Wilder DGC

Newport, Oregon     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +1 votes  + Adin Nelson › January 28, 2014
A
a course myk nemeth would love ;) natural pads, great tech course w lots of elevation and cool pin loc's. spotters helpful. amazing job done by someone! thank you. flows fairly well and baskets tell ya which way to head to next hole... still very raw and lotta fallen trees but this course was a blast and ill play when ever i get the chance!
-  +0 votes  + Derek "Dirty D" Daniels › January 12, 2014
A-
Ravines, ravines, ravines and one huge mountainside drop off so don't go too far right. This is a nice course with lots of windswept pines and fallen trees. There is some under brush on the back nine but not really much on the front as long as you stay on or near the fairway. the two par 4's could be long 3's but that just makes them easy birdies:) Bring your spotter cause the fairways are not really in sight of the tee box's which are very unique but still fairly nice for being wood chips.
-  +0 votes  + Travis "Chatta" Pugh › January 13, 2014
B-
Crazy course, easy to lose discs spotters are a must. The ravines here are no joke, make sure to have spotters. You stay out of the ravines you can shoot good, if not you're gonna be looking at some bogeys and doubles. Overall cool course unlike anywhere else, just keep in mind this course eats plastic, great elevation changes
-  +0 votes  + Tim "Skip" Becker › January 5, 2014
B
Fun course, very tough if you get off the beaten path. You need a spotter on a majority of the holes which creates alot of blind shots but had an amazing time
-  +0 votes  + Da Paperboy › November 24, 2013
A-
Raw and awesome!
-  +0 votes  + joe walrath › November 17, 2013
A-
Great course very tough but makes for a good day of disc golf! And bring your hiking boots a lot of elevation change!
-  +0 votes  + Big J › September 24, 2013
A+
Fun, different, and challenging!
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Sweeley aka ONE LIVID MIND › September 24, 2013
A
-  -2 votes  + Cameron "overrated" ficker › September 16, 2013
A-
Awesome course. Like a cross between stub steward and the eastside of rooster rock. It is in an awesome coastal forest. Looks like the woods with the talking trees from the lord of the rings. Super rough on this course. Everytime you let a disc go, theres a chance no human being will ever see it again. The rough is deceptive from the tee pads. You'll throw your drive and think to yourself, "ok should be about 20 ft from the basket in that little 1ft high scrub". You get to where you think your d ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Rakoz › April 8, 2014
B
Update 4/2014- The course is much more beat in. Still not an easy course by any means and rewarding for group play and for Disc Golf Games (wolf, ript/revenge, doubles/triples). The local club is growing and making improvements as we can. I've heard people describe some of the lesser courses in Oregon as "kinda like walking through the park while throwing a frisbee"; while true in some cases (some of the Portland 9 holers), it is certainly not the case here. Wilder is WILD. Heavy underbru ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Don Alexander › September 3, 2013
B+
Will be a great course with some additional grooming. Needs development of established fairways. Good signs. Easy to loose discs..Spotters highly recommended.
-  +0 votes  + Jason "Rooster" Bruster › August 20, 2013
B+
I loved the technical aspects of this course. Super fun course I really liked it. Hard surface tee pads and some brush clean up fairways and this would get an A in my book!
-  +0 votes  + Matt Geck › August 19, 2013
B+
New course on Oregon coast. Played the course for the first time 8/14. I was concerned after reading reveiws that the course would be a nightmare. I was surprised at how playable the cousre is. Definitely not a novice course and the suggestions to have a spotter is wise advise. I played by myself and despite several blind drives and some fairly thick areas I did not spend a lot of time looking for discs. Did lose one on hole 1. Looking forward to playing again next year.If you are in the area I suggest giving it a try. Great baskets, good signage, fun course.
-  +1 votes  + Russ Brown › March 1, 2014
B-
This is a beautiful course and will be fantastic but not for the lonely beginner. A spotter or a beeper disc are recommended. The course is still relatively new and still needs some grooming and trampling down. Also would score higher if it had port-a-potty and garbage services.
-  +0 votes  + Brad Hummel › August 13, 2013
A
One of the most unique courses I've ever played. Lots of short technical holes and some short par 4's. Bring a spotter cuz it's really overgrown but an awesome course
-  +0 votes  + Phil Richman › July 11, 2013
B+
Agree with the comments here. It WILL be awesome!
-  +0 votes  + Jason Stangland › May 31, 2013
B
I really liked this course. It is in great . I wish there was better signs for navigating the course but it was great.
-  +0 votes  + Miles Murray › May 26, 2013
B-
-  +1 votes  + Nick Nisbet › March 11, 2013
B-
This is a fun course. The fairways need some clearing. It's easy to lose a disc if you kick off a tree the wrong way. Hole nine is a disaster with the fallen trees you have to climb over. It's going to take a logging company to clear nine. Good elevation changes, throwing over the ravines was great. Baskets are great, signs for each tee with a little blue arrow pointing to the next basket. Gravel and wood chip tee pads didn't affect my throws. With a few good work parties, this course will be an "A" in no time.
-  +3 votes  + Matt Still Bruising Trees Bressler › February 27, 2013
A
Although my score does not show it, I had a lot of fun at this course. It is set in the middle of old growth forest. I had played it once before in the fall and to be honest, the course had changed quite a bit over 5 months. Being on the beach, wind is a factor. So much a factor that downed trees destroyed hole 9 tee pad and almost took out the basket as well. It is quite the workout while playing. Lots of opportunity to throw your disc down the back side of a ravine. This course was opened ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Sean Chapman › February 9, 2013
B+
Great course!!!! Great use of the land. brand new innova 28 chain baskets and nice tee signs. However, the tee pads are woodchips and most all of the holes have brush that can very easly eat a disc. spotters are a must!!!! Also, the course needs signs pointing the way to next tees. few holes are tough to locate if you are a first timer. Finally, with time this could be a top course in oregon if most the under brush gets taken out. I dont get down to Newport very often but when i do, i will be back to play this course over and over again.
-  +2 votes  + Steve "Pun" Pearson › February 9, 2013
B
Really awesome, really raw course. Woodchip tee boxes :( (that being said, most the holes are short enough to not need great footing, it wasnt
A big hindrance to me) Most of the holes are very reachable if You can avoid the trees, and a spotter is a must. The par 4s are a joke, easiest holes on the course, eagle looks for right handed backhanders. The terrain is rugged... Like stub strewert, with shorter holes. Once the shrubs and nonsense get beat down, and they get concrete tee pads, this course will be an A.