Lakeshore

Ypsilanti, Michigan     1 course · 30 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + Kira DamusisThe Ponds › September 27, 2010
A-
Love this course! Great practice course (a little bit of everything - distance, wind, trees, some water, and o.b.). Really stepped up my game playing this course.
-  -1 votes  + David TannerThe Ponds › October 6, 2010
A+
-  +4 votes  + Jim DanielsThe Ponds › October 7, 2010
B
B+ for the Longs, C+ for the shorts. The shorts have too many holes of similar distance (260ish or 210ish) with not enough variance in 'throw' requirement. The Longs are more interesting and there is no other course like it in SE MI -- still, if you have a righty 420' hyzer in your bag, you can score quite well on the long course. Longs are a great place to work on distance as there is not a lot of obstacles on many of the holes but just enough that placement does count because the baskets tend to be near trees.
-  +0 votes  + damnitjim734 h.The Ponds › October 8, 2010
B
-  +0 votes  + Trevor "Doppler" DixonThe Ponds › October 19, 2010
B
-  -3 votes  + Corey KieftThe Ponds › October 17, 2010
B+
-  -1 votes  + Mike ZanierThe Ponds › October 17, 2010
B
-  +0 votes  + Ryan TothThe Ponds › October 24, 2010
A-
In my opinion, 18 holes of championship golf would be better than 28 holes.
-  +0 votes  + Jared RoanThe Ponds › October 26, 2010
B+
-  -5 votes  + Wade TFThe Ponds › May 22, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy GibbsThe Ponds › November 2, 2010
A-
-  -2 votes  + Marty MetheringhamThe Ponds › November 9, 2010
C
-  +0 votes  + Ben CiccarelliThe Ponds › May 15, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Nathanael "Nasty" ScottThe Ponds › November 15, 2010
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jerry "Chilly" ChilsonThe Ponds › January 2, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Joel CoppernollThe Ponds › January 11, 2011
B+
Lot's of wide open shots. Long throws even from the shorts. Great course.
-  +0 votes  + Nick RyeThe Ponds › February 8, 2011
A-
Great all around experience. Very open so you have room to try new things. Challenging short, long and really long shots. The extras help if you're out for the day or trying to play twilight and are fighting the sun. The throw shop always has exactly what you need and the Calhoun family is always happy to see you. Gimme a shout if you wanna play; i'm less than 2 miles away.
-  +0 votes  + Nick VanderkolkThe Ponds › March 24, 2011
B+
-  +2 votes  + Dave LassenThe Ponds › March 25, 2011
B+
-  -7 votes  + Angel GilbertThe Ponds › May 26, 2012
C+
I hate this course so much just a much as i hate rolling hills. way too open and horrible to play when it is windy bc of the wind that comes off the lake. its worse when people vandalize the fence by cutting it open to get their disc that has gone over. have to worry about going on someone's patio if you shank your disc. Have to watch for ppl practice putting on hole 9 and watch for ppl just walking the course or walking their dog on the course.
-  -3 votes  + Becky GilbertThe Ponds › November 6, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Jesse WhitlockThe Ponds › April 22, 2011
A-
Nice and open with challenging throw options! Really gives you the opportunity to put some power into your throws...
-  -3 votes  + Jason CassidyThe Ponds › April 23, 2011
A+
-  +0 votes  + chris robinsonThe Ponds › April 24, 2011
B
nice open layout just dont go when its windy
-  -1 votes  + Nick SeipsThe Ponds › April 30, 2011
A+
This was my first time here and I will DEFINATLY be back many times. This is a very challenging course that will hopefully improve my game rapidly.
-  +0 votes  + Brian MorbaThe Ponds › May 2, 2011
A-
-  -1 votes  + Jonathan KirkThe Ponds › May 11, 2011
A
windy
-  +0 votes  + Chadd ScruggsThe Ponds › May 15, 2011
B+
Long pretty ope course... some nicely place trees and OB make some holes tough... 28 holes is enough for a great long day of play... sucks since it gets so windy
-  +0 votes  + Joshua M BarnettThe Ponds › May 30, 2011
B
very fun. a lot less open than i expected. throw shop is amazing as well as the dude that works there; gave us free sun block and bug spray. grass could be shorter and the signage could be MUCH better but it was a great time and best of all it is free.
