Campgaw Reservation

Mahwah, New Jersey     2 courses · 36 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Sign In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +2 votes  + Phill DiloneMain course › September 27, 2016
A-
Amazing course tons of elevation and roll away greens. you have to be on your game for this course and know a few shots to get through the tight woods!
-  +1 votes  + Andy AupperleMain course › June 25, 2011
A-
Pros: -Tees are clear even though the rest of the course is covered in snow and ice, someone really cares about this course -Awesome use of elevation and local landscape, accuracy is at a premium -Used a wide variety of different shots -Holes are short, but challenging due to trees, elevation, and boulders -Hole 17 is my favorite hole of the course. The best opportunity to throw huge down hill bombs. -Great cardio workout walking up the mountain Cons: -I'm fine with playing on gravel tees ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Angelo Di CarloMain course › October 21, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Andrew MMain course › April 22, 2012
B
Mostly wooded - sparsely in the first 9 and heavily in the back 9. This course depends more upon accuracy than distance. Par 3s seem a bit unrealistic for some of the longer, tighter holes - but my opinion might change if I play this course again.
-  +0 votes  + Corey StahlMain course › June 12, 2011
B-
All in woods. Short course. Somewhat easy to navigate.
-  +0 votes  + ANTHONY CASSATAMain course › October 25, 2012
A
great course,great workout, beautiful surroundings,chances to make some terrific shots,needs direction from pin or next tee markers and trash cans.a legend would have been helpful in so many ways found some markers, but being from out-of -state it was hard to play the front 9 with natural takeoffs,it was hard to navigate/see them. the back 9 was better but still i needed to do alot of backtracking to find holes as a first-timer, and with the elevation, you better bring water and an energy bar ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Justin McBMain course › January 10, 2013
A-
Great alternative to longer Mighty Gaw; footing can be tricky often. Close to NYC, not many other park users - aside from the odd Bear (like, real Bear) wondering through.
-  +0 votes  + Ryan KenneyMain course › September 23, 2013
A-
One of the best courses in NJ, Course is in great shape!
-  +0 votes  + Dan B.Main course › September 16, 2013
B
A bit woodsy, but in a great spot to play all the time for me
-  +0 votes  + Flying CamelMain course › September 20, 2013
A-
great course for accurate drives and creative approaches. for a course that is all in the woods and appears intimatading if you get off the fairway, i find that most holes are fairly forgiving for getting a good shot back on course or even to the hole if you are confident with your hook or hyzer shots. low drives are a must since most holes have a canopy or long branches. hole 17short / 9long is legendary
-  +0 votes  + David LewisMain course › September 1, 2014
A
I haven't seen a lot of courses (yet) but this is a very fine course. Well maintained and marked, clean, challenging walk. Lots of fun with my son.
-  +0 votes  + Keith kinzlerMain course › July 23, 2015
A-
In good condition. Terrain is a bit rocky but it's a mountain
-  +0 votes  + Joe IMain course › August 30, 2015
A
I'm a beginner, and this is my first course (played twice so far), and I really enjoyed the layout and the challenge of it. Very clean, a real nice walk in the woods, well maintained (on my second day there guys were out doing course maintenance.) Loads of fun with my son and daughter.
-  +0 votes  + Nicholas SeeleyMain course › May 13, 2016
A-
Very nice course. Mapped out decently well. Although a bit short, still has a feel of a full 18, as opposed to short courses you can burn in under an hour.
-  +0 votes  + mike drewMain course › August 2, 2018
A-
Great course. Very wooded so you need to make some tight shots. The distance for the green course is not too long I feel that its perfect based on the elevations of this course. Its up one side a mountain and down the other. Pretty good signage. Well kept, however only the first few are built tees the rest are natural. Great conditions all year round except for early spring its pretty muddy.
-  +0 votes  + Kee E.Main course › September 13, 2018
A
Really liked it. Had a short amount of time to play but really enjoyed it.
-  +0 votes  + Todd ShinnMain course › June 3, 2019
B
I really liked the course. Alot of up and down. The course i think could be marked better. Will definitely be back.
-  +0 votes  + A BeeMighty Gaw › June 12, 2013
A+
I love mountain courses!! Extremely challenging and long.
-  +0 votes  + Colin ButgereitMighty Gaw › December 2, 2010
B+
Very good variety from difficult holes down to the few dinkers that are around. Well groomed aside from the tons of leave. Could use much better signing. Very good for a layout that is only in use for the fall season.
-  +0 votes  + Adam SelzerMighty Gaw › February 23, 2015
A-
Possibilities are endless! Needs pads,signage and some TLC in spots. Overall had a blast throwing out there. 18 is a monster! Keep a good eye on your drive
-  +0 votes  + Corey StahlMighty Gaw › May 12, 2012
B-
Very long and challenging; which is fine. Hard to navigate; tough tee boxes, wildlife really wild
-  +0 votes  + Jared HeberlingMighty Gaw › October 8, 2014
A-
Just need to do something about the tee pads and better signage. Otherwise it flows well w/ great scenery. Challenging and definently hike.
-  +0 votes  + Justin McBMighty Gaw › January 10, 2013
B+
Long course - up and down the mountain twice. Good for a workout; Footing is an issue.
-  +0 votes  + Nicholas SeeleyMighty Gaw › May 13, 2016
A
First course I played after leaving oklahoma. Though a bit scattered based on maps, the black Diamond course is so much fun to play. I love that the skiing aspect is implemented into the course. The 18th hole is a blast because it truly tests your drive. The wooded areas are so well mapped out and it also makes for a great hike.
-  +0 votes  + Hyoo MacMighty Gaw › May 9, 2018
C+
"Hey here's an idea: Let's take Greystone, and put it on a ski hill!"
-  +0 votes  + mike drewMighty Gaw › August 2, 2018
B
This is a workout. After the front 9 you will be going up and down the ski slope until you finish it off with a huge shot down the mountain to the 18th basket (which a lot of people think is a practice basket). IMPORTANT: Unlike the Main (green) course which is playable all year round, it is difficult to play this unless your going in the spring, or it is mowed properly before hand. The grass at full summer length can reach chest high or higher. It wont be fun to search for your discs or even the baskets then.
-  -1 votes  + Andrew FraioliMain course › October 14, 2011
B+
-  -1 votes  + David PowellMain course › October 22, 2012
C-
-  -1 votes  + Angelo MasciaMain course › March 20, 2012
A-
-  -1 votes  + Patrick ChinMighty Gaw › December 4, 2010
B+
-  -1 votes  + Ryan McFarlinMighty Gaw › May 14, 2011
A-
-  -2 votes  + Christopher "THUMBER" da RosaMain course › June 13, 2011
B+