Independence Lake County Park

Whitmore Lake, Michigan     2 courses · 42 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + Dan BrockChuck D. Memorial Course › October 18, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Raymond BlainChuck D. Memorial Course › September 30, 2014
A+
Right in the heart of Michigan's Disc Golf Mecca, the most beautifully manicured course I. Have. Ever. Seen! Cement Pro/Intermediate tees w/Recreational markers, partially Orange baskets, abundance of chill spots & within an ear shot of a Beer/Disc Golf store is a very BIG plus. Course layout makes for a challenging mix of technical and distance shots. I bet your girl's front lawn don't look as good as the fairways here boy!
-  +0 votes  + Joe McConnaughhayChuck D. Memorial Course › September 29, 2014
A
My favorite course so far. very well maintained. Holes were clearly marked. Seen lots of wild life.
-  +0 votes  + Jake andrewsChuck D. Memorial Course › October 18, 2014
A-
The course was very well kept, grass was mowed and baskets seemed to be freshly painted. There were a few signs here and there pointing to where the next tee box was. Over all an above average course! Great mix of tight woods shots and open field holes. great course.
-  +0 votes  + Kevin BoyntonChuck D. Memorial Course › October 5, 2014
A
Fantastic course! Number 1 is a punch in the mouth greeting, and after that, it settles down somewhat. I love the upkeep on the course, and the baskets are perfect. Just a nice course all the way around. Couple of bitches, however. The tee pads could be a bit longer, and when my son and I got there, they had no scorecards at the front gate. If a disc course or county park is going to charge admission, then you'd damn well better have scorecards. It would have helped a bunch to navigate th ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Halfie GilmoreChuck D. Memorial Course › September 20, 2014
A
-  -1 votes  + Terry TaggartPicnic Course › September 16, 2014
C
-  -1 votes  + Terry TaggartChuck D. Memorial Course › September 16, 2014
B-
-  +0 votes  + John PerryPicnic Course › September 16, 2014
C+
when it exsisted it was a nice course with water in play a good amount. no markings so you had to know the course to be able to play it.
-  +0 votes  + John PerryChuck D. Memorial Course › September 16, 2014
B+
nice enough course being maintained well by the park. expensive to get into if you are not a washtenaw county resident. well marked clean, baskets.
-  +0 votes  + Carl HallChuck D. Memorial Course › October 11, 2014
B+
I love this course. Never crowded, challenging but very playable. Watch out for water hazards and poison ivy. BRING BUG SPRAY.
-  +0 votes  + Todd GerlachChuck D. Memorial Course › August 29, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Nick OliverPicnic Course › August 25, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Nick OliverChuck D. Memorial Course › August 25, 2014
A-
One of the best courses around. Co-designed by one of my good friends, Scott White, who also helped out at Belle Isle. The flow, shot variety, isolation from pretty much everything, overall course condition, and number of holes are all strong suites. The lot is ample and most days are free from clusters. Weekends can get a bit busy, but the course plays well and there are few bottle neck spots. Practice basket is well placed and allows for all kinds of warm up shots. From hole 1, which will ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Jake FChuck D. Memorial Course › June 3, 2014
A-
This is a medium - long length course with a good variety of open and wooded holes. The alphabet holes add a lot to the course so I would recommend hitting those if you have time. There is a fee / car as well as a water park if you're into that.
-  +0 votes  + steve sevontyChuck D. Memorial Course › May 9, 2014
A-
Great clean course very nice views
-  +0 votes  + michael franklinChuck D. Memorial Course › May 9, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Rick GzeshChuck D. Memorial Course › May 7, 2014
B+
Very fun course that is well kept and easy to follow. I like the extra loop of 6 holes that combines with the regular course to make a nice 24 hole course. Nice mix of shots and distance. I played the whites for my first time here, but the Blacks looked like fun too.
-  +0 votes  + Calvin J CresseyChuck D. Memorial Course › April 8, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Daryl "D_rail" BalliosChuck D. Memorial Course › September 9, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Kendo K.Chuck D. Memorial Course › September 1, 2013
A-
One of my favorite courses. Always very well maintained and rarely super crowded. Doesn't seem to be as many litterbugs here as other courses but that could also be the park workers doing a good job. The rough is pretty nasty and full of thorns, burs, and poison ivy so accurate drives are crucial. Good variety of shots. The extras were an excellent addition to an already great course.
