Bonnie Brook DGC

Detroit, Michigan     1 course · 20 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +4 votes  + Sarah DeMar › September 25, 2014
A-
Best new course design in this area for a long time! Really fun and playable for most skill levels, great elevation usage, very clever holes. Flooding might be an issueso when it's playable, take advantage. And only 16 minutes from home, straight shot down M5 east, super convenient. Tee signs and directions to next tee excellent. Well done, Ted, Lydia and everyone else involved! Also very nice of them.to.let me play the course for four bucks then apply that toward my yearly pass after I fell in love with the cours (something kensy should and does not do). thx!
-  +4 votes  + Tony Rohrer › September 24, 2014
A-
Awesome course. lots of rolling hills and the winding creek really adds to the need to hit your lines. Great use of te land in a urban setting but you would hardly know it. I appreciate all the hard work that has went into making this great course. The only thing preventing this from being a "A" rating are concrete T pads. I will be back.
-  +3 votes  + - br33zy - › September 25, 2014
A
Everything a course should be and well thought out.
-  +3 votes  + Brian WPD Frawley › September 25, 2014
A-
Its been open two days, and is already in my top 10 favorite courses ever. Cannot wait to see how this course grows.
-  +3 votes  + Ted Stoebling › July 10, 2015
A
With the turf tee pads this round was very enjoyable.

Thanks for your reviews!
-  +3 votes  + Jamie The Sauce Mosier › September 26, 2014
A+
-  +3 votes  + Scott Nelson › October 22, 2014
A-
Played this course the last 3 mornings in a row, and each time I've played it, I like it better and better! Good bye Cass and hello Bonnie Brook as my home course! Lydia, Ted, and crew have done a great job, and in the future, I see this course only getting better and better! Thanks for all your hard work.
-  +3 votes  + Lydia Novitsky › July 29, 2015
A
This has been a dream come true to watch and help this course transform from a waste/flood land into the beautiful course it is now. Every time I get to play a round (only 3 this season so far) it is like seeing it for the first time. We are constantly working to make our vision a reality. This piece of land is absolutely gorgeous. With the elevation changes, winding river and abundant wildlife it is truly a hidden wonderland. The layout of the course has varying shots and every hole presents it ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Nick Wickham › September 28, 2014
A
Very sweet design, I think they did a very good job with what they had to work with. Very tricky holes and some open but not very many. Which makes the course challenging and fun. Close to home for me and better than Cass Benton for sure, which is also near me. Flooding could be an issue durring the rainny season, but other than that, it was a great course. I didn't play the shorts yet, but the longs are sweet. Could see pro's enjoying this course as well as ANd. Good work to the designers and people who made it happen.
-  +3 votes  + Ryan Ripaldi › September 24, 2014
B
good shot variation, good elevation shots and also about 6-8 holes with water hazards. overall would recommend to everybody. ill be coming here quiet often. baskets are amazing and catch everything!
-  +2 votes  + steve sevonty › September 24, 2014
A
Challenging open shots must hit lines type score well. Up/downhill left,right,dhort long over/along water hanging basket and you have to throw over fence! Awesome baskets, good signage only knock is lack of tee pads but whatever!
-  +2 votes  + Jeremy Foor › August 6, 2015
A-
Wow this is a surprise! If you have not played Bonnie Brook and you live in the surround metro area then what are you waiting for?!?. ALSO if traveling from outside the area great stop on a tour, don’t be scared it’s the very edge of Detroit and once surrounded by the course you would never know it. The course; Extremely Unique, excellent use of land, elevation and water hazards. Also bonus points for having signature hole(s). Great mix of long and technical shots. The Rou ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Mark Kassabian › September 24, 2014
A-
Awesome great job ....great course.... great time...thanks to all involved and thanks for your hard work...definitely looking forward to play here again
-  +2 votes  + David Tomlinson › September 9, 2015
A
Awesome course. Every time I play a round here I like it more and more. No concrete teepads but the pads in use workout nicely.
-  +2 votes  + Christian Doman › October 22, 2014
A
-  +2 votes  + samuel smith › September 24, 2014
A
Great course has elevation bomber holes short holes water and ob 20 holes
-  +2 votes  + David Lonteen › August 19, 2015
A
Absolutely love this course, the area, the land, the people. Played it twice so far. Can't wait till I play it again.
-  +2 votes  + Benny G. › June 8, 2015
A
By far my favorite course in the area! Need to stop throwing my preflight stuff because it seems to always get ate up on hole 12 and 16! Great course tho!!
-  +2 votes  + Sean McCoy › August 12, 2015
A-
Really awesome course. Love the use of elevation as well as the river as it makes accurate shots even more valuable. We played the shorts as it was our first time and I'm glad we did because they were challenging enough. It's hard to even find a safe line to go at the hole from shorts on some holes because of all the water so you really have to be on your game. The only reason I didn't rate this course higher is because of the tee pads, which were carpet on longs or shared pads and dirt on all other shorts.
