Grand Woods Park

Lansing, Michigan     3 courses · 54 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +5 votes  + Harold FernandoMain course › August 7, 2012
A-
Great course, some technical shots, must have a good line selection...some of the holes can really mess you up. Water hazard at play, most of the holes have a backhand and forehand route which is pretty cool. PLAY EARLY!!! Gets very crowded and gets kinda wild at times with some of the people who play there. I've seen crazy things at the woods, overall a great course. Needs cleaning up...
-  +2 votes  + Wayne RolisonMain course › May 25, 2011
B
Awesome course when dry. Can be one of the busiest in the Lansing area though.
-  +1 votes  + Keith AtenMain course › November 9, 2010
B
-  +1 votes  + Marty MetheringhamMain course › November 19, 2010
B
-  +1 votes  + Steve HedstromMain course › September 18, 2011
B+
Grand woods is a fun course to play. They have a good mix of left, right, a couple open, and many woods, water will come into play on at least 6 holes. Pin placements are very good and really good tee pads. I would recommend a trip to play there and try to have enough time to play it twice (you will want to). There are a number of blind holes, so your first time go ahead and walk up the fairway to see where you should be shooting.
-  +1 votes  + Mark "Coach D" Di MambroMain course › November 6, 2011
A-
Very tough layout. Nice challenging course
-  +1 votes  + Josh BickelMain course › November 20, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + leftronics DavisMain course › November 26, 2011
A
Great shape, a lot cleaner than it used to be
-  +1 votes  + Benjamin MerkleMain course › February 7, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + philip balgerMain course › May 1, 2012
A-
Old School, first played here about 25 years ago.
-  +1 votes  + Lauren CurtisMain course › April 5, 2012
B+
Hate dealing with the dumb drunk wanna tough loud ****s that come out and play and mess up everyones game. Other than that, LOVE this course.
-  +1 votes  + Victor WahlMain course › March 27, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Matt DimickMain course › August 1, 2012
C-
Great course, but the casuals bring the rating way down
-  +0 votes  + Jason KarleMain course › November 7, 2010
B+
great course would be nice if there was some scorecards!
-  +0 votes  + Ezra ShortMain course › January 5, 2011
C
-  +0 votes  + Joel CoppernollMain course › January 11, 2011
B+
During the wet season it is a horrible course. All of the holes will be flooded. When it is dry, it is pretty good.
-  +0 votes  + jason munschyMain course › February 2, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Mike KocibaMain course › May 1, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Lee IrelandMain course › May 21, 2011
C+
There are 3 holes that have water covering the pin which makes it less fun to play
-  +0 votes  + Kyle WhitscellMain course › June 20, 2011
A-
Holes 5 and 6 are still underwater. Did not Play Ant Hill (hole 14). Standing water is slowly going down. Bug Spray is a MUST have.
-  +0 votes  + Matt DimickWest course › July 9, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Cory HurstMain course › July 23, 2011
B+
Great course when it's dry! When it's wet though, there are a few holes that can't be played due to flooding. Not to mention the water surrounding brings misquotes, so bring some spray. Overall though, its a diverse and fun course to play!
-  +0 votes  + Chip CoganMain course › July 26, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + David MiddletonMain course › July 14, 2011
C
still too wet,many holes close to unplayable
-  +0 votes  + Andy EngilshMain course › September 19, 2011
B-
too much water /marsh, especially during "wet" season
-  +0 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf-Main course › October 7, 2011
C+
-  +0 votes  + Nick DezinskiMain course › October 17, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Sal VMain course › November 18, 2011
B+
windy, windy, windy. I used stable discs today. It seemed to work. Fun air currents from the SW. Sun was out. Maybe 40 degrees. I had a hoodie over a hoodie. lol
-  +0 votes  + Zac R-GIRaFFEMain course › July 19, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Eric GarnaatMain course › December 28, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Zac R-GIRaFFEEast course › December 28, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Zac R-GIRaFFEWest course › December 28, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Christopher KirbyMain course › October 17, 2012
B-
This really has the potential to be a very good course, it just has too many downfalls. The course tends to flood a lot over the summer, (not this year which has been awesome) it is also hard to play in the afternoon due to the number of large groups that tend to play, and finally there is just too much vandalism on the course. I know this isn't the courses fault but it is just so frustrating to watch the course get destroyed by a bunch of immature little pricks.
-  +0 votes  + ken "sega salt" mooteEast course › January 10, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + James LudwickMain course › February 7, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + David LowMain course › February 7, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Bill LowerMain course › February 24, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Derek BodaMain course › March 20, 2012
A
Great course with great people. Prefferd course in the lansing area
-  +0 votes  + B DarraghMain course › March 21, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Matt "Shmo" MichaelsMain course › March 30, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Matthew MickeyMain course › April 1, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Mike SpagnuoloMain course › August 12, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + jeremy prebbleMain course › April 14, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Davis _Main course › August 2, 2012
C
The 24 hole layout is a challenge, the challenge is why I am voting as high as a C. Grand Woods park is filled with graffiti and trash. When the weather is nice the course is packed beyond capacity. Most 'locals' play in groups larger than six, and skip holes 5,6 and A-F making huge back ups on 7 and 8. Serious disc golfers and golfers with children should not play here. Save yourself the headache and play Burchfield.
