Portage Lakes DGC

Akron, Ohio     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + Michael Rickerd › July 24, 2014
A
In my opinion this is a world class course that along with Oak Ledges and Spiker could host a major PDGA event someday. It's a very scenic challenging wooded course where birdies don't come easy, so lower your scoring expectations. I'm giving this course an A.
-  -1 votes  + Tammy Spencer › July 13, 2014
A-
-  -1 votes  + Isaac Lilly › June 23, 2014
A
This course spanks me everytime. It could really use a big bomb drive hole or a few shorter wooded holes. I can't wait to go back tho, Portage is well taken care of and a ton of fun to play.
-  +1 votes  + Steve Hill › June 15, 2014
B-
I would give this course an A if it were not for the worse designed hole in the entire USA. Hole 9 has approx 30 to 40 trees that need to be removed. I played this course this spring with 2 pro players (1 of them a past pro world champion) and both of them said it was one of the worse if not the worst hole they have ever played. Whomever is in charge of the course really needs to remove all the small trees that fill up up the so-called fairway. If this was done, it would be a world class course. Hole nine is the turd in the punch bowl.
-  +0 votes  + Rich Sveda Jr › April 18, 2014
A
Absolutely stunning use of land. Destination course, spend the whole day here and enjoy this wonderful park. Design and upkeep are perfect. Every hole is challenging, and rewards a good/lucky shot. Can't point out a signature hole because i really love them all. Thanks to all involved with this gem. Definitely my favorite course in an area where we have some amazing courses ie wingfoot, medina .
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Johnson › April 7, 2014
A
-  -1 votes  + James Jacobs › January 12, 2014
A-
-  -7 votes  + Zim Zimmerman › December 15, 2013
F-
THIS COURSE SUCKS, THE PEOPLE WHO PLAY ON IT ARE LOSERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS COURSE SUCKS, THE PEOPLE WHO PLAY ON IT ARE LOSERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS COURSE SUCKS, THE PEOPLE WHO PLAY ON IT ARE LOSERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS COURSE SUCKS, THE PEOPLE WHO PLAY ON IT ARE LOSERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!THIS COURSE SUCKS, THE PEOPLE WHO PLAY ON IT ARE LOSERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS COURSE SUCKS, THE PEOPLE WHO PLAY ON IT ARE LOSERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS COURSE SUCKS, THE PEOPL ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + JC Sears › December 14, 2013
D-
Players are pretty elitist here. Several weirdo's seem to hang out at that park all day. Creepo in a red truck is there all the time. Course is alright, but gets boring, everything is too narrow.
-  -1 votes  + Jessy C › October 30, 2013
A-
Gigantic, secluded park. Good variety, and exercise due to the hills: I don't think I've been to another course where it was quite as fun to run to my discs. A- because it took just a little work to find the tees. They need to get an updated map on the boards so we can take pictures of them with our phones when we arrive.

Nicest outhouses I've been in – oddly spacious! Happy that they were open, unlike the bathrooms at several other parks in the area.

Also, cool idea with the lost and found disc drop; I haven't seen that elsewhere.
-  -2 votes  + Andrew H › October 3, 2013
A-
Very nice! Continually getting better. Tough on beginners.
-  +0 votes  + Glenn Burtis › September 5, 2013
A
Tough course! First time we played it was tough to find the lines not knowing the layout of the baskets! Will be going back soon.
-  -1 votes  + Lee Spencer › September 2, 2013
A-
-  -1 votes  + Andrew Snyder › August 21, 2013
B
-  -1 votes  + Al benninger › August 2, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + James Orth › July 30, 2013
A+
favorite couse and closest to me and probally is the most well kept, they put alot of work into this course
-  +0 votes  + Drew Dieter › July 16, 2013
A+
Love it here! No holes closed to slow you down while playing. Hilly though.
-  -4 votes  + CM Punk › July 9, 2013
F-
A once beautiful park ruined by concrete, baskets, hippies, gay cruisers, and the clear cutting of the woods.
-  +1 votes  + Stormey Giaimo › June 27, 2013
A
First off, WOW! This course is awesome, it truly opens up the world of disc golf and really challenges even the best players from the short tees at that. Great destination course you could stay here all day and not get bored. The layout is great, a little confusing for a first timer but with the course map on available score cards you shouldn't get too lost (today was my first time playing and I made it by myself). Also each basket has a small piece of orange tape that kinda points in the direc ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Broccoli Phil › June 23, 2013
A
This is a really cool course. Plenty of parking and a nice practice basket. Bring your swimming gear, there is a nice beach. Benches on the course to take a breather. Signage is pretty good and easy to read. My only itty bitty little complaint is I felt like some of the tee pads were a little on the short side. No big deal though. I drove up from Dover Ohio to play here and I plan to do it again really soon. Oh, and there are some holes were water is in play so if that freaks you out bring some throw away discs.