-  +1 votes  + Scott White › September 28, 2014
A-
Great addition to the scene here. Love the variety. Just needs concrete to be a solid A.
-  +1 votes  + Nick "Fooch" Fucinari WPD › July 24, 2015
A+
-  +1 votes  + Jeff Bauman › September 25, 2014
A
-  +1 votes  + Mike Rivamonte › September 25, 2014
A-
-  +1 votes  + Brad Fuelling › June 7, 2015
A
-  +1 votes  + Zak Fortuna › July 20, 2015
A
-  +1 votes  + Eric Manidok › September 29, 2014
A
-  +1 votes  + Jay B › September 28, 2014
A-
-  +1 votes  + billy montpas › October 5, 2014
A
-  +1 votes  + Ryan Koeppen › September 26, 2014
A-
Ted and Lydia and everyone else involved in making this course did an amazing job. The course has every type of shot, good use of elevation and plenty of birdie opportunities with a good mix of challenging holes. Hats off boys and girls, great job.
-  +1 votes  + Daniel J Lee › October 14, 2014
A
A+ If There Were teepads
-  +1 votes  + Jon Camp › June 23, 2015
A
This place deserves any easy A. Concrete pads would be an A+ if they are possible with the water table being so low i can see this place will flood quite easily. Only bad things i can think of are the marshiness from the low water table in the river and lower lying areas of the course. I enjoyed the water holes very unique and the colored baskets add to the character. Overall loved the course was only able to play the short layout due to time constraints on the day i came down, but i was impress ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Kevin Fradeneck › September 28, 2014
A
Awesome job guys. Great use of elevation. Great shot variety. Baskets are bad ass. I'll be back soon.
-  +1 votes  + Dave Lassen › September 26, 2014
A
-  +1 votes  + Ed Carpus › July 12, 2015
A+
Beautiful layout, challenging holes requiring a lot of thought into your shot. Shot placement is a must! Could easily lose disks on several holes. Love the use of the existing elevation to provide some shots not often seen on other courses.
-  +1 votes  + Scottie Reslock › September 23, 2015
A
-  +1 votes  + S Fox › September 25, 2014
A-
Will be a solid A when the pads are put in but still one of the best courses in the area without the pads
-  +1 votes  + steve nolff › July 13, 2015
A-
Got in my first round of the year at Bonnie Brook (I know shame on me), and HOLY SMOKES. What a vast improvement. This course went from a diamond in the rough to a shining emerald. Opened, cut, cleared fairways. Well defined options in regards to lines. This course was clean last season, but nearly trash free at this point. New benches, trash cans aplenty, an established greeting and sign in area, friendly pooch to give you a wag. A port-a-john, albeit a hot one in the sun. The elevati ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Fran Breezy › September 7, 2015
A
-  +1 votes  + Michael OConnell › September 29, 2014
A-
Great course, fun play, will be back. Soon to be an A+ with a little course clean up.
-  +1 votes  + Paul Doherty › August 14, 2015
A-
-  +1 votes  + brad chartier › August 15, 2015
A-
great course.
-  +1 votes  + Al LaCroix › August 20, 2015
A-
Bonnie Brook DGC is a 20 hole, privately owned course nestled along the wooded, winding Rouge River. Open to the public, a round is $5 or $40 for a season pass. This is a well designed, well maintained course that takes advantage of space that is a natural floodplain and is open June through November. The course features some water hazards and both short and long tees on eight holes. There is enough elevation changes and technical holes to make this a must play for any serious disc golfer. ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Jeff Hollinger › September 13, 2015
A
I don't know where to begin. This course is just awesome.
-  +1 votes  + Tim Misiak › October 12, 2014
A-
-  +1 votes  + Kyle H › September 20, 2015
A
great course. bring your bug spray! just a heads up, the mosquitoes are a beach.
-  +1 votes  + Ryan Hughes › June 25, 2015
A
-  +1 votes  + Chris Nadeau › July 13, 2015
A-
Played this course Sunday morning. Great layout. Challenging holes for the amateur and pros as well. Very easy to lose a disc either in the water or over fences on quite a few holes. Bring the bug spray! I think a season pass purchase is in my future! Great job building this gem!
-  +1 votes  + Anthony Wolanin › October 13, 2014
A-
Great local new course. The map I was given was easy to follow and there were markings on the field in bright orange that would be hard to miss. Technical course with water hazards, and a good chance to lose discs so be sure to have your discs marked in case you happen to lose any. Overall great course offering the chance for different shot variations. Flags are used to mark the end of a teepad as cement ones are not in place currently, which is the only reason I rate the course as an A- instead of an A.
-  +1 votes  + Jim Stack › October 18, 2014
A-
-  +1 votes  + Jeff Hulet › July 27, 2015
A-
I played this course for the first time today and it was Hot out! I liked the set up and the way the course is laid out!
