Champoeg State Park

Newberg, Oregon     1 course · 15 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +2 votes  + Andy Verhoeven › September 17, 2010
B
would be better with 3 more holes. In the winter it could be wet
-  +1 votes  + David Zimmerman › September 19, 2010
B-
-  +1 votes  + George Laguna › September 23, 2010
A-
We stayed in the campground! It was nice to wake up and throw.
Far from a store. Plan it right
-  +2 votes  + Brad Phillips › September 25, 2010
B+
Flat course with lots of trees. Many long drives and a few short. Not very many places to lose discs.
-  +2 votes  + YounG GuN OG Johnson › October 1, 2010
B+
-  +4 votes  + TOE "Tee Off Even Under Pressure" UP › October 7, 2010
B+
i have never played there when it wet but i bet it sucks there when it is
-  +4 votes  + Thomas "T" D. › October 21, 2010
B
I love the mix of open and thru the tree's shots. Tee's need to be concrete and baskets are pretty beat up. Super fun when its dry. A swamp when its wet. Needs restrooms closer to the disc course,long walk to the one thats there. A beautiful course and fun to play.
-  +3 votes  + shaggy f › October 21, 2010
B
it was a fun course good flow its not a hard course just easy to mess up i think the tree r made of rubber if u hit one ur getting stopped or bouncing a mile still fun course
-  -2 votes  + Cameron "overrated" ficker › June 21, 2011
C+
-  +1 votes  + Will Dicker › October 21, 2010
A
-  +3 votes  + Josiah C.O.T.F.C. › October 22, 2010
B
solid course. flat but fun. 3 more holes and real tee pads well get it an A
-  +0 votes  + Shane the Chain Johnson › October 30, 2010
C+
what can i say about poey! lol i just did nice course just a bit on the boring side. and i hate rubber pads in the winter
-  +4 votes  + The Ronin › January 18, 2011
C
WET! Way soggy, lakes everywhere, muddy baskets, uneven tees, tees are worn away rubber. Layout is nice, needs some tlc. FIX THE TEES!!!!!!!
-  +1 votes  + David Newton II › January 4, 2011
B
A fun for the whole family course when it is dry. Great mix of holes for all ages. The rubber tee pads should really get replaced with concrete, and three more holes would make this an A course in my book. Not because it is a hard or epic course, but simply because it is a fun course for my entire family. A bathroom closer to the course (even a porta-potty) would be a great addition.
-  +4 votes  + Dru "Stylez" › March 12, 2012
D
Too Flat n Muddy... Tee's WTHell... Uneven Rubber, and you have to Pay for that. I was really Disappointed in this Place as you (WE) must Pay to Play... You Might think they would do something a little Bigger n Better than that for the Money. Sadly... I will NOT be making this a Future Hot Spot. Unless some Serious Renovation takes Place... Better Drainage is a Must in this LAKE... Maybe a Conversion into an 18 or 27 Hole Course! 03/10/12 They took out some of the Baskets (too muddy) Pads still Suck!
-  +1 votes  + matt anderson › January 24, 2011
C
-  +3 votes  + jordan paasch › March 22, 2011
A+
its a real fun park
-  +1 votes  + Paul " PW" White › April 8, 2011
B-
Still really swamppy out there bring your boots
-  +1 votes  + TREE Sines › April 12, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Dan Brown › April 12, 2011
B
-  +2 votes  + Nate Hillenkamp › May 2, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + Scott Hill › May 4, 2011
B
A fun course - a perfect place for beginning to intermediate players. Advanced and pro players will have fun playing with just a putter or midrange. Beautiful park setting in an oak grove. With a few exceptions, this is a pretty tough place to lose a disc. Natural teepads, and some are getting a little choppy, but run-ups are not needed on many holes. No signs, but the course flows well and is very easy to follow with a map. No elevation change. As noted in many other reviews, ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Sara R › May 18, 2011
B
concrete tees please! and better drainage...
-  +2 votes  + - scottishrob - › June 4, 2011
B-
Great course. Lots of fun. No worry about losing discs. Multiple holes that will test your accuracy. A few that let you grip and rip. No elevation changes and only 15 baskets are what is keeping it from a B+ or an A-. Once it dries out it will be great for bbq and a couple of rounds.
-  +0 votes  + Ben Stables › June 14, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + WAYNE "big daddy" WALKER › June 25, 2011
B
Some of the baskets only have single chains on them.
-  +1 votes  + Ryan L. › July 6, 2011
B
-  +1 votes  + Chase Estep › November 2, 2011
B-
-  +1 votes  + Jeff Nichols › July 15, 2011
B+
FUN Course. Some cool pin placements. NO elevation changes, but the layout almost makes up for it. If there was some elevation in the mix, this would have been an A course for me for sure. Still, was a BLAST playing this course for the 1st time and I WILL play it again! Oh, Well Groomed Course. No Lost DIscs!!!!
-  +1 votes  + Steven Egler › July 20, 2011
B-
-  -1 votes  + Rick C › July 24, 2011
A-
a lot of variety for a 15 hole par 3 course. lots of places to lose your disc for beginners.
-  +2 votes  + Jason "FILLY" Fillis › July 27, 2011
B+
-  +1 votes  + Shib . › August 7, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + kelly c › August 21, 2011
B-
-  +0 votes  + Kyle W › September 3, 2011
A-
-  +1 votes  + Mike Gilbert › September 5, 2011
B
fun course but very busy with people just walking around not playing.
