Hiestand Park

Madison, Wisconsin     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +2 votes  + Bee Yang › March 5, 2013
A
This course is easier from the short tees, but very tough from the long tees. Great use of elevation throwing up and down the hillside. This is a very fun course that has open holes and very technical wooded holes. There are trees place just in the right spot to keep it challenging. This course is open for most of the year. There is a Saturday league at 10 am that goes from Nov to Mar or when the pins get pulled. The league is random draw doubles so come on out.
-  +1 votes  + Gary Thomas › October 27, 2010
B+
What can I say about this course other than I should have a most Excellent score seeing as this is the course I play most of the time. The only thing about the course that I do not like is the grooming during the summer, don't get me wrong I totally understand that there is a wild prairie project going on direct through hole #3 and between #4-5 fairways. (during the summer they don't cut it often so you end up looking for your disc more often than not.) The people who volunteer do a fair job o ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Chris Jensen › October 13, 2010
B
-  +0 votes  + rob lee › October 27, 2010
A
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Stone › March 10, 2011
A+
Nice baskets, pads, left & right holes & Alt. placements. Big elevation changes through-out. Stay on the fair way, it can get thick off 2 the sides. Awesome landscaping 2 keep erosion down. Hole #3 is the signature one on this course. Also you can see the capital from several holes!
-  +0 votes  + Brian S › January 18, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Edan Badajos › August 26, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Jon Williams › August 28, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Bill McKnight › October 11, 2011
A
Excelent course. I love the down hill combined w/ the water on signiture hole #3. Very clean, lots of up and down. Lots of open and trees, with a change almost from hole to hole. A great pro shop is next store (Glide) w/ a very knowledgable and helpful shop keep. We were golfing with a first timer that the shop keeper helped very much. The course also has a huge field to try your new wares before you start hole 1. Most enjoyable experience of the Disc golf weekend (this includes 27 at Highbridge.)
-  +0 votes  + Luke Enlow › April 30, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Nick Jelich › May 8, 2012
A
Dude, I love this course. It's the perfect blend of difficult pins placements and fun playing environment. I tend to enjoy courses that have most of their holes in the woods, but aren't completely bombarded by trees. You are in the woods, but have space to throw. You can tell that every hole was deliberate and not just filler. Great mix of long and short. If you ace anyone of these holes, you can be very proud. I wish I lived in Madison...
-  +0 votes  + garrett Kleven › May 15, 2012
B+
Long tees are crazy.
-  +0 votes  + xaeLen n › June 27, 2012
A
such a great course. great elevation terrain. plenty of trees. well maintained. very busy. many tee positions. short tees were mostly hard enough. lost orange #3 driver (left behind by X)
-  +0 votes  + ANTHONY CASSATA › March 3, 2013
A-
good layout, lots of up hill shots,they really did a good job with the shorter holes,nice guardians surrounding most of the holes to increase the challenge of the up shot i liked it first time playing it it seemed easy but this course and your game could easily go either way..
-  +0 votes  + Erik L › March 8, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Air Run D › March 18, 2013
B+
Hiestand is a bit overrated in my estimation. Don't get me wrong, it is a great course, but several other northern Wisconsin courses are far better (i.e. Standing Rocks, Big Eau pleine). Some holes, such as 1, 4, etc. aren't that great. It is definitely a fun and worthwhile course to play, however, as most of the holes are wooded and challenging.
-  +0 votes  + Riko Menzies › June 7, 2013
A+
Really great, well-rounded course. Great balance of open and wooded areas with plenty of elevation changes that demand more than just a big arm. Definitely a challenge, but not to the point of frustration. Fun all around.
-  +0 votes  + mike fagan › July 3, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Alex Jensen › August 29, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Dan Sinkey › September 21, 2013
A
well kept great elevation from start to finish really great course design beautiful park
-  +0 votes  + Aaron DeVries › October 21, 2013
A
It's right by my house. Probably played it 500+ times. Fairly short. My favorite holes are (in order) 12, 7, 13, 11, 3. Nice mix between uphill, downhill and flatground. Heistand Park.
-  +0 votes  + Tim Kopacz › November 20, 2013
B
Read my review at www.dgcoursereview.com
-  +0 votes  + Winston MaHomes › July 1, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Zachary Vaughn › July 18, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Dave Hansen › July 20, 2014
A-
Nice course. Good idea to stay away after a rain. Many of the forest holes did not have grass around the pins, muddy and slick. I would still play this course again.