McCormick Park

St. Helens, Oregon     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +6 votes  + - Myk Nemeth - › January 3, 2014
A+
Just as good as Shelton Springs......kinda like Keizer Rapids...Taololi...Stubb and Pier.....with the par lengths of Blue Lake......No heizer bombs on this course leave your golf ball at home....this should be 1 of Oregons best courses hands down.
-  +5 votes  + Sean Chapman › January 3, 2014
A+
In time mccormick dgc will rival pier park and blue lake. i rated mccormick an A+ cause this course is a gem. there is no other course in the portland area like it. Mccormick seperates itself from the rest and raises the bar for future courses. mccormick has big concrete teepads and nice baskets. 99% trees. kind of reminds me of a mix between canyon course and wilder dgc. mccormick is still brand new so its a little rough in spots but once completed there will be nothing but perfection. once you play mccormick you'll wanna keep coming back. Mccormick dgc is a MUST PLAY.
-  +4 votes  + Josh Dearing › January 10, 2014
A
This is a well thought out course, with good elevation changes, and shot shaping on almost every hole. The lines are fair but tough, and the scenery is beautiful. Tee pads are a very nice length and width, with a good eye for center of the fairway. Fairways have been cut well, with a fair ceiling. With the exception of the treacherous hole 16 tunnel, I feel this course is flawless. The mud around the tee pads and fairways is a factor, and poison oak will be an issue in the spring and summer. But ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Kolte Breck › April 15, 2014
A-
-  +1 votes  + Adam Renfro › January 4, 2014
A+
Wonderful course every shot is technical, good mix of long medium and short holes. Favors BH righty and find a local on ur first round. It would have taken 4 hrs w/o a guide
-  +1 votes  + spectralmonkey 11 › January 4, 2014
A
once it gets beat in and the mud subsides it will be one of my favorite courses in the area. love par 4 golf, its just more fun! requires serious shot shaping off the tee, foresight to make the approaches, and the scenery and adventure are both top notch!
-  +1 votes  + Michael Kochendorfer › January 8, 2014
A-
Extremely fun course! Pads are Awesome so much room for activities. Could use a couple more signs in some areas but I'm sure there to come. I will be playing it again and cant wait till the ground starts to become more solid.
-  +1 votes  + Cron Emus › January 16, 2014
A-
Punishing rough...I really like the potential of this course though. Definitely a Risk/Reward issue on most holes, and the midrange is always the smarter shot. As soon as you pull out a driver and stray off the fairway, you're pretty much guaranteed a bogey. I know it's brand new, but a few arrows to the next hole would really be helpful on the walkouts for first-timers. Looking forward to seeing this course mature, and a big thanks to those responsible for making it happen. Great job!
-  +1 votes  + Josh Marcella › January 30, 2014
A+
-  +1 votes  + Jen Tech › February 3, 2014
A
Epic course!
-  +1 votes  + AJ Miller › March 16, 2014
A-
Jared, and crew, did an awesome job and created an amazing course. Pier Park will seem wide open now.
-  +1 votes  + Jason Pitzer › March 17, 2014
A
Fun coarse! I recommend hitting the gaps, and staying out of the trees.
-  +1 votes  + Kevin Sweeley aka ONE LIVID MIND › March 17, 2014
A-
-  +1 votes  + Garth Browne › March 24, 2014
A-
Technical but needs to be cleaned up a bit
-  +1 votes  + Steve Carson › April 2, 2014
A
The only thing holding this course back from an A+ rating is the mud and a few minor issues. Issues aside, this course is a gem! Worthy of Worlds this summer. The course has a variety of terrain, requiring a good level of control and distance. Issues: Being a new course there is the expected thick rough if you get off the fairways. Hole 16 is currently tight and technical only rewarding the most accurate of throws. Several holes have small lakes or mudholes on them which will clear after ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Nicholas "LUSH" Somppi › January 5, 2014
B
really rough and technical. a lot of straight tunnel shots. you better bring your mid range A game
-  +0 votes  + Shaun Kirk › January 31, 2014
B+
This course will be amazing in a few years, but like any course cut out of dense brush it is pretty rough, but fun. My only complaint was many of the holes seemed very similar to one another, mostly straight mid-range tunnel shots and many of the par 4's used the same formula, 250ft Righty anhyzer off the tee to a straight 200ft shot to the basket which most were situated on mounds, which is also fun but a little repetitive. I think with some clearing here and there this will be a great addition to the list of Oregon's best courses.
-  +0 votes  + Jason "Rooster" Bruster › March 17, 2014
B
Fun course... The fairways were super sloppy when I played. Walk out signs helped but I still needed the map to follow the flow of the course. Only one hole you can really get on and pump a drive, the rest of the course are controled RHBH hyzer flip drives, BRBH Ani-mids then controled forehand or backhand upshots.. If drainage can be worked out in the fairways it should play better and be playable 95% of the year.
-  +0 votes  + Matt Bressler › July 30, 2014
A-
This course is on the verge of being a complete gem. It is still a little rough around the edges. But with constant play and a bit more work this will be a legit "A" rated course. Tee pads are great and spacious. Baskets catch great. It is a lefty friendly course in it's current layout. I will say there I only saw maybe one or two benches on the course, which will probably change soon. There are plenty of garbage cans around the course as well. Be aware there are some nettles and some poison oak ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Riggs › July 27, 2014
B
The fairways are pretty rough still, but all in all, it's a great course that offers plenty of challenge and exercise. Bring water, and maybe pee before you go if you are into that sort of thing.
-  +0 votes  + Luke Johnson › July 30, 2014
B+
Great tee pads, but lacked some tee signs. Creative layout that seems to favor a forehand drive or left handed player. I cant wait to see this course fully develop. This course will receive a better review once signs are in place.

