Hanson Hills Recreation Area

Grayling, Michigan     2 courses · 37 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +1 votes  + Kyle Mihatsch---Team Tilley'sGrayling Rotary DGC › February 15, 2012
B+
Set on a ski hill this course has a great deal of elevation change. challenging basket placement makes for some tough putts. There are a good mix of short and long and up or downhill shots. Be ready for a hike as you play up then down then up and back down this large ski resort hill. Cement tee pads and garbage cans on every hole are nice. Some of the tee pads are shorter than others and the short ones are annoying. Scoring well here requires playing well in all parts of your game. There are nic ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + bryon figueroaGrayling Rotary DGC › October 4, 2010
A
-  +1 votes  + Fred McGillGrayling Rotary DGC › October 23, 2010
A-
-  +1 votes  + Brian OGrayling Rotary DGC › May 9, 2011
A
One of my favorite courses. Great mix of open and tight, left and right, uphill and downhill. You'll use your whole bag and repertoire on this one. Arrows to next tees are very helpful, as are the steps up to the 16th tee. The course is well maintained and expertly laid out; a must play if you are in the area.
-  +1 votes  + Mike Stump - OldStumpGrayling Rotary DGC › May 15, 2011
B+
very scenic but physically among the most demanding courses to play as you must completely ascend the hill more than 3 times during the round. great downhill holes as well..
-  +3 votes  + Dave MilewskiGrayling Rotary DGC › May 16, 2011
A-
In my top 5 courses in Michigan. Huge variation in shots and greens. Multiple elevation changes on at least half of the holes and deuces are not easy. Brutal workout. Go play this course.
-  +1 votes  + Uncle Todd Captain Carly's Angels - 22388Grayling Rotary DGC › October 10, 2012
A
Great Course and even better workout. Pack a lunch, its a big walk! Played it again this year and enjoyed it even more. Parking hole 18 on my upshot for a drop in par was the high light! You really need to stay disciplined on this course.
-  +1 votes  + CJ KoehlerGrayling Rotary DGC › June 18, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf-Grayling Rotary DGC › November 14, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + DJ MetzerGrayling Rotary DGC › September 29, 2011
A+
Havent played a ton of course but I would be surprised to hear that there are many courses that are better/more difficult. Little bit of everything here. Most fun holes are throwing down the hills.
-  +0 votes  + ken "sega salt" mooteGrayling Rotary DGC › October 11, 2011
A
Amazinggggg. One of the best courses I have ever played.insane that anyoneeee could give this course a bad review. No bums out there! One of the most professional courses around!! Dont miss out PERIOD!
-  +2 votes  + Jammer GrossGrayling Rotary DGC › March 22, 2012
A
-  +2 votes  + Ben JonesGrayling Rotary DGC › April 16, 2012
A+
my favorite course, difficult, makes you throw all kinds of different shots, great workout and if you dont like the hills its because you're out of shape... definately bring a drink or two... beautiful course
-  +0 votes  + Ben JonesGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › July 26, 2013
A
great warm up course/ league course for during the week, and the wooden baskets are great, gives it a new element of beautiful when shooting the wooden 9, i suggest everyone comes out and checks out every course
-  +1 votes  + Robert ShafferGrayling Rotary DGC › May 14, 2012
A
Great course, Great views.. had a blast. lots of walking up and down hills but more then worth it for the variety of shots that you get.. Skyy Dogg hated us at the end of the round but will return. played 2 other new course this weekend and this one by far was my favorite
-  -1 votes  + Dane WilbornGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › May 20, 2012
C
Upon first glance, this is an exciting course to be at, there is a lot of filling to be done, but it was real disappointing when we got to the 8th hole and the basket was missing, then the same on the 9 th hole. We went over to the pro course and the first three baskets were missing there too. I wish people would respect what they had, that was given to them for free.
-  +1 votes  + Hanson HillsGrayling Rotary DGC › May 24, 2012
A+
Baskets are not missing.. We pulled them and set up a Modified course connecting the Pine Knoll course to the PDGA course for a fundraising tournament that week.. I apologize that Signs were not posted explaining this.. ALL BASKETS ARE BACK IN THEIR NORMAL SPOT.