-  +0 votes  + Jason hyzer bomb CuppChuck D. Memorial Course › August 31, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Chris BookerChuck D. Memorial Course › August 26, 2013
A
Great Course..
-  +1 votes  + Josh BickelChuck D. Memorial Course › August 20, 2013
A+
Can't say anything about the long tees due to not playing them. But the short tees are phenomenal. Awesome hole designs and holes A through F are incredible. Pretty cool that each tee sign offers a broom for the tee pads to be swept. No complaints with this course.
-  +0 votes  + Timmy RedmanChuck D. Memorial Course › August 18, 2013
A
Well rounded course with some tight wooded holes. Well maintained, teepads, signs, benches. Great course to test all your throws.
-  +0 votes  + Matthew RobertsChuck D. Memorial Course › August 5, 2013
A
This is a great course and I think it's #1 in our area. Majority of the holes really let you rip it but there are a handful of technical holes as well. There's also some good elevation throughout the course with a pond that comes in to play on two holes. The course is very clean and the grass is always cut. Truly a great course
-  +0 votes  + Anthony RumpsPicnic Course › August 4, 2013
A-
well laid out course. verry challenging black tees
-  +0 votes  + Anthony RumpsChuck D. Memorial Course › August 4, 2013
A-
well laid out course. verry challenging black tees
-  +0 votes  + Steve DelahayeChuck D. Memorial Course › August 3, 2013
A-
pretty sweet, the pins are really awesome! being orange they are super easy to find.
**** yea
-  +0 votes  + Jay-R DiscGolfChuck D. Memorial Course › August 2, 2013
A-
It's what you want and more an amazing layout long holes. Would test anyone you need a big arm. Well balanced just wish all the holes were in and my only real complained is the 3rd extra is just stupid there is NO line, I get hard but this hole isn't just hard it's Tarzan city.
-  +0 votes  + Danger Dave diggersChuck D. Memorial Course › July 31, 2013
A-
Great design great course last time I played it extras wee open but the main course was missing holes otherwise it could have been an A my only complaint a lot of holes felt like deja vu shots different terrain but same but shot hole 1 is my favorite all and all its a cant miss course.
-  +1 votes  + Jeremy FoorChuck D. Memorial Course › June 5, 2014
A-
Independance Lake is a GREAT park to come to! The DGC can play very challenging but also offers a much simpler option for those less skills players. You have access to an awesome beach and now new this year a Splash Water park equipped with fairly good sized water slides. Fun for the whole family, invite friends make a day of it. Now as for the course review; Likes; Three Tee options from ranging from Pro to Novice. Good Signage, Nice tee pads for all 24 holes, however the Red (NOV) are di ...
continue reading ›
-  -1 votes  + Alex "Mr Glass" IsotaloChuck D. Memorial Course › June 27, 2013
A-
I like the new 24 hole layout, but 13-16 don't meet the heightened expectations.
-  +0 votes  + Adam KriesbergChuck D. Memorial Course › June 23, 2013
A
Great day on the course, even in the heat. Didn't get to play A-F but loved the 18 loop. Rough is rough but respect the fairways and you won't get burned too badly.
-  +0 votes  + Gary FraderChuck D. Memorial Course › June 22, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Brian CrouchChuck D. Memorial Course › June 20, 2013
A-
great day as usually only complaint is that the long grass is to thick in places and we lost a couple discs. Other than that it was perfect all day
-  +0 votes  + Rob DeHaanChuck D. Memorial Course › June 16, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Nick SchuettePicnic Course › June 13, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Matt WeilerChuck D. Memorial Course › June 12, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Josh RominePicnic Course › June 4, 2013
A
I only wish this course could be permanent.
-  +0 votes  + Josh RomineChuck D. Memorial Course › May 24, 2014
A
I'm a little biased here but my 2 negatives about the course could be addressed by changing where the course starts. I feel that hole #1 is a much too difficult start and hole #18 is often anti-climatic. Would love to see hole #9 become #1 and hole # 8 become #18. I feel that this course tests every shot and offers plenty of risk reward opportunity.
