Cass Benton Hills

Northville, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + Matt Nelson › October 26, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Foor › September 19, 2014
B
Cass Benton Hills has two stories. First the good; The great course design, with a mix up 9 longs and 18 shorts. Great mix of Big bomb shots, (an epic blast off the top of the sledding hill) and some shorter technical shots weaving thru the tree areas. Unfortunately this area of land has been ravaged by Ash bore and the tree fall is on a nuclear level of destruction. Not a "pull-cart" friendly course downed tree's cover half a dozen holes. Still very playable, challenging and fun. Second ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Terry Taggart › September 16, 2014
F
-  +0 votes  + John Perry › September 16, 2014
D
i am sure this was a nice course when it was put in around 1999 i think. but now it is a zoo, vandalized joke. can still play it and it is fun but it so needs some park love and maintenance.
-  +0 votes  + Joe McConnaughhay › September 16, 2014
C+
I'm an idiot and got lost around hole 14. Met allot of interesting people in the woods.
-  +0 votes  + korey harris › August 10, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Casey Creason › July 20, 2014
B+
Pros: Challenging course with a variety of different types of shots.

Cons: Over crowded much of the time. Lots of broken glass and garbage. Large groups choke the course.

If this course was picked up and maintained I would say an A+.
-  +0 votes  + Brian Sweet › July 15, 2014
B+
Great course. mix of elevation, short, long, and doesn't favor sidearm or backhand.
Cons: broken bottles, and too many huge groups of 7+ that crowd the course. Needs to be a pay to play park to keep the delinquents out.
-  +0 votes  + Nick O › June 28, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Steve Fanzi Zaborowski › June 20, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Zac Zabolotny › June 12, 2014
B
Great course. One of my favorites. Good mix between wooded and open holes. It can get pretty crowded, but as long as you go sometime before 11am, waiting between holes shouldn't be a problem. The course is not maintained at all, unfortunately. Fallen trees are usually moved, but most benches and tee signs are destroyed or graffitied. The lack of maintenance is the only reason I didn't rate this course higher, though.
-  +0 votes  + Jeff Parker › June 10, 2014
C
Ok course but always crazy crowded and slow to play
-  +0 votes  + nick mulligan › June 10, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Adam Sinkus › June 3, 2014
C
This course is in really rough shape. There is always lots of trash around and usually large groups (8 or more) playing together in the evening.
-  +0 votes  + Sam Wallace › May 27, 2014
B-
Challenging course, but overrun by trash and downed trees.
-  +0 votes  + Alex Kliza › May 22, 2014
B
-  -1 votes  + The Man Who Wears Orange › April 20, 2014
B+
I've been playing this course for over 10 years now and the deterioration is as bad as everyone has previously said. There are a couple of weirdos, a few cranks, some old jolly fellows, those who take it way too seriously, and those who don't take it seriously enough, Of course, and most importantly, those who show up every year, or never stop, to continue their seasonal friendships and good times. Having a wonderfully designed course that's free to call home is certainly a privilege and a pain ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Brandon "cheeblii" Johnson › March 10, 2014
C
-  -1 votes  + Bill Palmer › January 22, 2014
C
Some really great design and some really fun holes but upkeep is a damn shame. Super dirty. Some baskets held up by rocks and tree stumps. A downed power line within 30 feet of one basket. Looks like at one time there was good signage but virtually all of it is masked by graffiti. Unfriendly. Freakishly busy. Really unfortunate, there's a great course in there somewhere.
-  +0 votes  + Paul Wiseman › December 18, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Rick B › December 8, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Josh Noce › November 30, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Em Germony › November 24, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + mike leslie › October 27, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Chris Landry › September 29, 2013
B
-  +1 votes  + Steve Albert › September 15, 2013
C+
This is a fun course. A few baskets are ruined, graffiti everywhere, signs are trashed, 85% of the people who play here are trash and don't use etiquette. Play before noon and don't play after a rain.
-  +0 votes  + Matt Huffman › September 12, 2013
C
-  +0 votes  + Jonathan Moon › September 11, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Jake Pardo › September 5, 2013
A+
-  -1 votes  + Josh Timm › August 27, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Michael Namet › August 26, 2013
B
-  +1 votes  + Levi Cavender › August 9, 2013
B+
Cass Benton is the first course I ever played on 5 years ago, and I have to say it is still my favorite course. It utilizes the available elevation to a very good extent, and each hole is unique enough that they don't get boring. Holes 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 14, 16, 17, and 18 also offer long and short tees to make them more challenging. I love the Chainstar baskets here as well. Now, Cass isn't perfect by any means. The course could definitely benefit from some TLC. The course is missing a lot of si ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Chris Jeffery › August 1, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + John Reifschneider › July 27, 2013
B
It's a great course that is just over used and under maintained. The holes are well designed the circles around some baskets are what I love; smaller then 10m circles make for a more technical shot that brings your skills to the front not just relying on your big arm. There are great varied shots awesome elevations, interesting open field shots mixed long distance vs technical shots honestly its a fantastic design... However it suffers from a big downside... The cons: •Crazy busy in ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Brennen Berry › July 26, 2013
A-
The course would be an A+ except for the fact that the maintenance is not the greatest. Fallen trees and branches litter the course. Still very manageable and a great all around course with a nice variety of distances and obstacles.
-  +0 votes  + Jesse Fretwell › July 6, 2013
B+
One of the best courses I've played since moving.

