Lumberjack Meadows DGC

Alpena, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +2 votes  + William Gilbert › June 19, 2012
C-
nice tee signs on most of the holes, some of the signs needed better directions as to where the baskets actually are located.
only 1 concrete tee, the longs, nice tees though.
lots of walking between holes for the most part.
Flow?? not really
most if not all of the baskets are installed at improper height. some of the tops of the baskets are approaching 6'. it looks like the ground is pretty rocky and may have had problems getting the poles into the ground.
fairways do need mowing but not horrible i have played much worse.
-  +1 votes  + Christopher Thomas › October 6, 2010
B
No map or signage to guide you through. Several shorter holes could be tweaked to add difficulty and some more interesting shots. Course signage was installed but is already trashed from the elements. Alot of underbrush and tall grass to hide a stray disc so watch carefully. The area is remote and untamed, please pack out what you pack in!! Trash on the course everywhere is unsightful at times. Half the course roams through an open field.
-  +1 votes  + Mallory Precord › October 30, 2010
B+

if you dont know it you might want to go with someone that does, its a challenging course at times, make sure you watch where your disc lands. other than that had a blast. half woods half field. they need to get those markers up so you know where your walking!
-  +1 votes  + Josh Wieschowski › June 22, 2011
B-
Lumberjack meadows spans mostly in an open field with a few holes tucked in the woods. The grass grows wild and discs can get swallowed up very easily. Lumberjack meadows challenges your distance as many hole drift into wide open fields where the wind can be tricky. Course maintence here is an issue, its huge and takes hours to cut. The flow of this course is below average, mostly because of long walks between tees and lack of obstacles. Many shots are just straight bombs.
-  +0 votes  + Todd Wiley › June 27, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Derek Stockford › April 9, 2013
B
Worth playing if you are in the area. Not a technical course but nice if you want to throw bombs. Wide open on the second half can really lower your score if played well. Nicely balances the eagle country course. Course has rough fairways as the wild grass and weeds overpower, so watch discs very closely, some areas are thick and dense.
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Foor › July 10, 2012
B
I like to rate this course above average. First the likes; HUGE area. This course winds all over this meadowland with tons of chances to let the big dog eat. Nice tee pads (longs only). Not busy in fact you will probably be all alone. Very nice compliment to the more techincal Eagle Country DGC (the other couse right in Alpena just 10 minutes away). Dislikes; Lack of variation on holes lengths most holes were +/- 20 ft of 300 or 400, mostly young ever greens serve as obstacles. I believe the big arms could come here and shoot really low scores. Fairways hadn't been cut in awhile.
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Reddy › August 6, 2012
B+
If this course could have a brush hog run through it a few times during the summer, it gets an A from me. Very much like the layout and variety of holes. Definition of some kind of fairway would improve the look and feel of the course.
-  +0 votes  + Robert Wagner › August 8, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Andy Smith › February 24, 2013
A+
Hopefully my review puts this course in the A's cause its worthy of an A rating. It's was a little hard to navigate in some spots but it also been two years since I played here. So maybe easier by now. Having a cabin up north has had me looking for the course up there. Lots of beautiful open fairways to let it rip and decent pin placements. What a day out there towards the end of spring flowers everywhere sun shinning and one of my best friend puking cause his ass drank to much the night before. ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Urban › May 19, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Nick Renaud › August 5, 2013
C
It's a great long course and a perfect compliment to the other local course, Eagle Country, but this one simply just very little upkeep. We're a very small club here and the time it takes to mow the endless sprawling fields and wooded areas is just not in our schedules. If we had the resources to keep this course in good shape, it'd easily get an A from me.
-  +0 votes  + Oscar Gutierrez › August 11, 2014
A-
I really enjoy this course, it's understandable that not everything can be mowed. With that being said there are all types of shots here with plenty of distance. I've played here twice now and on my most recent trip there I found that they have put in sleeves on every hole so that there can be different pin placements. All and all this is a nice course especially for the area.