-  +0 votes  + Adam MitchellThe Ponds › June 5, 2011
B
-  -1 votes  + Jon AndrewsThe Ponds › June 6, 2011
A-
.This course is in great shape and a lot of fun to play. However there are some holes in the ground back between 2 and 3 that I caught my foot in and twisted my ankle and hurt my wrist. The pro shop is great, loved it
-  +0 votes  + HECTOR. P.R.The Ponds › June 10, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + JJ RoccoThe Ponds › June 10, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + GRANIT EISENHARDT Cliff.CThe Ponds › June 10, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Ted ChellThe Ponds › June 13, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Eric LindsleyThe Ponds › June 15, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + James "Razor" RizorThe Ponds › June 16, 2011
B
Nice long and flat course with open fairways which makes it good for testing new drivers and new throws; only a few holes offer real danger of losing a disc. However, holes still challenging as many baskets are surrounded by trees and/or are on minor elevations; it makes your approach shots and lies very important. Use the blue or white marks on the basket to direct you to the next hole; I got lost a number of times until a friendly group informed me of the obvious (once you look for them and see them) aids.
-  -1 votes  + Grant AndersonThe Ponds › June 23, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Chris HoyleThe Ponds › June 25, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Adam KriesbergThe Ponds › June 25, 2011
A-
Finally got out to play all 28 here this afternoon. The wind out there made some of the more open holes tough, but holes W and X were the opposite: pins nestled into the woods on the south side of the course. Am coming to really like this course as it is much more forgiving than some of the other tight courses around...will definitely be back
-  +0 votes  + Emma FojtikThe Ponds › July 9, 2011
A-
-  -2 votes  + Shaky jakeThe Ponds › July 10, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Patrick FranzThe Ponds › July 19, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Ralph AlvaradoThe Ponds › July 20, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Brad FullerThe Ponds › July 27, 2011
B-
Course is kind of all over the place. I'd play again.
-  -2 votes  + Mike StratfordThe Ponds › August 1, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Jimmy JeanThe Ponds › April 27, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Scottie ReslockThe Ponds › September 15, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Michael CarlsonThe Ponds › September 22, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf-The Ponds › October 6, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Gary TaylorThe Ponds › September 26, 2011
B+
Nice course from both tees..big arm shots from most longs...great layout and sweeet shop to go broke at:)
-  +0 votes  + MEAT BABYThe Ponds › October 3, 2011
B+
-  -2 votes  + Sean KecskesThe Ponds › October 5, 2011
A
This is THE course I take beginners to for the sheer fact that it's -almost- impossible to lose a disc here unless you hit the water. Great mix of holes, all sorts of challenges, well maintained as well. They also put little arrows on the baskets showing which way the next tee is. I wish every course did that.
-  -2 votes  + Brad BrundageThe Ponds › October 9, 2011
A
Love this course
-  +0 votes  + Eric CThe Ponds › March 4, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + ken "sega salt" mooteThe Ponds › March 12, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Michael BlockThe Ponds › March 19, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jason RocksThe Ponds › April 9, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + stephen mastenThe Ponds › April 14, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + MATT STRODELThe Ponds › April 18, 2012
B
-  +2 votes  + Randy GallagherThe Ponds › May 6, 2012
D
If you want to shoot a course with nearly no consequence for a a bad drive this is it. The pond is the only cool part.
-  +0 votes  + Nick OliverThe Ponds › May 11, 2012
B
Great for drives, some cool basket placements. Fun if it isn't hot or windy. Decently maintained with a cool pro shop on the course. Great players all over, but tons of casuals as well. Water in play in a couple spots, and tons of woods on the edge holes. Otherwise open.
-  +0 votes  + jason kosenkoThe Ponds › May 20, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Sean FerlineThe Ponds › May 25, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + William GilbertThe Ponds › May 26, 2012
C-
Love he option of open if i want to play it long.
But nothing special about the course except length, which is not what i do.