-  +0 votes  + Andrew LuponeChuck D. Memorial Course › June 4, 2013
B
-  +1 votes  + Todd DarlingChuck D. Memorial Course › May 27, 2013
A-
Where do I start? Great bright orange baskets, tight fairways that require you to really plan your shots or you'll get into trouble quick, Great tee pads and TEE PAD BROOMS AT EVERY HOLE!!!! Great use of the landscape makes for some challenging holes. Tee signs give great info and let you know if you should send a spotter ahead, they also have a small shelf for marking your score cards. Cons Was a little wet in spots (mushy ground) There are a few holes that are still under construction, bu ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Josh "BIG BIRD" FrisingerChuck D. Memorial Course › May 4, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Brad BellingerChuck D. Memorial Course › April 24, 2013
A
Wish they'd open up the rest of the course.
-  +0 votes  + ryan dChuck D. Memorial Course › April 14, 2013
A
this was a pretty damn nice course, played for the first time on 4/14...they had a couple holes closed off... but other than that GREAT setup, nice tee pads nice uole markers too, nice picnic benches on nearly every hole... def A
-  +0 votes  + Nick SPicnic Course › February 25, 2013
A
This course is great. tons of options and some very challenging holes. The course is very well taken care of and its one of my favorites in the state.
-  +0 votes  + Joe SChuck D. Memorial Course › February 10, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Nancy LeatChuck D. Memorial Course › December 14, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Andy EngilshChuck D. Memorial Course › November 7, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Brett RobbinsChuck D. Memorial Course › October 4, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Paul TribbleChuck D. Memorial Course › September 16, 2012
A-
Pretty challenging course.. played from the longs...definitely a course to learn placement shots..unless you can accurately place 450+ ft drives...only big flaw was the large amounts of poison ivy on the course.. especially on the alternates...but it was my first time playing so maybe It was just a bad time for ivy...eitherway super challenging and fun.
-  -2 votes  + Kyle WilkinsonChuck D. Memorial Course › September 14, 2012
C+
I had fun playing but a lot of the grass is really high so it is VERY hard to find your disc. There were a lot of bugs and the path was nice but outside of it was messy. And the construction closed some of the holes.
-  +0 votes  + Joshua M BarnettChuck D. Memorial Course › September 3, 2012
A
Great signage, great variety, extremely easy to navigate. Difficult but fair. White tee pads are too short is my only complaint. Great course.
-  -1 votes  + Becky GilbertChuck D. Memorial Course › September 3, 2012
B+
the fairways were nicely mowed, picnic table at every hole, nice chip an log walkway, nice replacement for the palletts!! Nice to see the orange baskets in use. The new holes had a cluster in a spot where teeing you have the potential to hit 2 other teepads. Like the basket up on the hill with roll down potential!
-  +0 votes  + Sean BlazoPicnic Course › August 6, 2012
A
Amazing course played it about 15 to 20 times now and I leave impressed every time. Variety, challenge, options, these courses have it all!!
-  +0 votes  + Sean BlazoChuck D. Memorial Course › August 6, 2012
A+
Amazing course played it about 15 to 20 times now and I leave impressed every time. Variety, challenge, options, these courses have it all!!
-  +0 votes  + Luke LangkampChuck D. Memorial Course › July 23, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jose Bobillo IIIChuck D. Memorial Course › July 8, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Chris EvansChuck D. Memorial Course › July 14, 2012
A-
Awesome course, the 6 new holes are a blast to play, some having a forrest of defense, baskets up on hills, and water to avoid. Can't wait until it's finished!
-  +0 votes  + Scott SmithChuck D. Memorial Course › March 29, 2013
A-
course is really nice right now even with the construction going on. love how there is no graffiti on the signs with brooms that lock on the backside of the signs.
-  +0 votes  + Benny G.Chuck D. Memorial Course › June 23, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Keegan RasmussenChuck D. Memorial Course › June 23, 2012
A-
-  +2 votes  + Paul DISC-OR-DIE HolsteinChuck D. Memorial Course › June 19, 2012
A
Just played LOCO X7 and absolutely loved this course. We played the 20 hole format with A - F in play (brand new with crushed rock tee pads), and it played like a champion course. The highlight to me were the DGA Mach III baskets with the orange powder coating (won at Worlds by Peter Kunoff). But the course was also amazing with lots of wooded holes with trees everywhere, as well as open holes. We saw plenty of wildlife, and it looked like water would come into play more at different times ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Jonathan KirkChuck D. Memorial Course › June 13, 2012
A+
New holes are AMAZING!
