Sleepy Hollow State Park

Laingsburg, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +5 votes  + Harold Fernando › February 7, 2012
A
Love this course! Almost perfect just need longer pads! Don't think they're even regulation length. Variety of shots, some elevation changes. A side armer's dream! Hole 9 is one of my favorites at this course, it's kinda tricky.......
-  +2 votes  + Matt Dimick › October 30, 2010
B
would be higher if the pads were better
-  +2 votes  + Wade TF › March 2, 2011
A
I like this course because it has every shot and there are some birdie holes and most par holes require a high level of skill to get. Good baskets and and concrete tees. In a state park it almost always has a private course feel because of little traffic. I believe there is a league here during the summer and there are tournaments here throughout the year. Really a great place to put a course. Right off a beach and out in BFE. Course could use some benches and trash receptacles around the teeing areas.
-  +2 votes  + Eirik Kauserud › March 7, 2011
A-
Great course. Tee's a re a little funny on a couple of holes. Very fun course.
-  +2 votes  + Ryan Anderson › March 19, 2011
A
-  +2 votes  + Wayne Rolison › May 25, 2011
B+
Great course in general but I must agree with the others. The pads are a bit small.
-  +2 votes  + Andy Engilsh › September 19, 2011
B
it would be nice if the grass wasn't crazy tall on the longer holes
-  +2 votes  + Jeremy Reisig › October 9, 2011
A-
Amazing course. The hole diversity makes you have precision drives along with flex shots. Great mixture of wooded and open holes. Only slight downsides are the thick brush, awkward tee angles, and the stupid ponds on hole 9. Aside, this course is always a great challenge.
-  +2 votes  + Larry Dalimonte › March 14, 2012
B+
Great location, beautiful scenery, no crowds, good mix of open and technical holes, love it except for hole 9 :D Tee pads could be lengthened and could use a few more benches and trash cans. Oh and bring your wind discs because it tends to get really gusty on the open holes by the lake.
-  +2 votes  + William Gilbert › June 19, 2012
B+
-  +2 votes  + Kyle Greiner › July 12, 2012
B+
Good course layout with good variety and no glaring flaws. Could be maintained more frequently, but solid other than that. It is generally a good idea to skip hole nine as the basket is on a peninsula.
-  +1 votes  + MEAT BABY › October 12, 2010
A-
-  +1 votes  + Jason Karle › October 31, 2010
B+
great course but the tee pads are a bit small!
-  +1 votes  + Craig Downing › March 13, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + Keith Aten › March 13, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Fred McGill › March 16, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Mark Boring › March 18, 2011
B-
-  +1 votes  + Mike Stump - OldStump › March 18, 2011
B+
still quite muddy.... #9 is my nemesis hole...
-  +1 votes  + RJ Batzer › March 20, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Dave Kippen › March 26, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Justin Rogers › June 18, 2012
A-
This is probably the best course I've ever been to. Most all holes are big and open with lots of room to throw. Also all holes except maybe 2 or 3 are over 300 ft long. Several water hazards and very thick woods all around you so your gonna want to bring your A game and some discs you don't care about cause losing a disc is almost a garuntee here. Hole 9 is a very tough holeand goes way uphill sort of to the left then goes steep downhill sharp left onto a sort of peninsula about 75ft long but on ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Nate Upton › March 15, 2012
B+
Nice course, wide open but a lefty/forehand course for sure
-  +1 votes  + dan carrigan › March 16, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + ken "sega salt" moote › March 18, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Derek Kresge › November 14, 2012
B-
-  +1 votes  + Jon Peters › April 13, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Brett Russell › April 15, 2012
B+
Needs longer pads, 6' of cement just isn't enough. To make matters worse larger stones were put right behind them
-  +1 votes  + gillian van stratt › April 29, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Cyndi Allen › May 15, 2012
B
Did not like small pads but the course is beautiful
-  +1 votes  + Mike Spagnuolo › July 25, 2012
B
-  +1 votes  + Luke Langkamp › June 4, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Scott Van de Vyver › June 11, 2012
B+
I really liked this course. It's a bit of a drive from Lansing, but it was nice to play something different. The pads are super short, which is kind of a pain if you're trying to run up to a longer pin. There are some nice elevation changes. The course is technical with a couple open holes at the beginning and end. Some long. Some short. It's a nice variety. I definitely recommend checking it out.
-  +1 votes  + Michael Flood › June 11, 2012
B+
-  +1 votes  + Steven King › June 12, 2012
A
Overall i like the course but there are a lot of open holes in the sun.
-  +1 votes  + Jose Bobillo III › June 12, 2012
B+
-  +1 votes  + Matthew Augenstein › June 24, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Luke Holtzapple › June 27, 2012
B-
Appears to be maintained by a group that refers to themselves at "The Friends." My best guess is some sort of extremist Hippy faction. This course is definitly as Flannigan as a course can get. Heres to you Flanzo!
-  +1 votes  + Dan Hultin › March 24, 2013
B
This was my second time playing the course. The rough is very rough and if you miss the fairway the rough will cause a longer search. I lost my first drive but I also found a disc on hole 1 so ill take a missing yellow/green destroyer over a found tyedye Orc. The tee pads are about 1 ½ steps long which is about 1½ steps too little. There is a downed tree right in the middle of hole 5 which makes it extremely difficult and needs to be taken care of. Most of the bomber holes seem to be anhyz ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Blake Ingalls › July 29, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Justin Hooper › August 6, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Abby Calhoun › September 4, 2012
A
Love the course, just enough challenge and yet just enough holes to make you feel good about yourself. Well maintained and camping is only $19 a night, right on a lake too!