Oh yeah, dont bring a stroller.

Not sure if this course is currently world championship status. I would have rather seen the pros play Stubb Stewart State Park
-  +0 votes  + Dru "Stylez" › August 3, 2014
A
I think everyone's on the same page here... Top 10! It's got it all... And Camping!
-  +0 votes  + Alvin Natarte › August 31, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Thomas "T" D. › September 1, 2014
B+
This course has so much potential to be a "Super Course". Every aspect of your game will be challenged here. Lots of Par 4's is awesome but tends to zig-zag thru the course. Lots of hard work is obvious to make this beauty well worth driving to!!
Needs more trash cans..so much litter and peoples garbage everywhere. My biggest let-down was how much there was. PICK UP YOUR SH*T PEOPLE!!! Signage remained from Worlds so following course was easy. Maps and permanent tee signs will be a big plus.
DID I MENTION...PICK UP YOUR GARBAGE!!!!!
-  +0 votes  + Bryce M › October 2, 2014
A+
Really Tough lots of tree and bramble
-  +0 votes  + Tom Elder › October 20, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + Adrian Hutapea › October 29, 2014
A-
-  -1 votes  + The Ronin › February 17, 2014
B+
Beautifully designed, massive 18 in a thick alder and oak scrub forest. It was very muddy the day Renfro and I went out, and the pads were still newish so they had carpets on them. Pads will be/are huge, and very well done, lots of elevation change and narrow fairways make this course very technical. With some long holes, thick scrub rough, and blind landing zones mixed in there, you might want to have BOB run ahead and spot. Tee signs were nice to have, and I can't wait to see the finished ...
continue reading ›
-  -1 votes  + Grape Ape › January 4, 2014
B-
Great tee pads and baskets. Super muddy and the rough can be rough. Lost a disc on 14. This course is going to be amazing once it gets beat in and the course dries out. I can totally see this is a cross between wilder and taloali on steroids!!! I think I'll be changing this rating once it gets closer to summer.
-  -1 votes  + Isaac O › January 5, 2014
B
Great young course with a lot of potential!
-  -1 votes  + Adin Nelson › January 6, 2014
B+
NOT Stroller friendly!! ;)... bring a guide, still think id need one next time...will def improve w time, lotta rough ground cover still... u can tell alot of hard work has gone into this course (thank you!!!)
-  -1 votes  + Kenny Hall › January 28, 2014
B
-  -1 votes  + Mr. Snap › June 1, 2014
B+
-  -2 votes  + Rafael Guerrero › January 31, 2014
B-
-  -2 votes  + jeremy kester › March 3, 2014
B
-  -2 votes  + Chadwick - Acerbinky › April 3, 2014
B+
Aside from it being a swampy mess on several holes with long walkouts, this was an enjoyable course. Lots of elevation changes, nice t-pads & baskets. Not sure if it is ready for the worlds though.
-  -6 votes  + Logan Van Diepen › March 12, 2014
C+
Keep hearing all the hype, so I tried this course out finally. I like it alright. The change from left to right, up and down, trees, etc was a fun little tricky course. But there are some serious flaws, imo. First off, 15-18 should have been on the front half of the course. The flow is really off. Too much zig zagging back and forth. I get that you need the bridge to get back, but they easily could have reversed hole 1 into 18. Also, did no one think of the amount of rain we get? This was a MILD ...
continue reading ›