Champoeg State Park

Newberg, Oregon     2 courses · 36 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + Travis "Chatta" PughOld Oak Grove › March 28, 2015
B-
Huge tee pads!!!! The tee pads are amazing some of the best I've seen. Not bad layout. Only real cons are not much elevation change, but some pins are in stumps which is cool. Also no signs so navigation can be confusing. Course is like in a swamp so it gets really muddy most of the year. New Mach x baskets on front are nice. With signs this course will go up a little in my book
-  +0 votes  + Will SummersOld Oak Grove › March 7, 2015
A
-  +0 votes  + Mike WilsonOld Oak Grove › March 7, 2015
B
Love the new changes! There are a few things that need to be finished up, (baskets, signage), to recieve an increase in rating. But I know the guys are working as fast as possible!! Great job guys!!
-  +0 votes  + Zac TeuscherOriginal course › February 26, 2015
B+
-  +0 votes  + Chris FaudreeOld Oak Grove › February 12, 2015
A-
Fun course, mostly just long straight shots
-  +1 votes  + Matt BresslerOld Oak Grove › January 21, 2015
A-
Love this course!
-  +0 votes  + Christopher FangerOld Oak Grove › January 20, 2015
C+
Work in progress, tough in the winter.
-  +1 votes  + Nicholas SkaaleOld Oak Grove › January 19, 2015
A-
Fun , technical. Like the pin locations on the stumps
-  +0 votes  + Aytch RobertsOriginal course › December 29, 2014
A-
Actually a great course, just very soggy but then this was the Swamp Stomp so I guess that's a bonus!
-  -1 votes  + Ryan BordenOriginal course › March 11, 2015
D-
Got lost about 5 times because a lack of good signage.
Inconsistent baskets throughout the course.
-  +0 votes  + Brett-"Terb" BaeseOriginal course › December 1, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Sean ChapmanOriginal course › November 28, 2014
B+
Fun course!!! The new layout can be tough. The teepads are BIG and all holes have multiple pin placements. The course is still missing tee signs and its hard to navigate if your a first timer. Also, there is still a few holes with the old baskets but most have the new Mack X's.
-  +1 votes  + Adam RenfroOriginal course › November 28, 2014
A
The changes made here have turned this place into an A+ tournament course. It has everything to challenge a player, obs, dense oak trees, enough long holes and obstacles on every hole you really have to play well to shoot negative rounds.
Winter time I could see where standing water could be an issue, and replacing the old baskets would be nice.
Champoeg has been revamped into MUST-PLAY course!!!
-  +0 votes  + Shaun KirkOriginal course › November 23, 2014
A-
Awesome teepads, great variety of basket locations. Lots of good work recently upgrading this classic course. My only criticism is the long walkouts could be confusing to new players, some added signs would help. And if people want to play old school style the OG rubber tees are still there.
-  +0 votes  + Ira BurgessOriginal course › November 15, 2014
A-
Great tee-pads, instant hit with the mach-X's. semi-long technical shots, pretty well kept. Could have gone without seeing one of the trash cans overflowing with booze containers. Didn't care too see that even when I "was" a drinker.
-  +0 votes  + Tyler OlsenOriginal course › November 10, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Christopher FangerOriginal course › October 8, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Chris FaudreeOriginal course › September 16, 2014
A-
New layout.
-  +0 votes  + Rick ManleyOriginal course › August 27, 2014
A
this new 18 is incredible.
-  +0 votes  + Grape ApeOriginal course › August 18, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Jason StaatsOriginal course › August 10, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Jeff HarbaughOriginal course › August 7, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Andrew DufourOriginal course › June 25, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Mark McKeeverOriginal course › June 8, 2014
B+
Nice course except for the rubber mat tees, a few of them needs to be replaced badly.
Nice mix of short and long difficult shots because of all the trees, but a good place to work on your game.
