Herbert Hoover Park

Newberg, Oregon     1 course · 9 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + Brett-"Terb" Baese › December 1, 2014
B-
-  +0 votes  + Will Summers › November 24, 2014
C
Short fun course for mid range and putting practice, but tends to get extremely wet and muddy during the winter months.
-  +0 votes  + Christopher Fanger › November 19, 2014
A-
Summer course but beautiful
-  +0 votes  + Chaz Smith › September 29, 2014
B+
This is a fun little course in a small city park that is in a gully that is wooded so the course is up and down you do also have a small creek running through the middle of it.
-  +0 votes  + Jason Staats › August 10, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Kolb › July 29, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + casey ullom › July 27, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Mr. Snap › July 7, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + brent kress › January 31, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Dan Beegle › January 26, 2014
B-
Small course packed into a small area. Fun though.
-  +0 votes  + Randy Mooney › December 27, 2013
A-
Challenging 9 hole course with plenty of elevation changes along with dog legs. Forces you to make accurate throws.
-  +0 votes  + Krissy Benson › November 23, 2013
B
Played this course Wednesday nov 20th 2013 for the first time. Nice course but no signs no bathrooms and very very muddy we went sliddin everywhere. Easy to find an nice creek going through.
-  +1 votes  + Sean Davis › October 26, 2013
A
Well thought out course with a ton of elevation and trees to keep it fun. I don't know if I would drive down to go to just this course but played with Shampooie makes a great day.
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Blake › October 14, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Elliott N › September 16, 2013
C
Fun small course...unplayable in the winter due to the creek making the whole park a mud puddle.
-  -1 votes  + Rick Saffeels › September 4, 2013
C
Well, first time actually playing there. There is a course map at the entrance, but besides that I was going by what the locals told me which teepad goes to which basket. Loved getting all the birds, but course holes are way to short. I'll play there again :)
-  +1 votes  + Russ Brown › August 27, 2013
C
Relatively easy course, no long holes, but clean and very well maintained.
-  +0 votes  + casey browning › June 19, 2013
B
good little down town park , not too hard , the up and down hill shots make this a better course than expected.
-  +0 votes  + Jessie L. › June 5, 2013
C
-  +0 votes  + Andrew Evey › April 28, 2013
A-
-  +1 votes  + Matt Bressler › December 13, 2013
C
9 holes. Cement tee pads. Small area of land for this course. Start by throwing down a hill. 2nd hole in throwing back in the hill. 3rd hole is throwing around a blind right corner down the hill. Play this course many many times. Creek floods the bottom area every year which makes it EXTREMELY muddy. Tee pad 6 gets flooded over therefore there is mud all over the teepad. Throw from the side, I guess.
-  +0 votes  + Sean Chapman › February 9, 2013
C
Fun little course. Great use of what they had. Awesome elevation changes. VERY muddy in the wet months. There was a lot of garbage and dog @#%& on the course. this course could be one of the better pitch and putt courses in the portland area if it was cleaned up a bit.
-  +0 votes  + Jarrett Payton › October 20, 2012
C
-  +0 votes  + Alex Lofting › October 19, 2012
B+
I loved it had some amount of dificulty with lots of ups downs and pin locations. It is spread out surprisingly good but, a relativly small course with short holes.
-  -1 votes  + Brad Hummel › September 15, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Aaron U › September 15, 2012
B-
-  -1 votes  + Dylan Adams › September 11, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Corey Dempsey › September 9, 2012
B
-  +2 votes  + Nick Nisbet › August 9, 2012
B-
Nice short 9 hole course. It's got some good elevation changes. Takes some touch here. Can get a little busy at times. Theres a playground for the kids too. The city keeps mowed in the summer. Concrete tee pads, Just one sign for the whole course near the first tee pad. A great course to take the kids learning to play.
-  +1 votes  + Stefan Vincent › July 22, 2012
B
-  +1 votes  + Chad Plummer › July 4, 2012
B+
-  -2 votes  + Andrew Kochendorfer › May 13, 2012
A-
-  +2 votes  + Michael Kochendorfer › May 13, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + steven kochendorfer › May 13, 2012
C
-  -1 votes  + Grant larson › April 14, 2012
B-
poor drainage leads to super swampy grass, muddy slippery tee pads,
-  +0 votes  + Josh Marcella › March 17, 2012
C+
-  +1 votes  + Kevin OConnor › March 8, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Randolph King › March 14, 2012
B+
This is a fun course, I try to play it whenever I go through Newberg (and it's dry). It is small, and makes excellent use of its limited space. It is in a small canyon, and many of the holes run up or down the sides. A small creek runs through the valley, unfortunately is has a lot of silt and can easily swallow discs. Especially on hole 8, which is a down-hill shot across the creek to a sometimes blind pin - depending on the foliage. The biggest con is that the course is a swamp during ...
continue reading ›
-  -3 votes  + Cameron "wanta bang martha" ficker › December 12, 2011
A-
Great little course. The best 9 holes course in Oregon. More elevation change for it's size then any course. There is only two holes where your throwing on a flat fairway. Awesome course for side arm or leftys
-  -1 votes  + Chris " Big Chris" Smith › December 11, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Erin Reichel › November 9, 2011
A+
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Rakoz › November 7, 2011
C+
It is what it is. They did a lot with a little. A great warm up or cool down to Ewing Young and a great course to take your friends/spouse to get them started in the game. Good elevation change, a couple of really techy holes but most are just too short. If they could keep it dryer in the winter I would go there every week just to keep my putting up but it's only got about 1 more good rain before it goes underwater for the year.
-  +1 votes  + kelly c › August 21, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Shib . › August 7, 2011
C-
-  +0 votes  + Vince Epker › July 25, 2011
B-
really short, get clogged with picnickers...fun little pitch and putt though
-  +0 votes  + Steven Egler › July 20, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Ryan L. › July 27, 2011
B-
-  +0 votes  + WAYNE "big daddy" WALKER › June 25, 2011
B+
Nice little coarse for a quick game.
-  +2 votes  + - scottishrob - › June 4, 2011
C+
Fun little short course. Crazy mud and standing water. When it dries out it will be better. Really busy park can be distracting and some patrons wander through the course (heads up!). But nonetheless, a fun course.
-  +0 votes  + Alex Huscher › May 25, 2011
A
Love my home course, 5 minutes of skating from my house to disc. Great use of space and good safari action, only downside is that its a swap during the rainy season.
-  +0 votes  + jake miller › May 31, 2011
A+
gota love the 3 min drive to my home course
-  +0 votes  + Kyle W › May 19, 2011
C
-  +0 votes  + Sara R › May 18, 2011
D+
-  +0 votes  + Scott Hill › May 4, 2011
C+
A great little pitch and putt. Leave everything but your putter in the car. Great use of a very small space, and good use of elevation changes.