-  +1 votes  + Daniel J LeeChuck D. Memorial Course › June 10, 2012
A+
I could make a really long review of why it makes an A+ but I'm just too lazy. It just is. One of the best. Long tees are elite. Rough is rough. New holes are sweet.
-  +1 votes  + Dave ZPicnic Course › May 27, 2012
A+
-  +1 votes  + Dave ZChuck D. Memorial Course › May 27, 2012
A+
-  -6 votes  + Angel GilbertPicnic Course › May 26, 2012
C
for little bit of it i did play it was not to bad. the holes a long the water in the winter were pretty cool and watching someone walk on the ice to get a disc and not fall through was epic.
-  -6 votes  + Angel GilbertChuck D. Memorial Course › May 26, 2012
C
narrow fairways and a lot of thorns as well as bees. needs trash cans so ppl stop littering
-  +1 votes  + jason kosenkoChuck D. Memorial Course › May 20, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Sean WebbChuck D. Memorial Course › May 19, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Jeff McGuireChuck D. Memorial Course › March 18, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Jon LonderChuck D. Memorial Course › January 28, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Scott KennedyChuck D. Memorial Course › December 27, 2011
A
very clean and well groomed
-  +1 votes  + ken "sega salt" mootePicnic Course › December 8, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + chris robinsonChuck D. Memorial Course › November 16, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Jason RocksPicnic Course › November 7, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + stephen mastenPicnic Course › November 5, 2011
B
take some discs that can get scuffed up.
-  +1 votes  + Mike StratfordPicnic Course › October 12, 2011
A+
Love the set up, picture perfect view on a nice fall day makes this course stand out
-  +0 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf-Picnic Course › October 7, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf-Chuck D. Memorial Course › October 7, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + John C. WordenChuck D. Memorial Course › September 3, 2011
A-
Great course. Beautiful layout.
-  +1 votes  + Holden WeberChuck D. Memorial Course › August 14, 2011
A+
-  +2 votes  + Dave LassenChuck D. Memorial Course › August 13, 2011
A-
Great round with Jesse and Jason,Harvey joined us on hole 16.Had a blast.Skeeters were bad!
-  +2 votes  + Terry ArnoldChuck D. Memorial Course › July 29, 2011
B+
This was my first time out on This course. its a nice place and a great disc golf course. at this course they have a variety of holes. some were wide open, some had blind drives b/c of hills, some holes like hole one was kinda hard unless you have a great drive or get lucky b/c of lots of little trees about 3 or 4 inches thick all speard through the left side of the hole. on one hole the basket was set up on a plattue which would make a great dirt bike jump and made for a new style of disc golf ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Adam MitchellChuck D. Memorial Course › July 1, 2012
A-
One of my favorites has gotten some great new holes.
-  +0 votes  + Eugene MalloyChuck D. Memorial Course › May 8, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Joe MonteithChuck D. Memorial Course › April 11, 2011
A
-  +2 votes  + Jerry "Chilly" ChilsonChuck D. Memorial Course › April 10, 2011
A-
-  +2 votes  + Tony MaccarinoPicnic Course › April 2, 2011
A
very beautiful course, challenging pin placements mixed with distance. plays around the lake providing challenging winds at times. Temp course, so no perm teepads, but the dirt pads are mostly level and mud free 90% of time.
-  +2 votes  + Tony MaccarinoChuck D. Memorial Course › April 2, 2011
A
In my opinion, the best course in the area. Long distance mixed with tight short/long holes through woods, and longer open holes, challenging pin placements, brand new tee signs and pads. If you have never played..get out there and check it out. Park fees when in effect are quite expensive due to being a county park!
-  +1 votes  + Patrick FranzChuck D. Memorial Course › March 19, 2011
A-
-  -1 votes  + Wade TFPicnic Course › March 15, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Marty MetheringhamPicnic Course › January 20, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + Joel CoppernollPicnic Course › January 20, 2011
A
Sick. Tough.
-  -1 votes  + Joel CoppernollChuck D. Memorial Course › January 11, 2011
A-
All around, a pretty bomb course. Sweet layout, sweet holes. Parking cost way to much.
-  -1 votes  + Anthony TorresPicnic Course › December 24, 2010
B+
-  +0 votes  + Joe 'Dirt' LaPernaChuck D. Memorial Course › December 7, 2010
B+
-  +1 votes  + Brad BrundagePicnic Course › November 26, 2010
A
I love this course. Plays perfectly into my game!!
