River Road Sports Complex

Petoskey, Michigan     1 course · 24 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +3 votes  + Vern Lepine › October 11, 2010
A
Mix of wide open long shots and short, tight shots, good changes, righty and lefty hole.
Course was in perfect shape few days after Bear River Rumble tournament August 28, 2010
-  +2 votes  + bryon figueroa › March 26, 2012
B+
Good mix of right and left shots, fairly large fairways compensate for the unforgiving flood plain ruffs. Once you know the pin placements it a blast
-  +2 votes  + Ryan Wressell › June 12, 2012
A
This course has some fun and challenging shots, and you will use many different kind of shots from the tee's and fairways. Most tee-shots are blind. once you play a few times and know the holes i love this course big shots and controlled drives get you up in down fast about 2hrs to play with a smaller group.
-  +1 votes  + Cal Benke- Team Tilley's › November 19, 2010
B+
Good use of flatlands. Rough is tough. Don't go in it. Blind Baskets. They are where they were last time you threw them. Easy walk. Needs more shade. Short, long, right, left.
I've seen cement tees.
-  +1 votes  + Trevor "Doppler" Dixon › February 21, 2011
B+
mostly open medium distance over flat terrain
-  +1 votes  + MEAT BABY › April 11, 2011
A-
Tough and blind tees if u play longs
-  +1 votes  + Justin Andre › June 6, 2011
B+
Would be an A with some concrete T-Pads on all holes...
-  +1 votes  + Josh Wieschowski › June 23, 2011
B-
Navigation was tough. Pretty much every shot is blind and the rough is crazy thick. Thanks to someones dog, I didnt lose any discs............good boy! I would play it again, I would prefer to play with a local again too though, its a long thick course!
-  +1 votes  + Shane Wyatt › July 18, 2011
A
Very cool course. Lots of blind shots. Not crazy disance but a for the precision shot this is a great course.
-  +1 votes  + Robert Shaffer › February 21, 2012
B+
lots of snow but still easy to navigate
-  +1 votes  + Forrest Omland › October 13, 2012
B
Whether I try everything in my bag or just use my favorites, I always have fun with these long open fairways except when it's really hot. The blind shots are easier with friends and I've gone in the water a couple of times, but I can't think of anything I don't like about the course ... pretty good signs, benches, etc. Nice having 24 holes here.
-  +1 votes  + Joe Karr › September 15, 2012
A-
This course sits in a valley east of Petoskey,so be prepared for constant and varying wind conditions.Most pins are blind so bring a spotter and stay out of the rough,once you are three feet in it gets very thick,but the well defined fairways help.Best time to play is in the fall since you are in a valley surrounded by hills and trees the colors are amazing!
-  +1 votes  + Jason Karle › February 28, 2013
B-
-  +1 votes  + Robb Bernstein › April 27, 2013
B
best course around, a little wet during the early spring
-  +1 votes  + Jamie Vincent › May 18, 2013
B-
Long course with pro and amatuer tees..confusing on about 4 or 5 holes...could use some updated signs on half the course...nice 24 holer..
-  +1 votes  + Eric Grinwis › June 30, 2013
B+
-  +1 votes  + Nick Rockey › October 4, 2013
B
The club has done ALOT of work, new cement tee's and clearing, course looks great! Lots of hard work and it shows, Thank You! Have played it several times and I still spend a lot of time walking ahead to locate the very well hidden basket then walking back to throw. A lot of blind shots over trees and brush make disc lost a promise, not a risk. Because of that, it can be a real pain to play, especially alone, Well groomed fairways and some nice tees, a few areas to sit, but I was out at 8:30 am ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Gary Bruce › September 8, 2013
A+
-  +1 votes  + Brian Raymond › September 4, 2013
C+
Very tough to navigate your first time through. Just about every hole is blind, and half are missing signs to let you know where you should be throwing. I would definitely recommend playing with a local or someone who knows the course for your first time. The roughs are super thick, and I don't know if this is always true, but the whole course was super windy and the wind was unpredictable. Even when you can spot your disc in the rough, it's still very hard to get in there to get it. Overall, ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Todd Wiley › June 25, 2011
B+
The course has excellent hole by hole signage and finding the short (red) tees was fairly easy. This course requires lots of technical shots as every hole is a blind drive (or damn near), a spotter IS required or you will eventually lose a disc during your round. Water Hazards are only found on a few holes and are easily avoidable. Playing all 24 holes took me 2 hours and 30 minutes with my wife, 11 year old son, and 5 month old daughter in a stroller. We also got caught up looking for a los ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Angel Gilbert › August 27, 2012
B
very long course but still love to make a stop here when i go up north to play. i have played this course in 2003, 2006, and 2007
-  +0 votes  + Mytch Vanderlooven › September 24, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Tom Pluister › October 7, 2013
A-
As a co-designer at River Road, it brings me great pride to announce that there is a concrete tee pad on EVERY hole. The course underwent quite a bit of renovation this summer, thanks to the City of Petoskey and the Petoskey Disc Golf Club and is now in great shape for Tournament play. FURTHER- I created 4 alternate basket locations! Baskets are currently in these alternate placements. Hole #2, #3, #7 and #15 are longer and super cool! Enjoy!
-  +0 votes  + Travis Lepine › March 4, 2014
A-
Good course that you need to throw differnt shots fun course.
-  +0 votes  + Cory Glomski › April 22, 2014
B+
I love this course don't get me wrong but as soon as all the vegetation comes in be prepared to do some searching. Only complaint I have.
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Reddy › May 27, 2014
B+
Very muddy, but a great course besides all the muddy areas in the spring.
-  +0 votes  + Corey Kieft › May 28, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Zachary Vaughn › June 11, 2014
B
Given the terrain of the park, I would say that the design is an A - or B+. There is an overuse of blind teeshots that likely were not intended in the original design but overgrowth and lack of rough upkeep has added to a sum of 75% blind shots from the blue tees. Pros: concrete teepads, good mix of hole lengths, varying shot shapes. Cons: too many blind shots, rough can be nasty, lack of undulation, swampy in the spring.
-  +0 votes  + Rick Little › June 23, 2014
C+
-  +0 votes  + Ray Leicht › June 29, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Tom Snider › July 14, 2014
B+
Lost a friend's disc here but very fun!
-  +0 votes  + GT Foley › August 4, 2014
A+
-  -1 votes  + Craig Miller › June 13, 2011
B+
Lots of horse flies.

-  -1 votes  + Andy Smith › March 4, 2013
B
Not to bad of a course didn't knock me out though. Well maintained and clean park. It was a little hard finding the way around the course. Decent holes some you don't want to be off the fairway, Not something I would go out of my way to play but that's me. Any course is better than no course so I respect that. Be better with tees pads on every hole.
-  -2 votes  + Kyle Mihatsch---Team Tilley's › January 27, 2012
C
This course has some fun and challenging shots, and you will use many different kind of shots from the tee's and fairways. Most tee-shots are blind which gets old after about 3 holes. The rough is absurd and loss of disc is likely if you get off the fairway. when this course gets wet it is just not fun. The flypads are less than ideal, overall i could take or leave this course.