Golden Gate Park

San Francisco, California     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +1 votes  + Brody Cannon › September 8, 2012
A
Beautifully maintained park with some fun shots. My favorite place in Cali. Only downside is that it gets really busy.
-  +1 votes  + Josiah C.O.T.F.C. › September 16, 2010
A-
Amazing course in the heart of San Frans Golden Gate Park. Total variety of holes. Elevation changes hard lefts and rights. Technical in the aspect of there is a bounty of trees but non existant underbrush makes it all managable. Well done signage at every hole and the local club keeps it maintained with fresh chip. So why not an A+.... there is a road along holes 2 and 3 thats fairly busy with walkers and noise. And there is a couple walk outs where you are crossing fairways, and that can also be confusing. All together Wow! great place to disc at!
-  +1 votes  + Billy Matthews › December 11, 2011
A+
Five holes in I think to myself, "I cant believe this is free."
-  +1 votes  + Jerry Showman › February 15, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Steve Carson › March 3, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Dan Flans › April 18, 2012
A+
This is a great course in the heart of San Fran. It is technical but extremely fair. The locals here are more than happy to have you join them to show off their gem. I will definately be making trips back to this park! Very very cool.
-  +0 votes  + Samuel Sherwood › August 8, 2011
A
Awesome course. A must play if in San Fran.
-  +0 votes  + Stu Jensen › May 15, 2014
A
Elevations, technical, big arm, clean, concrete pads, accurate signs, and friendly atmosphere. Love this course. Didn't like the hike back to 17, but it doesn't detract from the course.
-  +0 votes  + Jamie Vincent › January 9, 2016
A
Damn near an A+ course..gets a little confusing from 16 to 17.. Other than that course is amazing..Some of the prettiest wooded shots I've seen to date..Recommend this course big time.
-  +0 votes  + Craig Dino › December 19, 2010
A-
enjoyed a lot
-  +0 votes  + Phil Brown › December 15, 2011
A
lots of big trees, good fairways. There was even a guy walking the course backwards selling Import beers from his cooler. Sweet.
-  +0 votes  + Justin Brown › November 29, 2011
A+
Sweet course...very wooded. Nice mix of short and long holes. Played with a local very helpful
-  +0 votes  + JimBONUS Gower › September 1, 2011
A-
Awesome! The locals are great, the course could use some better signs .. but other then that EPIC!
-  +0 votes  + Eric Friedman › December 28, 2010
A
-  +0 votes  + Nick Bosovich › May 1, 2016
B
Course is awesome, challenging, technical, long, short, hyzer, anhyzer... But course plays on top of itself, way too crammed into a very busy park. People walking up the fairways with faces buried in phones. A lot of holes play and then backtrack to the next tee making holes congested in already busy park.

Take this course and put it 30 miles out of SF and it would be an A course. Spread out the tees and baskets.
-  +0 votes  + Edan Badajos › December 31, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Scott Malone › September 20, 2010
A+
Best all around course I've played. Trees and elevation changes with brilliant course layout. The locals disc golfers are thegreatest bunch of guys anywhere! If you are in san Fran, bring your bag of discs. This course is incredible!
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Ulewicz › June 14, 2011
A
Awesome course from top to bottom. Not overly challenging, but great scenery combines seamlessly with a downtown urban environment. One of my favorites for sure. Well groomed and I loved how the baskets are moved around on a yearly basis.
-  +0 votes  + Thad Gunther › December 21, 2013
A
San Fran DGers are great folk.

GLOW GOLF. "A San Francisco treat"
Front 9 twice through.