-  +3 votes  + Ryan Banks › June 15, 2013
A-
*FIRST AND FOREMOST* Let us give a hand to all involved with creating this course!!!!! I'm not sure whom all of these individuals are, but Matt Dungan and Carl Peterson have been mentioned. Kudos x 10 fellas! And 100 x Kudos to the work that will come!!!!! How must I begin on a course this magnificent? An overall description is necessary. Portage Lakes has it all! Lain in a State Park with beauty that cannot be rivaled by any course in Ohio, the Old growth forest is Stoic and intimid ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Aaron Collins › May 20, 2013
A
Tough from longs. Especially if ur already tired
-  -2 votes  + Rick Gzesh › May 6, 2013
B+
Beautiful course but very challenging with tight fairways and hazzards galore. The short tees are more my speed but I enjoyed the longs as well.
-  +1 votes  + Tommy Milkshake Randau › April 7, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Dave Hab › March 15, 2013
A
Awesome course here! Excellent large cement tees, quality baskets, and good signage. Longs are just that, long and a tough challenge or you can take it easy on the shorts, or mix it up, good variety for all skill levels. The course is well maintained and the locals reallly do a great job maintaining the course.
-  -9 votes  + hyzer don › February 17, 2014
F-
2 words. Course sucks.
-  -1 votes  + Ted Chell › February 10, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jared Heberling › November 28, 2012
A
Awesome!
-  +1 votes  + eric wernet › November 27, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Larry Bright Jr. › November 26, 2012
A-
i must say, this is a kick a$$ course!! it's set in a beautiful park with loads of elevation changes and trees that will challenge any disc golfer! water comes in to play on a few holes and can easily steal a disc if you don't hit your line just right. dual concrete pads are always a plus, and i hear there may be pro tees added in the near future. i have only had the chance to play the current long tees, and can only imagine what these would be like!! like all wooded courses (i.e. punderson ...
continue reading ›
-  -1 votes  + Steve Godar › October 26, 2012
A
Every time you play this course, you are always faced with a different and challenging shot. The rolling woodlands along with the Portage Lakes intertwined in the layout makes for a beautiful day, even if your game is not so. Located away from any highways, a mile back in the state park with great parking facilities. Swimming area and picnicking are very close. Thanks to all that made this happen. More improvements to come.
-  +1 votes  + Gary Heflin › October 10, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Jordan H › September 25, 2012
B-
I will come back and rate it higher, but bee stings from the tree stump to the left #14 put me in a bad mood!
-  +1 votes  + Dominic G › September 17, 2012
A-
I gave an A- though I don't think its quite there yet. I know it will be very soon. Matt and others are working very hard to improve every aspect of the course. I've seen how far its came in just 2 years and I have high hopes for what's in store. There are some great holes and some are just ok. 17 needs a makeover. I point this hole out because it could be one of the signature holes on the course. There aren't many hard annys (RHBH) out there and with the up and down of the hill it could be a very fun hole. All in all a great job done by everyone there.
-  +0 votes  + david tilson › August 27, 2012
A
Absolutely Love this course!It quickly became one of my favorites.So many good shots.Great course guys and i'll defintely be visiting this place as much as possible
-  +2 votes  + Kevin Hitch › August 21, 2012
A-
Tight fairways, water threats with safety valves on the majority of those, good use of available elevation. Excellent course. Worth the stop. Long tees are often extremely tough, and sometimes much, MUCH longer than the shorts. Short tees make it very playable for novices, but have enough interest and challenge to be still worthwhile to experienced players. Still a little rough around the edges in spots, and I wish the tee pads were a little longer, but all in all a fantastic course. Compar ...
continue reading ›
-  -1 votes  + Chris Warfield › August 20, 2012
A+
Beautiful Course! my Favorite course ever! it is in my opinion the best course in Ohio and the most under rated course too!
