Veterans Memorial Park

Parma, Ohio     1 course · 26 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +5 votes  + Ryan Bahr › November 8, 2010
B+
I really enjoy playing parma. In my opinion it is a devoloping course. Becomes more fun as i discover better or just different ways to throw the holes. Now with 18 holes it definately steps it up a notch! the back nine is awesome technically challenging just like the front with some big payoffs if you hit your lines just right and some thorns in your @ss if you shank it. Technical shots which is what makes this game fun, and that is what this course is made of. Even the long shots ie 7, 15, 10, ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Mike Broda › October 21, 2010
B+
Ben H Beachwood, OH 5/4/2010 The fourth and final course in the Cleveland area is the most difficult. A great mix of wooded shots with small elevation changes gives the course a great risk / reward feel. This is really the only one of the 4 Cleveland courses where you can get yourself in trouble & have to scramble to save par. Birdie options on 1 & 9 are a must for a solid round, while the rest are difficult, but possible. Why only a 3-star? Because it only has 9 holes. The local crew is s ...
continue reading ›
-  +4 votes  + eric wernet › October 21, 2010
A
the best course in Cleveland just got better! We all win! I totally envision this as a wonderful compliment to Sims. Not exactly the same as Massillon/Canton but very similar, without the length of Canton.

Sims: a little bit of tight, then open bomber holes.
The Vet: accuracy is key. hit your shots, bring down your score!


Mike and the Parma crew: THANKS! The next round is on me!
-  +0 votes  + Troy L › November 1, 2010
B
-  +0 votes  + dan schmidt › November 7, 2010
A
-  +0 votes  + Dan Hill › February 8, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + james moose graham › November 8, 2010
A-
-  +1 votes  + Tom Randau › November 8, 2010
B
I like the course alot. Its hard to adapt to the tee pads being a foot to two feet shorter than what im used too on the front nine but for a clearer front nine and a newer back nine its a must play for anybody. More than once through I recommend.
-  +1 votes  + James Humphrey › May 14, 2012
A
Couldn't ask for a more beautiful place to put 18 baskets. Technicality is the name of the game here. Hundreds of mature trees, perfect for breaking in new discs. Elevations changes on just about every hole. This course keep getting better and better every year! Back nines 12 foot tee pads are the bomb... I also noticed a few new sleeves planted. Looks like there's more to come!
-  +1 votes  + dan ott › November 24, 2010
B+
This course is a lot of fun. The new back nine will be great once there are some tee pads in there; as it is now, it's a little treacherous when wet.
-  -1 votes  + Larry Bright Jr. › March 10, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Will Nelson › December 13, 2010
C+
a ton of trees everywhere. Some cool holes, some not so cool. An average course, if it were longer than 30 minutes away I wouldn't make the trip.
-  +2 votes  + Eric Cherry › March 2, 2011
B
I really like this course now that they have added the back nine. Kudos to all involved in clearing the lines on those holes. There's no concrete on the back nine yet, which is the only reason I don't rank this course higher. Something tells me it's in the works though.

This place is well worth the drive now. The front nine is challenging yet fair. Lots of elevation changes challenge you all over the course. The new "tournament" holes are cool as well...now if I could just keep my discs from getting wet on them. :P
-  +1 votes  + John Sales › April 6, 2011
B-
This review was done on 07/31/10. I currently give this course 3.5 out of 5 stars. Pros - Heavily wooded 9 hole course. - Tees are small but concrete. - Baskets are in good shape and level. - Tee signs show accurate par, distance & elevation and are in decent shape. Some small vandalism on signs. There are reflectors showing direct to pin and signs to the next tee. - Grounds/foilage are kept up for a heavily wooded course. Some people may consider this course as not being kept up becaus ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Brad Presutto › June 11, 2011
B+
This is a very hard course that will eat discs for beginners. Lots of tight spots, hard turns, big thickets of shrubbery. Fun course to play if you're playing well.