Fun course, better locals. Don't be afraid to dish it out, as long as you can take it!
-  +0 votes  + Armando Lopez › August 11, 2011
A
Extremely fun to maneuver with tight fairway, calculated tunnel shots, and great elevation. Marked extremely well (except between #16 & #17). People were very friendly and one of the cleanest parks I have ever played. Definitely recommend!
-  +0 votes  + Adam Kriesberg › December 3, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Bryan Cook › November 27, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Canyon Read › May 15, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Dru "Stylez" › June 25, 2012
A
SWEET!
-  +0 votes  + Markus Mika › January 5, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + xaeLen n › July 6, 2015
A-
-  +0 votes  + steve nolff › March 22, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + William S Bauer AKA Billy Badass › September 19, 2011
A+
-  +0 votes  + Judd D › September 12, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Jamie Sims › December 19, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Josh Bogner › February 20, 2012
A+
Best Course EVER!!!
-  +0 votes  + Christopher Jah Love › April 27, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Matthew Johnson › April 3, 2012
A+
Prolly my favorite course that I have ever playes. Beautiful scenery with all the trees surrouning every hole and a good deal of technique required not to hit all of them. Very well maintained and easy to navigate. Play it every time i'm in the Bay area.
-  +0 votes  + Andre St.Esprit › October 4, 2012
A
Great course,my favorite so far. Fairways are well marked and they water them! The locals are quite an eclectic group, made this east coaster feel very welcome.
Great course,great park,great city. See you next year!
-  +0 votes  + Michael Arauza › July 18, 2016
A-
-  +0 votes  + The Ronin › June 24, 2012
A
Great course! Very technical and plays further than it is. Let no hole go without some sort of elevation change!!! Not windy at all, surprisingly for being in SF,and so close to the ocean. Mando's and OB's keep some of the holes tight, and only one basket is unimpeded from the tee, and a pretty good ace run hole to boot! Locals are AWESOME, friendly and helpful! Park was very crowded when Stylez and I were there, the most perfect, no fog and 73 degrees weather, some of the locals were even co ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Cody Taplin › July 29, 2014
A
Beautiful, and surrounded with friendly people. Long technical shots, with also a few ace runs, it will bring out every shot in your bag. They rotate pin placements (not sure how often) from 3 (4 spots on hole 6, which had the one of the coolest basket placements I've ever seen) spots. The tee signs tell you which pin your shooting at, very helpful. Only negative was trying to find hole 17. You gotta walk across some holes way uphill to find it. If your looking for somewhere to BUY DISCS ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Jon Kaiser › January 14, 2013
A
Great course that is clearly very popular. Great teepads, multiple hole locations with mini map at the start. Lots of variation and free parking. Just be ready for a crowd.
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Treude › July 2, 2016
A
What an amazing experience this course was. First of all, The course is amazingly beautiful, clean and well maintained. As well as, well designed tee pads and signs. Secondly,I liked how the holes got progressively harder. Making the back nine a real challenge. This park has really old and mature giant trees scattered over the entire course. The only thing I found odd was the sequence of holes 15 thru 18. (I recommend playing hole 17 and 18 after 14, then 16 and finish on 15. This would save you a long uphill walk from 16 to 17.)
-  +0 votes  + Ron Oberst › January 21, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Keenataz jw › December 13, 2012
A+
Beautiful defined fairways, long soaring holes, giant lovely cement tees.
-  +0 votes  + Maci I › April 18, 2015
B+
-  +0 votes  + Taylor Thornton › June 13, 2013
A
I love challenging trees and great hole spots on this course. Missed a few baskets by inches.. Cants wait to go back. Some kook I met in Idaho refered to the Bay Area as SoCal...my ears started to bleed
-  +0 votes  + Jeff Schneider › August 20, 2013
A
Awesome course. Wish I would have had my full bag! Still really fun and challenging. A lot of different types of holes.
-  +0 votes  + Kristofer Mickelson › March 4, 2014
A
Course Beautification project(s) have created a course so strategic that its challenge is only matched by it's beauty.
-  +0 votes  + Josh Petersen › November 30, 2013
A+
Wow beautiful course. Great people too! Very fun. Long pin locations are very humbling and tough. First time all short(did great) second time all long(kicked my ass)
-  +0 votes  + Gary N › January 16, 2015
A-
I've wanted to play this course for about a year and finally got to it on 1/14/2015. It was good, but not as good as I was expecting. It is a very pretty course, but it is not an "A" in my opinion. Hole 6 was set for the "D" position, but there was no info for a "D" position. Weird hole positioning for Hole 17, where you have to walk back almost to the 16 tee pad. Also, we played from 11 am to 1 PM and it was very hard to see the baskets, (and it was a sunny day). The baskets kind of blend ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Phil Goodnough › August 27, 2014
A+
Course is dope, Mr Patrick Brown, and everyone do a great job keeping the course looking tip top.
-  +0 votes  + Justin Berry › April 12, 2016
A
If you haven't played it yet, make the effort...
-  +0 votes  + Zooey Zanzibar › May 13, 2014
A+
Beautiful place to play under the trees! Really friendly people.
-  +0 votes  + Jake Grace › June 6, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Justin Atchley › June 9, 2014
A-
The course was in great shape. Early morning fog burned off to highlight a nice bright sunny day.
-  +0 votes  + David Lucas › June 9, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Steve Borst › May 5, 2015
A
-  +0 votes  + max rosen › July 14, 2014
A
Pros: Amazing course! Extremely clean and well maintained. Great for beginners and pro's. Good mix of technical shot, long shots, and technical long shots (HOLE #5). Also has a couple great short holes (#2 and #9). Great alternative pin placements.

