Stony Creek Metropark

Shelby Township, Michigan     1 course · 27 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +1 votes  + steve sevonty › September 5, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + brent moreno › March 1, 2012
A
love the course well maintained
-  +1 votes  + Scott Smith › October 1, 2010
A+
-  +1 votes  + Louis Caponi WPD › October 3, 2010
A
-  +2 votes  + SKEET DIESEL › October 3, 2010
A-
-  +1 votes  + Jeremy Gibbs › June 18, 2011
B+
-  +2 votes  + Brandon"RedRum" Redmond › May 11, 2011
A
-  +2 votes  + Scott Miller › October 8, 2010
A-
-  +2 votes  + Dalton "Discton" Puckhaber › October 9, 2010
A
-  +2 votes  + David Tomlinson › October 10, 2010
B+
Still a beautiful course, just a lot of huge casual groups, and the park keeps cutting bushes and trees out. Its taking all the challenge out of what use to be a really challenging course.
-  +1 votes  + Elijah Singer › October 16, 2010
A
-  -1 votes  + Nick Rem › October 19, 2010
B+
-  +2 votes  + B Man › October 26, 2010
C+
Not the course it used to be. Starting to become a casual wasteland. Good shots selections and challenging but not my first thought when I think about where to go play for the day.
-  +3 votes  + Andy Bawol › October 28, 2010
B
Stony Creek Metropark is home to "The Buckhorn Disc Golf Course". Let's start with the positives and move to the drawbacks. Buckhorn is a solid place to play. The course offers 24 holes with 9 short pads and 1 short basket. If you only have time for 18 the horn makes that easy for you as well with a meeting point for 24 and holes after hole 8. The horn has many executable routes and offers potential to throw many different shots. There are opportunities for hyzers, anhyzers, thumbers, and plenty ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + donny v › May 27, 2014
A+
-  +1 votes  + mike Rabin › November 19, 2010
B
-  +0 votes  + Tony Vidal › November 29, 2010
B-
-  +1 votes  + James pokornicki › January 16, 2011
B-
lots of trees. on many holes, shots have to be accurate
-  +2 votes  + Janelle K › January 23, 2011
A+
Nice long drives. Park is clean. Great summer course.
-  +0 votes  + Jerry Jorrey › March 15, 2011
C
-  +1 votes  + Frank Haramija › March 17, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + nathan kretz › March 28, 2011
A
-  +2 votes  + Doug Cook › July 17, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + Shawn Boucke › July 4, 2013
A
Nice layout. Open, but challenging.
-  +3 votes  + Kurt Reichert › April 9, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Nick Lieder › April 10, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + Patrick Franz › April 14, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Brian Gregory › April 22, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + William "Wilcone" Fretz › July 7, 2013
B+
-  +2 votes  + Harold O'Neill › May 8, 2011
A-
Big groups are getting out of hand.
-  +1 votes  + Ryan "RMFK" Kretz › May 7, 2011
A-
I have to be honest, this is my home course, but in all fairness it deserves an "A"!!! It has multiple dog legs on both right and left, it also covers multiple ranges in distance and gives you some tightshot duece holes. It can be a easy course to shoot a good under par game, but also can beat you up and keep you playing boagie golf. The worst part about the course is if played in the evening, hole 15 will blind you with the sun perfectly blasting you in the face right up the middle of the fairway!
-  +1 votes  + Patrick Reddy › May 8, 2011
B+
kinda soggy today
-  +1 votes  + Kevin Reddy › May 26, 2012
A
Great new lay-out. I hope they do add 3 more holes, as I've heard they might.
-  +1 votes  + Brian O › May 18, 2011
B
Well-worn course with lots of variety. Straying off the fairway is punished heavily in places, which keeps even the shorter holes interesting.
