Wingfoot Lake State Park

Suffield, Ohio     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +6 votes  + Michael Stonestreet › October 24, 2011
C
UPDATE, course is getting a little more fair as its use is increasing, and some grooming of some foliage has helped, especially since they trimmed up the bottoms of the pines. Some tee signs still need moved, but course is definitely improving. Definitely need some goretex if you are playing after it has rained, course gets saturated, especially holes 5, 11, and 17 down by the basket.
-  +5 votes  + tony paserba › September 10, 2010
C
It is a easy course. good to learn. A lot of school sports use the park ,so there will be alot of people out there and maybe in the way. I do like it,and it is 3 miles away from home
-  +5 votes  + Ryan Lepley › November 3, 2010
C+
This course is very young and still needs some development. There is only one tee location per hole and they are mulch (not the best footing). You play
-  +5 votes  + Nino Deiulis › December 5, 2010
C+
The course opened with the opening of the park in the middle of the summer 2010. The tee signs are way too close to the tees, especially on hole 3. Hole 6 is annoying. It is terrible from a flow perspective and is not worth the risk of losing a disc in the hazardous water. Literally hazardous. There is an algae bloom and it will cause the worst rash worthy of a doctor's visit if you enter the water to fetch a disc. The tee boxes will need work in the future. It has a few anhyzer holes. 10,11,12, and 14 kind of. Overall a fun small course and mostly friendly for beginners.
-  +5 votes  + eric " Sharky " boyd › November 26, 2012
B
A nice short course. Well manicured, nice facilities, good layout. Lack of concrete pads and alternate tee locations. Nice mix of shots needed to succeed. I could be +7 or under par at this course. Mostly short holes with elevation and obstacles. I like !!
-  +3 votes  + John Sales › April 15, 2011
B
I rate this course 3.5 out of 5 stars. Pros - New park. Plenty of parking and grade A facilities. The winter event there was housed in a closed pavilion that had two large fireplaces! - Amenities! Playground, putt-putt, basketball, volleyball, picnic tables! - Billboard at hole #1 has a map posted along with course information - The map is accurate and very helpful your first trip! - Practice basket - Wood chip tees with wooden kickboards are in good condition - Next tee signs are h ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Matt Smith › April 28, 2012
B+
Fun course to play. Mosly open but has some nice elevation changes. Worth a trip. Great course for all skill levels. Water comes into play on two holes.
-  +3 votes  + Chip F › November 20, 2013
A
This course got a lot better with the addition of all the tee pads. Very fun course
-  +2 votes  + Cory King › June 15, 2011
C+
Well maintained with decent flow. Mostly straight shots, short to medium distances. Areas of wooded holes with a couple next to water as well as some wide open spaces. Beneficial for the recreational player and the overall park is wonderful.
-  +2 votes  + Andre St.Esprit › May 14, 2012
B-
really enjoyed playing this course. Gives average players a chance for some birdies. Will make the trip to play again! Nice quiet park without much interference from other park activity.
-  +2 votes  + Greg Platt › June 17, 2012
C-
-  +2 votes  + Drew Dieter › July 17, 2013
A-
This is my second review for Wingfoot. The more I play it, the more I love it. The new tee locations are awesome! It makes the entire course so much more fun. The only downside is the driving range on the weekends. Other than that, its a great course for beginners or even experienced players who what to work on their game. Its totally worth a stop!
-  +1 votes  + Chris Woolsey › June 17, 2012
B-
Nice layout and nice mixture of short and long holes. There is only a concrete tee on hole 1 though, some of the other dirt tees are easy to slip on. Also some bad sign location, I came close to smacking my hand on them a couple times when throwing. Great potential though.
-  +1 votes  + Matt Tripp › September 23, 2012
D-
Nice, Short course. The reason for my low score is that quite a few signs are located in line with the end of the tee just on the right. I slammed my hand off the post on hole 8 and broke my hand. If this was corrected I would rate this course a C+.
-  +1 votes  + Becky Gilbert › July 22, 2013
B+
No trash cans or benches. The tee signs were in the process of being made. It had temp ones that were helpfull. Not happy about holes 12 thru 15 not playable due to a driving range set up for the weekend
-  +1 votes  + Larry Bright Jr. › November 26, 2012
B-
decent course that uses the terrain and landscape well. water comes in to play on two holes, and can easily snag a disc on an errant throw. there are also a few really nice holes with elevation changes and tight fairways that are very challenging and fun to play. the flow was very easy to follow, and the baskets all had arrows indicating the direction to the next tee, which is always a plus. but honestly, nothing jumps out at me to say this is a great course. a good course yes, but not grea ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + eric wernet › November 27, 2012
B-
-  +1 votes  + Brian Whitlock › March 28, 2013
A
moving the tee's so a little hard to navigate but it'll be awesome when it's complete
-  +1 votes  + Jon DeCapua › May 17, 2013
C+
BIG improvment from the original layout.
-  +1 votes  + Aaron Collins › March 4, 2014
B-
Not ideal in my opinion... But I had a good time playing here
-  +1 votes  + Scott Campbell › June 4, 2013
B
Great short tees with a variety of shots. Great for fine tuning your game.

I Love the long tees. It has great routs, nice distance, and is more challenging.
