Shady Oaks Park

Sacramento (Orangevale), California     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +2 votes  + Curtis K › December 3, 2010
B
This is a great course. It has it all, elevation changes, Hyzers, anhyzers, and a couple great roller holes. Some holes have a great "tunnel" of old oak trees that make for a challenging but picturesque experience. It can get crowded in the afternoons, especially on the weekends. Theres a great pro shop on the premises that has pretty much everything.
-  +1 votes  + Daniel Camara Jr › February 21, 2012
A-
Very interesting and challenging course! Many water hazards from a creek running through the course. So many trees you must pick your shots carefully. Only saving grace as far as difficulty is that the holes with many obstacles are short! Well stocked pro shop on site that stocks anything you could possible need including baskets. Course has a nice putting area that has two baskets near the entrance. Very crowded and popular course with not nearly enough parking however!
-  +0 votes  + Seph Davidson › September 23, 2010
A+
-  +0 votes  + Stephen Alberts › March 5, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Adam W. › September 27, 2010
B
-  +0 votes  + Travis Lindstrom › March 17, 2011
A
Sweet course, my first time playing, tons of trees, winding creek throughout, awesome course, Kicked my ass first and second round
-  +0 votes  + Armando Lopez › September 13, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + colin mchenry › October 21, 2011
A-
I completely agree with Curtis K.
-  +0 votes  + Eric Jamison › October 25, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + KiMBODiA K › November 6, 2011
B
Baskets were long and short
-  +0 votes  + Jamie Sims › December 19, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Matt raymond › April 6, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Gabriel L. › August 4, 2012
A+
shady is a perfect park to get good games going
-  +0 votes  + Ben S › March 13, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Ron Oberst › January 21, 2013
C
very nice course!
-  +0 votes  + Nick Sikorski › March 13, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Nick Jolicoeur › April 9, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Phill Cardenaz › April 20, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Mike Roe › July 7, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + DU 7A › February 24, 2014
A-
This course is really fun. I especially like it in winter/spring when there is green grass and it's not so dusty. There are a lot of doggie rights, which is great to bring a righty backhand dominant player (like me!) out of mental complacency and into creative visualization space. This area needs another well-designed disc golf venue because the interest of the community is super apparent, i.e. It seems to be a crowded course. However, the folks are friendly, good aromas float through your space ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Cory Goodman › March 12, 2014
A-
This is a must play California course. Very challenging, but fun nonetheless. Only downside is that it is very crowded. You will always find people all over the course. But besides the people, this is a fantastic course.
-  +0 votes  + Rusty Chains › April 3, 2014
A
This is a busy course, so get out there early to beat those that sleep in. Not too much parking, so if you find a space....lucky. Police will patrol on occasion, so be wary of what you are bringing to the course. They will ticket you for registration in the parking lot, open container and any other "substances" you might have with you. Not a course to bring a beginning player to. Water can be dangerous on the middle set of holes, so be prepared to fish it out or let it go.
-  +0 votes  + Peter Ensrud › April 22, 2014
A
I fell in love with disc golf after hearing so much about it after getting out of the army and enrolling at Sac State. disc golf, disc golf, disc golf. My then roommate and I bought a couple discs and gave it a go. Was awesome. The people here were friendly and patient. Being that I was a beginner I let many people play through, and being that I was a hard-partying Army vet, I ended up drinking and playing with a bunch of different players on different holes. Was more social than I anticipated, ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Jason Cabral › May 6, 2014
A-
I like this course. Several different pin placements, some long and some shorter. Lots of opportunity for a right hander to throw sidearm and do well, not too much elevation change throughout the course. I'll be back again.
-  +0 votes  + hooter holland › May 12, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + Stu Jensen › May 13, 2014
A
Great course! Good mix of shots, use of land, technical versus big arm, big tunnels and small gaps, something for everyone, everything for someone.
-  +0 votes  + Charles Ruth › May 25, 2014
A
Top favorite. Club ads a lot - recently new pyramid basket on hole #2. No wonder it is so popular. The only bad thing is that because it is so awesome so many people wanna play and you get backups most weekends. Even that is not bad because everyone you run into is friendly.
-  -2 votes  + Chris Morey › December 30, 2011
A-
Extremely crowded, but that's not surprising considering the quality of the course. It has nice baskets, big teepads and good signs. The holes have interesting layouts and challenges.

What keeps this course back from an A or A+ is that the area feels a little ghetto, probably from such heavy use. I prefer less crowded courses that are in more beautiful areas, but besides that this course is a blast (although a little easy).