L.L. Stewart Stubb

Vernonia, Oregon     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + JC Coulter › September 8, 2014
B
Majestic course , but very difficult with very small lines.
-  +0 votes  + Brandon B. › August 4, 2014
A-
As a new person I really disliked the difficulty of this course. A friend who had played before brought myself and a few other new players and we all had a hard time. One disc lost. The tree are hard to play through and a lot of it is overgrowth off the main path so try not to use a green or yellow disc. Now if I were any good this would be a great technical course, lots of variety and the trees are nice on hotter days. Any veteran player will enjoy this course, it is very beautiful.
-  +0 votes  + Luke Johnson › July 20, 2014
B+
This is true trail disc golf. If you go off the fairway, you won't like your lie. Pack a lunch and extra water. This course deserves a better rating, but they could use tee signs and a course map.
-  +0 votes  + Russ H › June 23, 2014
A+
Beautiful and difficult.
-  +0 votes  + spectralmonkey 11 › May 12, 2014
A-
if only there were maps and signage and proper clear pars for the back nine and maybe one trashcan? it would be perfect, in that crushing your ego and making you work really hard for a good round in a gorgeous setting kind of perfect. :) i wish it were closer to portland. i would play this all the time.
since i can RHFH straight and with some finesse i think its fun. my friend who cannot forehand found it incredibly frustrating.
-  +1 votes  + Nick Nisbet › March 23, 2014
A-
I loved this course! Disc golfing in the woods. The fairways are narrow, but nothing too crazy. You do need to be accurate. Pros, Easy to navigate, beautiful setting, Great baskets. They are Innova, but they are painted orange which makes them easy to see, but not a distracting as the yellow. While I couldn't see all the baskets from the tee, it was easy to tell which way the hole was as the fairways are pretty clear. The underbrush is minimal on most the holes making it easy to find your disc i ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Travis "Chatta" Pugh › September 7, 2014
B
Don't even know where to start. I will say this is probably the most beautiful course I have ever played. The wildlife and the fog and scenery is unlike anywhere else. That being said I will talk about the course. The t pads and baskets are good. There is so much room here to build a world class course. I think the course is decent however the back 9 is ridiculous. No signage, and they all seem to be the same walk 250 feet to try to find the pin that is hidden and tucked to the right another 300 ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Derek "Dirty D" Daniels › January 12, 2014
B
The course is absolutely beautiful from the fog that rolls in over the hills to the trees and ferns to the deer that roam the fairways. That being said beast doesn't begin to describe this course. Most of the fairways are tight snaking lines that are almost impossible to navigate with a disc. Dramatic elevation changes make it hard to judge distance and tucked away pins are hard to see much less get to. Bring your big boy pants to this course cause if you don't they might be around your ankles.
-  +0 votes  + Tim "Skip" Becker › September 6, 2014
A
Really magestic course. Amazing scenery, as well wild life such as deer roaming in the fairways. Also have to throw in the epic fog that comes in through the course makes the beauty breathtaking.. now when it comes to the course play. The new monster layout is ridiculously hard! Very very very hard lines and when you have a good drive you still have some tough shots to follow and not many ace runs If you get off the beaten path, your going to have a bad time. Monster is the name of the new lay ...
continue reading ›
-  -1 votes  + Logan Van Diepen › December 26, 2013
C
Been waiting and waiting to play out here for years. Finally did, and man, what a let down. I'm all for tricky shots, trees, up and down lies. But this course was not fun. It was a drag. And every hole plays almost identical. Long bomb, no pin in sight, guess left or right tucked behind something. I know playing it more than once would help with that, but it get's really old after 6 of the same layouts in a row. Not one signature hole?Was it challenging? Yes. Hard? Yes. Boring. Yes. You can put ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Sean Davis › December 21, 2013
B+
Toughest course I have played. Long and tight with some holes having no clear route to them.
-  +0 votes  + Barron M › December 14, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + ROGUE RIDER › November 19, 2013
A
THIS PARK IS AMAZING! ONE OF MY ALLTIME FAVORITES!! STUMPTOWN IS ALWAYS MAKING IMPROVEMENTS AND JUST MADE SOME NEW PIN POSITIONS 11/16/13!!! PICTURE PERFECT FOR "OREGON" the only thing I might add is bigger T-pads for the bigger holes and trash cans on the course for the lazy pigs that cant "pack-it-out"
-  +0 votes  + Jacob S. › March 30, 2014
A+
Really tough. The course is gorgeous (the pictures are what brought me here!) but its really tough. Long holes coupled with tight hallways means bring your accuracy! Awesome brick tee pads and alternate pins for those playing to objects. The lost disc return box is genius, and they provide a map of the course when you get your parking pass (they sell discs there too). Overall a great experience.

They do need to improve the signage though, especially on the back 9.
-  +0 votes  + ROBO Robert › September 12, 2013
A
don't go it alone ???? robo from coyote classic ojai, ca.
-  +0 votes  + Nick Orr › September 3, 2013
A+
Best park I've ever played. Straight up. Thick woods with room to let em rip. this course is amazing.
