Old Farm Park

Grand Rapids (Kentwood), Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +2 votes  + David Shafer › November 13, 2010
B-
A glorified Knollwood, Mandos make interesting but annoying, large piles of leaves will eat your disc. Very busy and many golfers have poor etiquette and will throw and fail to mention fore. Would not make a trip out there unless in the area.
-  +1 votes  + MEAT BABY › November 22, 2010
C+
-  +1 votes  + Nick Bosovich › June 17, 2011
B-
lots of short holes with some mandos to make them harder... couple of open holes that you can throw drivers on but mostly a mid range coures
-  +1 votes  + Chip Youmans › July 10, 2011
B-
Like the holes themselves, but the holes are too close together. You wind up shooting into other shooters area.
-  +1 votes  + robby ives › August 30, 2011
A
Great course one of my favorites.
-  +1 votes  + Sam Smigiel › October 27, 2011
C
Good use of the land but it does get kinda hecktic when everyone is out walking their dog and they don't realize they are standing in your line of fire. Probably the most beginner friendly course in Grand Rapids. About half woods half open. Bring a couple putters and just work on your short game.
-  +1 votes  + Victor Wahl › January 10, 2013
D
-  +1 votes  + Foster N. › May 9, 2012
D-
short, cramped, crowded. no tee pads. some fun hazards and silly mandos make the course enjoyable, but too tiny and smashed together to be worth a return trip.
-  +1 votes  + Christopher Jones › September 2, 2012
C
This was a short course without a lot of distance or variety. The middle of the course seemed like they just ran out of ideas (3 or 4 holes are just back and forth in a wide-open obstacle-free grassy area). The other golfers and park goers tend to get in the way of the tightly placed holes. It could have just been the day I was there but it doesn't seem like there's much respect for disc golf etiquette. My biggest problem with it would be the tee pads. They're dirt which isn't normally a big de ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Randy Shreve › September 27, 2010
B
-  +0 votes  + Bobby Schram › October 16, 2010
B+
-  +0 votes  + Daryl Davis › October 5, 2010
C+
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Bruinsma › May 11, 2011
C
-  +0 votes  + Steve Hedstrom › November 27, 2010
B-
Old Farm did a great job using the land that they have. A mix of short, woods, open, water (4 holes) and many birdie opportunities. Old farm is a fun course to play and just down the road from JC park too.
-  +0 votes  + Cole Verhagen › January 20, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Marc 2895 › June 28, 2013
D
This course is a big hot mess in the course design dept. lots of really short holes and many holes are very close together , almost on top of each other. Mangos that make no sense . This course could be an awesome 9 hole layout . I would truly rather see 9 great holes with 2 tees and 2 or 3 pin placements than 18 crammed in holes. Just my opinion. Watch your noggin.
-  +0 votes  + JJ Ardi-Man › March 31, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Matt Krieg › April 5, 2011
B-
-  +0 votes  + chad bouwens › April 11, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Joal Kozma › May 8, 2011
D+
-  +0 votes  + Anthony Mentalewicz › May 11, 2011
C
too dirty...
-  +0 votes  + David L. Rosenow › May 26, 2011
C
-  +0 votes  + dan carrigan › May 31, 2011
C-
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Diller › June 3, 2011
B
They did a nice job to get some diffrent types of holes with the little land they had to work with. Not very difficult to play on most holes and really set up for backhand throwers but still fun. Its a good change of pace off of brewer. The other thing i didnt like is that there is no tee pads just dirt and some of the spots you tee off from are very uneven. It could be kept up a little better to make it alot nicer with the addition of some tee pads.
-  +0 votes  + Brian Pirkola › June 28, 2011
B+
Course flows very nicely from hole to hole. Nice balance of wooded and field shots, not terribly challenging but trees may easily ruin a good round if you don't correctly place your shots. Good beginner course and if not too busy i have played 18 holes in 45 min or less.
-  +0 votes  + Jacob Zomberg › July 17, 2011
B+
I enjoy the course. It's short, but offers a lot. There are open holes to test your driving distance, there are wooded holes to test your accuracy, even water hazards!
