pretty cool. PLAY EARLY!!! Gets very crowded and gets kinda wild at times with some of the people who play there. I've seen crazy things at the woods, overall a great course. Needs cleaning up...
-  +2 votes  + Keith AtenMain course › November 9, 2010
B
-  +2 votes  + Wayne RolisonMain course › May 25, 2011
B
Awesome course when dry. Can be one of the busiest in the Lansing area though.
-  +1 votes  + grant wardMain course › March 8, 2011
B-
-  +1 votes  + David TomlinsonMain course › January 3, 2016
A
-  +1 votes  + Steve HedstromMain course › September 18, 2011
B+
Grand woods is a fun course to play. They have a good mix of left, right, a couple open, and many woods, water will come into play on at least 6 holes. Pin placements are very good and really good tee pads. I would recommend a trip to play there and try to have enough time to play it twice (you will want to). There are a number of blind holes, so your first time go ahead and walk up the fairway to see where you should be shooting.
-  +1 votes  + Mark "Coach D" Di MambroMain course › November 6, 2011
A-
Very tough layout. Nice challenging course
-  +1 votes  + leftronics DavisMain course › November 26, 2011
A
Great shape, a lot cleaner than it used to be
-  +1 votes  + Marty MetheringhamMain course › November 19, 2010
B
-  +1 votes  + Josh BickelMain course › November 20, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Lauren St. ClairMain course › April 5, 2012
B+
Hate dealing with the dumb drunk wanna tough loud ****s that come out and play and mess up everyones game. Other than that, LOVE this course.
-  +1 votes  + philip balgerMain course › May 1, 2012
A-
Old School, first played here about 25 years ago.
-  +1 votes  + Benjamin MerkleMain course › February 7, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Christopher KirbyMain course › October 17, 2012
B-
This really has the potential to be a very good course, it just has too many downfalls. The course tends to flood a lot over the summer, (not this year which has been awesome) it is also hard to play in the afternoon due to the number of large groups that tend to play, and finally there is just too much vandalism on the course. I know this isn't the courses fault but it is just so frustrating to watch the course get destroyed by a bunch of immature little pricks.
-  +1 votes  + Gerrett LawrenceMain course › August 24, 2012
C
good course .... bad wait times ..... worst drunks
-  +1 votes  + Victor WahlMain course › March 27, 2013
B
-  +1 votes  + Chris ArnettWest course › November 21, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Davis _Main course › August 2, 2012
C
The 24 hole layout is a challenge, the challenge is why I am voting as high as a C. Grand Woods park is filled with graffiti and trash. When the weather is nice the course is packed beyond capacity. Most 'locals' play in groups larger than six, and skip holes 5,6 and A-F making huge back ups on 7 and 8. Serious disc golfers and golfers with children should not play here. Save yourself the headache and play Burchfield.
-  +0 votes  + Tim SylvainMain course › June 19, 2016
B-
Lots to like about this course. Great teepads, some cool risk/reward holes. Navigation is a little tough and some of the holes are just tough where luck is too big a factor.
-  +0 votes  + Jerry "Chilly" ChilsonMain course › January 18, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Matt DimickMain course › August 1, 2012
C-
Great course, but the casuals bring the rating way down
-  +0 votes  + B DarraghMain course › March 21, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Angel GilbertMain course › August 27, 2012
B
i played this in 2001, 2007, and 2012.
it was interesting when i played it in 2007 for the first disc girls gone wild event and vastly different now in 2012 less water they made a lot of the hole much more easy in my opinion.
-  +0 votes  + Steve ObergMain course › June 23, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Dan JenkinsMain course › July 20, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Patrick FulkersonMain course › August 2, 2012
A
Overall for a course this is awesome. You will have to use nearly every shot you have. It's generally very well groomed. The only downside to this course is its large amount of casuals. So I recommend everyone play this course given a chance.. Preferably in a tournament setting. If not bring your patience, and tolerance and you will be fine as its not the courses fault the locals can be pain.
-  +0 votes  + Paul DISC-OR-DIE HolsteinMain course › May 15, 2018
A
Played this course in 2008. It's hard to remember in too much detail going back that far, but I made a few notes that it was a lot of run (and there were at least a few Raskets). Need to get back to this one!
