Dabney State Park

Troutdale, Oregon     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + Mr. Snap › September 3, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Daneger Jones › August 12, 2014
A
Great place to play, very dynamic and diverse layout. Fun for all skill levels.
-  +0 votes  + Luke Johnson › June 23, 2014
A-
I love this course. Great tee pads and signs. Lots of maintenance has been done since I first started playing in 2008. Nettles are still a small issue. Gravel has been added to the muddiest spots.
-  +0 votes  + THE "BEAST" OF THE WOODS › June 16, 2014
B
Cleverly designed holes in wooded park. A bit difficult to navigate but some signage or walk outs could easily fix that.
-  +0 votes  + Matt Bressler › January 21, 2014
B+
Course kinda reminds me of Dexter Park. Really enjoyed my round there. Plenty of trees to mess with your score but thats Oregon disc golf!
-  +0 votes  + Sean Davis › January 18, 2014
A
This course has everything you could want in a course and it's close. If I could learn to play well here I feel I could play well at any course.
-  +0 votes  + Cron Emus › January 16, 2014
A
Dabney is one of my favorite courses in the state for any number of reasons. Perfect variety of distance and accuracy. The back 9 can kill your score quickly if you aren't paying attention, but the front 9 has quite a few birdie looks. Very well established course, and even though it gets a lot of play, I have never felt crowded.
-  +0 votes  + Dan Beegle › December 30, 2013
A
Awesome course. My number 1 choice in oregon.
-  +0 votes  + Randy Mooney › December 27, 2013
A
Great all around fun course.
-  +0 votes  + Estherhouse - › November 1, 2013
A-
Great coarse. Stay away from my oyster mushrooms.
-  +0 votes  + john narkaus › October 11, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jason "Rooster" Bruster › August 20, 2013
A
What a great course! The last few holes are really tightly treed and made for a fun finish to the round
-  +0 votes  + Grape Ape › August 3, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + casey browning › June 19, 2013
A-
i just love this course , good technical par 3
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Rakoz › June 16, 2013
A-
A solid course with loads of options. Playing it often is probably good, multiple lines of attack of every tee and multiple pin placements for each tee; knowing this course is half the battle. Needs new sinage, needs new distances (some very wrong), and a few little things here and there.
-  +0 votes  + Paul Fraser › June 5, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Pink Passion › June 4, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Lee White › May 19, 2013
A-
awesome course except hole 17
-  +1 votes  + Daddy B › May 19, 2013
A
One of the best courses around. A great mix of all difficulties; some long open drives, some through trees, varying water features - absolutely beautiful!
-  +0 votes  + Jason Stangland › April 27, 2013
A-
beautiful
-  +0 votes  + Jerry L. › March 28, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Jeremiah Zimmerman › March 11, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Brandon M. Gundlach › May 10, 2013
A
-  +1 votes  + Ian Clark-Williams › September 23, 2012
A
Awesome course, over some water hazards and gets technical through some trees. Fresh air, pretty girls, tossin plastic. Who could ask for more?!
-  +0 votes  + Jason Sosnowski › September 22, 2012
B
Badass course with elevation changes on 300+ foot holes. Back nine had some shorter duece and putter drives. Apparently most have multiple pin placements. a couple wide open 420ft. And water on 1 or 2 holes. Good mix of difficulty with some "should be" birdies.
-  +1 votes  + Brad Hummel › September 17, 2012
A
Great course with mainly technical shots. The last few holes are bad if you go off the cliff, but overall is a fun course
-  +1 votes  + Thomas "T" D. › September 16, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Casey Kimball › August 20, 2012
A
This is a great course, may get a bit crowded and overall its pretty much 3 pars the whole way,but this place has such a great variety of shots, the water hazard on hole 3, and a mess of trees and the canyon of doom on the back 9....a must play!!
-  +1 votes  + Mike Lowe › August 20, 2012
A-
-  +2 votes  + Jeff Williams › August 9, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Ryan Tech › July 26, 2012
B+
they have a great wednesday night league.
-  -3 votes  + Jen Tech › July 26, 2012
B+
I wish there was less muddy spots.