-  +0 votes  + Mike Shields › August 24, 2011
A
loved it perfect layout
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Ter Meer › August 30, 2011
B
fun lil course nothing more than 350'
-  +0 votes  + Dustin Humphrey › September 25, 2011
C+
Good beginer course. Alot of trash around!
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Waters › September 28, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf- › October 7, 2011
C
-  +0 votes  + Jimmy Jean › October 18, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Matt Bronkema › November 10, 2011
B
A little bit of everything, just a little small
-  +0 votes  + Zachary Vaughn › February 24, 2012
C-
Not a whole lot you can do to the layout of this course considering the property it's on. It is jammed packed, 8 casuals per hole in the summer. The only time to play it is in the winter when it is empty. It's a good beginner course with several odd holes mixed with a few good ones.
-  +0 votes  + Paul Spitzer › March 23, 2012
C
The course is very ameture overall. There are a few longer shots toward the middle of the course, and the mandos make it slightly more challenging, but it's more of a short range course that doesn't require any great deal of accuracy. The setting is nice. There are playgrounds and basketball courts, public restrooms, and one small body of water that causes a lot of apprehension at the 17th hole. The surrounding neighborhood is safe, mostly duplexes, and renters, which is pretty common for the Ke ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Sean Anders › April 1, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Corey Alberda › April 8, 2012
A-
Very enjoyable course. Mostly mid-range with a couple long range shots thrown in. Despite the pedestrian pathways and litter, the course is very well laid out considering the small size of the park. Definitely one of my favorites.
-  +0 votes  + Travis Lepsch › October 2, 2013
B+
Great beginner course with a variety of short, long, tree, and mando holes.
EDIT: Added cement pads.
-  +0 votes  + Nick Kohn › May 30, 2012
B
a nice and easy course that won't give you too much trouble. perfect for beginners as it has a nice assortment of types of holes
-  +0 votes  + Lee Kenyon II › May 5, 2012
C+
Grand Rapids' jv course
-  +0 votes  + Matt phillips › May 17, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Alex Hull › June 29, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + cody landers › May 28, 2012
C-
This course was mostly short with only a few longs holes,a lot of tight shots, many threw the woods, pretty tough mandos and wind. Are what this course has going for it. now the cons... there was a lot of trash everywhere, the ground was littered. beside all the people walking on the walkways and the constance rush from some local kids. on that note i give this course a C.
-  +0 votes  + Dan G. › June 3, 2012
B
Nice, short coarse. Fun place to work on your mid-range accuracy.

The unfortunate thing is there is a ton of trash all over the place. I like to bring a trash bag with me when I play to help clean up and I filled it up on the first hole and was no where near getting all of it! If you play at Old Farm please help clean it up.
-  +0 votes  + Chad Possehn › August 26, 2012
B+
Cool course. Short, wooded and very technical because of the mandos. Some baskets are in poor condition or unlevel because of slight vandalism.
-  +0 votes  + freddie ho › August 26, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Alex Stanton › May 20, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Brian Reyva › September 4, 2012
C+
-  +0 votes  + Brian Basinski › September 5, 2012
D+
Fun warm up course
-  +0 votes  + Mike Nawrot › September 6, 2012
B
its pretty nice. like others have said, its a bit trash filled (but i think others have exaggerated) i like the fact that its a good skills course with great variety of hole types.
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Cheatwood › September 24, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Cory Whitten › November 5, 2012
C+
-  +0 votes  + Chris D › November 6, 2012
C-
-  +0 votes  + Geof Coeling › April 8, 2013
B
Tough course for a first timer. Lots of different shots required.
-  +0 votes  + Russ Buitendyk › October 14, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Cortney Kramer › May 1, 2013
A
Love Old Farm. It's easy and fun... too many kids around though.