-  +0 votes  + Russ BrownOriginal course › May 26, 2014
C+
-  +0 votes  + Ivan BurfordOriginal course › May 16, 2014
B
-  +1 votes  + Mr. SnapOriginal course › May 7, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jeff "MaxPsych" HeltsleyOriginal course › May 6, 2014
B-
-  +2 votes  + David AmanOriginal course › September 18, 2014
A-
"Friends of Champoeg Disc Golf" on Facebook is working with the State Park to improve the course. Check there for updates. On 8-18-2014 18 new huge tee pads were poured. As of 9-18-2014, 18 holes are in!
-  +0 votes  + brent kressOriginal course › January 31, 2014
C
-  +0 votes  + Dan BeegleOriginal course › January 26, 2014
C
Cool course. crowded. Every whole is basically straight ahead.
-  +0 votes  + Randy MooneyOriginal course › December 27, 2013
C+
-  +1 votes  + Sean DavisOriginal course › October 28, 2013
B-
Enjoyed this course. Great use of all the oak trees to shape routes. This is an A grade course that gets a B- because of rubber teepads, and no signage. I would also like to see better baskets or chains added to current baskets (Herbert Hoover Park style) and three more for a true 18. Looks like there is enough land for an additional 18 as well. This could be a destination type place with some work.
-  +0 votes  + Gregg SuttonOriginal course › September 13, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Elliott NOriginal course › September 13, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Luke JohnsonOriginal course › September 12, 2013
B
Great course. Everytime I have been here the grass was well kept up. I just went camping at Champoeg and they had some fairly nice shady spots. The course deserves a better rating but they could also use concrete tee pads and signage.
-  +0 votes  + Pink PassionOriginal course › July 23, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Ryan BlakeOriginal course › August 26, 2014
C
-  +0 votes  + Mickey Shau QuaddixOriginal course › July 22, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Matt BresslerOriginal course › August 26, 2014
B+
My home course. It now has 18 cement tee pads. There are multiple tee locations on most holes now with the addition of the tee pads which is nice. Older innova style baskets plus 3 mach x so far. The new cement tee pads add quite a bit of distance to the holes as well. There are 4 brand new holes that are just waiting to have basket sleeves put then it will be the full 18 hole layout. There is currently no signage up on any of the holes and only a few garbage cans situated through the course. No benches either.
-  +0 votes  + Nick OrrOriginal course › May 1, 2013
B+
Sweet park. When I parked my car I said to myself, "You have got to be kidding me". After a round I was ready for another. the park plays surprisingly well considering how flat it is. The baskets are placed just right, and you will spend more time playing then looking for your disc.
-  +0 votes  + marc bOriginal course › April 24, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Ian Clark-WilliamsOriginal course › February 16, 2013
B
Love this course, love the environment, just wish there some signs..
-  +0 votes  + Daneger JonesOriginal course › November 11, 2012
B
fun course, quick play through and easy to not lose track of discs. rubber pads get soopah slick when wet and if you get caught out there at dusk you run risk of getting locked in for the night. Killer course if you like a mix up of distance and technical without a bunch of brush and nature crowding up the holes.
-  +0 votes  + Jason "Rooster" BrusterOriginal course › August 22, 2014
B
My review is moving up to a B from a c- since new concrete pads are in now... New baskets and signage and my review will move up again
-  +0 votes  + Jarrett PaytonOriginal course › October 19, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Rick SaffeelsOriginal course › October 5, 2012
B
First time playing. Short layout was fine. Baskets not my favorite as my discs fell out on several putts.
-  +1 votes  + Corey DempseyOriginal course › September 9, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Brad HummelOriginal course › August 17, 2012
A
This is a great course to learn on and is a lot of fun. Lots of opportunities for birdies and open fairways make it hard to lose discs. One of the best courses in the area
-  -1 votes  + Dylan AdamsOriginal course › August 17, 2012
A+
Love this course!
-  +1 votes  + Chris "The Lip" LippertOriginal course › August 10, 2012
B+
No need to worry about lost discs out here. Pretty open all around. Some signs at the tee pads would be nice.