-  +1 votes  + Ed Carpus › February 23, 2014
A
The course changes have officially put Stoney Creek over the top. With a few more differences in elevation I would put it on the top of my favorite course list. It needs some breaking in, but I love the new holes. Coming back up the hill is a but of a spit in the face after a long 27 hole course but I'm sure it will do me good.
-  +2 votes  + Scottie Reslock › May 21, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + Lori Mullen WPD › June 3, 2011
A+
-  +2 votes  + Jon Andare › June 18, 2011
A
The course is in perfect shape,now. Fairways are mowed, course is clean, and the casuals are few between. Still $2 to play, but the 50 is working at keeping the riff-raff off the course. Pay the $2 or get hit with a ticket.
-  +1 votes  + Adam Mitchell › June 22, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Ken Mango › July 2, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + Matt ROOTS DG Waisanen › July 19, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + william brown › July 21, 2011
A
the course was well groomed. the layout is perfect
-  +1 votes  + Luke Przekop › July 27, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Andrew Kaye › July 27, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + Josh Somerville › July 31, 2011
B-
-  +1 votes  + Brain Evans › August 1, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + My back is killing me › August 21, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Jonathon Vorpagel › August 22, 2011
A
-  +2 votes  + brian jones › August 24, 2011
A+
one of the best course in my area . its got everything from ace run holes to "the monster" a real test of your game to walk off with par .
-  +1 votes  + Greg Silos › August 31, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Nick Richardson › September 18, 2011
A
Has every shot in the game. Decent challenge and some nice ace holes!
-  +1 votes  + Timm Koppen › September 25, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Sean Kecskes › October 5, 2011
A
Great course, challenging and appealing. Can't wait to see the addition.
-  +1 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf- › October 7, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + Greg Mitchell › October 22, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + brett hagen › May 6, 2012
A+
-  +1 votes  + Kevin Eggy Egnatoski › November 28, 2011
A
all grass has been cut and course in great shape
-  +1 votes  + Devon Daly › November 29, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Steve Howes › February 26, 2012
A
Pick up your trash
-  +1 votes  + Joe Benno › March 11, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Matt Firchau › March 14, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Joshua Ballinger › November 11, 2013
A
-Always cut
-Variety of shots
-Takes distance and accuracy to shoot good

This is my home course so i am a bit bias but still top 15 course in Michigan from what i played. Its unfortunate that it is not used for tournament play more often when this is one of the the more elite courses in the area. Get course you wont be disappointed if you make the trip to play it.
-  +1 votes  + ron simpson › March 22, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Evin Geatches › March 29, 2012
B
Stoney is one of the top courses in the metro detroit area. the course blends short fitness shots with plenty of wide open risk-reward holes. Holding par can be a chore under the right conditions.
-  +1 votes  + Steve "Skooba" Wilmoth › November 9, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Randy Gallagher › May 6, 2012
B+
-  +1 votes  + Shane Wyatt › May 20, 2012
A
the new layout is badasssssss
-  +1 votes  + Robert Wagner › May 25, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Jason Riberas › May 31, 2012
A
New layout runs smoother than the old, love the new back 9. Can't wait to get out here again!!!
-  +1 votes  + Brad Brundage › June 2, 2012
A
Sweet course; tough from the longs.
-  +1 votes  + Nicholas Anys › July 21, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + jason kosenko › June 5, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Mike "playnaked" Boody › June 6, 2012
B
-  +1 votes  + robert wrobel › June 9, 2012
A
-  +2 votes  + Sean Addley › June 10, 2012
A
1st time at Stoney. I left Impressed. Beautiful course.
-  +1 votes  + Jacob Roberson › June 14, 2012
A
Even though the course is pay to play, it shows that the money is well spent because the course is very well maintained. This course is a real challenge; for serious disc golfers only. The fairways are mostly very wide, but the holes are long and often have large trees and bushes in the way. If you don't consider yourself a pro, I recommend playing par 4s.