-  +0 votes  + Dawg Chadborn › July 26, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Trader Joe › July 26, 2012
B+
One of my favorites. Short and long positions, shade, and restrooms.
-  +2 votes  + Nick Nisbet › July 17, 2012
A-
This course kicked my ass! Can't wait to get revenge. Must play if you live in oregon. First couple holes have an urban feel. Then it goes open field, couple up in an orchird, back to field, then finishes in a forest setting. Great course just be ready to find parking if you arrive later in the day. As this is a very popular swim spot. Concrete tee pads w/ signed holes. Plan a couple rounds here as it is a challenging course you will want to play twice.
-  +0 votes  + Jason D. Hardin › July 16, 2012
A+
very fun
-  +0 votes  + Sean Chapman › July 10, 2012
A-
Dabney will make you play most discs in your bag. It will make you think about most shots. Very well designed course with everything you would want in a course. Every hole has multiple pin placements and are changed often. Only con with this course is the signs are not always accurate due to the changing of the pins making it very tough (especially for people who are new to the course) to navigate your way through the holes and the course itself. Dabney is one of my favorites in the greater Portland area.
-  +0 votes  + Josh Majors › July 6, 2012
A
-  -1 votes  + Dan Rosas › June 5, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Julian Rondello › May 21, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + marc b › May 12, 2012
A-
-  +1 votes  + Nicholas "LUSH" Somppi › May 11, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Nik Carlson › May 5, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Brendan Benfit › May 5, 2012
A+
Fun technical coure lots of different shots to work on.
-  +0 votes  + erik johansen › April 29, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + steven kochendorfer › April 27, 2012
B
-  -1 votes  + Andrew Kochendorfer › April 26, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + ned blaisdell › April 19, 2012
A
Great course, I like the how differant the front and back 9 look.
-  +1 votes  + Mark Johansen › April 16, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Kevin Sweeley aka ONE LIVID MIND › March 26, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Matt Yencopal › March 8, 2012
B
-  +1 votes  + corey j › March 5, 2012
A+
The sun was great got my burn on yeah
-  +1 votes  + - scottishrob - › January 29, 2012
B
a very challenging course to play, it will force you to throw a variety of shots as the course plays through the park it has uphill and downhill shots, water shots, forehand backhand and overhand shots just about everything you could ask for all that being said it is a terrible course for tournament play on some of the lower holes play right next to each other its very difficult to putt when others are ripping drives right past you but a great course for casual play and training
-  -1 votes  + Jason Child › January 22, 2012
B
This is a GREAT course! This is closer to what I feel disc golf in the Northwest should be about; moss, ponds and stinging nettles! Dabney is both in a beautiful setting and nifty part of the northern Willamette valley. The two main layouts make of a good variety of technical and arm-stretching shots without digressing into the "woods-field-woods-field" pattern. Sloppy in the winter (and spring, parts of summer and fall...it is Oregon after all). In the spring and summer there are some great pla ...
continue reading ›
-  +2 votes  + Wayne Curry › January 15, 2012
A
Love this course!
-  +0 votes  + Jared Kastleman › December 13, 2011
B+
Great course, a solid variety of terrain with trees, water and elevation change. Forces a variety of throws for the player. Dabney is well maintained with a great practice area. Some of the signage could be improved. Alternate pin positions add to the appeal. This course has a propensity for windy conditions and can become almost unplayable. It is nice to play somewhere that is solely a disc golf course.
-  +1 votes  + spectralmonkey 11 › December 13, 2011
A-
love this course.
-  +1 votes  + Vince Epker › December 5, 2011
B+
Actually a fun course when it is not pouring rain...and I liked the new #1
-  -1 votes  + Cliff Dennis › January 13, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + sheryl breck › January 29, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Roger Breck › November 19, 2011
A-
-  +2 votes  + Corey Dempsey › November 17, 2011
A-
I Loved it !!. Nice concrete tee pads,signs at all holes,very Beautiful Scenery throughout, it has longs, shorts,ups ,downs ,lefts and rights, this course will really test your game. Trees and more trees. Very challenging 18 holes. Oh and bring your boots it gets muddy,and $5.00 for parking *unless you have a Oregon State Park/Forest Pass...Well worth the short drive out to Troutdale.