-  +0 votes  + Heather Reineccius › August 18, 2013
A+
love the course except that the rotated some of the baskets with the pro tees so it was a little confusing. I also don't like not knowing truly what the par is on the course PDGA app says its all a par 3 there is know way thats possible on some of the holes
-  +0 votes  + Matt Kasey › August 12, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Isaac O › July 24, 2013
B+
Front 9 (especially first 3) have really thick undergrowth. Ferns hide discs really well. Nearly impossible to stay on the fairway as it is only slightly wider than a normal hiking trail. Back 9 opens up a bit though, and has some nice long curved holes. Well marked with nice tee-boxes. Needs maps at each hole BADELY though. Often found myself running ahead before throwing because you can't see the pin, and there is no map on any of the back 9.
-  +0 votes  + Mickey Shau Quaddix › July 22, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + james johnson › July 22, 2013
C+
got stung by a bee 3x
-  -1 votes  + Cameron "wanta bang martha" ficker › April 29, 2013
A
Pretty damn good course. Elevation, trees elevation, trees. Everything you could want. Lots of flick shots.One of my top 3 in oregon. No garbage cans, so pack it out.
-  +0 votes  + Benjamin Christensen › February 27, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Brian Cole › February 14, 2013
B+
Overall great course! Mountain style disc golf is epic. Bring your disc spotting eyes because the ferns off the fairway can easily hide your disc even when you don't expect them to. Front nine is easier and loops so you can play nine and quit back to the parking lot. Pros: Challenging, technical layout, especially the long positions. Great use of elevation, not too repetitive. Good mix of forehand/backhand lines. Solid teepad construction, log steps to prevent erosion, easy to follow lay ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Joe King › April 22, 2013
B
Very difficult course,tough lines,decently easy on finding your disc, but it would be nice if there was a little more open shots instead of following small hiking path.
-  +0 votes  + Nicholas "LUSH" Somppi › February 16, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Adam Renfro › December 4, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + - scottishrob - › November 25, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Brad Hummel › November 11, 2012
B+
Really tough course! You're gonna need a spotter and sometimes you still lose it under the leaves or ferns. Overall I liked it but the trees make it very challenging
-  +0 votes  + Danny "Don't Be Jealous" Brown › November 7, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + Jason Sosnowski › September 9, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + marc b › August 22, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Jeff Williams › August 17, 2012
B
The back 9 holes are rough. No sign markings, no seats
-  +0 votes  + Chris Lundquist › August 2, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Ron DG › July 29, 2012
A
Definitely a solid A for uniqueness and challenge. Definitely a place to work on your short game! Tree lined fairways (paths) insure you'll hit trees with almost every throw. This is a primitive course cut through a forest, you'll probably lose discs. If you don't lose discs, you'll be spending a lot of time off the trail searching through brush. Bring old discs!

Great camping and hiking spot too. Make a weekend of it!
-  +0 votes  + Nick Putz › July 19, 2012
A
-  -1 votes  + michael starnzy starns › May 22, 2012
A
-  -1 votes  + Chris Faudree › May 2, 2012
B-
This course hates my style, couldn't spread my wings
-  +2 votes  + Michael Kochendorfer › May 18, 2014
F
I gave this course a F because of the new pin locations. This is a technical course and was really fun to play but by pushing the pins so far out makes this course not fun at all! Its ridiculous where they are at wont be going back until they are switched!
-  +0 votes  + Andrew Kochendorfer › April 21, 2012
B+
-  +2 votes  + josh pierce › April 18, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + ricky haynes › April 12, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Don Alexander › March 27, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Josh Marcella › January 27, 2012
A+
-  +2 votes  + Vince Epker › January 27, 2012
B+
Be careful there are some down trees etc...Tree down on #5's fairway...Tree down across #8 long pin...Tree fallen across the walkout between #15 and #16.

Very fun course with a nice variety of shots, elevation change is definitely a plus. BUT FOR F@#*'S SAKE PEOPLE DO NOT LEAVE YOUR DAMN BEER CANS ON THE COURSE...PACK IT IN, PACK IT OUT!! GET IT!?!?!?!?
-  +2 votes  + hippie nick › December 24, 2011
A+
HOLYCRAP!!! i love this course. the course is built for my overhead game. hope to get out there more. TOMAHAWK THAT BI*@#!!!!!!!!! be smart stay in the fairway if you take a 4 because you were in the middle of the fair way ooooo well TAKE IT
-  +2 votes  + Alvin Natarte › December 19, 2011
B+
-  +4 votes  + Adin Nelson › December 17, 2011
A
pin locs in short make this a much more managable course( some of the long locs are crazy) technical with elevation shifts and lots of hidden goodies to hit. spotters a plus on a few holes. great baskets that are easy to see... alot of left to right shots for lefties or righty forehands... we had an awsome fog day that made it eerie and easy to loose sight of flight... recommend!
-  +2 votes  + Erin Reichel › October 11, 2011
A+
-  +3 votes  + Bo Hicks › May 20, 2014
B-
-  +1 votes  + Brandon Johnson › September 10, 2011
A
This course is so cool! Had a ton of fun out there can not wait to go back and hit my lines.