-  +1 votes  + Angel Gilbert › October 8, 2012
A+
first time playing this course after walking it in 2010 with my mother when she played disc girls gone wild i really liked it a lot. very open not a super long course. needs some more trash cans and benches here and there. only came across three trash cans and one bench. but still i really like this course very peaceful when there is no one around.
-  +0 votes  + Hits Trees › March 19, 2011
A+
-  +0 votes  + Scott McCausey › March 25, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Anthony Borgia › April 5, 2011
A
Nice mix of terrain, wooded holes or open drives. Usually very quiet and nicely kept.
-  +0 votes  + Lauren Curtis › April 25, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Joal Kozma › May 19, 2011
B
Well ill start with the fact that the course was completely muddy and soaked. However it is a nice shorter style course with some unique holes. 5353 feet in course distance. Fair mix of open and wooded holes. hole 9 is the signature hole. 391 feet downhill to basket location that looks like a peninsula with water about 10 feet on either side of the basket. Definitley like the course and would put it on a must play list. not many other courses nearby.
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Williams › May 25, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + steven avery › May 31, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + K T › June 27, 2011
A-
Course good, camping good, beach good, tee pads bad. But rumor was that they were free, so cheers. When is the next tourney here????
-  +0 votes  + Duncan Spitz › April 19, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf- › October 7, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + patricio gonzalez III › August 24, 2011
B
this course is worth visiting,camping is good.site 28 and 29 are the sites right by the trail that leads to the disc golf course.a good mix of holes,some water.tee pads are a little short but at least they are concrete.hopefully the state park system will follow sleepy hollows and newaygos lead here.lots of good things,camping and discing,good weekend course,peace.
-  +0 votes  + Jeff McGuire › September 6, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Josh Bickel › October 9, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Sean Kecskes › October 16, 2011
A
This course is very well groomed, has good lengths and a nice variety of shots. The day I came here was during a wind storm so a couple discs were lost in the tall grass, but that's all part of the game. Hole nine is a VERY SCARY (in a good way) fairway and possibly the most unique I've seen.
-  +0 votes  + Dave Milewski › October 24, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Sean Anders › October 24, 2011
A-
Amazing course, there is pretty much something for everyone. From open, big arm cannon holes to tight and technical holes, flat, smooth shots to rolling hills. Playing this course will make you a better player. The only real complaints I have are that there's a lot of locations for casual water which can start to stink and that being near water, you deal with some heavier winds than you might at other courses.
-  +0 votes  + Sancho Valdez › October 31, 2011
A-
I rated it a A- because its a lefty course and I am a righty! ;(
-  +0 votes  + Derrick Dunville › November 13, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Christopher Kirby › January 9, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Brent Beard › January 26, 2012
B+
Very good, very clean course. Nice balance of left/right, short/long holes. Playing in the winter is nice because the rough can be REALLY rough in the summer, and the water hazards are slightly less hazardous with 4" of ice on top.
-  +0 votes  + james ludwick › February 7, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Marquita Bernard › July 5, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jay Wise › February 20, 2012
A-
Only complaint is the short tee pads, other than that a leftys dream + some beautiful scenary to boot.
-  +0 votes  + Zachary Vaughn › March 5, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + David Low › March 12, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Philip lyon › March 15, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Chris S › March 20, 2012
A
I LOVE this course and play it regularly. Great layout and mix of shots. Some open, some wooded, some perfect for backhand, some perfect for sidearm, and some even great for overhand. Great use of elevation. Never seen it crowded. Could use a few arrows to direct newbies between some of the baskets and tees. Hole 9 is the signature, playing up onto a narrow peninsula, and has claimed more than its fair share of discs. They recently added more garbage bins.
-  +0 votes  + Mark Nosek › April 1, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Tyler Gilbert › March 9, 2013
C
-  +0 votes  + Ross M › March 22, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Dakota Ridsdale › April 21, 2013
A-
Great course, pads are a little short, mostly forehand or lefty. Trees drive you nuts but makes it fun and a challenge. A top course.
-  +0 votes  + Chris Shaw › April 24, 2013
A-
Pretty challenging course with nice forearm drives makes this a really fun course.
-  +0 votes  + Ben Dadd › May 15, 2013
B+
Love the course, especially since some trimming has been done.
-  +0 votes  + justin borton › May 16, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Klasiena K › June 10, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + morgan ettinger › June 17, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Steve Oberg › June 23, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Reddy › July 4, 2013
A
Very nice course with a variety of challenges, and a good layout with good flow. Will play here again for sure.
-  +0 votes  + Mike Wolters › August 11, 2013
A-
Sweet course other than the extremely small tee pads
-  +0 votes  + Jordan Walters › October 27, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Dale Noel › November 21, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Christopher Arnett › January 11, 2014
A+
Awesome course, love playing here.
-  +0 votes  + Christina Upton › April 4, 2014
A+
The course keeps improving as many times I played it:)
-  -1 votes  + Nathan Mollema › October 11, 2010
A-
-  -1 votes  + Corey Kieft › March 22, 2011
A-
-  -1 votes  + james-JOSH- russell › November 15, 2012
B-
I did not get the wow factor that I thought I would get after reading the reviews. The couse is very nice and has a great flow to it. Its mostly a bit long for the new or intermediate arms like mine. I loved 9 unlike many others and did get the wow from it, and 17 with a right sloping turn with an extreme left sloping fairway the whole way was awsome as well. b- is above avg. but being long, many holes basically out in the field, and lack of wow factor made for a slightly dissapoiting trip for me. All in all nice though.
-  -5 votes  + john jeff carter › October 31, 2011
B+