Cold Brook Park

Climax, Michigan     1 course · 24 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +8 votes  + Andy SmithFactory › October 2, 2010
A-
If you don't like it, don't come.
-  +7 votes  + Scott Pierzchala › October 18, 2010
B
Wow, sounds like somebody had a bad round.

I love Cold Brook. Great variety of shots, good test of accuracy and holding lines, and a good mix of short tech and medium shots with a few longer holes. 18 gets kind of swampy during rainy seasons and thaws, it's the lowest hole there but kind of a cool challenge to clear the water. I've met nothing but friendly and cool people here, and the locals seem to respect the course pretty well. Hole #2 is my favorite shot here.
-  +6 votes  + Sean Blazo › May 17, 2011
A
play this course enough and you will master your mental game. at least that's what al shack, tim weimer, david feldberg, and other great players have done out there. you learn how to roll with the punches. any decent player is physically capable of posting a 18-21 under here on a perfect round. but perfect rounds don't happen here. gotta take what you can get and stay in your game till the last putt goes in. people that call this course luck-based don't know shit. luck might be a big fa ...
continue reading ›
-  +4 votes  + Steve Hedstrom › October 18, 2010
B+
Coldbrook is a fun course with a bit of everything. Open, woods, left, right, down, up, elevation, accuracy, distance, water. 24 holes and alcohol is allowed :)
If you are in the area, don't miss this one.
-  +3 votes  + Jeremy Wright › March 13, 2011
B
Great park, great layout, challenging shot's, great atmosphere!
-  +1 votes  + Nick Bosovich › May 21, 2011
B+
fun challenging course that will test every shot u have and putting here is crucial to capitalize when u can because count on hitting some trees and unexpected bogeys.
-  +1 votes  + Todd Branch › September 29, 2012
B+
This is a great course to practice your finesse game. Shape your shots and roll with the punches. Hit an early tree and test your scrambling skills. Hit a late tree and test your putting skills. Hit all the trees and go meditate on the lakefront beach that sits a hundred feet away from hole#1 basket. Always good people around.
-  +1 votes  + Victor Wahl › January 24, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Collins Nance › October 6, 2010
B+
-  +0 votes  + Tim Sylvain › November 12, 2010
C+
-  +0 votes  + Jason Kirkaldy › August 25, 2011
B
sweet course, i like the new layout, havent been there in awhile and they do a great job at maintaining the course
-  +0 votes  + Brad Ascherman › August 29, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Mark The Truth Stubbs › September 9, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Andy Engilsh › September 19, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf- › October 7, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Harold Fernando › February 7, 2012
A-
Great layout and basket placement...pretty challenging if you've never played this course but there's definitely a variety of shots with some elevation changes. Some water at play.
-  +0 votes  + Christopher Kirby › March 13, 2012
B+
It is a very good course. Lots of very tough and interesting lines to play. Make sure you pay the $5 to park because they monitor it very well and if you don't pay it is a $100 fine.
-  +0 votes  + Brent Beard › March 13, 2012
B+
Very nice course, but the pay to park is kind of rediculous if your not going to staff the park or even unlock the bathrooms.
-  +0 votes  + dustin conine › April 26, 2012
B+
Trees can be a round killer
-  +0 votes  + Chris D › June 5, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Jimmy Jean › May 28, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Luke Langkamp › June 11, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jose Bobillo III › June 11, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Jared Luxton › June 11, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Cyndi Allen › July 10, 2012
B+
Tough lines
-  +0 votes  + Dan Hultin › July 16, 2012
B+
The up hill hyzer with a low ceiling but well kept rough was a welcome first hole and promised an interesting course. A lot of these holes have bird or ace potential and then some of them are just in range for par. A wide variety of holes on some good ground makes for a interesting round of discgolf. $5 for parking is worth it and this course will be played again for sure. The teepads are fantastic and they are marked well too. A couple of the holes play into the others and this could cause ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Brian Reyva › July 19, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Mark "Coach D" Di Mambro › August 31, 2012
B
Nice tough Course
-  +0 votes  + Adam Veenkant › October 9, 2012
A
Grew up in Climax; Were it all begain!!!! Love Cold Brook 1st course ever played!!
-  +0 votes  + Connor Gortsema › February 17, 2013
C+
lol I see a lot of the reviews saying "If you dont like it dont come" cracks me up lol. (should never be said in the disc golf community, unless you enjoy bullying people who have opinions different then your own.) I see maybe half of these holes as being legit caliber shots, especially hole 24, i love that hole. I think it provides a good test of skill. Hole 2 is pretty sweet as well as 18, 19, 20, 22, 24. However, a lot of the shorter holes have a lot of random trees placed in bad spots, po ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Kenny Bob › September 27, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Cole Morison › June 9, 2013
B-
I LIKE TREES!