-  +1 votes  + Josh Marcella › October 30, 2011
A+
Had a great time at this course. There is a great mix of shots here that keep the game very interesting. Seems to be a course that won't be flooded in the winter.
-  +0 votes  + Merak Breck › October 30, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Sara R › October 10, 2011
A
This course is awesome! Great variation in types of throws, IE, water mando, technical, open, elevation changes, etc.. absolutely love the variety. Only thing I didn't like was the way that many fairways in opposing directions were so close; just because the other fairway is a mando doesn't mean that someone isn't going to throw right at you! On accident of course... Oh, and the tee signs are inaccurate.
-  -1 votes  + mike hatfield › September 29, 2011
B
-  -1 votes  + Patrick Johnson › September 15, 2011
B+
-  -2 votes  + "Rosemere" Richard › September 9, 2011
B
-  +3 votes  + AGRO JACKSON › September 3, 2011
A-
Awesome course! Love the elevation changes and the mixture of n and out of the woods holes. Felt a lil cramped and the last three cliff holes were humbling. Needed help w direction too... Alll around a great course that i would travel to just to play.
-  -2 votes  + Steve Carson › September 3, 2011
B-
-  -1 votes  + David Smith › August 19, 2011
A
-  +2 votes  + charles andersen › August 17, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Sparkplug X › August 7, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Sir Rockwood › August 6, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Brian "NW Discs" Zettervall › January 9, 2012
B-
-  +2 votes  + Jerry Kirkland › August 3, 2011
A+
love the hard open followed by tough tech holes. lots of challanges love the place
-  +1 votes  + William Deegan › August 20, 2011
A
awesome course the trees will kill you at the end.
-  +3 votes  + Alvin Natarte › July 29, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + James Szlavich › July 9, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + Jeremy Running › July 8, 2011
B+
-  +5 votes  + Dru "Stylez" › July 3, 2011
A
This Place is Great as it Offers up some Challenging Shots... You got to Have some Diverse Throwing Skills To get down on this Course. Nice Tee Boxes and Baskets. Flows well and Reminds me of a Cross between Pier and Adair Parks. I will deffenitally be Back!
-  +0 votes  + Jerry Brown › July 1, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Harrison Hogan › June 26, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + TJ Baxter › June 24, 2011
A
Love this course. I used to play here when I worked in Gresham and it is a blast! A little whooped from the hill climbs but overall I LOVE THIS COURSE. PS I hate hole 2; not because its a bad hole because I have a hell of time making it over the pond!
-  -1 votes  + Christian Alexander › May 17, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Kenny Hall › February 13, 2013
B
-  +2 votes  + ADAM ELLIOTT › May 10, 2011
A
This course will deffinatley test every aspect of your game very fun but can get very soggy in the winter and spring!
-  +0 votes  + Casey H › April 24, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Kirk Erickson › April 12, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + xander waibel › April 7, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Nate Hillenkamp › April 1, 2011
A-
-  +2 votes  + Adin Nelson › December 13, 2011
A
new tee pad for 3 is much improved and level! new pin location for 9..... hard right.... new gravel and paths from 6-7... alot of improvements since i played last...BASKET CHANGES.... 18 gone, new hole 1 by practice basket....
-  -1 votes  + Brad "HeftyLefty" smethers › March 20, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + KC KARR › March 26, 2011
A
Dabney kicks ass, well worth the drive - I make it out there a few times a week and usually play a couple games. Dabney has taught me the need for forehand shots as well as the need for utilizing various discs. Despite playing regularly, I still sacrifice discs to the pond on 2 and have lost them in the creek on 5 when there is heavy flow.
-  -2 votes  + Seth Navarre › February 20, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Nate Hoxmeier › February 20, 2011
A
Might seem a little frustrating playing at first but once you get the hang of the course it's great. Nice variety of technical shots. Little muddy but what course isn't. I like the pond on #2 but most everyone else seems to skip it.