Save this one for the summer/early fall. It gets very muddy and swampy in the winter and doesn't dry out until late spring.

Play this course a couple of times and then head over to Ewing Young (less than a mile away) for some long open drives.

I only graded this course as low as I did because it's unplayable when muddy. I'd give it a D- in the winter and an A in the summer.
-  +4 votes  + The Ronin › April 5, 2011
C
Good use of limited space, nice baskets, good up and down. Way too busy with non-golfers. Crossing fairways absolutely suck, the map doesn't really help because it doesn't show any topographic features, and there is no "flow" whatsoever. Muddy swampland with a putrid river snaking down the middle (we actually watched oil bubbling up from the bottom). Fishing was good, though, I found two discs! Couldn't find #6 tee pad, even the second time through. I can see this being a better course in the ...
continue reading ›
-  +7 votes  + Dru "Stylez" › April 11, 2011
B
While I was the Only One in the group that liked this Course, I will say that it was an EXTREAMLY SWAMPY place... couldn't find the Tee for Hole 6... Lots of Up n Downs... And watch for the kids play'n and scream'n, not Disc'n mind you. I really Look forward to comming back in the Summer!
-  +4 votes  + Bo Hicks › March 20, 2011
C
would be alot better grade but it is literally a pond at the bottom of the course T's are under water or submerged in mud..great layout really fun elevation shots great course to get a ace. Been there in the summer and had a blast thats why I met it in the middle with a C. Not a good course 8 months out of the year but in the summer awesome course especially since Ewing Young DGC is only a mile away..
-  -1 votes  + Jeff Martin › January 26, 2011
B-
-  +1 votes  + TREE Sines › December 6, 2010
B+
this course is small but very fun up and down and hole 3 is just right for a right handed flick or a lefty backhand
-  +0 votes  + frankie baltierrez › October 12, 2010
B+
pretty tough course wooped my ass a few times but getting the hang of it just wish the creek didn't like draging my disc's under mudd and other nasty stuff in it lol but over all a fun course!!
-  -1 votes  + Xavier Hernandez inc. › October 5, 2010
D
Had difficulty balancing on tee pads that were floating above grass. And some baskets had cartoon Jesus' heckling me while I was putting... Watch out for large mercury pool and diamond lesbian tree on #6!
-  +0 votes  + Dusty adkins › October 4, 2010
A
-  +0 votes  + YounG GuN OG Johnson › October 1, 2010
A-
Love my home course. :) Love what they did on that much space they had to use :)
-  +0 votes  + Brad Phillips › September 25, 2010
B
Fun Technical course. Lots of up and down. Creek that runs down that middle of the course that you can lose discs in.
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Gray › September 24, 2010
B
-  +0 votes  + Andy Verhoeven › September 17, 2010
C
lots of cool ace runs