-  +0 votes  + Jim KnudsonMain course › August 4, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jason 'Skip Scoob' CassidyMain course › August 20, 2015
B+
-  +0 votes  + Eric GarnaatMain course › December 28, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Michael MinzeyMain course › May 18, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Sebastian HohlMain course › November 18, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Brent PeeblesMain course › June 4, 2017
A
-  +0 votes  + Joel CoppernollMain course › January 11, 2011
B+
During the wet season it is a horrible course. All of the holes will be flooded. When it is dry, it is pretty good.
-  +0 votes  + Kenneth EckhoffMain course › January 24, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Mike KocibaMain course › May 1, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Dan HultinMain course › August 14, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Ryan BoelterMain course › October 11, 2010
B
-  +0 votes  + Derek KresgeMain course › September 10, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Dan ChandoMain course › July 8, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Chris SmithMain course › October 27, 2010
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jason KarleMain course › November 7, 2010
B+
great course would be nice if there was some scorecards!
-  +0 votes  + Matt "Shmo" MichaelsMain course › March 30, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Ezra ShortMain course › January 5, 2011
C
-  +0 votes  + Randy ShreveMain course › October 9, 2010
B-
-  +0 votes  + jason munschyMain course › February 2, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Zach ShaferMain course › December 18, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Lee IrelandMain course › May 21, 2011
C+
There are 3 holes that have water covering the pin which makes it less fun to play
-  +0 votes  + jay calliMain course › May 21, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Zac OrleskieMain course › September 12, 2011
D+
Flooded on part of 5... navigating to next tee pads is challenging mostly blind guessing. Fun overall beautiful scenery
-  +0 votes  + David MiddletonMain course › July 14, 2011
C
still too wet,many holes close to unplayable
-  +0 votes  + Kyle WhitscellMain course › June 20, 2011
A-
Holes 5 and 6 are still underwater. Did not Play Ant Hill (hole 14). Standing water is slowly going down. Bug Spray is a MUST have.
-  +0 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf-Main course › October 7, 2011
C+
-  +0 votes  + Nick OMain course › June 28, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Cory HurstMain course › July 23, 2011
B+
Great course when it's dry! When it's wet though, there are a few holes that can't be played due to flooding. Not to mention the water surrounding brings misquotes, so bring some spray. Overall though, its a diverse and fun course to play!
-  +0 votes  + Chip CoganMain course › July 26, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Matthew MickeyMain course › April 1, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Nick DezinskiMain course › October 17, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Fred VocinoMain course › June 17, 2013
B
This course seems to have fallen victim to the melting of the polar icecaps. DG activists in the Lansing area are on top of the issues and are making changes to insure that people can play during the wet season.
-  +0 votes  + Andy EngilshMain course › September 19, 2011
B-
too much water /marsh, especially during "wet" season
-  +0 votes  + Zac R-GIRaFFEMain course › July 19, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Dan De JongMain course › June 4, 2012
D
Had a few holes that were impressive and fun to play. But there were a lot of holes that cannot be played unless its been a hot and dry week. Lots of flooding
-  +0 votes  + Hayden HallMain course › July 22, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Sal VMain course › November 18, 2011
B+
windy, windy, windy. I used stable discs today. It seemed to work. Fun air currents from the SW. Sun was out. Maybe 40 degrees. I had a hoodie over a hoodie. lol
-  +0 votes  + Kraig ShortMain course › April 28, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Larry DalimonteMain course › October 2, 2015
B
Layout is good given the plot of land it was molded on. Fair blend of open and wooded holes, but nothing too technical. Generally a smooth ride, but there are a couple spots you can be searching for discs for awhile. The pond is famished and requires a plastic sacrifice now and again. The land is a flood plane though so it can get soggy/buggy at certain points in the year. Try to tee off before mid afternoon as the casuals tend to saturate the course beyond that time of day. Especially when the weather is nice.
-  +0 votes  + jeremy prebbleMain course › April 14, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Bill LowerMain course › February 24, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Kyle GreinerMain course › June 22, 2012
C
Overall course layout isn't too bad, but a few holes tend to be unplayable or near-unplayable due to water. This course also has the unfortunate tendency to be populated by tons of shady players who will steal your discs and ignore general etiquette. There's generally a nice guy to buy discs from in the parking lot, though, with a good selection. I recommend playing the quick nine twice rather than the full course in any case.
