Knollwood Park

Kalamazoo, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +1 votes  + Matt "Shmo" Michaels › January 14, 2011
B-
-  +1 votes  + Brian Vanderwell › September 25, 2010
C
Good use of space on this small beginner course. Urban feel conveniently located near Western Michigan University.Missing chain links from baskets, Only one concrete tee on hole one are negatives and after it rains there are very few tee's that are not flooded. Pro's tend to like it for the ace run possibilities on almost every hole.
-  +1 votes  + Steve Hedstrom › August 15, 2011
C
Short course and has been cleaned up a lot over the last two years. Ace and Birdie runs on all holes. Swampy water on two holes that you do not want to throw into. Good place to practice some upshots in light woods and putting with trees.
-  +1 votes  + Robert Radtke › October 3, 2010
B-
-  -1 votes  + Josh Ryder › October 5, 2010
C
-  -1 votes  + Wade TF › October 11, 2010
C
-  +1 votes  + VINCENT 25149 › October 20, 2010
B-
-  +1 votes  + Jeremy Wright › October 28, 2010
B
-  +1 votes  + Andy SmithFactory › October 31, 2010
C
Not a bad course just needs a lot of love and attention. Would get a better rating if it had better pads or cement ones. Not as much trash as I remember (could be covered in leaves) but not to bad. Really short, great for beginners or if you need to kill a hour or less.
-  +1 votes  + Steve Widzinski › November 21, 2010
B-
-  +1 votes  + Nick Crow › November 22, 2010
B-
-  -1 votes  + Ryan Fern › April 4, 2011
D
good to learn on that is it
-  +1 votes  + Mulligan McGee › April 6, 2011
B-
This is a good course for training new disc golfers. There always seems to be good players and dealers hanging around so you can pick their brains on discs and technique.
-  +1 votes  + Nate Myszak › April 14, 2011
C
-  +1 votes  + Brian Hunt › May 10, 2011
C+
Knollwood is a cool little course. They made some interesting holes out of the land they had to work with. College folk love to get D. Runk here.
-  -1 votes  + Amy Paff › August 8, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Jimmy Jean › May 27, 2012
D+
Trashed course. Needs a lot of cleaning up!
-  +0 votes  + Greg Shankle › August 23, 2011
B-
-  +0 votes  + Andy Engilsh › September 26, 2011
D+
-  +1 votes  + Andrew Nazarians › October 5, 2011
B
love the course, just needs tee pads on all tees. and if only people actually know how to use a trash can...
-  +0 votes  + David Dietz › November 5, 2011
B-
-  -1 votes  + brian phillips › January 8, 2012
D
No tee pads, and a lot of trash from the college children, also baskets are set up at weird different heights ... Baskets are innova pro, not the greatest
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Fulkerson › April 2, 2012
C
-  +0 votes  + chris Rumage › April 2, 2012
C+
-  -1 votes  + Chris Smith › April 3, 2012
D-
This is what happens when you mix a disc golf course with a crack house. I played in a "tournament" here on 4/1 and there were piles of trash and broken glass everywhere. There is no pride in this course, just an old mattress, used tires, and a couple of holes that incorporate a very deep cesspool as a "water hazard". Moving past the filth, the baskets are all at least a foot too high and have a really strange chain configuration, there is only one concrete tee pad, and leave your drivers a ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Justin Schultz › May 7, 2012
C
-  +0 votes  + jesse sugden › May 7, 2012
B+
-  -1 votes  + Christopher Jones › December 1, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Nathan Stover › June 4, 2012
D
-  +0 votes  + Robert Davis › June 10, 2012
C
Course isn't very well laid out. Too short of holes, swamp/water everywhere, trash everywhere, and holes cross over other tee pads. I had to dodged like 3 incoming discs.
-  -1 votes  + Bryan Jones › July 11, 2013
C
-  +0 votes  + Jesse Fraim › August 3, 2012
C
-  +1 votes  + Chadwick Vandergalien › August 13, 2012
B
First time playing course. Nice layout some tricky shots, little easy and watch out for broken glass.
-  -1 votes  + Corey Nufer › August 26, 2012
A-
I find it interesting that some people giving reviews claim there is a lack of pride in the course, we have been running clean up events here for four years, it gets a little difficult to maintain when the city of Kalamazoo does not bother to empty its own garbage cans. The fact is that this is a great course for beginners, yes, it lacks distance, but no, none of the holes "overlap" each other and there are plenty of chances for learning the more technical side of shooting. Tournaments are run w ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Angel Gilbert › August 27, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Buckhout › August 28, 2012
A-
My favorite home town course ... Small short holes but loads of fun, watch out for the dreaded water holes ...