-  +1 votes  + Brad BrundageChuck D. Memorial Course › November 26, 2010
A
Tough course, but fun and fair.
-  +2 votes  + Trevor "Doppler" DixonChuck D. Memorial Course › November 22, 2010
A
Great Location Dual Concrete tee pads on every hole and option red tees for beginners, from the Blacks its 6606ft total a big arms dream, White tees a cool 5055ft for those of us who are still mortals. mostly open rolling terrain with elevation changes great use of trees where available. $8.00 non-resident park entry fee is the only reason its not an A+
-  +1 votes  + travis kleierPicnic Course › November 20, 2010
A+
-  +4 votes  + Nathanael "Nasty" ScottPicnic Course › November 15, 2010
A
-  +1 votes  + John DavisChuck D. Memorial Course › November 14, 2011
A+
-  +2 votes  + Jason RocksChuck D. Memorial Course › November 7, 2011
A
simply one of the best courses ive ever played... very difficult but fun!!!
-  +1 votes  + EJ VasicekChuck D. Memorial Course › November 5, 2010
A-
First time playing there,, great course with nice options for tee's / length, A couple of holes were recently changed so was a little confused and think those need a bit of tweeking otherwise an A.. One of the nicest courses in the area, for sure.
-  -1 votes  + Wade TFChuck D. Memorial Course › November 1, 2010
A+
Great course. Groomed very well. Some tough holes in there. Long tees are nothing short of quintessential long tee placements. Discraft Chainstars. Definitely coming back to this one.
-  +0 votes  + Mike "Papa Par" EvenChuck D. Memorial Course › June 19, 2012
A+
This is hands down one of the best, premier courses in Michigan. There have been some recent changes/additions to the course and I felt the review could use some dusting off.....The Local 101 not only has designed a phenomenal course, and the park services do a insane job of maintaining this course. It doesn't matter which Tee you choose to play from, you are being handed a phenomenal course. As of right now Holes 13-16 are closed due to construction (all 24 holes re-open this November), but i ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Jeff LozowskyChuck D. Memorial Course › October 23, 2010
A-
-  +4 votes  + Mike SiudaChuck D. Memorial Course › September 16, 2012
B+
A very well thought out design. Challenging in all aspects of the game. Just make sure you stretch the arm between the car and hole #1 which is a very welcoming 500 footer through an alley of hardwoods and if you're a righty you had better bring your anhyzer or sidearm game.........Nice!

I would rate it higher but a lot of the holes have the same feel...a high 300 ft to high 400 ft hole with a slow left to right fade.
-  +2 votes  + Andy BawolPicnic Course › October 20, 2010
A-
The Picnic course is one of the best in Southeast Michigan. The course itself is fairly wide open with some trees coming into play on holes 2, 4, 5, 7, and 18. The real challenge of this course, and what makes it great, is the setting and how it plays in with the course. There is OB on nearly every hole. Be it roads, pavilions, or water, the Ob on this course is challenging. Many holes offer chances at birdies but only shot that have superb placement will net you said birdies. The true signature ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + stephen mastenChuck D. Memorial Course › October 19, 2010
A
-  +2 votes  + MEET BABY MAISYPicnic Course › October 18, 2010
A-
-  +1 votes  + MEET BABY MAISYChuck D. Memorial Course › October 18, 2010
A-
-  +0 votes  + Curt McGillChuck D. Memorial Course › October 16, 2010
B+
-  +1 votes  + Dave MilewskiChuck D. Memorial Course › October 24, 2010
A
-  +1 votes  + Matt "The Spider" SwiderPicnic Course › October 15, 2010
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jeff KalukChuck D. Memorial Course › October 13, 2010
A
-  +2 votes  + Nathanael "Nasty" ScottChuck D. Memorial Course › October 13, 2010
A
-  -2 votes  + Matt "The Spider" SwiderChuck D. Memorial Course › August 4, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy GibbsChuck D. Memorial Course › October 11, 2010
A-
-  +7 votes  + K TChuck D. Memorial Course › October 9, 2010
A
Going into my top 5 in Michigan. Finally got cement pads. Probably the best course in the Ann Arbor area.