-  +0 votes  + Brent BeardMain course › February 6, 2012
C
Given the 50 degree temperature in Michigan in February, I shouldn't have been surprised to find that the entire course was a mud bog...and yet I was.
-  +0 votes  + James LudwickMain course › February 7, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + David LowMain course › February 7, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Derek BodaMain course › March 20, 2012
A
Great course with great people. Prefferd course in the lansing area
-  +0 votes  + Mike SpagnetoMain course › August 12, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Nate-Dog SheltonMain course › August 18, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Bobby EvansMain course › July 29, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Jordan ZawodnyMain course › March 15, 2016
A
My new favorite course in the state.
-  +0 votes  + Luke LangkampMain course › June 4, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Jose Bobillo IIIMain course › June 12, 2012
C+
-  +0 votes  + Josiah PearlMain course › May 16, 2015
B-
-  +0 votes  + Eric RaifsniderMain course › September 6, 2012
B+
So I am new the Lansing Area, and this was the first course I played. This course offers a great variety of shots including narrow paths, Water holes (even thought the river is visibly down), Up and Down hill shots, Over and around Patches of dense foliage. And for you new players out there looking to get started DJ is out there pretty much daily until 6pm selling new and used discs, so its prime place to go for the new and advanced players alike. With School starting up again, its defiantly ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Mike LiskeyMain course › July 2, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Andrew TumaMain course › September 4, 2012
A-
i started playing here, love the course. has a variety of shots throughout, and things change depending on season and stuff which is cool. always try to get out there as much as possible.
-  +0 votes  + Ben BobowskiMain course › July 21, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Eric NelsonMain course › April 9, 2013
A-
Great course definitely one of my favorites.
-  +0 votes  + Aaron BrownMain course › July 9, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Justin HooperMain course › August 6, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Jake GonzalezMain course › July 18, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Scott LawrenceMain course › November 26, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Morgan EttingerMain course › August 8, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Nick M.Main course › March 5, 2013
B
This is my home course. Ive played this course at least 200 times. Still have yet to get a hold of it.
-  +0 votes  + Forrest OmlandMain course › January 4, 2015
B
I didn't need too many discs to play this course but I had to practice lots of different types of throws. Very fun to play. Must get busy in the summer and probably pretty wet. First time here was a winter tournament. Looking forward to improving my score and playing again soon.
-  +0 votes  + Tom TederingtonMain course › December 1, 2013
B+
Great course. Flooding can be an issue. Some long throws over or near water. Mosquitos can get bad.
-  +0 votes  + Skyler StokerMain course › September 26, 2016
A-
Initial review: I really enjoyed my time spent at grand woods! Huge variety in shots! I don't recall a single hole that seemed like a "filler" sure there were a few holes that were relatively wide open with sparse obstacles but they made sense. There were some wild blind shots that I wish more courses had. Only downfall is navigation in a few spots but any experienced disc golfer should be able to tell which direction to head next. Can't wait to get back out there.
-  +0 votes  + Andew "Chedder" WonchMain course › August 30, 2016
B+
-  +0 votes  + christopher rogalewskiMain course › July 25, 2013
B+
Cool course ....lots of different shots .... Like the water holes .... Couple nice chill spots ...luv watching people walk in the mud in hole two ....:) someone might not like u selling plastic here but the early bird gets the worm ...:)
-  +0 votes  + Jordon HopkinsMain course › May 31, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Patrick JouppiMain course › April 27, 2013
B
I love this course. I dig the water play, even though the Grand River gets out of hand every now and then and floods this place, most of the holes are still playable.
-  +0 votes  + dustin haysMain course › July 8, 2013
B+
Water is going down. Slowly
-  +0 votes  + Don SlaterMain course › July 12, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Chris ArnettMain course › November 21, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Ryan HolmesMain course › July 30, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Brian BaumMain course › August 11, 2013
B+
Like the layout, really have to know when to play smart and when you can unleash one. One of my favorite courses to play in the Lansing area.