-  +0 votes  + Matt Johns › September 5, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Nathan T › September 13, 2012
D-
Trash every were, unmarked holes, no map, broken basket chains, no course direction indication markers.
-  +0 votes  + Rob Draves › October 3, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Adam McDaniel › October 6, 2012
C-
-  +0 votes  + Chris Craft › October 8, 2012
C
-  +0 votes  + Adam Veenkant › October 9, 2012
B-
Good course to start your Fundamentals on. For Ams, just bring your putter and or mid-range!!!
-  +0 votes  + Dean Cugs › February 14, 2013
B
Just a great time. Personal best for Knollwood, on first outing this year.
Pro Destroyer Star Wedge all day
Ready for Worst Shot on the 30th
-  +0 votes  + Gerad carrillo Juice Fro › October 24, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + G Woody › November 3, 2012
B+
This is my favorite course ever. I lived just down the street so I played at least 36 holes a day when I was at WMU. Its more challenging than it looks and levels the field for people who cant throw a mile on thier drive. I learned to putt and weave trees at this course and its made my short game much better. The only reason I give a b+ is because of the tee boxes (or lack of), the mud in the spring, and the numerous discs the water holes have eaten up on me. I miss playing there now that I no longer live in Kzoo.
-  +0 votes  + Chris D › November 6, 2012
D-
-  +0 votes  + Brandon"RedRum" Redmond › December 30, 2012
C+
Not necessarily a bad course, but does need improvement and some TLC. Good use of space provided, with all holes being short but technical through tree lines. Lack of signs and posts really can hinder a round, especially in the winter as I played it. Lots of downed trees that could be moved out of the way. Good course to work on short game and angles. In the summer, this is definitely a putter and midrange course, if not just a putter course. Baskets are oin good shape, just older outdated models and mounted much higher than regulation height.
-  +0 votes  + Adam Veenkant › January 14, 2013
A
Little Mud, Little Wind, Amazing day being 54 degrees In January!!!
-  +0 votes  + Joe Rutkowski › April 1, 2013
D
Trash everywhere, dirty, no tee pads
-  +0 votes  + Jason Adams › April 23, 2013
D
Not a big fan of this course. Not very well kept in my opinion. The holes (and routes) aren't very well defined.
-  +0 votes  + Erik Pierson › April 29, 2013
B
-  -1 votes  + Samuel Bernardy › May 15, 2013
C
Played here hundreds of times. Not the cleanest or well kept park, but we do our best. Needs some new tee boxes and signage.
-  +0 votes  + Josh Pena › June 12, 2013
C
Used to play here a lot for quick games, the course has been cleaned up a lot. There are still lots of college age kids that come to smoke weed kick them out and it would be a nice beginner friendly course almost every hole is a simple and takes a shot or two to be under the basket. There are a lot of trees down but that's not Kalamazoo's first priority to handle. The baskets are older but still in good condition. Mid range a regular driver and a putter are all you need if that. If you are looking for a short round knoll wood is a little faster than airzoo
-  +0 votes  + Alan Moll › August 30, 2013
D
-  +0 votes  + Eric Grinwis › June 30, 2013
C
-  +0 votes  + Steven Stafford › April 7, 2014
B-
Needs more grooming, all concrete tee pads, and new baskets
-  +0 votes  + Joey Springer › July 23, 2013
C
Course is alright, pretty short. Lots of down trees now.
-  +0 votes  + Landon Satterfield › August 18, 2013
D
Lol
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Goofy Mitchell › August 21, 2013
B+
Nice park when I was first learning Disc in 07 not sure now..Nice up and down course easy to play and follow.
-  +0 votes  + Thomas Jorgensen › October 1, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Zoltan Kocsondy › October 9, 2013
C-
-  +0 votes  + Tom Bos › October 10, 2013
C-
It's not a terrible short course to play if you don't have long... but with all the college students it gets busy, crowded & slow. Not a lot of good parking and you have a chance at hitting a car on about 6 holes or so. There could be better marking for next tees as well.
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Jouppi › April 7, 2014
C+
Ah, Knollwood. What can I say that hasn't already been said? This place used to be a lot worse than it is today, and that's probably due to the effort of a couple of locals that have really taken up ownership of course. A lot of casual players and bros come here. It's the first course a lot of people ever play. It's proximity to the WMU campus brings with it all sorts of issues, good and bad. Honestly the oak trees here are pretty attractive; the course is best played in mid-to-late summer. ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Brennan W › April 15, 2014
B+