-  +0 votes  + Dan Brown › February 14, 2011
A-
-  -1 votes  + Matt Kelly › February 11, 2011
B-
-  +1 votes  + Tim "Timmbo" Wenrich › February 9, 2011
A
-  +3 votes  + Chris Faudree › February 5, 2011
A-
Played in the rain and it was awesome! Hole 2 with the water hazard is the best, high stakes shot! Good mixture of open fields and tight tree alleys.
-  +0 votes  + Joel Jones "Jonesy" › January 23, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + kelly heard › January 21, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Mike"Long Arm" Lowe › January 10, 2011
A
-  +2 votes  + Steve Gallaway › January 7, 2011
A
The thing I've always loved about this course is that you need every disc & shot in your bag. Long, short, left, right. It can be easy on one day, & crazy difficult the next.
-  -3 votes  + David Newton II › January 4, 2011
C
I was not impressed with Dabney at all. It felt like it could have been an awsome course, but no one cared to take it to that level. It was over grown, and on half the holes there seemed to be no path to the basket what so ever. Make sure to walk the holes to determine pin location (the signs are not always accurate), and use a spotter on blind shots. This place will eat discs if you are not careful.
-  +1 votes  + Judd Alexander › January 19, 2011
A
-  +3 votes  + Brandon Johnson › December 14, 2010
A-
mushy!
-  +1 votes  + Dallas Lamoureaux › December 14, 2010
B+
-  +1 votes  + TREE Sines › December 6, 2010
B+
top 9, fun bottom 9 a lil harder still fun
-  +1 votes  + Dusty adkins › December 5, 2010
A+
-  +3 votes  + hippie nick › December 1, 2010
A+
awesome course hope to go there more
-  +1 votes  + Josh Fancher › November 30, 2010
A
-  +1 votes  + Stephen Sines › November 21, 2010
B+
Lots of control shots, hyzers are blocked out alot. fun course.
two different basket types on both nine's is a bit strange.
Roc course
-  +0 votes  + Airport Mike › November 6, 2010
A-
-  +7 votes  + Mateo of Hylton Baskets › October 17, 2010
A-
Pros: Challenging course. Beautiful scenery and friendly people. Concrete tee boxes w/ well maintained baskets. Wooded areas and diverse terrain elevations/obstacles. Great workout for both your body and the playability of your game. Some benches provided for resting. And a clean park overall. Cons: if I recall correctly one of the holes runs along an adjacent hole (10) and if you shank it to the the left it is hard to recover the disc if lost (being time spent as you play 2-3 holes before ge ...
continue reading ›
-  -4 votes  + jewahcon mitchell › October 16, 2010
C
-  +0 votes  + kErnAl "i'm a legend in my spare time" bUk3t › October 16, 2010
B
-  +1 votes  + shaggy f › October 15, 2010
A-
-  +1 votes  + YounG GuN OG Johnson › October 1, 2010
A+
-  +2 votes  + TOE "Tee Off Even Under Pressure" UP › October 1, 2010
A-
man i love it and hate it at the same time its a love hate relationship
-  +0 votes  + Christopher Smith › September 28, 2010
A-
-  +0 votes  + Dan The Man › September 25, 2010
B-
-  -1 votes  + Cameron "overrated" ficker › November 7, 2010
A-
I bet i'm there right now
-  +2 votes  + Dustin Ticknor › September 23, 2010
A
-  +2 votes  + David Zimmerman › September 19, 2010
B+
-  +2 votes  + Andy Verhoeven › September 17, 2010
A-
lots of fun.
-  +2 votes  + JimBONUS Gower › September 9, 2010
A-
Great course! Other than the bathrooms spread to far apart the amenitys are good. Plenty of benches at each hole and a nice picnic area far away enough from the disc golf course to be out of danger. NOT A NOVICE COURSE! They change the pin placements alot so know the course before playing.
-  -6 votes  + Josiah C.O.T.F.C. › September 8, 2010
D+
Incredibly overgrown, swampy and buggy even in the summer months. Some of the Par 3s should be 4s in my opinion. Wear long pants cuz if you go off the narrow fairways you well be in hip deep sting nettle and blackberry bushes on most holes. Spotters are a must.
-  +4 votes  + ' B U M P ' › September 7, 2010
A
HAHAHAHAHAHA....Its dabney! sometimes you eat it, sometimes it eats you! I love it!!!