-  +1 votes  + Luke GordonOriginal course › July 30, 2012
B
-  +1 votes  + Stefan VincentOriginal course › July 22, 2012
B+
-  +1 votes  + Matt KellyOriginal course › June 22, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Nick NisbetOriginal course › March 26, 2014
B+
This is my home course. It's forgiving if you're new to the sport. I have heard from a few veterans that they get bored here. I've been playing for only three months, so I like this course. They have been mowing it almost daily now that summer is in full swing. Good baskets, but they only have one set of chains, tee pads are decent, but not concrete. Champoeg will always be home since this is where I learned to play. This is a great course for introducing friends and family to our awesome sport.
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Sweeley aka ONE LIVID MINDOriginal course › May 28, 2012
C+
-  -1 votes  + Grant larsonOriginal course › April 14, 2012
D
great if you like playing in a swamp
-  -1 votes  + John DOriginal course › March 3, 2012
A+
-  +1 votes  + Jared KastlemanOriginal course › February 14, 2012
C+
Arguably the first DG course in Oregon. Champoeg plays mostly flat with trees. This lack of elevation change which can result in swampy terrain, as well as the fact this course is not a full 18 justifies the C+ rating. Other than that it is a beautiful, well kept course and well suited to people who would prefer a flat course for various reasons.
-  +1 votes  + Dewey "DUI" D.Original course › November 9, 2011
A
What puppy doesnt like tree's? Tree's with lotsa squirrels all over the place.
-  +3 votes  + Erin ReichelOriginal course › November 9, 2011
A+
-  +1 votes  + Kyle RakozOriginal course › September 29, 2012
B
If it was a little more disc golf friendly it would get a higher score (lots of anti-disc golfers there) and they could do a lot more to improve the layout. As is it is only an Ok course.
-  +1 votes  + Josh MarcellaOriginal course › October 20, 2011
A
Great course! It's a nice place to spend your day.
-  +0 votes  + Vince EpkerOriginal course › October 20, 2011
B+
Fun but flat...nice mix of shots
-  +1 votes  + Mat OwensOriginal course › October 17, 2011
A+
first time at this course. it is amazing!
-  +0 votes  + Kevin RiveraOriginal course › October 16, 2011
A-
Slick pads
-  +1 votes  + Mike GilbertOriginal course › September 5, 2011
B
fun course but very busy with people just walking around not playing.
-  +0 votes  + Kyle WOriginal course › September 3, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + kelly cOriginal course › August 21, 2011
B-
-  +1 votes  + Shib .Original course › September 28, 2014
A-
-  +2 votes  + Jason "FILLY" FillisOriginal course › July 27, 2011
B+
-  -1 votes  + Rick COriginal course › July 24, 2011
A-
a lot of variety for a 15 hole par 3 course. lots of places to lose your disc for beginners.
-  +1 votes  + Steven EglerOriginal course › July 20, 2011
B-
-  +1 votes  + Jeff NicholsOriginal course › July 15, 2011
B+
FUN Course. Some cool pin placements. NO elevation changes, but the layout almost makes up for it. If there was some elevation in the mix, this would have been an A course for me for sure. Still, was a BLAST playing this course for the 1st time and I WILL play it again! Oh, Well Groomed Course. No Lost DIscs!!!!
-  +1 votes  + Chase EstepOriginal course › November 2, 2011
B-
-  +1 votes  + Ryan L.Original course › July 6, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + WAYNE "big daddy" WALKEROriginal course › June 25, 2011
B
Some of the baskets only have single chains on them.
-  +0 votes  + Ben StablesOriginal course › June 14, 2011
A
-  +2 votes  + - scottishrob -Original course › June 4, 2011
B-
Great course. Lots of fun. No worry about losing discs. Multiple holes that will test your accuracy. A few that let you grip and rip. No elevation changes and only 15 baskets are what is keeping it from a B+ or an A-. Once it dries out it will be great for bbq and a couple of rounds.
-  +0 votes  + Sara ROriginal course › May 18, 2011
B
concrete tees please! and better drainage...