What stuck out:
Awesome elevation changes
fun open holes
interesting wooded technical holes
awesome people

What sucked:
vandalism and disrespect for the course
horribly obstructed paths to some holes/hard navigation

-  +0 votes  + Phil Shveida › June 20, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + David G › June 16, 2013
B-
14 had me a bit confused
-  +0 votes  + Joe S › June 13, 2013
B+
Beautiful layout, but the course is trashed, and many of the trees are down or are in the process of dying.
-  +0 votes  + Adam H › June 26, 2013
A
Great course. Yes, it has a casual problem but if you arrive before noon or a bit earlier you can usually avoid the hassle.
-  +0 votes  + Tommy Mullin › June 11, 2013
A
Lots of fun good turnout good people
-  +0 votes  + JJ Novack › June 7, 2013
B
-  +0 votes  + Jonathon Miller › June 2, 2013
A-
-  +0 votes  + Josh Houle › May 23, 2013
B+
Park need TLC #parkcleanup
-  +0 votes  + Alex Jerden › May 21, 2013
B+
The course itself has a really nice layout. Difficult shots of all kinds. Dog leg lefts and rights and long and short shots. Good Elevation changes. The course was incredibly crowded. Large groups, have to wait at most tees
-  +0 votes  + Don Slater › May 20, 2013
B-
Great variety. Kids hanging out, skipping school, but they make for fine guides if you get turned around. Lots of downed trees, but makes for good obstacles. Play in the morning; it tends to get busy in a hurry.
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Kelly › May 22, 2013
B+
not to bad today other then the destruction that people do to the course
-  +0 votes  + - Buckwheat › May 18, 2013
A+
LOVE this place! This is my 'Home' Course and one of the very reasons I fell in love w/ Disc Golf.
-  +0 votes  + Samuel Bernardy › May 15, 2013
B-
Only played this course three times, but it is well laid out. It might do some good to have a team come in clear out some foliage. Otherwise a pretty good course. Needs some TLC but worth a play.
-  +0 votes  + DETROIT J › April 11, 2013
A-
Good Times ! This IS an example of a good course . Play here for sure.
-  +0 votes  + mitchell ferrell › April 2, 2013
A+
-  +1 votes  + Ben Tayor › April 1, 2013
B
Great course layout, would be an A course if it was kept up @ all and you enjoy the line ride from southpark (see image for hole 5 if you don't get this reference)
-  +0 votes  + Shay "BonZie" Speer › March 30, 2013
B
A bit muddy still in areas, but is beginning to dry up very well. Hole 4, 9, 10, and 12 are still very wet and muddy.
-  +0 votes  + Michael Leslie › March 15, 2013
B+
-  -1 votes  + Andy Smith › March 4, 2013
A-
Really liked this course lots of cool holes too play. The elevation shots here were awesome lets you air the disc out for sure. Up hill shots,water,trees,open fairways shots a bit of it all. A little muddy but I'm getting used to that as well as snow,rain,wind and what ever else Mother Nature can throw at me. This is a must see must play course and I plan on hitting it hard this season. Good people and good park. Thank Cass for the round.
-  +0 votes  + Jonny Pomerville › February 23, 2013
B-
-  +0 votes  + Gary Frader › December 31, 2012
B
Not kept up well and tends to be over crowded when the kiddies are out of school
-  +1 votes  + William "Bullet Bill" Pope › February 6, 2013
B+
Holy Vandalism!
-  +0 votes  + Chris D › November 6, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Matthew Galloway › November 11, 2012
B-
As the dgcoursereview site states there are a few holes that downed trees cover the path the "cleared" path to the hole (which might be an issue for some). Tee numbers have been put in but most information plaques are missing and the ones that are present have a good amount of graffiti on them.