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Goofy MitchellMain course › January 8, 2016
B+
-  +0 votes  + James hullMain course › September 14, 2013
B+
One of my favs never gets old
-  +0 votes  + Max SaxtonMain course › October 3, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Brad KramekMain course › September 30, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Ryan MartinMain course › March 18, 2014
B+
Fun course. But no signage.
-  +0 votes  + Daniel TornowMain course › May 8, 2015
B+
-  +0 votes  + Matt SowleMain course › April 25, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Matthew DyerMain course › May 11, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Michael GearhartMain course › May 2, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + D.J. SeehaseMain course › August 16, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Josh IMain course › June 24, 2014
B
Nice course but lots of mosquitoes and hipsters.
-  +0 votes  + Joe JohnsonMain course › July 6, 2014
B
Nice course. Very busy. Holes 5 and 6 were unplayable (flooded), but otherwise very fun. It would GREATLY benefit from more signage. I had to ask for help finding the next hole several times.
-  +0 votes  + Jim BastianMain course › July 13, 2014
A
great course very challenging
-  +0 votes  + O.B. Lee RidderingMain course › July 7, 2015
B-
It's a good course, but every broke **** in lansing and their pitbull infests this course. Stay away unless it's a Tuesday morning or something like that.
-  +0 votes  + Jeff HuletMain course › August 16, 2016
C+
I played this course today for the second time. I was in the area and wanted to play before I went on to the Fair. I like the way the course was laid out and the topography it is in. I will come back again! I got lost several times and missed holes due to someone that "mowed" areas that aren't even part of the course!! They need to mark the course better!
-  +0 votes  + Carl WebbMain course › May 16, 2015
B
Lots of fun. Well placed water hazards. Could see this course being very difficult following heavy rain, due to higher water levels and more mosquitoes.
-  +0 votes  + Phil BrittonMain course › October 29, 2016
B-
Fun layout, really enjoyed the round. Tee signs were in rough shape, and sometimes missing, and navigating was tough in spots. Updated signage would bump this up to a B+
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy "Grimm" NeffMain course › July 4, 2015
B
Aside from the flooding & unimaginable mosquito population (which didn't seem to care that I was covered in Coleman 40% deet bug repellent) it was a fun course. Plenty variety with wide open holes, technical holes, & various terrain. Next hole arrows & tee pad signs need some repair/replace attention but will definitely venture out from time to time as an alternative to Fitzgerald.
-  +0 votes  + Chris MinterMain course › October 26, 2015
A
Grand Woods is a nice course that plays around a small lake, more of a large pond, that is in the middle of the park. The design utilizes the water effectively and has a variety of holes playing around the water. One of the signature holes is hole 5 which shoots from an elevated tee over a swampy area toward a basket that is right next to the pond. The course has a nice mix of distances, with a lot of holes requiring straight shots from 200-350 feet. It is a course that you can shoot lights out ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Eric "Downtown" BrownMain course › June 18, 2016
B+
Very technical course!! Several of the holes play around a lake, accuracy is key! Tons of places to lose discs, and that is in the middle of the fairway. Trees and bushes are in the middle of many fairways that takeaway lines to the basket..Mowing when I played seems to be an afterthought. This is an older course that is showing its age. Great that it was free to play. Play there early,very crowded in the evenings and weekends.
-  +0 votes  + Michael WallaceMain course › June 21, 2015
B-
-  +0 votes  + Dave HeilemanMain course › May 25, 2016
B+
-  +0 votes  + Lane KaufmannMain course › August 21, 2016
A-
-  +0 votes  + Chris DannMain course › May 2, 2016
A
-  +0 votes  + Ray FMain course › September 12, 2016
A
-  +0 votes  + Ryan ElyMain course › January 26, 2018
A
-  +0 votes  + Kevin JenksMain course › October 22, 2017
B+
-  +0 votes  + Tanaya MartinezMain course › February 20, 2017
C
-  +0 votes  + James MMain course › April 24, 2017
B
Pros: Cement tees, free to play

Cons: Lots of water, poor drainage, signage could be better

It is a beautiful park that has a lot of potential to be a great disc golf course. Unfortunately, there are a number of holes that are basically underwater, making more than a few holes unplayable. Other than that, it has a pretty good variety of shots, and Grand Woods is challenging yet fair. Overall, I think this is an above average course.