-  +5 votes  + chris deitzel › August 20, 2012
B-
This is an interesting course. I really enjoyed playing most of the holes, but there are a few that are just not finished in my opinion. Still a few trees that could be removed on a few holes, and perhaps the dumbest OB I have yet to encounter in 200+ courses (Dungans Dungeons). I will do this as a hole by hole review. Also all reviews are from the long tees. Hole 1 - nice hole. neat little shot. Hole 2- Nice hole that pretty much forces you to throw a putter or midrange on a straight l ...
continue reading ›
-  -1 votes  + Tim Mc › August 13, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + Tom Williams › August 1, 2012
A
Shaping up to be one of the best courses in the state. Fun to play for all levels. This course is very technical, so you may have to hunt for some discs. Wear long pants and have a great time!
-  +1 votes  + Matt Hill › August 9, 2012
A
-  -1 votes  + scott siers › July 28, 2012
A
-  +2 votes  + Jim Havassy › July 28, 2012
A-
Two words "Must Play". The Tee pads for the longs and shorts have just been completed. The tee pads are A+ lined up and level. The Pro tees are being designed and should be put in next year. This is a technical course and will you will hit trees. You will have to play a few times to find your lines through the trees and you will still hit some. The course is laid out in the natural hills and valleys of the park and could not have been any better if they were man made. The course has been has bee ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Adam Woodward › July 1, 2014
A
-  -1 votes  + Mike Hill › August 18, 2012
A+
-  -2 votes  + Ricky Lutz › August 19, 2013
A
Love this course It's all around the best course I've played. Matt, Steve & everybody did work!!! The basket placements are thought out nicely, perfect tee pads, benches and steps throughout the course, For such a heavily wooded course it still has some decently open but difficult shots/gaps it's grooving in quite beautifully
-  +3 votes  + cory rockich › July 16, 2012
B
you might want to attach saw blades to your disc. this course is loaded with trees
-  +2 votes  + Jamie Hodgen › July 13, 2012
B
-  +4 votes  + Troy Oligney › July 8, 2012
A
I love the layout, but the back 9 seem to have a lot of water.
Good for some people, but if you're a newbie, be prepered to lose a few discs.
-  -1 votes  + Chris Woolsey › August 4, 2012
A
This course has come a long way fast......and is now one of my favorites and it is the closest to me!!! It is a very difficult course though with a lot of trees, OB, and water hazards. I can see some pro tours coming through here real soon!
-  +0 votes  + jeff gayhart › July 2, 2012
A
-  -13 votes  + denny c › July 22, 2014
B
-  -1 votes  + Vincent Bussey › June 26, 2012
A+
-  +1 votes  + Greg Platt › September 25, 2012
B+
This course just keeps getting better.
-  +4 votes  + Chip F › April 30, 2013
A+
Great course, very challenging. It's getting more cleared out every week it seems. The tees really make this course ELITE
-  +4 votes  + Mitchell Sintic › September 18, 2012
A
-  +4 votes  + Bobby Insana › April 27, 2012
A
Likes-Multiple tees, great scenery, difficulty, nice tee signs, scorecards (and pencils), variety of different shots
Dislikes-Getting from hole to hole sometimes is confusing, but all you have do is look at the map
Grooming-I don't have much to say, some parts like on 15 have a lot of brush that could be cleared. Poison ivy is everywhere! I recommend jeans and you should be fine. On number 3 for some reason there is a lot of broken glass, watch your step!

When I played they were in process of putting in the cement tee pads, I can't wait until they are finished!
-  +0 votes  + jeff thornsberry › April 22, 2012
B+
first time ever playing this course and it is heavily wooded
-  +1 votes  + Clay Domenico › April 7, 2012
A
Supee fun! My personal fav! a must play for anyone!
-  +8 votes  + PK Deaner › March 17, 2012
A-
Challenging and fun!! Bring your A game for every hole. Tight fairways with distance and tough pin placements. Rivals Punderson. Cant wait to play it again. Top 10 in OHIO
-  +2 votes  + Carl Peterson › July 17, 2012
A-
With the concrete tees and mowed fairways, this course gets bumped up a grade.
-  +0 votes  + john holmes › March 5, 2012
C+
like shoting in the dark so many trees
-  +2 votes  + Matt Smith › August 27, 2012
A
Shaping up to be one of the best courses in the state. Fun to play for all levels. This course is very technical, so you may have to hunt for some discs. Wear long pants and have a great time!
