Mt. Holiday

Traverse City, Michigan     2 courses · 27 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +4 votes  + Uncle Todd Captain Carly's Angels - 22388Main course › April 4, 2012
A+
The Mount Holiday dgc was redesigned in July of 2011 from a 9-hole course to an 18-holer with two sets of tees and two sets of pins and renamed "Carly's Playground at Mount Holiday". The original course no longer exists but some of the holes have remained the same. The course was produced primarily by local Traverse City player, Todd Lewis, as a memorial to his daughter Carly Jean Lewis, who was taken too soon, only weeks earlier. Sponsorships are being sought for all 36 tees.
-  +3 votes  + dan carriganCarly's Playground › June 12, 2012
A
Awesome course designed by Gregg Hosfeld and built with love in remembrance of Carly Lewis. With 2 tee pads and 2 permanent baskets on every hole, this course provides some really fun and challenging layouts, with the Blue Pads to Blue Baskets being the toughest, obviously, but the others are no joke. Lots of holes that make you want to just stand there and empty your bag, because they are so fun to throw. Well worth checking out. If you can make it through more than 2 rounds in a day here, I commend you! Bring your hiking shoes and stretch first, cause it's a workout.
-  +2 votes  + ken "sega salt" mooteCarly's Playground › September 28, 2012
A
Straight amazing course on a ski slope. The elevation is presented to the highest degree. LABELED WELL with beautiful tee signs and markings to next hole's.Two baskets and two tee pads every hole. The short baskets are the brightest of pink and can be seen a mile away, the long baskets are dark blue (all brand new mach five's). The tee pads are carpet, I honestly liked them.From short to short it's mainly all short holes and not too difficult but a lot of fun shots, still the hike alone is a ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Brennan BCarly's Playground › August 6, 2012
A+
The layout of the four courses means that the course can challenge top tier pro's or be a great beginner course for anyone, at the same time. The blue to blue (longest layout) is truly an exciting challenge and the elevation is awesome. Great Course!
-  +1 votes  + Christopher ThomasMain course › October 10, 2010
B+
-  +1 votes  + David VanLente---Big DCarly's Playground › June 3, 2012
A+
This was a beautiful course that challenged every shot in my bag! Thanks Todd and Greg for a job well done!
-  +1 votes  + Justin AndreMain course › November 7, 2011
A
Nice Additions to Holiday!! Much easier to navigate with Next tee signs!!
-  +1 votes  + Zac CauchyCarly's Playground › April 6, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Uncle Todd Captain Carly's Angels - 22388Carly's Playground › November 2, 2011
A+
Do you dream of the huge downhill rip? It's here. Narrow, wooded fairways? Yup. Doglegs and S-turns? Check and check. Uphill? You bet. Elevation changes? In spades. Side hill and creative pin placement? But of course! On the Red/Pink tee/basket combination, there's only one hole over 400' yet very few are lacking in significant challenge or risk/reward situations. Even the shortest, at 112', was a bear with a super narrow, heavily wooded lane, a low ceiling, and a slight right bend around the si ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + tony gerouMain course › January 16, 2012
A+
-  +1 votes  + tony gerouCarly's Playground › January 16, 2012
A+
by far the best course in michigan that ive played made by a world champion and my man todd lewis thanks for the great addition to traverse city golf scene
-  +1 votes  + Grant McMullenCarly's Playground › March 26, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Matt LakanenCarly's Playground › February 8, 2014
A-
great course. eighteen holes each hole having two tee boxes and two baskets. that makes for a good veriety of ways to play the course. there is just about everyshot out there. and don't get off the beaten path or you could find yourself in some trouble.
the course would be a perfecet A+ if the couse had a better flow, cleaned up a bit.,and a few minor changes to tee and bascket locations.
-  +1 votes  + Adam HillsamerCarly's Playground › April 14, 2014
A
-  +1 votes  + Jammer GrossCarly's Playground › April 8, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Oubi FahrniCarly's Playground › April 8, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Clown RoyalCarly's Playground › May 8, 2012
A
My favorite of the TC courses. Cement tees would make it perfect but the carpet works great. Great job Todd!
-  +1 votes  + Tom HarriganCarly's Playground › October 22, 2012
A-
One of the best, most challenging courses out there. The tee signs are awesome.
Lots of elevation with every kind of shot imaginable. Bring your A game.
Traverse City has two of the three best courses in the state.
-  +1 votes  + Rick LittleCarly's Playground › August 22, 2012
A-
They have really done a great job transforming this sub par 9 hole course into a pro level 18 hole course with tons of variation. With am tees, pro tees, am baskets, and pro baskets there are endless ways to enjoy this course. Great variation of shots including uphill, downhill, tight holes, open holes, doglegs, even over water. The only beef i have with this course is the butt kicking hills. I wish there was a better way to get those beautiful elevation shots. If your not in at least decent shape your going to have a hard time making it through this course.
-  +1 votes  + Josh JohnstonCarly's Playground › April 17, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Gary WittigCarly's Playground › April 18, 2012
A-
On it's way to an A+ I'm sure it will be there soon! Thanks Todd!