-  +0 votes  + Ben Jacobs › June 10, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Eric Grinwis › June 30, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Caleb Bowen › July 19, 2014
A
Nice looking course! Fun to play with a pretty forgiving rough.
-  +0 votes  + Landon Satterfield › August 18, 2013
B
Very high fun factor. Laid back atmosphere. Park staff is reasonable general good upkeep.
-  +0 votes  + mike hammer › August 29, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + ron dolnik › September 9, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + VINCENT 25149 › September 24, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Zoltan Kocsondy › September 24, 2013
C+
-  +0 votes  + Adam Person › August 25, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Cody L Smith › July 26, 2014
A-
bugs!!!!
-  +0 votes  + Ragna Bygde › April 28, 2014
A
How this course can have the same score as Leila is insane. Coldbrook is one of the best courses in the area, Leila is not. This course have great variety but to be honest there are local routes you learn as you go. First time was miserable for a European used to open fairways but a few weeks into it, starting to love it! A group of different skill sets would all do well here.
-  +0 votes  + Tim Stecker › April 28, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Michael Gearhart › May 2, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Ben Gosset › May 6, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Nate Simpson › May 15, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Zack Burkeen › May 27, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Brad Brundage › July 13, 2014
C+
Too many similar/tight holes.
-  +0 votes  + Jake Stafford › September 5, 2014
A+
Love the course .....lots of shade....great fairways...maintained very well ...awesome day of disc golf...everything just felt great!!!!!!
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Schmuker › September 6, 2014
B-
A lot a holes begging to be aced. The course demands you hit your lines to card a decent score. Some pretty ridiculous tree locations. Good course, but I don't like paying 5 bucks to play it.
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Boynton › September 14, 2014
A
Cold Brook is proof that a disc golf course doesn't have to be long to be tough. Accurate, accurate, accurate. Hit your line, get your pars, and birdies will come to you. Don't force it. Love how the course flows. It is extremely easy to navigate, and the locals are about as nice as they come. I will be back for sure.
-  +0 votes  + Chad Cole › September 17, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Gillhespy › October 3, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Shawn B › November 9, 2014
B
-  -1 votes  + Jen Dombrowski › October 1, 2010
A
-  -1 votes  + Kevin Baldwin › February 11, 2011
A
I firmly believe if you can hit your lines here, than you can do it anywhere. This coarse has helped produce four world champions. With shoots 250' and in you'll see on numerous coarses in mich. Like any other place, Bring your putter.
-  -1 votes  + Joel Coppernoll › April 9, 2011
B
Way to many tree's for me. Very tough course. This course will test yours skills.
-  -1 votes  + Ashley Frederick › May 21, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Philip Penzien › June 9, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Thomas Malkewitz › June 20, 2011
B+
Not a bad course, i didn't get to play the alternates though.
-  -1 votes  + Matthew Holuszko › September 13, 2011
A-
Began playing here in '94. Have heard people say that the course requires luck ever since I started. Strange that most good players have always scored under par consistently. Anyhow, great course for practicing finesse and control. Do not throw big, throw accurate.
-  -1 votes  + jon blocksma › August 26, 2011
A
-  -1 votes  + Jay Williams › September 23, 2011
A+
-  -1 votes  + Jared Dow › January 5, 2012
A+
I look forward to Saturday dubs every week...love this course.
-  -1 votes  + Adam Dahlgren › February 17, 2012
A-
-  -1 votes  + Michael Snider › February 22, 2012
A
very nice all around course. Great open areas along with many wooded shots, OB and water hazards. many elevation changes, beautiful course
-  -1 votes  + MARK HASSELBRING › March 6, 2012
A
-  -1 votes  + christopher P › March 27, 2012
A+
great people, great course, great course, new favorite, awesome course
pb:+7 (played once)24
-  -1 votes  + Ryan Koster › April 16, 2012
A+
-  -1 votes  + Dave Davies › July 12, 2014
A-
Another one of Kalamazoo's top courses. lots of trees, and a few shots for us lefties. great variation, few holes to open up on, and lots of holes to shape lines on. pay to get into the park but well worth it. Always clean and a favorite for the locals.
-  -1 votes  + Nathan Stover › April 25, 2012
A
This is a great course! One of the better ones in this area.
-  -1 votes  + Toby Nichols › May 6, 2012
A-
-  -1 votes  + andy schroeder › May 13, 2012
A-
-  -1 votes  + Joshua Bloomfield › May 13, 2012
A-
very nice course, like the cement pads, as well as the various length of the holes.
-  -1 votes  + john carter › May 17, 2012
A-
Dnt know the date I played this course
-  -1 votes  + Dylan Lemley › May 30, 2012
A-
-  -1 votes  + Jonathan Trapane › July 31, 2012
A-
-  -1 votes  + Bryan Jones › August 8, 2012
A-
Nice course with plenty of obstacles to make it challenging. There are a few water hazards that make even experienced players worry of losing a disc.