-  +1 votes  + ManFred "The Basket Molester" › October 18, 2012
A
This course is friggin awesome! 2 more years and it'll be my first A+ rating
-  +9 votes  + Matt Dungan › July 18, 2014
A
-  +1 votes  + John Sales › October 11, 2011
B+
I rate this course 4 out of 5 stars. Pros - Very thick and beautiful forest set on a large state park. There are a lot of elevation changes and a nice rolling terrain. Well built stairs get you up steep hills and really set off the natural beauty of the woods. - This course is the definition of a fantastically technical course that will constantly challenge every level of player. A complete mix of shots are needed here to get over, under & around all kinds of obstacles. Baskets rest ato ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + dan schmidt › October 7, 2011
A
Hole 16 from the longs what a great hole
-  +2 votes  + Nick Schultz › September 26, 2011
A-
-  +3 votes  + Brad Presutto › August 20, 2011
B-
Pros -
Mix of shots and holes
Different pars
Short/long tees
Front 9
Nice scenery
Good coverage (not bad on a hot day)
Tee signs/directions
Water hazards and OBs

Cons
Tough as nails for beginners - tons of trees
Dirt tee pads
Holes 14, 15, 18
Some unlevel or unbalanced baskets

It's a pretty good course with great support. Hopefully, it becomes another great course in the area. It definitely has the support from the locals.
-  +2 votes  + Cory King › August 12, 2011
B
Natural and serene state park setting meandering through the woods and near the lake. Short and long tees to mix and match for almost all skill levels. Front 9 is worn in an is playing great while the back 9 will need some more clearing and wearing before it's up to speed. Over time I believe this will develop into a destination course.
-  +2 votes  + eric " Sharky " boyd › November 26, 2012
A-
This course has come a long way since I last played, 2 years ago !! Nice pads; I love the oversized pad on #16 !! Nice course layout with many narrow fairways, plenty of trees, elevation changes and water holes to boot. Great work has been done here !!
Kudos, to all involved !!
-  +1 votes  + Matt O › August 14, 2011
A
Very challenging. Anybody giving this course a bad review should just stick to Hudson or Canton. Must have a good drive on most holes to even have a shot at par. Nice elevation changes. Concrete tees would probably give this course an A rating. Update - Played here again, course is looking great. A lot more clearing has been done, but still very difficult. Which isn't a bad thing.
-  +1 votes  + Dan Davis › September 19, 2012
B-
I agree 100% with what Chris Deitzel perfectly said.
-  -2 votes  + Ian Kuehn › June 25, 2011
C+
B+ for the back 9 holes. I like the design, but there is a lot of bush and i understand the back 9 were recently put in. Once some gets cleaed out itll be fine. I give the front 9 a D. in my opinion the holes are pooly designed and there is a ton of brush that needs to be cleared. Hole 7 is the only hole I like on the front.
-  -1 votes  + Jeffrey Snowden › June 16, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + katie meloy › June 15, 2011
B-
The back nine looks great. There is still some clearing that needs done in regards to prickers and sticks, but aside from that it has come a long way. Great Job. Definitely a difficult back 9 but it rewards skillfulness.
-  +2 votes  + Dylan Pugh › July 20, 2013
A-
One of the more difficult courses around, but by far the nicest. Could use a little clearing on the hole 10 deep fairway and left fairway, hole 14 left of the basket down the hill, and hole 15 deep right fairway
-  -2 votes  + Dan Hyzer › May 28, 2011
B
IMHO i think this DGC is going to be one of the best in this neck of the woods, and that includes Dover/ Massillon, Medina, and Canton. But the DGc isn't complete yet and I know there's a whole lot more work to be done before it's ready for comparison. But I really believe that if we all put our heads together and leave the egos at the door, we could host an AM WORLDS with our area DGCs easy. We got the people, we got the DGc's and we have some special sponsors (Quonset Hut). Let's blow this up and show the world how lucky we have it here on the NE OHIO
-  +2 votes  + Ryan Bahr › November 14, 2010
C+
It's a beautiful park and the signage is good. There aren't any pads here yet. 3 of the holes are really nice the other holes the lines are so tight it is almost unplayable. The course would be awesome with a chainsaw and 2 gallons of gas. Still i can appreciate any peice of land with some baskets to shoot at. Should put out some really strong technical players at the very least
-  +1 votes  + Jay Kovach › November 6, 2012
B+
soon to be one of the nicest courses around still lots of work to do, do your part and watch a course magically come together. the back nine is going to be a monster, you can see lines forming now.
-  +1 votes  + Dan Hill › June 28, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + james moose graham › October 22, 2010
B
-  +1 votes  + Ryan Lepley › August 15, 2012
A
The back nine are open! Full 18 hole course! Like the design a lot except for hole nine. A technical course mostly through woods. The shorts are very managable while the longs offer a challenge. Still improving though.
-  -1 votes  + tony paserba › October 1, 2010
C