Giles Run @ Laurel Hill Park

Lorton, Virginia     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + Sami Z › July 3, 2017
B+
Very nice course layout, "But" without a map, you may get lost between a few holes especially if your new to this course. Look for a Map at http://www.pdga.com/course-directory/course/giles-run-laurel-hill-park . Lots of Thick OB and I can almost guarantee you'll be in it. If you find my disc please send it back to me :)
-  +0 votes  + Nathon Coe › June 13, 2017
C
-  +0 votes  + Matthew Mendenhall › April 2, 2017
A
Easily one of the most challenging courses you'll ever play if you can't keep it in the fairway. It's really that simple. Thorns bad, fairways good. Lots of elevation, hoping over rocks in a creek, and beautiful views. Plus, you get a sweet barn and silo. The towering pines behind the long pin on 13 are massive!. Don't forget to spray down for ticks beforehand. They be brutal in the summer. But the blackberries are too. So ya get snacks!

You'll probably need a map. You can find one here under 'Maps and Photos'.

http://www.pdga.com/course-directory/course/giles-run-laurel-hill-park
-  +0 votes  + Grady Iliff › June 7, 2016
A-
-  +0 votes  + Greg S › July 7, 2015
A-
Great course, too many thorns though. Nice mix of open and wooded holes. A decent hike too.
-  +0 votes  + Mike "Sully" Sullivan › July 12, 2017
A-
Nice course with great elevation changes. I've come to appreciate this course and the placement golf it demands. Truly a great local gem.
-  +0 votes  + Adam Woodward › December 28, 2013
A-
Great Track, absolutely worth playing. Designed very well, and lots of terrain makes for a great hike, views, and shots. 1-16 play and then a big backtrack from 16-17. Make sure to throw from the top of the hill of 16 down to the short basket on 17 if you can at least get to the bottom of the hill where it is easier to retrieve (few thorns). Lots of thorns, looks like they are clearing them, and some paths do exist. AVOID GOING IN THEM AT ALL COSTS! So with all of that I say A-.
-  +1 votes  + Robert Michaud › August 26, 2013
A
Lots of OB and Blackberry thickets. Bring a poll or machete and ware long pants.
-  -3 votes  + Ellie B › May 12, 2013
D-
I like the course that I played but hated the fact its not mapped out at all when you try to find one for the first time its difficult to find unless you see others playing it and ask them. Lost my way after hole 6 because again no markers for the holes and ticks and swampy and lots of places to lose a disc in there ...not the best course ive been to ever.
-  +0 votes  + Alan D. › March 26, 2012
B+
Each hole offers a different challenge. Whether it is an altitude change, trees, or throwing to a tee perched on the side of slope. Wide open and long holes brings me here, but the briars keep me away. If you are playing for the first time wear long pants and keep it in the fairway. 2 sets of tees and baskets, which is sweet. O yea, for the course neewbies, research the layout first. You will get lost between 6 & 7, 7 & 8, and you will probably miss out on (i think) 12, 13, 14 (then figure out where to go after 16).
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Hartley › March 9, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + DJ Anderson › November 9, 2011
B
This course will chew you up if you can't stay on the fairway! Great range of shots!
-  +0 votes  + LUKE OWENS › May 18, 2011
A
This is one bad Mutha! Challenging for the best and the worst of players.. However still lots of fun! A must play in the D.C. area!
-  +0 votes  + John Roe › May 17, 2011
B+
Variety of elevation changes and character. Nice having 2 sets of t's and 2 sets of baskets, added to the length, thick undergrowth on the sides, lost a couple of disc and had a couple of ticks, got lost between 7 an 8 but had a wonderful walk through the woods, so follow the road under construction when coming up out of the creek on your way to 8
-  +0 votes  + leftronics Davis › February 20, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Mike Tomlin › January 17, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Sean Burkett › November 21, 2010
A+
-  +0 votes  + Steve Bohan › October 21, 2010
A