-  +0 votes  + Kraig ShortMain course › April 28, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Michael MinzeyMain course › May 18, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + j calliMain course › May 21, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Dan De JongMain course › June 4, 2012
D
Had a few holes that were impressive and fun to play. But there were a lot of holes that cannot be played unless its been a hot and dry week. Lots of flooding
-  +0 votes  + Luke LangkampMain course › June 4, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Jose Bobillo IIIMain course › June 12, 2012
C+
-  +0 votes  + Kyle GreinerMain course › June 22, 2012
C
Overall course layout isn't too bad, but a few holes tend to be unplayable or near-unplayable due to water. This course also has the unfortunate tendency to be populated by tons of shady players who will steal your discs and ignore general etiquette. There's generally a nice guy to buy discs from in the parking lot, though, with a good selection. I recommend playing the quick nine twice rather than the full course in any case.
-  +0 votes  + Mike LiskeyMain course › July 2, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Aaron BrownMain course › July 9, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Dan HultinMain course › August 14, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jake GonzalezMain course › July 18, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Dan JenkinsMain course › July 20, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Bobby EvansMain course › July 29, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Gerrett LawrenceMain course › August 24, 2012
C
good course .... bad wait times ..... worst drunks
-  +0 votes  + Patrick FulkersonMain course › August 2, 2012
A
Overall for a course this is awesome. You will have to use nearly every shot you have. It's generally very well groomed. The only downside to this course is its large amount of casuals. So I recommend everyone play this course given a chance.. Preferably in a tournament setting. If not bring your patience, and tolerance and you will be fine as its not the courses fault the locals can be pain.
-  +0 votes  + Justin HooperMain course › August 6, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Nick M.Main course › March 5, 2013
B
This is my home course. Ive played this course at least 200 times. Still have yet to get a hold of it.
-  +0 votes  + Nate-Dog SheltonMain course › August 18, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Andrew TumaMain course › September 4, 2012
A-
i started playing here, love the course. has a variety of shots throughout, and things change depending on season and stuff which is cool. always try to get out there as much as possible.
-  +0 votes  + Eric RaifsniderMain course › September 6, 2012
B+
So I am new the Lansing Area, and this was the first course I played. This course offers a great variety of shots including narrow paths, Water holes (even thought the river is visibly down), Up and Down hill shots, Over and around Patches of dense foliage. And for you new players out there looking to get started DJ is out there pretty much daily until 6pm selling new and used discs, so its prime place to go for the new and advanced players alike. With School starting up again, its defiantly ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Derek KresgeMain course › September 10, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Erik AtkinsonEast course › September 17, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + Gabriel SturleyEast course › October 25, 2012
A
The go-to course in the Lansing area. Free to play, yet a challenging setup. If you haven't played The Woods, you haven't experienced Michigan Disc Golf at it's best!
-  +0 votes  + Sebastian HohlMain course › November 18, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Matt Elgersma - Team Frisci DiscEast course › November 20, 2012
B+
pros: variety of shots, great pads, great basket placement for the water holes, beautiful park. cons: needs new tee signs w/ diretions to next hole, could plant/move some trees to make some of the lines more tight. Overall I loved it and wish we had one like it in Grand Rapids
-  +0 votes  + Scott LawrenceMain course › November 26, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Chris ArnettEast course › November 21, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Kenneth EckhoffMain course › January 24, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Jerry "Chilly" ChilsonMain course › January 18, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Eric NelsonMain course › April 9, 2013
A-
Great course definitely one of my favorites.
-  +0 votes  + Patrick JouppiMain course › April 27, 2013
B
I love this course. I dig the water play, even though the Grand River gets out of hand every now and then and floods this place, most of the holes are still playable.
-  +0 votes  + dustin haysMain course › July 8, 2013
B+
Water is going down. Slowly
-  +0 votes  + Jordon HopkinsMain course › May 31, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Steve ObergMain course › June 23, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Dan ChandoMain course › July 8, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jim KnudsonMain course › August 4, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Hayden HallMain course › July 22, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Thomas TederingtonMain course › December 1, 2013
B+
Great course. Flooding can be an issue. Some long throws over or near water. Mosquitos can get bad.
-  +0 votes  + christopher rogalewskiMain course › July 25, 2013
B+
Cool course ....lots of different shots .... Like the water holes .... Couple nice chill spots ...luv watching people walk in the mud in hole two ....:) someone might not like u selling plastic here but the early bird gets the worm ...:)
-  +0 votes  + Ryan HolmesMain course › July 30, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Brian BaumMain course › August 11, 2013
B+
Like the layout, really have to know when to play smart and when you can unleash one. One of my favorite courses to play in the Lansing area.
