Hickory Hills

Traverse City, Michigan     1 course · 24 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  -1 votes  + Mike Fortunato › September 10, 2010
A
This course has it all! Old growth tree lined fairways, challenging pin placements, risk/reward holes, distance, technicality, elevation change, beautiful views, no Jeff-like, turd burglars harassing golfers from golf carts. Thumbs up!
-  +0 votes  + Jason Karle › September 26, 2010
A
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Squires › September 26, 2010
A+
-  +2 votes  + Kyle Mihatsch---Team Tilley's › February 15, 2012
A
This is a love hate course for me. The layout is great, the holes are challenging and fun. Cement tee pads are nice and the course is well maintained. Just looking at the course, it is almost perfect. The reason that this course does not get an A+ is because of the traffic and casuals. I have never seen a more disrespectful bunch of casuals. During summer months one can expect 100+ people at any given time and don't be surprised to have idiots screaming during your shots, or to have some punk as ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Nesbitt › September 30, 2010
A+
-  -3 votes  + Corey Kieft › September 30, 2010
A
-  +0 votes  + Dave Milewski › October 4, 2010
A-
-  +0 votes  + Scott "Deuce" Spear jr › October 5, 2010
A
-  +0 votes  + Zac Cauchy › May 18, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Matt Wiles › October 7, 2010
A
-  +1 votes  + Bill Wieske › October 9, 2010
A-
-  +0 votes  + josh king › August 22, 2011
A+
This course has all elements, youll get your birdie opportunities and your double bogey opportunities. Word of caution this course can be killer on your body. It's elevation and terrain will wear you down. Bring plenty of LIQUID!
-  +0 votes  + Christopher Thomas › October 10, 2010
A
-  +3 votes  + Matt Powers › October 17, 2010
A
Hickory is home. Great course has a little bit of everything. Has a good balance of elevation change, open/tight wooded shots, and all around difficulty.
-  +0 votes  + Kerry Hanley › October 25, 2010
A+
-  -1 votes  + B Man › November 5, 2010
A+
Absolutely love this place
-  +0 votes  + Adam Vorpagel › November 6, 2010
A
-  +0 votes  + john dexter gallager › November 9, 2010
A
22 holes of AWESOMENESS.,.,.,and a couple of poopy ones, lol.,.,.sorry 6 and 18, you guys gotta go!!!
-  +1 votes  + Cal Benke- Team Tilley's › November 19, 2010
A
We are spoiled. It's one of the best in the state.
You would think we would all be better playing there all the time.
-  +0 votes  + David Burch › November 23, 2010
A+
-  +0 votes  + Joel Coppernoll › January 11, 2011
A
Second favorite course ever. Lot's of elevation shots and huge holes. Not a beginner friendly course.
-  +2 votes  + Marc Hamlin - Team Tilley's › March 9, 2011
A
Close this course to the ridiculous amounts of casuals and it gets an A+.
-  +0 votes  + Grant McMullen › May 2, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Nathan Mollema › May 3, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Uncle Todd Captain Carly's Angels - 22388 › April 1, 2014
A-
As good as it gets! In addition to a super design the course is beautiful... 19 overlooks both bays and downtown Traverse City and the woods have lots of huge old growth trees. You don't want to miss playing Hickory Hills and Westside Beverage is just down the road if you need new plastic weapons.
-  +0 votes  + Sancho Valdez › May 23, 2011
A-
This is a great course for working on your leg strength and practicing for a big event. Its on a ski hill so bring your hiking shoes, snacks and pleanty of drink....;) A good variety of shots for Righties and Lefties. I wish they would make alternate tee pads and pin placements. I don't like some the tee pads are boxed in the back of the tee pad. You know I like the running start........lmao. Other than that a great course to excersise your game and your stamina.
-  +0 votes  + aaron leopold › May 27, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + Scottie Reslock › June 4, 2011
A+
This course might be the best in Michigan! Then again I haven't gone to Flip City yet.