-  +0 votes  + Marvin Buitendyk › May 30, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Andy Moll › June 1, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Alan Moll › June 1, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Natasha Lynne › June 4, 2013
C-
it's kind of cluster f-ed, and i've almost had a disc to my dome every time i have been at this course, discs fly from one fairway to another... it's kinda like bowling into another lane and it's almost always busy to the point where if i am playing alone, i just say forget it. i do like that the holes are short, i have shoulder injuries that prevent me from throwing as far as i used to be able to, so this course is nice for me.
-  +0 votes  + John Gomez › November 22, 2013
B-
Not a bad place to play when nobodys hardly here.
-  +0 votes  + doug smith › June 14, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Josh Bickel › June 19, 2013
B+
Pretty easy yet fun course. Every hole out here is deuce-able if not ace-able (I believe there's only one hole that hasn't been aced yet, hole 10). Some cool hole designs out there, a few even had mandos. But a couple of the holes seem to run into each other and make it a hard obstacle when the course is packed. Which by the looks of it, it's always packed. The casuals seemed nice and were helpful in finding the next tee.
-  +0 votes  + Eric Grinwis › June 30, 2013
C-
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Wheeler › June 30, 2013
C+
Good overall course
-  +0 votes  + Chad Shine › June 30, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Chad Reuss › July 5, 2013
C-
This course design is not setup very well at all. About 70% of all the holes are setup in such a way that you are always throwing at other golfers. Several of the tees are literally 10 feet from the previous basket. There are several very short holes that offer chances at Aces. The front 9 is pretty much all putter. There are no cement tees. This course is in a beautiful location and could be very nice with a redesign and some cement tee pads.
-  +0 votes  + Kellie Slawson › July 7, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Matt Phillips › July 14, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Butler › August 21, 2013
C+
keep adding tee pads!!
-  +0 votes  + The Ginger › July 29, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Steven Savage › August 4, 2013
B+
Old farm is a nice public park course with a good mix of wooded technical shots and longish drives. It starts off with some nice easy birdie opportunities. Then it gets tougher towards the middle section with longer drives and tougher paths to cut through the trees. At the end you get some nice medium range wide open shots to get your score back down and to leave feeling happy. It's not a world class course, but I still love it.
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Waugh › August 7, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Justin Dore › August 17, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Landon Satterfield › August 18, 2013
D+
Meh
-  +0 votes  + Alex Schackow › September 9, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + David Burkholder › September 10, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Connor Gortsema › September 17, 2013
C+
fun course, great for beginners, but not really a test of your overall skill, just who can birdie and who misses.
-  +0 votes  + Nate Clark › October 1, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Nick S › November 4, 2013
D
Not a very good course. Most of the teepads aren't cement, signs are poorly designed with no distances. The land is pretty nice, and there are a lot of trees. There are a few nice holes on the back 9, but overall its a pretty bad course. I would rather play JC, and its like a block away.
-  +0 votes  + Tyler Frisbie › December 8, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Mark Hunter › December 29, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + tim ouderkirk › February 1, 2014
C
-  -1 votes  + Bret Holbrook › November 10, 2010
D+
This is a truly mediocre course. Mostly short with annoying mando's. Several holes you are throwing right through where the next hole is tee'ing off. Also this is a busy park and a few holes you either throw towards pedestrians or over their walking path. I will say the layout is good with what little space they had to work with so it has good variety.
-  -1 votes  + Kaleigh Seabolt › September 27, 2010
A
-  -1 votes  + Tim Evans › October 7, 2010
C+
-  -1 votes  + josh king › October 9, 2010
C-
-  -1 votes  + Cory Taylor › October 31, 2010
F-
-  -1 votes  + Nick Lagovich › April 12, 2012
C
kinda lame but fun
-  -1 votes  + Logan Healy › September 1, 2012
A
Love the diversity of holes!
-  -1 votes  + Corey Kieft › October 6, 2013
B-
-  -2 votes  + Tyler Sherman › March 22, 2011
B-
Not really any challenging or fun shots, all the long holes are wide open...pretty much a beginners course
-  -2 votes  + Robert Duck › September 28, 2011
B+
I have a love for this course because I feel it gives the eyes and brain a test. Many Hazards and many ways you have to see a flight pattern. I like this for a style challenge. Also its a clean park for the most part.