However the course was still fun to play with its many hills and "thread the needle" approaches. Would really like to see some maintenance in a few areas but I'm sure it's not being done due to lack of respect to the resource.

-  -1 votes  + Jason Riberas › October 17, 2012
A-
Playing from the long tees here is very difficult, and while playing my round I could see why so many casuals were playing the short tees. Never had problems while I was out here for my round with all the locals, lots of casuals. Elevation changes and shot placement is what is needed on this course to be successful.
-  +0 votes  + Phillip Wasilewski › October 17, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + Joey stafford › September 18, 2012
B+
A great mixture of open fields as well as wooded area's.
-  +0 votes  + Tim Beer › September 15, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + j calli › August 22, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Jeremy Reisig › August 20, 2013
B+
Cass is a top notch course, hands down. There are no complaints here, aside from the casuals. From my walk through, I saw casuals drawing on tables and throwing beer bottles around. Most signs are damaged or not there. The rampant casuals have done a number on the course to make it a shadow of its former self. This course could really use pay to play to eliminate the casuals, fix up the course, and bring out its full potential.
-  +0 votes  + Josh Bickel › August 21, 2012
A+
Love this course! Two downfalls; 1) tee signs are destroyed by the casuals, and 2) the said casuals. Great layout all around, some holes to air it out and some to lay up for the deuce. Casuals didn't bother us at all while playing but some of them definitely seem a bit shady to be hanging out on a disc golf course.
-  +0 votes  + Jacob Roberson › August 17, 2012
A
This course is great. It makes excellent use of both the woods and the elevation changes throughout the course. Both of the really long holes are fair because they are also wide open. My only problem with the course is that there is an abundance of fallen trees in the fairways. This is fine for challenge, but it makes walking the course that much more difficult. Other than that, no complaints here.
-  +0 votes  + Joel Ingersoll › August 13, 2012
B+
Home course. Played it for years, and its truly an amazing course. Only problem, WORST CASUALS EVER. Lots of people trashing the course, throwing in on people, starting fights, breaking glass eveeywhere... just put in new posts on every hole though which is a step in the right direction. Diamond in the rough
-  +0 votes  + Abram D › August 13, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Michael Hendricks › July 29, 2012
B+
i love this course expecually as a begginnger junior i am 15 and i go out and play with my mom, step dad and step brother we all have a great time out there and it isnt to long but at the same not to easy i love this course because of how wide open some holes are but how challenging others are like hole 6 "thread the neetle" very challenging but probalbly the best hole on the course.
-  -1 votes  + Kyle Wilkinson › July 23, 2012
A-
Awesome course, it was hard to find my way around when I first started going. A lot of litter, graffiti, and glass.
-  +1 votes  + Chris Evans › July 19, 2012
B+
Nice mix of tight technical wooded areas and wide open holes. Pro pads have alot of nice views for the wide open holes. but don't offer much of a benefit for the most part. Course would bet a higher rating if it wasn't for the graffiti and damage done to it by casual players...
-  -1 votes  + Anthony Rumps › July 16, 2012
C-
-  +0 votes  + Ed Carpus › July 5, 2012
A-
Been quite a few years, but this has always been one of my favorite metro detroit courses. A lot of variations in shots, lots of long holes, lots of short holes. I've heard lots of complaints about a lot of things regarding this park, but I've always had a good time shooting here and have a lot of great rounds in at this park.
