Garfield Park

Grand Rapids, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + Randy Shreve › May 25, 2013
C-
ok course posts for holes nice chance to work on putting and approach shots.
-  +0 votes  + Brian O › October 27, 2010
B+
If you consider the fact that this course was designed to be played with big plastic, it's a great course. Play it with a mid or a putter and you'll have a great time.
-  +0 votes  + Jim Jean › August 22, 2011
B
-  -2 votes  + Corey Kieft › February 26, 2012
C+
Post course. Distances on some of the posts seem wrong.
-  +1 votes  + Mack Wimbush › May 21, 2012
C
sick of the poles. want the chains and baskets.
-  +0 votes  + John B › September 9, 2012
C
Garfield is a super quick play, I like it due to the fact that I can ride my bike to the park. It is a stick course, this may turn some players away. I like taking a walk through the park while everything is going on around. I have never been slowed down by others playing. If you see others playing they tend to be solo or doubles.
-  -1 votes  + Marvin Buitendyk › May 30, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Alan Moll › June 1, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Marc 2895 › June 28, 2013
B-
I love this old pole course , this is the course I cut my teeth on when I started playing disc golf way back in 1978 before golf discs and baskets even existed. I played with world class 165 and 141 gram ( big platter discs ) those big platters were also great to use as plates at pig roasts and back yard parties , yes that was a different time that's for sure. So the next time you play one of these old courses appriesiate them because these courses are the birthplace of what we have today.
-  +1 votes  + John Gomez › August 10, 2016
A+
Back in the day (summer of 1977 ) Me, and this park attendent name Tee, he came up with this ideal of stapling paper plates on the trunks of the trees in and around the park we used those 141's and 165's that was all we had. Thats all we had to throw .This is before they had the current course that you see today . Back in the day this was the place to play and hang out at the picnic tables...for those of you ( O.G's) original golfers out there then you know what iam talkin about.Garfield is th ...
continue reading ›
-  -1 votes  + Cody Taplin › September 14, 2013
D-
Poles, commmmonnnnnn. Are we in the stone age? And Garfields doesn't exactly attract the best crowd to disc around. Kind of a joke of a course, I only play it because I live a block away.
-  +0 votes  + Tino Pena › August 6, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Tyler Frisbie › August 18, 2016
B-
-  +0 votes  + Scott Stacey › November 17, 2015
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jeff C › August 9, 2016
A
Only thing keeping this from the "perfect" rating is the tee pads...the new layout is great and will only get better with use and tee pads. Great mix of difficulty, technical shots and a "let it fly" 15...can't wait to make this course a regular part of my rotation and routine!
-  +0 votes  + Bryan Earvin › August 10, 2016
B
This review comes after the redesign and the addition of baskets to this course.
It is a technical course with trees a major factor on most holes. Few long holes, but most fall in the 200-300 range. Lots of low hanging branches, so keeping shots low is a must. I found it challenging. A great beginner course! I will be back frequently.
-  +0 votes  + David Burkholder › August 13, 2016
A-
-  +0 votes  + Matthew Jackson › August 14, 2016
B
-  +0 votes  + Jason Ponchahar › August 21, 2016
B+
Very nice use of the land available. With the hopeful addition of concrete pads it will be a great play!
-  +0 votes  + Jake Martin › August 23, 2016
B+
-  +0 votes  + Alex Hull › September 26, 2016
B
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Goofy Mitchell › October 2, 2016
B
Cool fun course with low ceiling shots at times..
-  +1 votes  + Nick Bosovich › October 17, 2016
B+
The new design is very nice and utilizes all of the available park while still leaving room for other activities to take place. Fun layout with different shots.
-  +0 votes  + Curtis Gardner › October 19, 2016
B
Very short but also very fun to play, no tee pads, a few mandos. Some distance shots and some finesse shots.
-  +0 votes  + Chris Lozen › November 2, 2016
D-
-  +0 votes  + MARK HASSELBRING › November 13, 2016
A