-  +0 votes  + Hanson HillsGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › May 24, 2012
A+
Baskets are not missing.. We pulled them and set up a Modified course connecting the Pine Knoll course to the PDGA course for a fundraising tournament that week.. I apologize that Signs were not posted explaining this.. ALL BASKETS ARE BACK IN THEIR NORMAL SPOT.
-  +0 votes  + Mike KennedyGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › June 12, 2012
B+
Very nice 9 hole course, a good warmup for the 19 hole course on the ski hill.
-  +1 votes  + Mike KennedyGrayling Rotary DGC › June 12, 2012
A
Very nice course but be prepared 2 get a workout there is a lot of hill climbing.I found it hard to par but it was only my first time throwing there. Looking forward to another shot at it.
-  +1 votes  + Dan BienkowskiGrayling Rotary DGC › June 28, 2012
A-
Course was great. Tons of elevation with a mix of open and wooded holes. Short tee pads on some holes and incorrect map direction on tee signs are my only cons.
-  +1 votes  + Jeff BaumanGrayling Rotary DGC › June 28, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Ken MangoGrayling Rotary DGC › July 1, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Ben CiccarelliGrayling Rotary DGC › July 8, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Nate-Dog SheltonGrayling Rotary DGC › July 9, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Matt WeilerGrayling Rotary DGC › July 10, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Buffalo SandersGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › July 15, 2012
B
-  +5 votes  + Buffalo SandersGrayling Rotary DGC › July 15, 2012
A+
This is all time greatest place to play theres nothing like it plus the view's is insane!!! Gods country for sure..
-  +0 votes  + donny vGrayling Rotary DGC › July 14, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Felicia "The Barefoot Flea"Grayling Rotary DGC › August 4, 2012
A-
After reviewing the vid my brother and i took i can not justify the B that i gave earlier. Though i still think some of those holes should have a short tees just sayin'.
-  -1 votes  + Tim KopaczGrayling Rotary DGC › August 8, 2012
B
Decent course on a moderate ski hill. I feel full potential of the terrain, woods, and elevation was not utilized well. Super small concrete pads make for horrible teeing because of erosion around them (needing to step up onto and fear stepping off past). Some great views and a pretty solid course, but it failed to wow me in almost all aspects. Some grueling long holes were a nice mix (like 11 and 14). I think I liked hole 15 best tossing up onto the hillside past the trees.
-  +0 votes  + Moe DixonGrayling Rotary DGC › September 9, 2012
A-
This course is awesome, plays through huge hills that you throw up and down. You feel like you are out in the woods the whole time unlike Freeland where it just feels like you are in a park. Plenty of holes that you drive off the top of hills, if it wasn't for the huge amount of wind I would have had a better score, but even with shooting a 9 I had a great time and would recommend this course to anyone that knows how to drive a disc far.
-  -4 votes  + Ben CalhounGrayling Rotary DGC › September 23, 2012
A
-  -6 votes  + Ben CalhounGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › September 23, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + John SauroGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › September 24, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + james-JOSH- russellGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › January 30, 2013
A
This course has always been nice but with the addition of another nine holes and having them with the most awesome and axtremely beautiful homemade baskets give this course an edge up. Cant wait for the teeboxes for the new nine.
-  +0 votes  + Uncle Todd Captain Carly's Angels - 22388Grayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › October 10, 2012
B+
I really enjoyed this short and tricky lil course. It can also link right up to the main course for a little mix it up.
-  +0 votes  + DJ MetzerGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › October 10, 2012
A-
The added 9 to complete the 18 make this course an excellent course for beginners, and a nice alternative from the big course.
-  +0 votes  + james-JOSH- russellGrayling Rotary DGC › January 30, 2013
A+
Beyond awesome course. Should be on everyones must play list, over and over again.
-  +0 votes  + Mike SiudaGrayling Rotary DGC › October 23, 2012
A+
Played a couple rounds....awesome course. I got to play with the man who runs the show, Justin Andre. Great guy great course. I definitely recommend this course.
-  +0 votes  + William RyanGrayling Rotary DGC › January 7, 2013
A
Awesome work out, great course if u have a big arm! fer sure on the top of my list.
-  +0 votes  + William RyanGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › January 7, 2013
A-
Great course if u wanna shoot -, and ace runs all day!