-  -1 votes  + Christopher Jones › August 12, 2012
A-
-  -1 votes  + dave gardner › August 12, 2012
A
The most tight course Ive ever played and yet still had fun doing so. Power throws here are a very bad idea. Its all about placement and patience..dont get frustrated by ping pong trees..
-  -1 votes  + Thomas Hibbard › August 23, 2012
A
High difficulty precision shooting but all but 3 holes are dueceable by me. The most fun and rewarding disc golfing you can have.
-  -1 votes  + Angel Gilbert › August 27, 2012
B
liked this course a lot want to go play it some time soon to write a better review for it
-  -1 votes  + Matthew Maynard › October 8, 2012
A
This is an amazing course. The locals are wonderful and respect the course. Its is well kept and cleaned. The hole arrangement is wonderful and all holes are easily to find. The course has wonderful flow. The holes themselves are a perfect mix of long/short, righty/lefty. Excellent course!
-  -1 votes  + Chris Craft › October 8, 2012
A-
-  -1 votes  + MEAT BABY › December 17, 2012
A
-  -1 votes  + Dustin Humphrey › February 14, 2013
A-
-  -1 votes  + Kyle Rusk › May 7, 2013
A
-  -1 votes  + Forrest Omland › August 8, 2013
A
Glad we played this course as we were passing through. Nicely done on just about everything. Definitely check this one out.
-  -1 votes  + Josh Pena › June 24, 2013
A-
Challenging course that is very well maintained. The lines can be frustrating for a beginner and seasoned player. The course is fairly technical and is worth the play the extra holes make this a nice course worth the destination trip and the elevation changes are a fun change of pace from some of the other area courses.
-  -1 votes  + Gary Frader › July 21, 2013
A
I liked this course alot of fun tree shots.
-  -1 votes  + Erik Pierson › August 12, 2013
A
-  -1 votes  + Rob "CaptnHowdy" Salik › August 14, 2013
A-
Great course and sweet layout. Some pads could use some love thou.
-  -1 votes  + Tom Sobleskey › August 17, 2013
A-
First Time Playin, Tough Course But alot Of Fun!
-  -1 votes  + Moses Pigeon › September 2, 2013
A
Course is fun, well designed for challenging shots. Some birdie and ace opportunities and lots of woods.
-  -1 votes  + Justin Aschbrenner › September 24, 2013
A-
-  -1 votes  + Jordan Snyder › November 15, 2013
A+
Fun every time I go. If you miss your lines, it's very frustrating, so there's more incentive to focus and get better.
-  -1 votes  + Josh Noce › November 30, 2013
A
-  -2 votes  + Josh Ryder › October 18, 2010
A
If you like tite shots and a challenge or to better ur game, cold brooks great for u!
-  -2 votes  + Tate Handy › September 30, 2010
B
-  -2 votes  + Nick Crow › October 1, 2010
B-
-  -2 votes  + Robert Radtke › October 3, 2010
B+
-  -2 votes  + Austin McCollum › November 4, 2010
B+
This course has a great mixture between wooded and open holes, which allows for some birdies and bogeys.
-  -2 votes  + Lance Bayliss › November 1, 2010
B+
-  -2 votes  + Nate Knox › June 6, 2012
A-
-  -2 votes  + Scott Wilson › February 16, 2012
C
I helped in the design and building of this course and although I love it personally I can only give it a C when compared to other area courses.
-  -3 votes  + Willis Wesley › February 3, 2011
A
-  -3 votes  + Patrick Morrison › April 19, 2011
A
-  -3 votes  + john jeff carter › May 1, 2012
A-
-  -4 votes  + Skyler stoker › March 9, 2014
C-
Pros
-24 holes
-Elevation
-Tee pads and baskets were in ok shape but baskets were quite old and low to the ground

Cons
-Navigation was interesting if not accompanied by a local
-Lots of "local" routes without which many of the lines appear almost unthrowable
-No hole really stands out in my mind other than the "UHH??" factor
-Tons of backups in tournament play
-Pay to play and yet they still have what appear to be the original baskets
-Overall I saw basically nothing that would make this an "A" rated course

-  -5 votes  + Tim Burrill › September 23, 2010
A-
-  -5 votes  + Corey Kieft › February 14, 2012
A-
-  -8 votes  + David Hedstrom › April 13, 2011
B-
Course is decent. Not my favorite, not very challenging and most importantly not very fair. Most of the lines are good but too many 200-250 anhyzers down tight lines. Bad kicks and roll-aways can significantly hurt your score as they frequently do. Signage is good and there is a large range of hole distances and varying fairways. My biggest problem with this course is that it seems as though the course is designed for discs that don't fly very far or fast so most holes are just short, tight and not very creative.