-  +1 votes  + Lee Spencer › September 20, 2013
A+
First visit. Love the layout, beautiful park.
-  +0 votes  + Antoni Cyphert › June 10, 2011
B
I like the layout, but the tee boxes are horrible. It was like throwing from mud!
-  +0 votes  + Todd Malkus › August 4, 2011
B-
-  +0 votes  + Matt O › November 20, 2011
B+
This is a pretty nice little course. Well maintained, very nice park. Not too challenging, but a nice mix of shots. You can play two rounds in about three hours. Just chalk it up as another of many good disc golf courses in Northeast Ohio.
-  +0 votes  + Darrick Gorenflo › December 5, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Mitchell Sintic › September 18, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Jamie Hodgen › June 24, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Ricky Lutz › August 4, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Mike Hill › August 18, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Ron McCollum › October 3, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Tyler Starcher › October 3, 2012
A-
I really liked this course! It was such a nice day and the park was so pretty. My only complaints are they need more cement tees and I wish they would have utilized the rest of the park. This is a huge park where you can do multitudes of other things. Good atmosphere and fun place. There is also a shop that you can get disks at although there isnt much of a selection.
-  +0 votes  + Dominic G › June 2, 2013
C+
-  +0 votes  + James Orth › September 1, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Tristan Wilson › August 14, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Steven Smith › January 12, 2014
B+
This course is great. Good for beginners and advanced players. The long holes are a challenge at times.
-  +0 votes  + Nick Marion › September 18, 2013
B-
This course is VERY much improved since I took the last year and half off to deal with an MCL tear. The long/short layouts add a lot to the course. The shorts are very short. Mostly putter and mid range shots for experienced shooters. Some of them are very technical though and will force you to make shots. Good tees for beginners and excellent for practicing approaches and technical shots for seasoned players. The longs are a bit tougher. but nothing too difficult. They do force some technical s ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Bryon Wine › September 21, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Brian Handwork › October 23, 2013
A-
Layout is awesome good mix between Right and Left handed shots. My only complaint is that the new concrete pads are too short. Which would not be a problem except they are elevated five or so inches...
-  +0 votes  + Tammy Spencer › October 6, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Bill "The Ninja" Savage › October 27, 2013
A-
a little longer tee pads would make this course a solid A, lots of mixed shots along with some nice elevation shots. I miss not having the water shots now that they have been reversed but still a great course to come play!
-  +0 votes  + Trevor Murphy › November 3, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + brian a › January 30, 2014
B+
good course for beginners. good layout and variety of holes. some of the concrete tees are tiny though. but pretty open course for themost part.
-  +0 votes  + Brad Troyer › March 19, 2014
C
This is a nice course for beginners and experienced players. There's a good mix of short and long range holes. There are some nice open shots for beginners and some tricky water shots and tricky holes covered in trees. I have one major gripe though and that's the DRIVING RANGE in the middle of the course. They open it on the weekends and close what I believe is three or four holes. This seems not well thought out and something that needs to be addressed.
-  +0 votes  + Dana S › April 2, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Rich Sveda Jr › April 26, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Lynndon Wentzel › June 15, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Isaac Lilly › June 23, 2014
B
Probably my favorite course right now. Well designed, good mix of holes. I'm partial to big open fairways which this course has plenty of. Really disappointed with the fact that they shut down holes 12-15 on saturday mornings for the driving range. Especially when no one is using it. Great course for most skill levels.
-  +0 votes  + Shaun E › July 7, 2014
A-
-  -1 votes  + Tommy Milkshake Randau › September 7, 2010
A-
Great starter course, some easy and harder shot. Long and short, elevation changes and water holes too. Tee signs in bad places though. Very easy to smack a hand or wrist on a drive. All in all I give it an -A
-  -1 votes  + Jay Kovach › October 6, 2013
B+
Course is maintained well and getting lots of play. The wingfoot zeppelins-disc golf society installed hole ones tee pad on mothers day may 13 th, 2012 and presently we have all the course done long and short pads. Glad to be a part of this project. Short tees are designed to not have water, a confidence booster of a layout for beginners through advanced players and a place to hone your approach skills. The long tees, this layout was designed to give am2 and down players a challenge while it s ...
continue reading ›
-  -1 votes  + katie meloy › March 4, 2011
D+
Even given that I am a beginner, this course was dissapointing. The usage of the land and resources is poor. I hear rumor that it was developed by someone who does not play disc golf.. and if that's the case it explains a lot. Hopefully this course can develop more in the future and the changes will make it a better course.
-  -1 votes  + nathaniel b › June 17, 2012
A
-  -1 votes  + Bob Becker › October 23, 2011
B-
-  -1 votes  + Troy Oligney › July 8, 2012
A
This is a great course.
Very easy for beginners with only 2 water holes.
Very versatile for more experienced players.
-  -1 votes  + Gary Heflin › September 30, 2012
A
-  -2 votes  + Dan Hill › February 8, 2011
B
-  -2 votes  + Don Mullinax › August 23, 2011
A
-  -2 votes  + Chris Warfield › October 26, 2012
A-
course is looking pretty good, like the chain stars
-  -2 votes  + Corinthian Dieter › July 17, 2013
A
Great place to learn the game. Very forgiving!
-  -6 votes  + Anthony Tomin › October 11, 2010
A