Nice tees, nice signs, nice baskets, regrettably nothing special.
still anothe 48 acres of land to use with funding could change my outlook of the course with some woody holes added. This course need major funding to get better.
-  +0 votes  + Skylar SmithThe Ponds › May 27, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Chris StranyakThe Ponds › June 8, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Jacob RobersonThe Ponds › June 13, 2012
B-
This course is ok. I suppose the designers worked pretty well with what they had. But overall, the course is not very attractive. The lack of trees makes it almost always incredibly windy, but I'll admit that the trees are placed in just the right places. Whether sheltering the basket or standing right next to the tee, you really need good accuracy to do well. The OB on holes 12 and 13 is way too unforgiving in my opinion, though.

Hey, at least the course is free, and not too far off the freeway.
-  -2 votes  + Daniel J LeeThe Ponds › August 3, 2012
B+
Jk about my previous reviews. Long tees are a solid B+.
-  +0 votes  + Ryan FitzpatrickThe Ponds › June 19, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Gary Busey- The CatThe Ponds › June 21, 2012
A
Lots of open space to run around and chase birds and squirrels and moles! Purrfect climbing trees! There is not a lot of shade here so you can get in plenty of sun bathing! And of course and a wonderful shop with people who feed me and pet me and love me!
-  +0 votes  + Tom ShinnThe Ponds › June 24, 2012
A-
-  +2 votes  + Jamie MosierThe Ponds › June 28, 2012
F-
I enjoy playing the course but Ben ruined it for me
-  +0 votes  + Chris EvansThe Ponds › July 2, 2012
C+
Wide open layout, pretty hard to lose a disc, but a great course to grip it and rip it!
-  +0 votes  + Ed CarpusThe Ponds › July 5, 2012
B-
Liked the course, called for a variety of shots, although the most needed is just a 400 foot tee shot. I was amazed at the amount of empty water bottles just strewn around the course. If you walk up to a garbage can and there's some bottles on the ground around it wouldn't you throw them away? Cleaner grounds would have raised my rating. I must have thrown away 2 dozen water/powerade/beer bottles & cans.
-  +0 votes  + Travis HThe Ponds › July 5, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Stuart HobbsThe Ponds › July 25, 2012
B
I like the open parts of the course, and the some of the tight spots on the extra tees are nice. Maybe a bit more grooming, but great for a free course.
-  -2 votes  + Nate WegrynThe Ponds › July 27, 2012
A
Very open and therefor windy but a good variety of every kind of hole including the "lake" shot on hole 14 where you are required to throw over a 250 ft. pond, very cool!
-  +0 votes  + Mary Aileen MedlockThe Ponds › July 31, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Josh "BIG BIRD" FrisingerThe Ponds › August 1, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Kyle WilkinsonThe Ponds › August 2, 2012
B-
It is wide open
-  +0 votes  + Scott SmithThe Ponds › August 18, 2012
B+
everything that i thought it would be, that said flat, not a lot of shade, but they use the space very wise, holes are still changeling with trees that are in the way that you just want to cut down, but hey thats what makes it changeling, its rare to see a 28 hole course thats free and a pro shop that has any kind of disc, disc bag, mini, shirt, hat, baskets for sale and anything else that you need for disc golf. have not seen a selecting like that expect for cjs i believe that its called by hud ...
continue reading ›
-  -1 votes  + ManFred "The Basket Molester"The Ponds › September 9, 2012
D+
-  +0 votes  + Andrew BoyleThe Ponds › September 13, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Paul DohertyThe Ponds › November 3, 2012
B+
-  -1 votes  + Glen BaldwinThe Ponds › October 19, 2012
F
I liked nothing about it
-  +0 votes  + Rob DeHaanThe Ponds › October 24, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + William "Bullet Bill" PopeThe Ponds › December 8, 2012
A-
Awesome course! Huge! Nice layout. So many varieties of holes. A ton of fun!