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Lepley › June 25, 2011
C+
-  +0 votes  + David Le Pere › August 19, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + Matt O › October 6, 2011
B+
I like this course. I play Portage Lakes a lot, so the excess trees aren't a big deal for me. You don't have to worry too much about throwing towards non-disc golfers, which is one of my biggest pet peeves at some other courses. Once the concrete tees are in for the back 9 and some more tee signs are installed, my rating will be higher. This course does have it's challenges as there aren't a lot of easy birdies. Had a good time, played scrambles. The group of people at Parma DGC are very friendly.
-  +0 votes  + Bob Becker › October 9, 2011
B+
-  +2 votes  + Greg Marsh › October 9, 2011
A-
Very challenging and covers a nice chunk of land. Odds are you wont be having too many bogey free rounds here. Better signage would be a good improvement, and If there were any way to incorporate the (2) over the water holes that were added for the tournament, the course reach A+ status!
Deer cruise through the park like its a petting zoo witch is enjoyable to view, and if you wear shorts, tread carefully off of some of the fairways, or be prepared to have your legs shredded !!!!
-  +1 votes  + Greg Bergquist › October 9, 2011
A-
This course has come a long way. Currently there are concrete tee pads on all 18 holes (A recent addition). There has been some changes on tee pad position and pin positions (and more to come). Course is set up in two areas, front nine in one section, back nine in another, but the walk from hole 9 to 10 is only 300 feet. Challenging course that, with practice, can make you a much better player. Well organized leagues as well. Only an A- right now because there aren't proper tee signs on the back nine...yet (soon to come).
-  +0 votes  + Vince Colwell › November 4, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + rocky frum › January 2, 2012
A+
-  +1 votes  + Bill Vaughn › January 12, 2012
A-
Great example of maximizing the piece of land that you have. Lots of issues have been overcome, course seems better every month, great club with "can-do" attitude, lots are allowed to help out and put in their two cents. Absolutely believe the course will only get better in the years to come. Is there another true disc golf "club" in north central Ohio?
-  +0 votes  + Bill Perry › January 28, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + C Harsa › February 16, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + tony paserba › April 3, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + ManFred "The Basket Molester" › April 5, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Daniel Ragland › April 26, 2012
A-
Wow! A nice course in a very small area. The designers of this course did a great job using the available space...nice use of elevation, OB, mando's, etc to create an interesting array of holes. Most holes are relatively short, but some were quite challenging requiring accuracy through trees and around corners. The new signs for the back nine were being installed as I played....making this a great small course in the city. Phenomenal job by the club that maintains this course!
-  +1 votes  + Michael Klingmann › April 27, 2012
A
Excellent wooded course! Love playing here! Wide variety of shots! A must play when in cleveland!
-  +0 votes  + H Keith Bowers › April 29, 2012
A
-  +2 votes  + Matt Smith › April 30, 2012
B+
I really enjoyed playing here and the course has potential to keep improving. They have a nice mix of wooded and open shots. You can also see deer up close in the park. This course is worth a little trip.
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Jansen van Galen › May 14, 2012
A-
-  +2 votes  + Tim Burton › May 14, 2012
A-
Really enjoyed playing here, this course has a very clean layout through the woods. Its a very fair course allowing you to hit big if you can hit your line. Plenty of elevation changes with pin locations going either way allowing you to pull out many different shots.... Only con is the thorns in the ruff
-  +0 votes  + Adam Woodward › August 28, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Hronek › May 15, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Greg Platt › June 17, 2012
C+
-  -1 votes  + Chris Warfield › June 19, 2012
A
fun course definatly harder than my home course, nice cement tee pads but misleading signs otherwise it would be a A+ course in my book!
-  +0 votes  + Chris Woolsey › June 29, 2012
B+
Very nice layout, nice tees and nice signs, a lot of trees though!!!