-  +1 votes  + Brendan Livingston › June 16, 2015
A+
I really love this course, the layout takes you on a journey, I couldn't tell you west from east in the thick of it and I liked it.
-  +1 votes  + William Freed › June 7, 2015
A
-  +1 votes  + Adam Mcpherson › July 13, 2015
A+
Nothing to say that an A+ doesn't already cover, new favorite course
-  +1 votes  + Troy P › August 4, 2015
A
-  +1 votes  + Mark Jankowski › August 5, 2015
B+
Hidden gem in Detroit. Well maintained and challenging course. The bright baskets are great. Nice use of the river and elevation. One of the better courses in the area.
-  +1 votes  + Ron Wisswell › August 29, 2015
A
I love this course , it's fun and challenging all at the same time.
-  +1 votes  + Zach Brown › September 14, 2015
A-
-  +1 votes  + HEEB -A.J. B › September 21, 2015
A
-  +0 votes  + Daryl "D_rail" Ballios › November 3, 2015
A-
Great course overall. Amazing elevation changes. Love the hole layouts, and green designs as well. Nice and long holes for the Dragonhulk smashsauce. Like what they've done w/all the o.b. lines, don't really have any dislikes other than what I've heard about the course overflowing and being under water lol.
-  +0 votes  + Robert Shaffer › September 26, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Adam Freedman › October 3, 2014
A
Amazing course. Automatic A+ if they install tee pads.
-  +0 votes  + My back is killing me › September 29, 2014
A
Awesome! best course in DETROIT! Make sure you play this course before you leave the state.
-  +0 votes  + Adam Mitchell › October 1, 2015
B+
Great set-up, will get even better rating with permanent tees, garbage cans, tee signs are ok for now. Baskets are top-notch. Can't wait to get another round in.
-  +0 votes  + Rick Gzesh › October 30, 2014
B+
A new course that will only get better as the fairways get worn in and tee pads get installed. Some really awesome holes including a hanging basket which has water in play to get there. It is a fair shot even if I threw mine in the water. Worth playing if in the area.
-  +0 votes  + Joey "ThaSicknaz" Gulyas › September 27, 2014
B+
Going to be a masterpiece. Also going to be closed a lot... floods really bad. Eats discs. But I love it. Needs a "Welcome to Detroit" sign ;)
-  +0 votes  + Ricky D › December 6, 2014
B+
lots of potential for thus course. there's a good mixture of long and short holes with technicalities, elevation and river involved. it's a lot of fun, but a little too muddy in spots.
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Redmond › September 26, 2014
A-
Great course. A little work still to be done but the potential is huge. Tee pads of some kind would help get this rating up, but the grass areas are level and aren't difficult to throw from. Is in a basin, flooding will be an issue with decent rain, but the course recovers fairly quickly. Elevation is awesome, little gimmicks on the course make shots fun. All in all, a very fun and smooth play, even with a couple longer walks and a small layout snafu that for the moment is unavoidable
-  +0 votes  + Greg Argyle › August 31, 2016
A
-  +0 votes  + Daymon Pugh › September 30, 2014
B+
I give it a B+ because with a 1000 or 2000 more man hrs it will be a diamond A+
-  +0 votes  + Dwayne Kay › July 15, 2015
B+
-  +0 votes  + Skyler Stoker › June 7, 2016
A-
Sadly this place is RIP
-  +0 votes  + mateo lawry › October 20, 2015
A-
-  +0 votes  + Mike Curry › August 30, 2015
B+
Nice challenge. Plays to all types of throws.
-  +0 votes  + Chris Trumbull › June 7, 2015
B+
Still a new course but much better then last year. Really like this course. 2nd time ever playing, 1 time from pro tees. Really close to the house, may have to get get an annual bag tag.
-  -1 votes  + Joal Kozma › July 22, 2015
B
-  -1 votes  + Tommy O › July 20, 2015
B-
Course has lots of potential to be a great Tournament venue. Issues with finding way about course, soon to be corrected I hear, and a couple places where one may walk in to others tee shots while traversing to play same tee.
-  -1 votes  + Bart Kowalewski › September 26, 2014
A-
I really like the layout. It is something different. The course is brand new so i don't expect it to be perfect and tidy. Really good job guys.
-  -1 votes  + Casey Creason › September 25, 2014
B
Lots of potential! The baskets are beautiful!
-  -1 votes  + richard bell › August 31, 2015
B
Nice course with alitlle of everything. Tight fairways with some upshots sprinkled in. Some rough water shots to go along with them tight fairways. Rouge River so once they go in the go in. Make you forget where its located with the surrounding veg growth. Some more benches n such put in along with some trimming and what have you it'll be a real nice solid A for the area.
-  -2 votes  + jamie damico › September 8, 2015
B
-  -8 votes  + Joshua M Barnett › October 1, 2014
B
still rough. will update as the course progresses. has potential but the rusted fences, mosquitoes, design flaws and flooding are an issue.