-  +0 votes  + Jake WarrenThe Ponds › December 7, 2012
B+
-  +1 votes  + Matt DimickThe Ponds › January 12, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Joey "ThaSicknaz" GulyasThe Ponds › March 8, 2013
B-
-  +1 votes  + Ben CharlesworthThe Ponds › March 9, 2013
C
-  +1 votes  + Andrew LuponeThe Ponds › March 11, 2013
B+
-  +1 votes  + Bryan Soup CampbellThe Ponds › March 24, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Daniel TreharneThe Ponds › March 25, 2013
B
The Course was clean and marked well. First course I have played to have sandtraps.
-  +1 votes  + Kaleb HartmanThe Ponds › March 28, 2013
B+
It's really nice since it used to be an actual golf course. It can get kind of confusing because there are so many different tee pads and baskets everywhere. Some of the baskets have arrows on them which helped. Its very long. The second hole is around 900 feet. It was pretty fun though. I liked that the throw shop was right there. The guy that was working knew the answer to everything we asked and was very helpful. I'd play there again if I were from around here.
-  +1 votes  + Andy SmithThe Ponds › April 26, 2013
B+
I found it a little hard to navigate this course although playing it more will make me more familiar with the various holes and tees. There's a lot going on around you at some holes and baskets. I feel they did a good job placing a few of the baskets on the course just enough room not to really obstruct other holes. I think I'll up my review after playing here more in the future. Not a lot of tight shots or super tech lines. Great for airing your arm out. Over all a solid course in my mind. Be r ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Timmy RedmanThe Ponds › May 5, 2013
B+
love the course, wind plays like invisible trees. cant wait for more holes into woods and hopefully near lake
-  +0 votes  + Jonny PomervilleThe Ponds › May 6, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Alex JerdenThe Ponds › May 13, 2013
B+
Wide open course for almost every drive but it offers its own unique challenges. the wind plays very rough on this course and can be worse than hitting a tree. The Throw Shop is amazing and the guys there a really nice and knowledgeable. Would definitely play again
-  +0 votes  + Ryan KellyThe Ponds › May 15, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + - BuckwheatThe Ponds › June 1, 2013
B+
Despite the long grass needing a desperate mowing, played half a Tournament here w/ 24+ Holes and really enjoyed the long open Holes. The short Holes proved even more challenging as they got creative w/ Basket placing on this former Ball Golf Course. The Disc Store 'The Throw Shop' was one of the better DGSs Ive been in, DEFINITELY worth checking out!
-  +1 votes  + Alan MollThe Ponds › June 1, 2013
D
-  +0 votes  + Nick SchuetteThe Ponds › June 13, 2013
B
Wide open and good for practice, but tough to play under even remotely windy conditions.
-  +1 votes  + Ryan keeseyThe Ponds › July 6, 2014
B+
Dairy mart light screw with the front 9
-  +0 votes  + Art PiwkoThe Ponds › June 5, 2014
B+
Love this course. One of my favs!!
-  +1 votes  + Nate CoatsThe Ponds › June 23, 2013
A
Great course. Lots of fun. Only setback is, that without a map it's very hard to navigate from hole to hole. So, make sure to grab a map from the throw shop.
-  +0 votes  + j calliThe Ponds › June 25, 2013
C+
-  +0 votes  + Joseph ContrattoThe Ponds › July 27, 2013
A
Love it here. Awesome Course. Great place to throw some bombs and try out different shots/discs with all the wide open holes. My second favorite for sure. (Hudson Mills Metropark is hard to beat).
-  +0 votes  + Christopher PrzebiendaThe Ponds › July 23, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Gary FraderThe Ponds › July 25, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + peter kunoffThe Ponds › July 29, 2013
B+
-  +1 votes  + Briar KeenThe Ponds › July 29, 2013
A-
First time to the course and loved it
-  +0 votes  + Mike SmithThe Ponds › August 7, 2013
B+
-  +2 votes  + TJ LaPimpThe Ponds › August 11, 2013
A
the nicest course ive been to yet nice t pads blue and white tees 30 holes and the best throw shop around need i say more ok i will very comfortable picnic tables nice open holes some trees but they all are big beautiful trees n make u take more tactical lines beautiful clean park had a great day playing all 30 holes recommend getting a map from the throw shop as the letter parts of hole 2 and 15 can get a bit confusing plus u can browse all the candy in the shop which is very plentiful
-  +0 votes  + Mark W. RitcheyThe Ponds › August 22, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Rich PriebeThe Ponds › May 5, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Steve AlbertThe Ponds › September 15, 2013
B+
Holes are very open, but fun. Disc shop on course is a plus.