-  +0 votes  + Jeff McGuire › July 2, 2012
B+
-  +1 votes  + Jessica Ferris › June 21, 2012
B-
This course would be pretty good if it was maintained. Almost every single wooded hole has tree trunks down that have to be climbed in order to continue to the next hole. Plus it's in a flood zone, so don't play immediately after it rains.
-  +0 votes  + Paul Doherty › September 17, 2012
B+
-  +0 votes  + Angel Gilbert › May 26, 2012
B
not the course i want to be playing after it has rained then the hills are way to much of a challenge to go up. but its one that i have always liked have not played this in 2 yrs though. i have heard bad things about it recently.
-  +0 votes  + jason kosenko › May 20, 2012
A
-  -1 votes  + Jimmy Jean › May 20, 2012
C-
Trashed course with a lot of rude disc golfers and a few nice ones.
-  +4 votes  + Nick Oliver › May 9, 2012
B-
I find it funny that the negative reviews have all gotten a -1 vote. There are some absolutely ridiculous groups of 7+ that go through. Now I have no issue with having fun with a group that knows the game and can shot smoothly without holding up the entire course, but there are all to often groups that are NOT respectful and consist of rookies or people who are only there to get high/drunk. These are facts. Deal with it. Garbage is seldom picked up, there is glass in pretty much every waiting ar ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Thomas Cupp › May 7, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Nicholas Stewart › May 7, 2012
B-
-  +1 votes  + Jason Hernandez › April 24, 2012
A-
Cass is my home course, eventhough I drive almost 25 miles to play it. I have been playing this course for almost 6 years. Yes, you do have to get there early to avoid a wait on the pads (before noon on the weekends, and before 3ish during the week) and yes, there is a lot of ****s that trash the course...but look past that! The hole layout is amazing! I really wish wayne county had the $$$ to keep this course in better condition, if that was the case, Cass Benton would be one of Michigan's top ranked courses
-  +0 votes  + Jason Rocks › April 8, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Zachary Ericskon › April 7, 2012
B+
A bit confusing to navigate due to the signs bening removed indacating the hole number but the locals are very friendly and willing to help
-  +1 votes  + Justin Kinsman › April 7, 2012
B+
The Course is a little confusing when playing your first time. But the locals are really friendly and happy to help you get back on track. I may be new to disc golf but I know a good Course and a Good community of fellow disc golfers when I see it.
-  +0 votes  + sherm sizle › April 2, 2012
B
-  +1 votes  + Shawn LaChance › March 22, 2012
A
I love the course. Hate the wait time!!"
-  -2 votes  + Casey Bones › March 21, 2012
C
Some mud yet to dry up. Pretty annoying.
-  -2 votes  + Corey Kieft › October 1, 2012
B-
-  +0 votes  + ken "sega salt" moote › March 12, 2012
A-
-  +0 votes  + Andy Smith › March 8, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Sebastian Hohl › March 5, 2012
B+
Winter, muddy, first time playing this course. Probably a B+ or A- in summer
-  -1 votes  + Sean Ferline › March 28, 2012
A
Chained out on 10 with Buzzz FLX rolled down the hill for a two putt par!!!!!!!
-  +0 votes  + Brian Kunnert › February 5, 2012
B
-  +0 votes  + Taylor Goik -Dirty Mitten Disc Golf- › October 7, 2011
B-
-  +2 votes  + Sean Kecskes › October 5, 2011
B
Cass is one of the courses I learned on so it has sentimental value for me but lately it's just been depressing. People and windstorms have ravaged the course. I wish I could have started earlier and seen this course in its heyday. If somebody ever adopted it though, it would clean up pretty, no doubt.
-  +1 votes  + - br33zy - › June 27, 2013
B+
Course is looking eroded with major tree damage on 7 and 12. Concentration is key due to drunk and loud casuals on every tee box.