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Rivera › October 16, 2011
A-
Slick pads
-  +1 votes  + Mat Owens › October 17, 2011
A+
first time at this course. it is amazing!
-  +0 votes  + Vince Epker › October 20, 2011
B+
Fun but flat...nice mix of shots
-  +1 votes  + Josh Marcella › October 20, 2011
A
Great course! It's a nice place to spend your day.
-  +1 votes  + Kyle Rakoz › September 29, 2012
B
If it was a little more disc golf friendly it would get a higher score (lots of anti-disc golfers there) and they could do a lot more to improve the layout. As is it is only an Ok course.
-  +3 votes  + Erin Reichel › November 9, 2011
A+
-  +1 votes  + Dewey "DUI" D. › November 9, 2011
A
What puppy doesnt like tree's? Tree's with lotsa squirrels all over the place.
-  +1 votes  + Jared Kastleman › February 14, 2012
C+
Arguably the first DG course in Oregon. Champoeg plays mostly flat with trees. This lack of elevation change which can result in swampy terrain, as well as the fact this course is not a full 18 justifies the C+ rating. Other than that it is a beautiful, well kept course and well suited to people who would prefer a flat course for various reasons.
-  -1 votes  + John D › March 3, 2012
A+
-  -1 votes  + Grant larson › April 14, 2012
D
great if you like playing in a swamp
-  +0 votes  + Kevin Sweeley aka ONE LIVID MIND › May 28, 2012
C+
-  +0 votes  + Nick Nisbet › March 26, 2014
B+
This is my home course. It's forgiving if you're new to the sport. I have heard from a few veterans that they get bored here. I've been playing for only three months, so I like this course. They have been mowing it almost daily now that summer is in full swing. Good baskets, but they only have one set of chains, tee pads are decent, but not concrete. Champoeg will always be home since this is where I learned to play. This is a great course for introducing friends and family to our awesome sport.
-  +1 votes  + Matt Kelly › June 22, 2012
B+
-  +1 votes  + Stefan Vincent › July 22, 2012
B+
-  +1 votes  + Luke Gordon › July 30, 2012
B
-  +1 votes  + Chris "The Lip" Lippert › August 10, 2012
B+
No need to worry about lost discs out here. Pretty open all around. Some signs at the tee pads would be nice.
-  -1 votes  + Dylan Adams › August 17, 2012
A+
Love this course!
-  +0 votes  + Brad Hummel › August 17, 2012
A
This is a great course to learn on and is a lot of fun. Lots of opportunities for birdies and open fairways make it hard to lose discs. One of the best courses in the area
-  +1 votes  + Corey Dempsey › September 9, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Rick Saffeels › October 5, 2012
B
First time playing. Short layout was fine. Baskets not my favorite as my discs fell out on several putts.
-  +0 votes  + Jarrett Payton › October 19, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Jason "Rooster" Bruster › November 10, 2012
C-
-  +0 votes  + Daneger Jones › November 11, 2012
B
fun course, quick play through and easy to not lose track of discs. rubber pads get soopah slick when wet and if you get caught out there at dusk you run risk of getting locked in for the night. Killer course if you like a mix up of distance and technical without a bunch of brush and nature crowding up the holes.
-  +0 votes  + Ian Clark-Williams › February 16, 2013
B
Love this course, love the environment, just wish there some signs..
-  +0 votes  + marc b › April 24, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Nick Orr › May 1, 2013
B+
Sweet park. When I parked my car I said to myself, "You have got to be kidding me". After a round I was ready for another. the park plays surprisingly well considering how flat it is. The baskets are placed just right, and you will spend more time playing then looking for your disc.
-  +0 votes  + Matt Still Bruising Trees Bressler › December 13, 2013
B
One of my favorite local course. Very flat. A few holes over 400 feet. Good to go out and practice. Wish it was a whole 18 though. With time it will be.
-  +0 votes  + Mickey Shau Quaddix › July 22, 2013
B
-  +1 votes  + Ryan Blake › April 14, 2014
C+
-  +0 votes  + Pink Passion › July 23, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Luke Johnson › September 12, 2013
B
Great course. Everytime I have been here the grass was well kept up. I just went camping at Champoeg and they had some fairly nice shady spots. The course deserves a better rating but they could also use concrete tee pads and signage.
-  +0 votes  + Elliott N › September 13, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Gregg Sutton › September 13, 2013
B-
-  +1 votes  + Sean Davis › October 28, 2013
B-
Enjoyed this course. Great use of all the oak trees to shape routes. This is an A grade course that gets a B- because of rubber teepads, and no signage. I would also like to see better baskets or chains added to current baskets (Herbert Hoover Park style) and three more for a true 18. Looks like there is enough land for an additional 18 as well. This could be a destination type place with some work.
-  +0 votes  + Randy Mooney › December 27, 2013
C+
-  +0 votes  + Dan Beegle › January 26, 2014
C
Cool course. crowded. Every whole is basically straight ahead.
-  +0 votes  + brent kress › January 31, 2014
C
-  +1 votes  + David Aman › March 14, 2014
C+
"Friends of Champoeg Disc Golf" on Facebook is working with the State Park to improve the course. Check there for updates.