-  +0 votes  + Andy SienkiewiczThe Ponds › October 10, 2013
A-
Great course for day-in-and-day-out practice. Really long and open; as a former ball-golf course the designers had to work to make it a viable disc golf course, and they did a great job. Imagine field throwing, and then imagine a few ponds and a shitload of pine trees. This is Lakeshore. The first time you play this course, you'll think the designers were sadistic, but after that, you realize they did a great shop with shot-shaping on an otherwise wide-open course. This course has done mo ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Aric TimmThe Ponds › November 7, 2013
B
The only thing this course really has going for it is some great long holes. The shorter holes are very similar and mediocre, and the whole course is really flat. The layout is very confusing.
-  +0 votes  + Josh HewittThe Ponds › March 22, 2014
C+
-  +0 votes  + Rich McphersonThe Ponds › March 28, 2014
A
-  +1 votes  + Bryan EarvinThe Ponds › April 4, 2014
B
Very long, open Course on an old golf course!! 13 over the water was the only hole where you really had to worry about landing correctly
-  +1 votes  + Ben BobowskiThe Ponds › April 5, 2014
A-
Good course, very well kept. I like the elevated tees.
-  +0 votes  + Sam WallaceThe Ponds › May 6, 2014
B+
Long open course, mapping the holes can be challenging, especially if you're not out there everyday. Throw Shop is awesome, and the selection is huge!
-  +0 votes  + Jake FThe Ponds › June 3, 2014
B
This course is on a former ball golf course so it's 90% wide open. It's to just go rip it if the wind isn't too crazy. It's usually pretty mowed down, but difficult to navigate the first few times. There's 30 holes and it's free to play.
-  +0 votes  + Don SlaterThe Ponds › June 1, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Adam FreedmanThe Ponds › June 25, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Robert CoonThe Ponds › July 12, 2014
A
This is now my favorite thing to do in Ypsilanti - visit The Throw Shop and then go throw 18-28 holes, all in the same place. It's such a nice place to put in some meaningful practice without the worry of losing a disc. I particularly like the occasional elevated basket, the visual aids at the tees, and the blue & white directions you find on the bottom of the baskets. Can't wait to return.
-  +0 votes  + Christopher GrahamThe Ponds › July 13, 2014
A
Love the open layout, which allows for longer throws without hitting trees (though I still do). Plus The Throw Shop on site with tons of discs to choose from, and drinks/snacks.
-  +0 votes  + Brian SweetThe Ponds › July 15, 2014
B
Minimal obstacles, open layout perfect for practicing your drivers and rollers.
-  +0 votes  + Joe SchultzThe Ponds › July 20, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Casey CreasonThe Ponds › July 20, 2014
B
Great driving course. Friendly staff.
-  +0 votes  + Alex RolfesThe Ponds › July 21, 2014
A-
I really enjoy playing The Ponds. This course is well maintained and is hands down the best place to play on wet days, because it drains so well. With the first class Throw Shop right on the premises, I love going and checking out new discs and chatting up the local pro.

I also really appreciate the open layout of the course, which has helped me put in some serious work towards developing my backhand drives. If only there were more elevation changes then this course would be a solid A - A+.
-  +0 votes  + Kasey Williams IIThe Ponds › July 21, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Brennen BerryThe Ponds › August 3, 2014
B+
Nice course that is really well maintained. Super Clean!! Lacking obstacles but offers good variation in distance and uses the obstacles it has well. Can't complain about a 30 hole course that is kept pristine.
-  +0 votes  + Louis BradyThe Ponds › August 5, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Caleb BowenThe Ponds › August 10, 2014
A-
This course rates higher than it should for a few reasons: it is attatched to a fantastic disc golf shop, it plays like a city park course but without the city elements (random people, cars etc...) And the wind. Great course to try out new discs and throws without being punished. Worth a trip for sure.