If you love people watching at Walmart, you'll love Cass Benton.
-  -2 votes  + Holden Weber › September 13, 2011
C
Only my second round on the course and I realized how disgusting it is. Casuals are unbelievable. No respect at all. I got thrown on while putting 3 different times by three different groups. Beer cans left on the tee pad. Broken glass around every corner. The only thing I can say good about this course is that the first 9 or 12 holes are pretty fun to play if you can get around all the bullshit. I do not recomend this course to anyone. Really made me respect the upkeep of courses such as Black ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + donny v › September 6, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Adam Freedman › August 14, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Geoffrey Johnson › August 2, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + Dave Lassen › July 26, 2011
B+
-  +0 votes  + Luke Przekop › July 25, 2011
B-
Still need to clean up from last years storms.
-  +0 votes  + Adam Mitchell › June 30, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + carson parm › June 29, 2011
B+
watch out for black kids with jerseys
-  +0 votes  + brent moreno › June 28, 2011
B
very fun wooded course
-  +0 votes  + James "Razor" Rizor › June 11, 2011
B+
This course has great variety of holes: wide open, long, short, wooded, up and down. Truly enjoy the play. Do not go if you are in a hurry; there are always many people on the course. It is not unusual for groups of eight playing singles together. Its location and accessibility (its free) make it a destination for all levels of play.
-  +0 votes  + Mike Morton › June 11, 2011
A+
Its was clean and not busy believe it or not
-  +0 votes  + Michael "Birdman" Marr › June 11, 2011
B+
Fun course, had nice mixture of open long holes and short wooded holes. Had hard time finding next hole, half of holes had no signs.
-  +0 votes  + Dan Williams › June 7, 2011
A-
Being that Cass is where i got my start into Discing a few years ago i can never hate it. The conditions can be a little rough at times with long grass, trash, and fallen trees everywhere but its still a great course. you'll be challenged from both the long and short tees. Expect backups if you show up anytime past 3. All in all for a free course its one of the best ive been too.
-  +1 votes  + Scottie Reslock › June 2, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Douglas Fresh › May 29, 2011
B-
Good mix of holes, nice elevation changes. The course is dirty, too much debris everywhere.
-  +0 votes  + Ryan "RMFK" Kretz › May 20, 2011
B
Love the Layout of the course. The condition of it on the other hand is a whole different thing.
-  +1 votes  + Hunter S. Dotson › May 19, 2011
C+
This was once great course, Time and some of the worst casual players have made it awful to play. Large mobs of disrespecting and disc thieving golfers make it one of the worst to try and play. Get there early in the day to try and beat those players out there and you will still have to contend with the erosion and decaying trees. If ever you want to see what happens when the city fails on upkeep and patrolling an area for seedy activity this course is it.
-  +0 votes  + justin morton › May 18, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Lepley › May 17, 2011
A-
-  +0 votes  + Nick Vanderkolk › May 15, 2011
B-
-  +0 votes  + Eric Grinwis › May 7, 2011
B
-  +0 votes  + nick lomik › May 4, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Scott H › April 29, 2011
A-
Great course. Wooded holes, big fairway drives, and crazy elevation changes. A little bit busy and had to wait but other than that a great course.
-  +1 votes  + chris robinson › April 25, 2011
C+
-  -2 votes  + K T › April 25, 2011
A
Love/hate relationship, shame a tourney will never be played here again.
-  +0 votes  + My back is killing me › April 14, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Cavan Corcoran › April 5, 2011
B
The course layout, pro and am tees, is incredible. the shot selection of the holes is very well and methodically thought out. the course is challenging even though the years have not been very kind to this course. The local casuals can get very annoying especially from golfers who are used to going to the nicer local courses such as Hudson Mills and Kensington, but for being a free course that is not maintained barely at all by the city (the grass is mowed maybe once a month in the summer) Cass really is a gem.
-  +0 votes  + Scott Smith › January 24, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Joel Coppernoll › January 11, 2011
B+
Great layout. Tough from both shorts and longs. The course is very run down. People seem to go there to party, rather then play disc golf.
-  +0 votes  + Robert Shaffer › January 5, 2011
B+
love this course just wish we could clean it up and get it back to what it used to be
-  +0 votes  + Brian Morba › November 15, 2010
B+
-  +0 votes  + Steve Widzinski › November 13, 2010
A-
-  +2 votes  + Chadd Scruggs › November 28, 2010
A-
not knowing this course it was hard to find the start... some of the stuff didnt seem labeled the best but still not a bad course... some shady people hanging in the back trees but they kept to themselves and didnt bother
-  +0 votes  + brian fallon › October 14, 2010
B
-  +1 votes  + Mike Zanier › October 14, 2010
B+
Challeging with visually appealing holes. If you can get there for a Rooster Round COCKADOODLDOOOOOOOO you'll find no wait time and a quick round. I personally haven't had a problem with "casuals". Everyone is friendly and happy to let you play through if need be. Would be an A+ if the signs were brought back and the trash was picked up consistently.
-  +0 votes  + "Boston" Dan DePaulis DePaulis › October 12, 2010
A-
-  +0 votes  + damnitjim734 h. › October 10, 2010
A+
-  +0 votes  + Mark Grisa › November 15, 2010
B+
-  -7 votes  + Ben Calhoun › October 4, 2010
B
-  +0 votes  + Robert Radtke › October 3, 2010
A-
-  +0 votes  + Louis Caponi WPD › October 3, 2010
B+
-  +0 votes  + David P › October 2, 2010
C
-  +0 votes  + Moonraker Elite › September 30, 2010
A+
This course inspires one to be poetic. A majestic trail through a mystic forest where the sun pears down on you in a waterfall of light through the millions of trees.
-  +4 votes  + Eirik Kauserud › September 23, 2010
B
Great course. Yes terrible casuals. Bad wear in many spots. No funding from parks = no new signs or maintenance(info from another source, no knowledge of validity). With some creative changes and some maintenance this would be an A+ . Go there when there are no casuals. There are plenty other GREAT courses in Michigan to play when cass is over run by scum.
-  +1 votes  + Grant Anderson › September 23, 2010
A+
-  +5 votes  + John McAskin › September 24, 2010
A+
BEST COURSE IN THE WORLD IF...... YOU PLAY LONGS AND YOU START BEFORE 1200