-  +0 votes  + Ricky Lutz › July 2, 2012
B+
Trees :/
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Hitch › July 21, 2012
A-
Kinda rustic through the woods in a nice park with a lot to do. The course is very woodsy and tight, lots of elevation changes. I've heard it compared to Massillon. It is similar but much longer and tighter, and the doglegs frequently make for long approaches due to the sharpness of the dogleg angle and how much further you need to go to reach. The first couple and the last few holes are among the easiest. It is in pretty decent shape. Quite a bit of thorny rough in spots, as well as poison ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Mitchell Sintic › September 18, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Stormey Giaimo › September 10, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Sisqo By › September 11, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + Dominic G › September 17, 2012
A-
One of my favorite courses. I really enjoy a course that rewards you as well as this one does for hitting fairways. And that doesn't always mean an easy birdie either. If you don't get off the tee or hit the fairway its a true scramble for par. It has all of the elements of a good course. Nice tees, fairways and everything was well marked along the way. A good variety of hyzer, anny, and straight shots with great use of elevation.
-  +0 votes  + Jared Heberling › November 28, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Adam Selzer › December 2, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Carl Hokes › May 9, 2013
A
Great Course, I think the back nine could be cleaned up a little but other than that beautiful place to play.
-  +0 votes  + Neil Hickman › May 28, 2013
C
very tough course
-  +0 votes  + Luke Mohamed › June 9, 2013
B-
Pretty nice course. Having only one tee box per hole lowers my score. My girlfriend and I play and she typically will throw from the front tees. Other than that, the shots are challenging and fun. Definitely could lose a disc if you're not careful.
Unfortunately, some vandalism has gotten the best of some holes as tee boxes and hole maps have been graffiti-ed over.
-  +0 votes  + Michael Tomecko › July 6, 2013
A
it was a little damp :)
-  +0 votes  + dan panfil › August 8, 2013
B+
Very technical course. Very beginner un-friendly maps of layout are way off seems like a lot of changes made without updating maps. Always crowded and feels rushed. Notta fan of this course.updated*** had agreat round here today and actually had fun at the course ... gonna be one of those courses that either eat you alive or make your day.
-  +0 votes  + Rob Arnold › August 24, 2013
A-
Great course. Loved the layout. Difficult because it's in all trees. 15 is a really rough hole & impossible to find your disc if it goes off immediate fairway.
-  +0 votes  + Brian M › September 17, 2013
B
A little tight, but fun once you know the layout.
-  +1 votes  + Jeff Tice › October 13, 2013
A-
Nice course could use a little more signage got a little lost on a few holes. Saw lots of wildlife. Had four deer follow us around for a few holes. Some real nice hole designs. Lots of hills and trees makes for a pretty technical course. The baskets on the first 9 are pretty old and beat up but the back 9 are a lot nicer. If I ever get back to the Clevland area I would go back
-  -2 votes  + Jesse "Scoop" Santiago › October 23, 2013
C
-  +0 votes  + brian a › January 30, 2014
B
good wooded course. long baskets are very challenging
-  +0 votes  + Jake Wonder › May 6, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + RJ Roth › July 26, 2014
B
Enjoyed playing, but a couple holes could pose health hazards. Keep your head up and eyes open when there are people playing behind you.
-  +0 votes  + Kenny Boyert › July 6, 2014
A-
I started playing disc golf a month ago, I live nearby and I really like the layout of this course its also very challenging.
-  +0 votes  + Mike Arnold › July 22, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + DJ Vondruska › August 1, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Stephen Kolbus › October 30, 2014
A-
Okay so maybe my rating is a little high, but i play here so much since this the best course within 10 minutes from me. Its basically my home course Positives: get lots of practice with technical shots hardly any of the holes are wide open, good flow of the course after playing probably a few times the layout is very easy to remember, and use the land they have very well with alternating pin placements/holes. Negatives: lots, and lots, and lots of trees make playing in fall difficult for fi ...
continue reading ›
-  -3 votes  + Ryan Kolbus › August 6, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + Ruslan Lozitsky › September 17, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Matt Stiffler › August 17, 2014
A
Great through the woods/elevation and usage of it! It would be nice to see some short tee's in the future just for a change of pace once in a while.
-  +0 votes  + Joseph Cruz › September 29, 2014
A
Challenging wooded course. Lots of sharp vines!
-  +0 votes  + Kenneth Tyburski › October 14, 2014
B