-  +0 votes  + Trevor StaplesMain course › November 20, 2017
A
-  +0 votes  + Alex KMain course › July 27, 2017
A
-  +0 votes  + Jared jsauce SaucedoMain course › March 12, 2018
B+
-  +0 votes  + Robert RoosaMain course › June 30, 2018
C-
Father time has taken his toll. This classic Lansing course has seen better days. I played here for the first time in 5 years last night. It's true that 5 and 6 haven't been the same since the summer of 2003 (the big flood), but they've basically given up on these holes. The west end of the course has some playable holes, but for the most part, the only holes worth playing are still on the east end, and unfortunately there are only about 6 or 7 of them. 1-4 and 16-18 makes a nice course if you like 7 hole courses.
-  +0 votes  + Erik AtkinsonEast course › September 17, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + Matt Elgersma - iDisc for VEDSEast course › November 20, 2012
B+
pros: variety of shots, great pads, great basket placement for the water holes, beautiful park. cons: needs new tee signs w/ diretions to next hole, could plant/move some trees to make some of the lines more tight. Overall I loved it and wish we had one like it in Grand Rapids
-  +0 votes  + ken "sega salt" mooteEast course › January 10, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Terry ArnoldEast course › June 14, 2014
B
Grand woods is sweet. It is pretty wet most of the time. I normally skip 2 of the holes but one of them was playable today. It is unique and awesome. I liked hole 16 b/c I've never seen that kind of hole on any other course, with just a few narrow paths going through big bushes and woods to the right.... a tomahawk is helpful for me here. 17 is also a beautiful one going from an open field then into a wooded area and up a hill to the basket. Over all this course rocks! Going along the Grand River is pretty sweet on the front 9.
-  +0 votes  + Zac R-GIRaFFEEast course › December 28, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Gabriel SturleyEast course › October 25, 2012
A
The go-to course in the Lansing area. Free to play, yet a challenging setup. If you haven't played The Woods, you haven't experienced Michigan Disc Golf at it's best!
-  +0 votes  + Chris ArnettEast course › November 21, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Nick PorterEast course › May 30, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Robert RoosaEast course › July 9, 2018
B+
Don't like the overgrown 14 and 15 but the rest are nice. 16-18 are the signature holes of Grand Woods. To be clear, I consider the East Course to be 1-4 and 14-18.
-  +0 votes  + Matt DimickWest course › July 9, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Zac R-GIRaFFEWest course › December 28, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Robert RoosaWest course › July 9, 2018
D
Novice and recreational players should avoid this side of the course. Also, this side of the course isn't very interesting, just wet. 7 is still a cool hole, albeit overgrown. To be clear, I consider the West Course to be 5-13.
-  -1 votes  + J 96Main course › August 4, 2014
B+
-  -2 votes  + Kevin ReddyMain course › November 27, 2011
C-
This was my first time back here in about 10 years, and for some reason I had trouble finding the 10th hole (basket). I wasted a lot of time walking ahead and backtracking, and wasn't able to play all 18 holes, and therefore could not post my score, either. That sucks. On a positive note, I did enjoy the 15 holes that I did play. I put one in the river, but was able to fish it out with a VERY long branch - LOL.
-  -2 votes  + Corey KieftMain course › October 17, 2010
B-
-  -2 votes  + Josh RussellMain course › January 7, 2013
C-
I didnt like this course. There was only two holes that I could reach to begin with and was always playing for par. And being winter, I couldnt imagine playing in the spring and summer with all the water and loosing discs. I don't know, something unexplainable really rubbed me wrong about this course.
-  -3 votes  + Derrick DunvilleMain course › June 5, 2011
F-
Some sketchy mofos with a golden pit bull stole my star vulcan tie dye and took off!
Beware of sketchy people walking around the course with no discs lurking behind you at this course.
-  -4 votes  + kirk conradEast course › October 9, 2012
F+
-  -5 votes  + kirk conradMain course › October 9, 2012
F-
-  -5 votes  + kirk conradWest course › October 9, 2012
F