-  +1 votes  + Joe WingettCarly's Playground › August 27, 2012
A
Beautiful course... its a calf burner.
-  +1 votes  + Travis OakleyCarly's Playground › May 6, 2012
A+
-  +1 votes  + Brian MulnixCarly's Playground › May 7, 2012
A+
Hands down one of the top courses in the state.
-  +1 votes  + Matt PowersCarly's Playground › May 15, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Joal KozmaCarly's Playground › May 18, 2012
B+
damn this course is a workout.
-  +1 votes  + shawn mccollamMain course › June 4, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Mark HoffmannCarly's Playground › June 6, 2012
A
Well done! Great use of land and hole variation. Now Traverse City has the two best courses in the state!
-  +1 votes  + Mark StephensCarly's Playground › June 10, 2012
A
2 sets of pads, 2 sets of baskets. Nice elevation changes. Accurate tee signs at all 36 tee pads.
-  +1 votes  + shawn mccollamCarly's Playground › June 11, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Mike DurcoCarly's Playground › June 11, 2012
A
Right away this is a top 5 Michigan course!!! Great variety! Your entire range of shots is tested off the tee, on upshots and putts.....on all 4 layouts!!! 2 tees (Blue and Pink) and 2 baskets (Blue and Pink) on EVERY hole!!!!!!! Super fun elevation on a bunch of holes. Epic shots on #9 and #17. Amazing pin placements on so many holes!!! I can't wait to get back to play again! It makes for an AWESOME Tournament venue!
-  +1 votes  + Andrew JenningsCarly's Playground › June 17, 2012
A+
-  +1 votes  + Paul JenningsCarly's Playground › June 19, 2012
A+
-  +1 votes  + Christopher JonesCarly's Playground › July 17, 2012
A
Very cool course with the best signage I've ever experienced. With the two tee and two basket options you can really play this course over and over with different experiences. This course being on a ski hill does make for a bit of hiking but it's well worth it. I hope I get back here someday, it was a blast.
-  +1 votes  + Kyle WilliamsCarly's Playground › June 21, 2012
A
Loved the Blue to Blue layout!
-  +1 votes  + Greg SilosCarly's Playground › June 27, 2012
A
Not for the faint of heart. Mentally and physically challenging. Bring your A game and plenty of water with a snack, now ENJOY...this course is awesome! Par (3) must be earned on most holes and bad shots are punished thoroughly. Tee pad signs are a heartfelt and thoughtful tribute to Carly and her family, well done.
-  +1 votes  + Josh RomstadtCarly's Playground › July 1, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Griffin DowswellCarly's Playground › July 8, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Nate-Dog SheltonCarly's Playground › July 9, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Don OlendorfMain course › July 10, 2012
A+
The whole place seems like Carly"s Playground
-  +1 votes  + Don OlendorfCarly's Playground › July 10, 2012
A+
If you like big time challenges and variety you won't find it any better than here. You have to throw it to realize how cool it was for the the designers to come up with two complete course running almost side by side. By mixing the tee pads and baskets you get 4 different courses in one location. **Bonus** The ski lodge bar is open on Thursday and Friday afternoons so you can set on the deck between rounds with your favorite beverage and watch the tee shots off the hill on #10.
-  +1 votes  + Eric LucykMain course › July 16, 2012
A+
By far the best course in Northern Michigan!! Absolutely love the variety this course has to offer from long to short holes, open holes to tight thru the trees!! Some of the most spectacular views I have ever saw on a course!! Its the 4 courses in one is what makes me keep coming back for more and more! I very rarely play any other course anymore! 2 tee pads and 2 baskets on each hole. You can play 18 holes on one side or the other! I love the versatility of this course! There are so many different way to play! Definately makes my top 5 courses ever played:)
-  +1 votes  + Eric LucykCarly's Playground › July 16, 2012
A+
-  +1 votes  + MIKE PAQUETTECarly's Playground › July 22, 2012
B+
-  +1 votes  + Jason KarleCarly's Playground › July 26, 2012
A
A great course, so many variations to play! It is fun and challenging! The only thing that would make it perfect is hard surfaced tee pads!
-  +1 votes  + Jeremy ReisigCarly's Playground › July 27, 2012
A
This course is a amazing. Over the four different layouts, you can find just about everything. While the pink baskets play forgiving to beginners, the pro layout is substantially more challenging with winding fairways, elevation, and intense doglegs. I am a huge fan of courses with the two tee/ two basket options. The land is used to its full potential. I also love the extra work put into the course, such as the unique benches, tee signs, and other interesting obstacles. I would've spent all day ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Dan RuppertCarly's Playground › July 29, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Mike ShieldsCarly's Playground › July 30, 2012
B+
it's hiking some big hills!!!
-  +1 votes  + Chris TompkinsCarly's Playground › September 4, 2012
A-
I was a great course to play. A good mix of holes and distances. Only cons would be that its quite the hike for most holes and its very thick brush. My legs are still itchy from the thistles and grass.