-  +2 votes  + steve nolff › June 25, 2012
A
Great new set up. Getting out of the first few holes less than a handful over par will challenge most. The shule on many of the new holes is an impossible tangle of rose and rasberry bushes (a nasty combo) and poison ivy, seriouly inpenatrable in some spots. I would think some of this will get beaten down some with play. 400 ft downhill bomber for the last hole is a great finish. There is a need for a few more picnic tables on the front 18 for us old players. Some attempt to get the trash back ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Katie Pickell › June 26, 2012
B-
This course was the easiest of any state park course i've ever played. It defiantly challenged my distance game but that's about it. Long open fairways on almost every hole and dispute there being trash cans at every tee, tons of garbage on the ground. decent scenery at best...
-  +1 votes  + Paul DISC-OR-DIE Holstein › July 3, 2012
A-
Very long course, the longs starting with a 762 and 933. Plenty of wide open fairways, a couple of short ace runs, and a good mix of left and right. Love the 27 holes and 10,000+ foot total yardage the most, but it's always well maintained and part of a great park. A- only because it's a bit too open and not enough trickiness necessary, but still a top notch course.
-  +1 votes  + Dan Bologna › July 11, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Sean Anders › July 11, 2012
A-
Excellent course. Could use some better signage though - indicating distance (on all holes / tee pads instead of just some), indicating rough shape of the hole / basket placement (in case not using the Stony Creek score cards), and direction to the next holes. All in all, a fantastic course. I wish I didn't have to pay to get into the park and then again to play, but it's certainly a welcome treat.

For less experienced players, the new holes (19-27) are going to prove far more difficult than the first 18, but they've got some great, unique, and challenging holes to offer.
-  +2 votes  + David Bihl › July 14, 2012
A
A The new layout has a country club feel. The park has done a ├╝ber job at creating what I feel is one of te best courses in the state. They have cleared the fairways to keep a route available and trimmed where necessary to give people a chance to keep track of errent shots. Other courses around could take a lesson here. Great job!! World class course for sure!!!
-  +1 votes  + Neil Duffey › July 29, 2012
A-
by far, my favorite course. i consider this my "home course" ive "grown up" as a discer on this course and i loved the challenge from my first game. the best part is that it has changed for the better. the new options have given this course something for everyone. the casual can play here and enjoy them self, and the pro can get a real challenge. my only gripes are the vandals. i would give this an A+ if they did two things... took care of the vandals via patroled rangers... and added a bathroom/drinking fountain some where in the middle of the course.
-  +1 votes  + Travis H › July 29, 2012
B+
-  +1 votes  + Nick Oliver › July 30, 2012
A-
Great course overall! Tons of garbage cans, polite players, and well maintained from what I saw. Course is really varied in terms of shot selection. A good mix of Ponds and Rolling Hills, drives and technical shots. Hole 11 was really cool IMO. I would love to play all 27 when I can.
-  +1 votes  + Alex Wigand › August 1, 2012
A
My home course. The new layout makes it fun and interesting after a long run with the old layout. Great Course. Maintenance could do with a little help. Lots of teenagers later in the summer days.
-  +1 votes  + Aaron Malburg › August 5, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + D C › August 9, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Alex Hull › August 12, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Dan Whitlock › August 12, 2012
A+
One of the best courses in the area. Great use of elevation and technical lines. A good amount of shorter holes, but those even have lines you gotta hit. 6 holes of 400' + make you open up on your throws. Very challenging course with gorgeous fairways.
-  +0 votes  + Josh Bickel › August 21, 2012
B+
It rained while I played here so quit after hole 13, therefore I can't really give it an accurate review. From what I saw though it seemed really difficult. The course was kept up nicely though minus the thorns everywhere in the brush. Only real complaint would be starting the course off with the first two holes being over 700ft each.
-  +1 votes  + Jeremy Reisig › August 22, 2012
A-
Like the other Metroparks, this course is very well maintained. Where this course distinguishes itself from the other Metroparks is that it combines distance and smarts. Some of the holes at the beginning were slightly repetative, but it was still a good challenge.