-  +0 votes  + Jammer GrossGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › July 26, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Andy EngilshGrayling Rotary DGC › April 29, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Scott SmithGrayling Rotary DGC › May 11, 2013
A
first time i played this course and it was raining, even so pretty sick of a course. four hours away and i really didn't know what to except but truly a nice disc golf course. really nice layout, but i missed 18? i didn't see the teepad for that. did see the basket for 18 tho once i got to hole 19. other than that huge up hill and down hill shots. brooms on like half of the teepads. pretty long course it took us a couple of hours, maybe the rain, can't wait to go back and play this course when its nice out. when you do play 19 shoot to hole 1s basket way more fun
-  +0 votes  + Jerry "Chilly" ChilsonGrayling Rotary DGC › May 18, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Robert WagnerGrayling Rotary DGC › June 21, 2013
A
Worth the drive for sure. Pushed a disc gold cart through the entire course, and it was friendly for such, as some courses are not. This allowed us to stock up on water for the long haul. Hard to find much elevation in S.E. MI where I hail from, so the hills were a welcomed characteristic. On a weekend, we only seen two other groups on the main course all day, and weather was perfect. Longer tee pads would be helpful, but a little adversity goes a long ways, deal with it skippies. Can im ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Kevin ReddyGrayling Rotary DGC › May 27, 2013
A
Awesome, though extremely physically demanding, course! Very well marked, with helpful arrows keeping you on the right track everywhere you need them to be. If some of the concrete pads were full length, this course gets A+ from me.
-  +1 votes  + Ricky DGrayling Rotary DGC › June 15, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Rich KrapfGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › July 7, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Dave RaymondGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › July 22, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Dan MurrayGrayling Rotary DGC › July 27, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Chris MaschoGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › July 28, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Cole MorisonGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › September 10, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Cole MorisonGrayling Rotary DGC › August 16, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Nate BestGrayling Rotary DGC › August 20, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Forrest OmlandGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › May 18, 2014
B
Fun course having nice cement white and blue tees. Cool mix of open shots and around both ways through trees. Wooden baskets are neat.
-  +0 votes  + Forrest OmlandGrayling Rotary DGC › May 18, 2014
B
Nice long course with a little bit of everything. Looking forward to playing it again.
-  +0 votes  + Becky GilbertGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › August 22, 2013
B-
like the trash cans and brooms on every hole very clean. Need scorecards for that course. we picked a car up and discovered the car didnt match the course.
-  +0 votes  + Becky GilbertGrayling Rotary DGC › August 22, 2013
B
hole 18 was a disappointment. was looking forward to shooting down the big ski hill to the parking lot. It was obvious that hole 19 was an afterthought to make it more interesting.
-  +0 votes  + Glen ZimmermanGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › September 2, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jason "Mic" McCaryGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › November 17, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy MoranGrayling Rotary DGC › April 19, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Paul DohertyGrayling Rotary DGC › May 19, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Paul DohertyGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › May 19, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Daniel TuckerGrayling Rotary DGC › May 27, 2014
A+
Amazing course...Amazing view, maybe the best course I have ever played in 25 years odd playing the game.
-  +0 votes  + Daniel TuckerGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › May 27, 2014
B
Other than the trees that need it be cleaned up its a great course...awesome handmade baskets on new holes
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy KelloggGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › May 28, 2014
C
-  +0 votes  + Corey KieftGrayling Rotary DGC › May 28, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Corey KieftGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › May 28, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + MEAT BABYGrayling Rotary DGC › May 29, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + MEAT BABYGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › May 29, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Logan MyersGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › May 29, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Logan MyersGrayling Rotary DGC › June 18, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Krit BGrayling Rotary DGC › July 7, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Darwin HerronGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › July 30, 2014
A-
Great course absolutely loved it
-  +0 votes  + Sean BrennanGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › July 30, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Chad ColeGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › August 30, 2014
A-
Quite a pleasant surprise. Had no idea that Grayling would have two awesome courses for beginners and advanced. Nice and easy, but with some great holes all the same. Definitely playing it again next time I'm in the area.
-  +0 votes  + Dan GilfordGrayling Rotary DGC › September 5, 2014
A
Great course with lots of hill and long holes.
-  +0 votes  + Dan GilfordGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › September 5, 2014
B+
Great course. Has a good verity of holes.
-  +0 votes  + Patrick HoodGrayling Rotary Pine Knoll DGC › September 14, 2014
A
Awesome course!