-  +3 votes  + Jim DanielsChuck D. Memorial Course › October 8, 2010
A
This course is now complete with the addition of cement tees. Longs & Mids are both a lot of fun to play, a good mix of open and woods holes. It has a wide variety of shots, if anything, I would ask for a couple more tunnel-type shots for a complete balance. I did not play the short tees yet but they look very technical, I'm looking forward to playing them. A great addition to SE MI golf where we are so fortunate to have so many fine courses.
-  +10 votes  + peter kunoffPicnic Course › October 6, 2010
A
This course will always hold a special place in my heart. I was the lucky winner of DGA 's 2008 worlds basket raffle. The picnic course provided the ideal remote beautiful setting for 18 sunburst orange Mach III baskets. Thanks to the hard work of Local 101 and Washtenaw parks and recreation my dream was realized of a new course close to home for all to enjoy. Several lakeside pin placements provide risk v reward shots as well as spectacular photo ops. the seasonality of the course usually ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + peter kunoffChuck D. Memorial Course › July 29, 2013
A
-  -4 votes  + Corey KieftPicnic Course › September 30, 2010
A
-  -5 votes  + Corey KieftChuck D. Memorial Course › October 18, 2010
A
-  -2 votes  + Andrew KalukPicnic Course › October 16, 2010
A+
-  -3 votes  + Andrew KalukChuck D. Memorial Course › October 16, 2010
A+
-  +1 votes  + Ben CiccarelliPicnic Course › February 21, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + Ben CiccarelliChuck D. Memorial Course › February 21, 2011
A-
-  +8 votes  + mark ellisPicnic Course › September 9, 2010
A
A world class course. The only reservation I have is the safety issue. In weather which is unseasonably good picnicers come out who know nothing about disc golf and become accidents waiting to happen (especially the kiddy playgrounds which are in or adjacent to the fairways). Ok, maybe the tee pads could be better but you really don't expect cement tee pads for a temp course. Depending on how OB lines are set the course can be modified substantially because there are lots of walking paths ...
continue reading ›
-  +5 votes  + mark ellisChuck D. Memorial Course › September 9, 2010
A
Also a world class course with superb design and challenges. Rumor is that cement tee pads are coming soon which will fix the biggest flaw of the course.

The course is still new enough that it is underplayed most times: a big bonus.
-  +2 votes  + Scott WhitePicnic Course › September 9, 2010
A-
I'm giving the picnic course and A- under the following assumptions: -You know where you are going, you have played the course before. -The footing on the natural teepads is OK (ie. it's not raining or muddy or icy or snowy). -You are playing the course when the baskets are in the ground. If these conditions are met I can't think of any other place I would rather be discin. Unfortunately to meet these conditions you have a very small time window - I'm talking a few weeks in October and ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Scott WhiteChuck D. Memorial Course › January 11, 2011
A
Disclaimer: As one of the co-designers here, my opinion is heavily biased. I should probably not be allowed to even rate this course. But I will... muahahaha Now that the course is complete with concrete teepads I think it stacks up favorably to any other course in the state, which puts it in the running with any other course in the country. It is secluded in a very natural setting with an abundance of wildlife. This course takes up a big space for 18 holes, I think it has about 30+ acres ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Daemon StahlinPicnic Course › October 11, 2010
B+
-  +0 votes  + Daemon StahlinChuck D. Memorial Course › October 12, 2010
A-
-  +1 votes  + Mike FortunatoPicnic Course › September 9, 2010
B+
The only down side to this course is it's temporary availability and mixed tee pads. This course will test your game with challenging pin placements and extreme wind on frequent occasion. When this course is in the ground, Independence Lake is one of few premiere disc golf destinations in SE MI.
-  -1 votes  + Mike FortunatoChuck D. Memorial Course › December 9, 2010
A
Once this course breaks in over the next few years, it will be a must play for any SE MI bound disc golfer. The good variety in shots, tee pads, and pin placements, along with the beautiful and serene setting make this course a gem.
-  +2 votes  + Pete CristPicnic Course › September 7, 2010
B
Nicely designed seasonal course.

Downsides are that the baskets are only in the ground from October through March, and several holes have natural teepads.
-  +3 votes  + Pete CristChuck D. Memorial Course › April 28, 2011
A-
Beautiful back nine. Two sets of concrete tee pads make this course phenomenal.

The course continues to be broken in, mitigating the effects of the wild brush outside of the fairway. Must play if you're in the Dexter area.