-  -1 votes  + Angel Gilbert › August 27, 2012
B
played in 2005
-  +1 votes  + andrew kapusta › September 2, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Tommy O › September 18, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Chene Nowicki › July 22, 2013
A+
-  +1 votes  + brad chartier › October 6, 2012
A-
-  -1 votes  + Rob Staszek › October 10, 2012
A
I absolutely love this course! Well, the first 18 holes anyways... Holes 1-18 play phenomenal and will test your ability to get a good, clean drive. Also, there are some that play through the woods that keep you on your toes to place your shot accurately. Then, there's holes 19-27. These holes seem like a completely different course. They have no flow to them, aren't ANYTHING like the previous 18 holes, and just felt like they were scrambled together to create more holes for the players. ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Ashley Lakin › November 1, 2012
B
-  -2 votes  + Matthew Galloway › November 25, 2012
B-
Good course. Hazards are 99.9 percent tree's. The 2 buck bag fee after paying to get into the park is a bit shocking, especially since the tee map is horribly inaccurate but still had a good time!
-  +1 votes  + Alex Phillips › December 4, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + RJ Lacelle › February 2, 2013
A+
Awesome layout, best bang for your back in the area.
-  +1 votes  + Scott 'bernie' Burnham › February 21, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + Andy Smith › March 4, 2013
A-
I had the pleasure of meeting one of the guys who built this course at my barber shop.He has never played with disc's just old school frizbees. This course was a good work out for my game. Like the basket placements on lot if the holes and the way the fairways dogged. Great course for all levels of play. Just so far from where I live. I be heading back though cause I like play this one. Later
-  +1 votes  + timothy bradley › April 20, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Nick Wickham › April 27, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + Ben Ciccarelli › May 9, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Josh "BIG BIRD" Frisinger › May 9, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Bart Kowalewski › June 8, 2013
B+
-  +1 votes  + Cody Ferrier › June 1, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Timmy Redman › June 2, 2013
A
Fun course, well maintained
-  +1 votes  + Andrew Wojciechowski › June 11, 2013
A+
My favorite course. Best in SE MI in my opinion. I will admit it could be better by having hole descriptions at the tee boxes for those who don't play there often, but that doesn't really concern me.
-  +1 votes  + Josh Cook › June 14, 2013
B+
-  +1 votes  + Breon Coleman › June 17, 2013
A+
-  +1 votes  + Art Piwko › June 21, 2013
B+
-  +1 votes  + Wayne "Weezy" Jodway › June 30, 2013
A-
Bring a machete or weed whipper if you can't keep em on the fair way.
-  +1 votes  + Lee Ireland › June 30, 2013
B+
For the main 18 holes. The first two holes are hard to open on with a cold arm
-  +0 votes  + Thai Hovey › June 30, 2013
B+
This review is for the main 18 holes. The first two holes are tough openers when looking to warm up. (hole 2 is 933ft). The other 16 holes were well kept and fun to play. Lots of distance and some technical difficulty. I will probably not be playing holes 19-27 when returning though.
-  +1 votes  + Chris Mascho › July 15, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Russell Graves › July 19, 2013
B+
-  +1 votes  + Eric Walker › August 3, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + Briar Keen › August 10, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Benny G. › August 13, 2013
B
-  +1 votes  + Nicholas Lalko › September 4, 2013
A
-  +2 votes  + Michael McGinnis › September 10, 2013
A
Stoney Creek is a tough course with a great variety of holes. There are nice baskets and tee pads and the course is overall well taken care of. The only issues are the idiots who draw all over everything, and the course can also get very busy. Overall though Stoney Creek is my favorite course.
-  +1 votes  + Steve K › September 14, 2013
A
Love that its a course focused on accuracy while still being wide open.
-  +0 votes  + Anthony Litts › September 29, 2013
A+
Great course to hold Tournaments at.
