Henderson Lake Nature Center

Montague, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + John Gomez › September 28, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Vincent › September 7, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Merrick Kraus › September 6, 2014
B
Extremely wooded and can be aggravating at times but if you're in the area it's definitely worth checking out.
-  +0 votes  + Brian Fitz › September 1, 2014
B-
Fun little course tucked in the woods. Dirt tee pad and poor hole designs keeps this course from a better review.
-  +0 votes  + Adam Mitchell › July 30, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Ben Pierce › July 15, 2014
B+
Very good layout. Decently challenging. Could really use some concrete tee pads.
-  +0 votes  + Tim Arndt › July 15, 2014
B-
Very Fun Course. Brush is not thick so it's not difficult to find stray discs. Mosquitoes are killer. Bring some intense bug spray and apply several times
-  +0 votes  + Jonathan Thomas › July 12, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + courtney ackley › September 29, 2013
A+
The course was very clean...its a nicely laid out course
-  +0 votes  + Samantha Klintworth › September 26, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Derek Kresge › September 10, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Goofy Mitchell › September 27, 2013
A-
played it for the first time on Monday, Great Course. Narrow compared to the Florida courses im use to...maybe take a few trees out but that's about it..Nice benches and garbage bins...2 practice baskets with a nice picnic area..will be going back
-  +0 votes  + Nick Rockey › July 13, 2013
A-
+Hole 1! gotta love this course!
+Really one of my favorites, great layout with really good tee to basket placements
+I really don't have a favorite hole here, I almost like them all
+Great wooded holes with a few that open up
+Good flow, easy to play
+Not to hard to find off the highway
+A small covered picnic area with practice baskets
+Not to many elevation changes, just a few small hills
^I highly recommend this course if you are in the area!
^Bug spray for sure!!!
-  +0 votes  + Mike Shields › July 6, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Brian Bonebrake II › June 29, 2013
B+
A nice technical course similar to Whitehall, but with overall shorter holes (250-300ft) with a couple longer holes (400+ ft). First hole is right over the water which kicks the round off to an interesting start. Great for practicing control and understanding the strengths in your game.
-  +0 votes  + Cody Klintworth › September 29, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Andy Pacanovsky › May 21, 2013
B-
First time I've played here since last summer. The new tee signs look great! Lots of benches make waiting for the rest of the card much easier. Really easy to find the next hole because of marked trails. It's nice to see that some of the undergrowth has been trimmed back/thinned.

Only downside for me is that the course seems to be very turnover, FH, or lefty heavy.
-  +0 votes  + Jake Beegle › May 20, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Jamie Vincent › May 16, 2013
B
Lots on anhyzer shots and lots of trees..great course to work on your forehand..Definetly an Advance course
-  -1 votes  + David Gray › May 4, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Randy Shreve › April 15, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Rodney Cross › March 8, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + riversidejoe johnson › September 24, 2012
B-
dirt pads , lots of short holes but with the placement of pads and pins it was not as easy as i would have thought.well thought out.i scored a 3 down on first round 4 down on second but the lanes are there if you got that sniper aim.1st hole was short but had to be a fav
-  +0 votes  + Michael Daly › June 9, 2013
A+
If your left handed and looking for the most friendly backhand course in Western Michigan, you are going to have a hard time finding a better course then Henderson Lake Nature Center. Beautiful lefthanded hyzer lines on almost every hole.
-  +0 votes  + Blake Ingalls › August 30, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Costyk › August 28, 2012
B+
No complaints, for being a new course it is worth the play. Driving up to FLIP or Ludington it is a MUST stop, slow start to a tough end, a bit of Leviathan waiting to happen on the back Nine! love the Kid pad thought! honestly it's a must play off of 31 on the way up the Coast!
-  +0 votes  + Nate Smith › August 13, 2012
B+
Beautiful area for a course. Holes are varied from high risk over water to tight dogleg holes both lefty and righty. Bring all your discs with some long holes, deep wooded rough, long approaches and drives with all flight patterns needed. Played here 4 times and each time is getting more lines cleared out, underbrush was cut for a tournament recently and tees are working in. Paths are also clear to navigate. Well worth a play in any situation.
-  +0 votes  + Jason Karle › July 28, 2012
B
good short technical course, pretty easy to follow. Needs some work with the tee signs and pads but seems like it could be quite nice one day. Would be a great ace race course.
-  +0 votes  + Roger K › July 6, 2012
B-
Long,wooded and fun. 1st hole is over a small marsh, a lot of cat-tails.It almost ate my Gazelle driver. Came back and waded into the stinky, stagnate water to get it. A nice lay out. Nice baskets. Hope to see permanent hole makers. Will be back.
-  +0 votes  + Jeffery Howe › July 6, 2012
B-
Really liked the course, except for the heavy undergrowth which started directly off the fairway in most cases. Tight lines with quite a few shots leading towards the right from the tee.
-  +0 votes  + Derek Clements › June 3, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Nick Bosovich › June 2, 2012
B+
kinda uneven pads but i understand its a new course... couple of crazy lines but overall fun and challenging... good addition to the whitehall montague disc golf area
-  +0 votes  + Eric Grinwis › June 2, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + John Hanson › May 19, 2012
A-
Fun! Moreso when broken in more!
-  +0 votes  + Paul Jennings › May 16, 2012
A-
Considering the course is brand new, it is in great shape and ready for anyone to play. Good variety of shots and challenging enough even for experienced players. Uneven tee pads kind of makes it more fun! Enjoy watching fools stumble and trip.
-  +0 votes  + Scott Pierzchala › May 7, 2012
B
Very cool new course. Short early holes lead into longer and interesting fairways. I can't wait until this gets beat in a little and gains cement pads.
-  -2 votes  + Corey Kieft › October 4, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + mike rau › May 4, 2012
B
Thanks to Jason ,Amy and every one that have and still are working hard to build this course!
-  +0 votes  + Hits Trees › May 1, 2012
B+
I know there's still a lot of work to do.
-  +0 votes  + Nathan Mollema › May 1, 2012
B+
Awesome course. After they place cement I will re evaluate. Very fun course. Offers a variety of shots
-  +0 votes  + Shaky jake › April 30, 2012
B+
basing this review off only playing to course one time but it has a lot to offer almost every kind of shot you can think of so that is a plus i really dont care for heavily wooded courses but this was a fun one to play hole one is sweet over the water ace run id have to say one of my favorites out there not really much elevation and the tees werent the best but this course is band new the course is going to be a nice one once it gets broken in can wait to see how it comes along
-  +0 votes  + Aaron Coon › April 30, 2012
B+
definitely needs to be played more and fairways worn in. but its brand new. so thats expected. love how hole 1 starts over water
-  +0 votes  + Seth K › April 30, 2012
B+
Tees could use a weed whip but the layout is excellent. One tee on the back (12 I think) should be reconsidered. Baskets are beautiful. Great work everybody. Can't wait to help beat it in this summer. Thanks.
-  +0 votes  + MEET BABY MAISY › April 30, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Angry "double bogey" Andy › April 30, 2012
A-
-  +3 votes  + Ike Rainey › April 29, 2012
A
Being a new course, there are no improved tee pads, but that will come soon I'm sure. I am rather partial since I helped design, clear and install the course... as the course gets more use, the fairways and tees will get clearer and the footing will be better... We do ask that when you play this course, as with any other course, you respect the equipment and take care of any trash that you find... Montague township will be placing trash cans at the parking area this summer... Help us (Whitehall Disc Golf Club) make this an enjoyable course for all to play...