Johnson Park

Wyoming, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + Randy Shreve › September 27, 2010
C+
-  -4 votes  + Tyler Sherman › October 17, 2010
B+
-  -1 votes  + dan carrigan › October 18, 2010
A
-  +0 votes  + Brad Fuller › May 5, 2011
B
Love johnson.
-  -1 votes  + Anthony Mentalewicz › May 11, 2011
B+
baskets get this course an A
-  +2 votes  + Scott Johnson › September 21, 2011
B-
I just re-visited this course for the first time since 2005 the other day. Man, this course has HUGE potential. Throw in some baskets and tee pads and maybe do a few tweeks, then we have one of the best courses around! Lots of hills too, Wear pants and/or long socks with shorts.
-  +1 votes  + Steve Hedstrom › October 2, 2011
B-
Johnson park is mainly a pole hole course now, after baskets were stolen years ago. The land is great and the design uses it to it to make some really fun holes. Tee pads are now mostly natural with some just totally sand and hard to run up to. Fairways mostly look like they are mowed once a month or less. Have some water and bug spray with when playing in spring or summer. There are some awesome hills at Johnson, so you get to shoot big downhill bombs, down and up, big uphill shots, trees ...
continue reading ›
-  -2 votes  + Roger K › June 30, 2012
D-
Old style (post) no baskets. Need to be part Ibex to play here. Played in spring before grass, insects and poison Ivy started. Would not play in warm weather. Will not be back.
-  +1 votes  + Nate Smith › July 11, 2012
C
My son and I wanted to play a new course so we ventured to Johnson. Lots of potential with huge hills and a lot of land to use. We got lost a couple of times since all the signs are faded or broken. We were very surprised by all the great terrain and will play it again when things are updated a bit. My son thinks it is the best pole hole course he has ever played.
-  -1 votes  + Alex Stanton › September 8, 2012
C-
Hated this course. It really has so much potential! The "fairways" are knee high weeds, and its very easy to loose a disc. I left with cuts all over my legs and most likely poison ivy. I do not plan on coming back.
-  -1 votes  + Chris D › November 6, 2012
F+
First course I ever played. Baskets were stolen a decade ago. Used to be a fun little beginner course. A proposal for a new 36 hole course was shot down.
-  +1 votes  + Victor Wahl › April 23, 2013
A
Add baskets and pads and this is the best course in GR.

Ive only played here once and we had 18 baskets put in longer alt spots then the originals. Awesome course! A lot of ankle high thorn bushes though. I give it a A based on the way it was when i played it.
-  +0 votes  + Adam Wurm › April 26, 2013
C
Needs pads and baskets, would be a fun course.
-  +0 votes  + Alan Moll › June 1, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + David Lancaster › June 14, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Travis Lepsch › October 29, 2013
A-
This is my favorite course around GR. If it had baskets and pads, I'm sure it would soon become a favorite of many more people. Great quiet and open space.
-  +0 votes  + Nick Bosovich › December 27, 2013
B
Went out with a group on league day and set up baskets. Played a slightly different course that the post layout but course property and landscape is great. Wish baskets and pads were in because it really could b a great course Grand Rapids desperately needs.
-  +0 votes  + Nathan Nifong › March 24, 2014
A-
This course was the first one I played back in 1999(I was 8 years old). Last fall Tyler Frisbie and I hit up the course. It was a blast from the past. The constant elevation change makes for a challenging course. It felt really old school hitting the posts. This would be an +A course if it had baskets and better tees.
-  +0 votes  + Eric Smith › June 27, 2014
C
-  +0 votes  + Durk A. Gordon › July 16, 2014
A-
needs baskets and t pads and this is thee best course around. I kinda dont even mind not having baskets or teepads this place is still awesome
-  +0 votes  + C silas › September 20, 2014
B