-  +0 votes  + Dan Flathau › May 29, 2011
A
awesome elevation and tricky turns makes this an awesome course
-  +1 votes  + Andrew Oprea › May 31, 2011
A+
Love the course. Perfect layout on the old ski-resort.
-  +0 votes  + Mark Sharpe › June 13, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Angel Gilbert › June 18, 2011
A+
i love this course lots
-  +0 votes  + Josh Wieschowski › June 23, 2011
A
A challenge for everyone. The course is stunning with a mix of everything from tight wooded, open, with tons of elevation changes. One of my favorites! The course is long but well groomed. Pack a snack and some beverage. I still havent aced #6............
-  +0 votes  + Rick Little › July 12, 2011
A-
proud to call hickory my local
-  +0 votes  + Marty Metheringham › July 6, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Zachary Vaughn › November 5, 2011
A
A great course that defines undulate duece course management. Once a bogey factory, now a duece machine. An amazing Am course and a refining Pro course. A top in the state for sure.
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Lepley › July 19, 2011
A
Very nice course! I really liked this one and will visit again! Good use of terrain. Lots of vertical. Great views of the city and bay on hole 19 (i think).

Only bad things I have to say about this course is the vandalism present. Every tee sign has graffiti and I was verbally warned by a local to lock your stuff up in your car. Gear gets stolen out of the back of pickups frequently.
-  +0 votes  + Duncan Gervin › July 20, 2011
A+
-  -1 votes  + Mike Stump - OldStump › July 23, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + - br33zy - › July 27, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + MEAT BABY › August 14, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Lisa Harbour › August 16, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Matt Elgersma - Team Frisci Disc › August 17, 2011
A
love this course, to bad some idiots have to destroy the signs, other then the tee pads needing to be swept off I love this course
-  +0 votes  + Jeff Smith › August 19, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Eric Grinwis › July 24, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Brad Brundage › August 30, 2011
A
Just an all around nice course. Amazing views and fun to play!
-  +0 votes  + Nate Knox › September 15, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf- › September 8, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Lori Mullen WPD › September 9, 2011
A+
-  +0 votes  + Ed Carpus › July 5, 2012
A+
My favorite course in Michigan. I know, I haven't played them all, but until I do, this one reigns supreme in my book.
-  +0 votes  + Jeff Griffiths › September 30, 2011
A
When fall colors are in season, this course is a great place to play.
-  +0 votes  + Keith Aten › October 2, 2011
A+
-  +0 votes  + tony gerou › January 16, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + Mark Oller › February 16, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Jeff Kuehle › February 24, 2012
A+
This is why I fell in love with disc golf! I played here in the fall season!
-  +1 votes  + Matt Lakanen › March 30, 2014
A-
Best course i have played. Don't always feel that way all the time cause it is so close to me. concrete tee pads on every hole along with trash bins. just about every kind shot out there.

this course would be a perfect A+, if the casuals had more respect for the land, other players, and course itself. i myself have had a disc stolen from off the fairway.

still this course is beautiful and a gem to play.
-  +0 votes  + AJ Miller › April 4, 2012
A
Great place to play. Very challenging
-  +0 votes  + Oubi Fahrni › April 7, 2012
A-
many single trees in the way
-  +0 votes  + Tom Harrigan › September 4, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Joe Wingett › May 6, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Brian Mulnix › May 7, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Joal Kozma › May 18, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Mark Hoffmann › June 6, 2012
A
Elevation and variety are the spice of life!
-  +0 votes  + Josh Romstadt › June 18, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + Greg Silos › June 26, 2012
A+
Enjoyed every bit of it, old growth corridors, open fields, elevation changes, nice mix of tough holes with ace/duece runs to keep your score manageable. Had the course to ourselves on two late June rounds starting around 10 AM, one weekday, and one Saturday. Not a delinquent in sight.
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Tankersley › July 7, 2012
A
Love it. Live about a mile away. Super crowded later on in the day but i generally play here between 8 and 10 in the morning and its dead.