Cons: Lots of traffic on the course, from groups of 6,7,8+ sometimes. Random runners, bikers, and other pedestrians. New players with bad etiquette (fore??)

Overall: I play the course almost everyday and I seem to never get bored with it. Always challenging in different ways.
-  +0 votes  + polly taylor › January 26, 2015
A+
-  +0 votes  + Peter Ensrud › April 22, 2014
A
The course is great, though it was better years ago when it was first built. Not as many people knew about it and it was still full of long grass, and smaller branches and trees. These have since been trampled and broken down or removed. Now green grass covers the fairways, which is nice, but not the same Safari feel it had before being rebuilt and improved upon. Anyone that played here in its early years will know what I mean. As for the course. Signage is great. Pin locations are great, an ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Fly'N'Ryan Silva › January 13, 2015
A
Fun place. Got to play my first time for the 2015 bag tag challenge!
-  +0 votes  + Mauricio Carneiro › April 30, 2015
A
Even though we saw a guy masturbating on the tee, this is a great course in a beautiful setting. Love it every time.
-  +0 votes  + Curtis C › June 6, 2015
A
Great course! Lots of challenging terrain and the baskets for each hole change frequently. Most holes have 3 different possible basket locations while some have four (a "D" will be written in). Be careful for holes 6 & 11 if they're high up. Those are more difficult. And Hole #12 can be difficult if it's in position C.

Also, watch the tree/bushes for Holes 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, and 17. I've spent quite a fair amount of time looking for discs on those holes.
-  +0 votes  + Mike Gilman › September 6, 2015
A
great course layout and in an awesome city. clean no garbage. tee pads all cement marked well.
dislike O.B.on 3 & 5 but oh well next time I won't throw there, my bad.
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Stevens › January 25, 2016
B+
A little wet and muddy when i played. Not a whole lot of grass on this course. Very well traveled paths. Extremely compact design with dangerous hole transitions
-  +0 votes  + marc PaBear prud'homme › February 2, 2016
A+
Oh my. So much to enjoy. Everything people said was true. Some closeness of fairways (who would have thought given location eh?). Take a picture of course for reference or at least know transition 16 to 17. Can see and appreciate effort to maintain this paradise of a course. Only real drawback is that I kept forgetting to note score. It is that intoxicating.
-  +0 votes  + Peter Beckwith › January 20, 2016
A
Without question the best course I have played, challenging pin locations, pins on wood built obstacles and the variety of shots you need are incredible. The bad parts are the holes 2,3 and I think 4 are next to a busy road, and the course is always packed with slow people. I love the course and wished I lived in SF, also has the mando I have ever seen.
-  -1 votes  + Adam Woodward › December 10, 2013
B
Tee pads, baskets, signs. Many fairways overlap or cross. No practice basket. Overall a course to definitely check out, right in the city, but doesnt feel like it. Some nice elevation change. Could be a better rating, but a B because it feels cramped and could easily be expanded to make some of the shots more than a roc.
-  -1 votes  + Travis Miranda › October 29, 2014
A-
This course is beautiful. Not only is the course itself almost looking like a high end expensive golf course, (thank you PB) The design and layouts that change frequently are challenging shots that also looks great as well as playing smoothly. just watch out for them trees!