-  +1 votes  + Scott HillOriginal course › May 4, 2011
B
A fun course - a perfect place for beginning to intermediate players. Advanced and pro players will have fun playing with just a putter or midrange. Beautiful park setting in an oak grove. With a few exceptions, this is a pretty tough place to lose a disc. Natural teepads, and some are getting a little choppy, but run-ups are not needed on many holes. No signs, but the course flows well and is very easy to follow with a map. No elevation change. As noted in many other reviews, ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Nate HillenkampOriginal course › May 2, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + Dan BrownOriginal course › April 12, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + TREE SinesOriginal course › April 12, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Paul " PW" WhiteOriginal course › April 8, 2011
B-
Still really swamppy out there bring your boots
-  +3 votes  + jordan paaschOriginal course › March 22, 2011
A+
its a real fun park
-  +1 votes  + matt andersonOriginal course › January 24, 2011
C
-  +4 votes  + Dru "Stylez"Original course › October 20, 2014
B+
10/18/14 ... This is what was needed to make this a destination Course! Nice Job to all involved and I must say I love the new tee boxes! Beautiful 18 Hole Course! Too Flat n Muddy... Tee's WTHell... Uneven Rubber, and you have to Pay for that. I was really Disappointed in this Place as you (WE) must Pay to Play... You Might think they would do something a little Bigger n Better than that for the Money. Sadly... I will NOT be making this a Future Hot Spot. Unless some Serious Renovation takes Pl ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + David Newton IIOriginal course › January 4, 2011
B
A fun for the whole family course when it is dry. Great mix of holes for all ages. The rubber tee pads should really get replaced with concrete, and three more holes would make this an A course in my book. Not because it is a hard or epic course, but simply because it is a fun course for my entire family. A bathroom closer to the course (even a porta-potty) would be a great addition.
-  +3 votes  + The RoninOriginal course › January 18, 2011
C
WET! Way soggy, lakes everywhere, muddy baskets, uneven tees, tees are worn away rubber. Layout is nice, needs some tlc. FIX THE TEES!!!!!!!
-  +0 votes  + Shane the Chain JohnsonOriginal course › October 30, 2010
C+
what can i say about poey! lol i just did nice course just a bit on the boring side. and i hate rubber pads in the winter
-  +3 votes  + Josiah C.O.T.F.C.Original course › October 22, 2010
B
solid course. flat but fun. 3 more holes and real tee pads well get it an A
-  +1 votes  + Will DickerOriginal course › October 21, 2010
A
-  -2 votes  + Cameron "wanta bang martha" fickerOriginal course › June 21, 2011
C+
-  +3 votes  + shaggy fOriginal course › October 21, 2010
B
it was a fun course good flow its not a hard course just easy to mess up i think the tree r made of rubber if u hit one ur getting stopped or bouncing a mile still fun course
-  +4 votes  + Thomas "T" D.Original course › July 4, 2014
B+
I love the mix of open and thru the tree's shots. Tee's need to be concrete and baskets are pretty beat up. Super fun when its dry. A swamp when its wet. Needs restrooms closer to the disc course,long walk to the one thats there. A beautiful course and fun to play. **Updated 6/4/14** The course has been receiving some nice improvements and upgrades. A few new Mach X baskets with a complete change-out to come soon. Holes 5 & 6 have brush cleared and opened the old pin for 5. As with hole 9 and ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + TOE "Tee Off Even Under Pressure" UPOriginal course › October 7, 2010
B+
i have never played there when it wet but i bet it sucks there when it is
-  +2 votes  + YounG GuN OG JohnsonOriginal course › October 1, 2010
B+
-  +2 votes  + Brad PhillipsOriginal course › September 25, 2010
B+
Flat course with lots of trees. Many long drives and a few short. Not very many places to lose discs.
-  +1 votes  + George LagunaOriginal course › September 23, 2010
A-
We stayed in the campground! It was nice to wake up and throw.
Far from a store. Plan it right
-  +1 votes  + David ZimmermanOriginal course › September 19, 2010
B-
-  +2 votes  + Andy VerhoevenOriginal course › September 17, 2010
B
would be better with 3 more holes. In the winter it could be wet