-  +1 votes  + Tim "Timmbo" Wenrich › August 14, 2011
A
absoluletly the most technichal course i've played! Can't wait to go back..
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Janes › July 22, 2011
A
favorite course
-  +4 votes  + The Ronin › July 5, 2011
A
"Oh Spotter, where art thou..?" Two things you need to know before you play here: 1. Have a spotter. 2. Plan on the round taking a lot longer than you think it will. This course plays up and down a lot, very narrow, and NEVER straight, fairways. No safe putts really, overthrow and you're searchin the thick stuff. Know your game, if you don't, good luck finding your disc. Tee pads are a little short, but the course is phenomenal! Has to be one of my fave's. Make it a day here, don't just play one round.
-  +7 votes  + Dru "Stylez" › June 28, 2011
A
L.L. Stubb! This Place is Epic to say the Least! It's in my Top 5 Places I've Played so far! Everything here is Great... Yeah it's still under construction and needs a little work, but WOW! Needs better Sign's and if it's your First Time here... You'll need a Spotter for sure. Great Flow and Demension, Very Technical, Your gonna want to Place your Disc where it counts. Hole's #3, #12, #14, #15, and #16 are Par 4's. Oh and with 5 in our Group... it took us 3hrs. and 10 min. to do a Round... LOL!
-  +0 votes  + Jeremiah Zimmerman › June 25, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Shib . › May 29, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Jeremy Beckwith › May 14, 2011
B+
Nice course for lefties. No real cool holes.
-  +0 votes  + Mike"Long Arm" Lowe › May 11, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + flavio f › May 8, 2011
A
tuff but tight course!!!!!!!Loved it
-  +1 votes  + Thomas "T" D. › February 14, 2012
A+
I am updating my Review for "The Stubb". Since last playing it in May, the course has been transformed with so much work and many improvements. My Thanks and Appreciation for any and all groups and individuals that have put in time and effort to the course. FANTASTIC!!! Possibly my new favorite course! Pins in short position make it an enjoyable and still challenging course. Wider path-ways between holes, huge amounts of limbs and wind-fall removed from fair-ways and the wood/gravel stairways are AWESOME!! So much easier to get thru the course for us Ol' Folks.
-  +2 votes  + TOE "Tee Off Even Under Pressure" UP › May 6, 2011
A+
man this place is EPIC front 9 very nice back 9 nice but can be real tough don't forget your bug spray and bring plenty of food and water tee pads are nice its most diffidently in my top #5 for sure can't wait to play it again :)~
-  +3 votes  + Josh Dearing › May 11, 2011
A-
What an amazing, beautiful course. Easily one of my new favorites. Very tight fairways, very tough. Do not stray from the path, or pay the price with every shot that gets smacked down by a jagged tree limb to get back on the fairway. But a great course flow. I would give it an A rating but there is more work to be done on the back 9, many limbs and debris from construction of the course need cleared, more tee signs need put up, and hopefully a few fairways opened up a tad. I really like the Oran ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Jesse Martin › April 23, 2011
A-
Very difficult
-  +2 votes  + Sean Chapman › April 19, 2011
A-
Awesome course!!! It's not about distance drives at this course. It's mostly about placment shots. One of the tougher course's I've played at. 100% wood's, very cool!!! I rated it a A- cause the back nine is still being worked on. The back nine is muddy and alot more brushy and thick cause it is still being finished. As soon as they are done, I will easly rate Stubb Stewert an A+++!!!!
-  -2 votes  + Joshua Westmoreland › March 18, 2011
D
Course still needs opening up a bit. Tee pads and baskets are in great places. But most shots take luck to get there. A disc can only make two or three turns per flight. . .
-  +2 votes  + Josh Petit › February 23, 2011
A
Super technical, super long, awesome baskets and tee pads. Rivals Meadow Ridge in terms of difficulty. Amazing setting. I mean, you are IN IT, son. Check it out!
-  +2 votes  + Dusty adkins › February 10, 2011
A
gnar bar
-  +1 votes  + matt anderson › January 26, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Andy Zinda › January 9, 2011
A-
Still needs a little work but when it's all cleand up it will most likely be my top pick for a course near Portland.
-  +2 votes  + J Man › December 16, 2010
A
Ah, another course where the ability to play the terrain is more important that distance. Bring your control game and get ready to take on one well conceived and installed collection on holes.
-  +2 votes  + Nate Hillenkamp › April 17, 2011
A
This course is incredibly challenging. Many blind holes; recommend spotter on most.
The terrain is beautiful and 100% deep woods. The tee pads are super nice and the DisCatcher baskets are great. This is one of the best designed courses I have played with great elevation changes and crazy left and right doglegs.
-  +3 votes  + Emma Rose Hanley › November 16, 2010
A
this course plays super tricky... bring you smart game... easily one of the most beautiful courses i've ever played... sword ferns, majestic pines, fog magic... ooooh-la-la...
-  +1 votes  + Dan Brown › November 28, 2011
A