-  +0 votes  + Griffin Dowswell › July 12, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Buffalo Sanders › July 15, 2012
A-
-  -1 votes  + Erik "The Pickle" Pickelman › July 16, 2012
A-
beautiful as always, but there is one other we played that just made the day complete
-  +1 votes  + ken "sega salt" moote › July 23, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Mitch Hubbard › July 25, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Jeremy Reisig › July 27, 2012
A
The great hole designs play well into the many elevation changes. This course is very unique, and by far one of the best in the state.
-  +0 votes  + Dan Ruppert › July 29, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Mike Shields › July 30, 2012
A-
great veiws !!!!!!!!!!
-  +1 votes  + Josh Bickel › August 5, 2012
A
Love this course! Great layout and very challenging. The elevation changes are very nice out here. Nice variety of holes as well, as none are quite the same. Be prepared to walk a ton as the hills are huge!
-  +1 votes  + Nick M. › August 13, 2012
A-
Best course I've ever played. Make sure to be on your A game though for this one if you're not used to elevation change (like me).
-  +1 votes  + Chris Tompkins › September 4, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Nate-Dog Shelton › September 23, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + james-JOSH- russell › October 14, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Josh "BIG BIRD" Frisinger › October 14, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + DETROIT J › April 11, 2013
A+
THIS is my FAVORITE course ! I've played in 10+ states and WOW ! As a ski resort in the winter , you can only imagine the hills and elevations you play through. Great balance of wooded and open shots . I played this with my wife and we had a blast ! I believe it is hole # 19 that has a Perfect View from the tee of Traverse City and the bay , then you throw like a 685' er with a decline you fly down , and "can" ace. This is a MUST play !!
-  -5 votes  + isaac piper › April 23, 2013
A+
it is a great course for a young player like me to learn to throw straight and all the walking keeps me in shape
-  -1 votes  + Nate Figueroa › April 24, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Jake Schropp › May 5, 2013
A+
-  +1 votes  + Chuck H. › May 7, 2013
A-
Good course. Lot's of casuals, but they were very friendly and let us play through when we would catch up. Probably more challenging once the tree's, and there are a lot, get leaves, but I didn't find the course difficult at all. It had a good mix of shot's you'll need to throw. I found most of the par 4's to really just be par 3's. Overall though, I enjoyed this layout and will play again when I'm back up in TC.
-  +0 votes  + shawn mccollam › May 15, 2013
B
Super long course. Very challenging with many obstacles. There are some deff hazards but it a cool course.
-  -1 votes  + matthew bloom › July 30, 2014
A+
such a wonderful course to just hangout with friends and disc golf
-  +0 votes  + Thomas Bulthuis › May 27, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Chad Reuss › June 11, 2013
A
This course is located in the hilly woods of a ski resort. It provides many elevation changing holes as well as many well placed trees as obstacles to navigate around. There are several holes that offer chances at aces. This is one of the best public courses I have ever played. The course is very fun, even for the beginner. This course is always packed so make sure you bring your patience.
-  +0 votes  + Dominic Culver › June 11, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jammer Gross › June 23, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Sturgeon › June 23, 2013
A
What a fantastic course! I first played this course in 1999 or 2000 and finally came back to get some good time in on it. I played 3 full rounds in late June of 2013 of which I feel is enough to warrant a review. PROS: The course demands a great variety of shots. A few pins beg you to take an Ace run (#1, #6, #7, and #24 come to mind) while others will need some keen aim and thoughtful approaches. I used virtually every shot I have at least once during each game. The signage is respectable ho ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + John Hanson › June 24, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Andrew Tuma › June 26, 2013
A-
Played 2 rounds here while in TC, great elevation and layout. love the course, wish i lived closer to play more often.
-  +0 votes  + Elric VanDerVenter › June 27, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Marc 2895 › July 4, 2013
A
Beautiful course . Lots of great elevation , built on an old ski resort. I played at 6:30 am tee off and I was the only one there. Be sure to visit "tillys" party store and disc golf just down the street. Sara was wonderful and the consummate hostess. She's also HOT , hello !!!!!
-  +0 votes  + Neal McKay › July 11, 2013
A
Awesome course. Tough pin placements.