-  +1 votes  + Scott LammersMain course › September 14, 2012
A
Great workout with lots of different shots and beautiful views.Blue and awsome pink baskets on every hole.The best way to play this course is two tee shots off either pink or blue tee', then choose either tee shot to finish out on both blue and pink.I would give it a A+if it was mowed more often and if Todd the maintenance guy would get rid of those darn burrs.
-  +1 votes  + Scott LammersCarly's Playground › September 14, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Jonathan TrapaneCarly's Playground › September 18, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + james-JOSH- russellCarly's Playground › March 15, 2013
B
Sometimes it seemes like all you are doing is walking straight uphill. Not for the unfit or faint of heart. But once you get there, super awesome elevation changes. Hole 18 is a tight, tunneling, VERY downhill shot. This is my favorite hole of anywhere. Picture perfect and totally awesome! Take a good long look and take a picture before you throw on this hole. This course has the best signage of anywhere on its first 9 holes and some lack of signage with difficulty finding the next tee on a coup ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Forrest OmlandCarly's Playground › August 8, 2013
B
Love the carpet tee boxes, signs, benches, colored baskets, and layouts of the holes. Came here recently with a newer player and we both had a great time. Nice job!
-  +1 votes  + Scott "Deuce" Spear jrCarly's Playground › October 8, 2012
A
great layout!!
-  +1 votes  + Ben TschudyMain course › May 22, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + Ben TschudyCarly's Playground › May 22, 2013
A
Well thought-out holes that use the property in unique ways. Lots of elevation change holes. Love that! You better be in shape to enjoy the great views from those hills!
-  +1 votes  + matthew bloomCarly's Playground › June 20, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + Andrew TumaCarly's Playground › June 26, 2013
A
Great course, played blue to blue and had a lot of fun. great scenery and elevation changes, would recommend.
-  +1 votes  + Eric GrinwisCarly's Playground › July 24, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + Nick RockeyCarly's Playground › July 13, 2013
A-
+I loved the fact there are two tee pads and two baskets, so you can play 1 hole so many different ways! +The elevation changes here are simply awesome! +I don't think I have played anywhere else with so many uphill shots! +Pink baskets and blue baskets are so easy to find! +Good flow, well marked, easy for all types of throwers +Between 16 and 17 is Uncle Todd's Bomber, an extra hole for fun, 650' I think, downhill, fun +Hole 18 is awesome, downhill through a tunnel, very cool +Great sig ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Roxy ScrivenerMain course › July 13, 2013
A+
-  +1 votes  + Roxy ScrivenerCarly's Playground › July 13, 2013
A+
One of the best courses in the Traverse City area, a must play! The best thing is that there are two tees and two baskets for every hole, so there is lots of variation. The course is well marked and has great elevation variants. Plus, it will get you in shape.. Lots of hiking! Thank you to Tod Lewis and all who pitched in to make this such a great course!
-  +1 votes  + Chad ReussCarly's Playground › August 5, 2013
A-
Fantastic course. Mix of different basket placements. Great mix of elevation changes. One of my new favorite courses.
-  +1 votes  + Nate KnoxCarly's Playground › September 12, 2013
B+
-  +1 votes  + Nicholas LalkoMain course › October 1, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + Nicholas LalkoCarly's Playground › October 1, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + steve nolffCarly's Playground › October 21, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Josh NoceCarly's Playground › November 30, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf-Main course › October 7, 2011
B-
-  +0 votes  + Ben CalhounCarly's Playground › September 22, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Jamie VincentCarly's Playground › May 18, 2013
B
I would rate this course higher but it gets confusing especially at hole 10 and the teepads are rough...tons of elevation..this course will physically kick your butt..
-  +0 votes  + MEAT BABYCarly's Playground › May 27, 2013
B+
Needs garbages benches and better tees on shorts
-  +0 votes  + Corey KieftCarly's Playground › May 27, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Eric GrinwisMain course › July 24, 2013
C+
-  +0 votes  + Becky GilbertCarly's Playground › August 22, 2013
B
no trash cans or scorecards. lots of walking between holes strenuous workout!
-  +0 votes  + Thomas PluisterMain course › April 22, 2014
A-
-  -1 votes  + Nick M.Main course › August 13, 2012
B-
I was happy I played long to longs because each hole was anywhere between 300 to 600 feet, which for me, not having the arm i wish i had i could still keep up around par (no thanks to several missed birdies). This course in my opinion was more physically demanding than the entire 24 holes at Hickory Hills. Fun course though.
-  -5 votes  + Josh WieschowskiMain course › June 23, 2011
C
Layout could be much better. The surrounding hills could make for a great course. This course lacks a good flow, I would however play it again.
-  -7 votes  + isaac THE RHYNO MAN piperMain course › April 24, 2013
B+
it is a fun but very challening course for a young player like myself but its still fun
-  -7 votes  + isaac THE RHYNO MAN piperCarly's Playground › April 24, 2013
B+
great but hard