-  +0 votes  + James hullMain course › September 14, 2013
B+
One of my favs never gets old
-  +0 votes  + Brad KramekMain course › September 30, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Max SaxtonMain course › October 3, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Chris ArnettWest course › November 21, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Chris ArnettMain course › November 21, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Ryan MartinMain course › March 18, 2014
B+
Fun course. But no signage.
-  +0 votes  + Matt SowleMain course › April 25, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Matthew DyerMain course › May 11, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Michael GearhartMain course › May 2, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Nick PorterEast course › May 30, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + D.J. SeehaseMain course › August 16, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Terry ArnoldEast course › June 14, 2014
B
Grand woods is sweet. It is pretty wet most of the time. I normally skip 2 of the holes but one of them was playable today. It is unique and awesome. I liked hole 16 b/c I've never seen that kind of hole on any other course, with just a few narrow paths going through big bushes and woods to the right.... a tomahawk is helpful for me here. 17 is also a beautiful one going from an open field then into a wooded area and up a hill to the basket. Over all this course rocks! Going along the Grand River is pretty sweet on the front 9.
-  +0 votes  + Josh IMain course › June 24, 2014
B
Nice course but lots of mosquitoes and hipsters.
-  +0 votes  + Nick OMain course › June 28, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Joe JohnsonMain course › July 6, 2014
B
Nice course. Very busy. Holes 5 and 6 were unplayable (flooded), but otherwise very fun. It would GREATLY benefit from more signage. I had to ask for help finding the next hole several times.
-  +0 votes  + Don SlaterMain course › July 12, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jim BastianMain course › July 13, 2014
A
great course very challenging
-  +0 votes  + Ben BobowskiMain course › July 21, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + morgan ettingerMain course › August 8, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Kris VezinoMain course › December 1, 2014
A
-  -1 votes  + Randy ShreveMain course › October 9, 2010
B-
-  -1 votes  + Ryan BoelterMain course › October 11, 2010
B
-  -1 votes  + Chris SmithMain course › October 27, 2010
B+
-  -1 votes  + grant wardMain course › March 8, 2011
B-
-  -1 votes  + Zac OrleskieMain course › September 12, 2011
D+
Flooded on part of 5... navigating to next tee pads is challenging mostly blind guessing. Fun overall beautiful scenery
-  -1 votes  + Angel GilbertMain course › August 27, 2012
B
i played this in 2001, 2007, and 2012.
it was interesting when i played it in 2007 for the first disc girls gone wild event and vastly different now in 2012 less water they made a lot of the hole much more easy in my opinion.
-  -1 votes  + james-JOSH- russellMain course › January 7, 2013
C-
I didnt like this course. There was only two holes that I could reach to begin with and was always playing for par. And being winter, I couldnt imagine playing in the spring and summer with all the water and loosing discs. I don't know, something unexplainable really rubbed me wrong about this course.
-  -1 votes  + Fred VocinoMain course › June 17, 2013
B
This course seems to have fallen victim to the melting of the polar icecaps. DG activists in the Lansing area are on top of the issues and are making changes to insure that people can play during the wet season.
-  -2 votes  + Derrick DunvilleMain course › June 5, 2011
F-
Some sketchy mofos with a golden pit bull stole my star vulcan tie dye and took off!
Beware of sketchy people walking around the course with no discs lurking behind you at this course.
-  -2 votes  + Brent BeardMain course › February 6, 2012
C
Given the 50 degree temperature in Michigan in February, I shouldn't have been surprised to find that the entire course was a mud bog...and yet I was.
-  -2 votes  + Kevin BoyntonMain course › November 10, 2013
A-
I have to say that I have to eat some crow. I reviewed Grand Woods when I was angry. I had just played the course for the first time in a tournament, and had not played any warm up rounds. The weather for that day was total crap and I did not play well. I have to say after playing it again that I appreciate Grand Woods for what it is. A classic layout. Not super long, but it doesn't have to be. Some holes on that course really test your ability to hit a line. Number 15 for a RHBH throwe ...
continue reading ›
-  -3 votes  + Corey KieftMain course › October 17, 2010
B-
-  -3 votes  + Kevin ReddyMain course › November 27, 2011
C-
This was my first time back here in about 10 years, and for some reason I had trouble finding the 10th hole (basket). I wasted a lot of time walking ahead and backtracking, and wasn't able to play all 18 holes, and therefore could not post my score, either. That sucks. On a positive note, I did enjoy the 15 holes that I did play. I put one in the river, but was able to fish it out with a VERY long branch - LOL.
-  -3 votes  + kirk conradEast course › October 9, 2012
F+
-  -4 votes  + kirk conradWest course › October 9, 2012
F
-  -4 votes  + kirk conradMain course › October 9, 2012
F-