-  +0 votes  + Alex Stanton › July 15, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + peter kunoff › July 29, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Danger Dave diggers › July 31, 2013
B+
Home course I love this place it's a great all around course if I didn't play any other course again I would be fine this has for what you need it's rock solid layout and fun holes. It really is a mint I have played better not many. It's on a ski hill so the elevation is kinda a bi*** but if you like that you enjoy the course. This course is just a little to dense then my liking in the fairways and I like the hills but it is big hills and 1 round will sack you.
-  +0 votes  + Griffin Wasik › August 6, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Ben Stephens › August 14, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Forrest Omland › August 19, 2013
B
Nice course, only used a few of my discs, good basket placements, could use more signs. Definitely would play again.
-  +0 votes  + Nick Dague › September 1, 2013
A
Awesome! Great elevation shots, great layout, and the extra holes (19-24) are crazy
-  +0 votes  + Brian Raymond › September 4, 2013
A+
The most beautiful course I've played to date! Don't show up in flip-flops for a casual game, though. I'd recommend hiking boots or trail shoes, as there are a LOT of big elevation changes, but the views are well worth the climbing. There's a good mixture of forehand and backhand shots (for me anyway), as well as wide and narrow fairways. Most of the course is shaded and well kept. I've had a couple rollers at other courses, but when your disc rolls down a hill here, it's a whole different ga ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Nicholas Lalko › October 1, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Josh Noce › November 30, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Ben Tschudy › April 29, 2014
A
Physically, this course is very difficult. I would give it an A+ if it weren't for the chronic trash & giant mobs of casuals that clog it up once the weather gets nice. Great use of elevation and terrain features. Nice variety of hole lengths.
-  +0 votes  + Jason Ponchahar › May 22, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Jeff England › May 22, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Logan Myers › June 1, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Smith › June 3, 2014
A+
Played it one time while visiting my buddy in Kalkaska. Made the hour drive and man was it worth it! The course is by far my favorite so far. Not only is it challenging but the sights and layout is amazing. I would love to play this course again.
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Goofy Mitchell › June 18, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Rob Kolander › July 3, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Eddie Switek › July 18, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Dennis DeBoer › July 28, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Krit B › July 29, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + GT Foley › August 4, 2014
A+
Huge
-  +0 votes  + Paul DISC-OR-DIE Holstein › August 11, 2014
A
Incredible course, absolutely one of the best in Michigan (especially if you love elevation). This course is on a ski hill and mostly deep woods with huge fairways cut out and up! Some OB, lots of fun downhill shots and many perilous tight throws with huge penalties for missing the fairway. A long 24 on a hot summer day, well worth the extra hour drive past our destination in Cadillac. I threw my longest shot ever on this course, over 600 feet to set up a 40 foot double eagle throw on a par 5 (technically because of the distance, but of course I actually play all par 3).
-  +0 votes  + Josh Powell › August 15, 2014
A-
Hills are tough, but worth the reward. Especially overlooking the water. Pace of play was not great. Some most-certainly beginners would not let groups through, and they weren't the only ones. Some crazy holes, loved the course! Threw almost every shot I knew.
-  +0 votes  + Neil Duffey › August 18, 2014
A
i came up from detroit and i fell in love. from the very first hole, i knew this course would become one of my top 2 in the state. i have almost nothing negative to say about the course, aside from the short, cramped tee pads... i come from the land of flat ground and full length tee pads, so i guess I'm just spoiled. i LOVE this course, and i can't wait to try and get back to TC to play it again.
-  +0 votes  + C silas › August 25, 2014
A-
great course to play at and get in a work out. missing a couple of signs at a few holes. a couple of other signs pointing where a couple of the next holes would be nice too.(multiple paths can confuse 1st time players like me)
-  +0 votes  + Dan Gilford › September 4, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Steve Renaud › September 4, 2014
A
Nice course with great views. A lot of uphill walking, but the 600ft downhill drives make it worth it in the end.
-  +0 votes  + Jake Angelos › October 6, 2014
A