-  +0 votes  + Paul Bunko › October 14, 2013
A
Well maintained and fairly clean. Plus from the long tees quite challenging
-  +0 votes  + Mike Pelamati › October 28, 2013
A
i am not going to hate on the course because of vandalism but i think stony messed up a good thing. hole 9 and hole 10 were great holes and they got rid of them to make an extremely long challenging hole which was kind of dumb. the fairways are always short/ cut and the rough is easy to avoid on most holes. the swamp holes should not have been put on the back 9. pay to play is good but something does need to be done like an age limit to keep high schoolers from destroying the park. 1 tee pad is not complete, additional holes ok but could have been designed better.
-  +0 votes  + Jimmy "Dyeing 2 Disc" Schocke › October 17, 2013
A+
-  -1 votes  + Derek Bennion › October 18, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Brian Crouch › December 8, 2013
A
This was my first time playing here and i can't wait to come back in the spring. Amazing course with a little bit of everything. Long short wide open through the woods. And hole 27 is so much fun to empty the bag on.
-  +1 votes  + randy rorabacher › April 9, 2014
A-
great course!!!. I feel the only improvement it really needs is the posts to tell the location of the pro and am tees along with basket locations on them. Other than that I think the only other complaints I would have would be that I got mixed up once or twice on which way to go to the next tee pad
-  +0 votes  + David Lewis › April 12, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Joseph Contratto › April 19, 2014
A
Beautiful Course Absolutely Loved It. Wide Variety of Holes. Only drawback get out early this place gets packed in no time or prepare to wait on every hole.
-  +0 votes  + marcus hinski › April 25, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Paul Doherty › April 28, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Damon Runyon › May 1, 2014
B+
Played Stony for the first time with my brother...tie game...
Hole 1 and 2 we threw without any idea of the position of the pin, really pissed me off when I went for the practice tee on hole 2.
Having to pay twice is crazy...purchased a $54 park pass but still gotta pay $2 to play...good thing the guy in the booth said "**** it, have fun" cuz I didn't have $2
-  +0 votes  + Jake Angelos › May 13, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Zac Zabolotny › June 12, 2014
A
Good mix of open and wooded holes. Accuracy is important for the wooded holes because the plants are very full this time of year. It is pretty well maintained and can get crowded later in the day.
-  +0 votes  + Bruce McCallister › June 25, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Ben C › July 1, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Jake F › July 2, 2014
B+
I was unable to play the full course, but 1-18 were really nice. There's a good mix of distances, open/wooded, and doglegs. The most notable missing element is elevation change. The majority of this course is pretty flat. Use a spotter on the blind holes, especially after the grass gets tall and the trees have filled in. Start strong because the course gets a lot tougher after the first 3. Overall, the park was clean and well taken care of. I would have no problem playing this course again.
-  +0 votes  + Wally Ayotte › July 2, 2014
A
I love this course!
-  +0 votes  + Evan Little › July 5, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jacob Hunter › July 7, 2014
A
I'm fairly new to disc golf and this course was the best I've played on by far. The only downside is the price to get in. I've just been spoiled by free courses
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Ward › July 11, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Rick Gzesh › July 14, 2014
B
First time playing. Course would earn a higher score if they mowed more of the grass. They do carve out a nice fairway, but the sides might be a hundred feet wide of tall grass and weeds that eats discs up! Other than that a very fun course with a nice variety of shots including a short over a pond shot. I played the shorts this round but do want to come back and try the longs and maybe find my disc.
-  +0 votes  + Mad zinskii › July 15, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + Brian Sweet › July 21, 2014
A
Layout is very fun, although you need a spotter on a few holes, especially 27.
One of the most majestic courses you'll play, with deer wandering about (across the fairway at one point) and memorable landmarks including a bridge and swamp.
-  +0 votes  + Jon Mazzara › July 22, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + David Ciolan › July 23, 2014
A-