BlueGill Disc Golf Course

Wayland, Michigan     1 course · 24 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  +0 votes  + Aaron J Dalman › September 3, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + Jordon Butzin › August 11, 2014
F-
-  +0 votes  + Ian R › August 11, 2014
A+
What a great course, the course was full of challenging shots both long and short the putt down the side of the hill was very cool. Thank you Joe for letting Alan and I come out and a special thanks to Randy for showing us the course. If you come across an innova wolf in your pond I'd love to get it back. (: Thanks again!!!
-  +0 votes  + Ken B › July 31, 2014
A
Great course! Lots of hills, some water, and great hole diversity make this a gem of a course! The basket placement is near perfect, with alot of risk-reward shots.You will have to use every shot in your bag and hit alleys with pinpoint accuracy to score well here. Last time I visited Joe had 6 tees cemented in and I was told 8 more at least were going in before summers end. If you are lucky enough to play here, be sure to thank Joe for his wonderful upkeep and amazing course! Thanks Joe!
-  +0 votes  + James W › July 31, 2014
A
Love this course!!!
-  +0 votes  + Tim Kolt › July 30, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Steve Hatter › July 24, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Brad Brundage › July 8, 2014
A+
Definitely one of the top 3 courses I've played. Everything about it is amazing!
-  +0 votes  + Jordan Welch › June 30, 2014
A+
Awesome!!!!
-  +0 votes  + Tommy Kathan › June 19, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Jordan Snyder › June 16, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + Caleb McCullough › June 16, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + Chad Cole › June 16, 2014
A+
I'm not sure it's even possible to offer anything as perfect as Joe's course. It destroyed me, but was worth every extra last second of it. If you can pal well here, there's absolutely no place else in Michigan that will give you troubles. BlueGill makes Flip City seem easy. If you ever get the chance to play it, I'd highly suggest you jump at that chance. I will definitely sign up for another tournament there just to play it.
-  +0 votes  + DREW Vander Wege › June 16, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + Forrest Omland › June 14, 2014
A+
Thank you for this incredible course Joe.
-  +0 votes  + Adam Person › June 12, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + Tyler "The Chosen One" Frisbie › June 10, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + Andrew McBride › April 16, 2014
A+
I love this course first time playing it today and it has such beautiful sceanery and the course has a bunch of different technical shots. If you make a mistake and get off the fairways on some holes good luck making par but other than that i loved the course and defeintly recommend it to any disc golfer to try to get out there and play it if you get permission.
-  +0 votes  + Jacob Beck › March 2, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + Ryan VandenBosch › February 8, 2014
A+
-  +0 votes  + William Weideman › October 1, 2013
A+
-  +1 votes  + David Burkholder › October 1, 2013
A+
By far my favorite course!
-  +0 votes  + Dean Cugs › September 28, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Rob DeHaan › September 24, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Ben Goodrow › September 18, 2013
A
Let's start off this by giving Joe credit, he does a great job of keeping the course clean and well groomed. The course has a great mix of technical holes, water holes, as well as long open holes testing all areas of a golfers game. There are a few signiture holes including hole 3 which is a short shot down a tunnel of pines, hole 9 which has you throw off of a cliff just to the inside of a pond, and many other memorable holes. If you get the chance to play this course, take it.
-  +0 votes  + Nate Best › March 11, 2014
A+
Absolutely amazing course that challenges every aspect of a golfers skill set. Great scenery, variety of obstacles including water, elevation, tight lines, and distance. By far one of my favorite courses.
-  +0 votes  + Cody Ferrier › September 15, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Nick Gill › August 22, 2013
A+
There is every shot. Fair for a righty and lefty. Also it is a rewarding course for the person that throws thee best shot and cannot rely on a lucky break here and there. Awesome!!!
-  +0 votes  + Chad Shine › August 21, 2014
A+
Best course I've ever played truly a beautiful place and by far the most challenging course around
-  +0 votes  + Chris Jeffery › June 11, 2014
A+
Outstanding course!
-  +0 votes  + Andy Semanson › August 14, 2013
A+
Beautiful course thanks joe for letting us play!
-  -22 votes  + Redmon "aces" D › July 29, 2013
B-
No course that's private with less baskets than holes should be called an a+ it's bull that the rating system can be high jacked like that only players how already are pre approved to play can even give a rating it's bs and an admin should fix this loophole
-  +1 votes  + Joshua M Barnett › July 24, 2013
A+
fun, challenging, clean, beautiful, elevation, technical, water, american flag on top of pin. amazing.
-  +0 votes  + Bren Crowe › July 22, 2013
A+
-  +2 votes  + Dan Sinkey › July 22, 2013
A+
Everything I've heard about the course is totally true it's amazing !! The owner is one of the finest of people . He would probably open it to public but he wants to have a life beyond running a discgolf course plus the minimal traffic is why the place is so pristine !
-  +0 votes  + Jason Ponchahar › July 4, 2013
A
Just a great course! I could go on and on with superlatives, but I will just say it was great I was able to play this course.
-  +1 votes  + Ryan Wheeler › July 4, 2013
A+
A Oasis for Disc Golfers
-  +0 votes  + Jason Rocks › June 26, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Skyler stoker › January 6, 2014
A+
It's bluegill if you know you know if you don't you should.
-  +0 votes  + Kyle Hinkle › June 6, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + christopher rogalewski › May 30, 2013
A+
wow best course ive ever played.....now that's playing disc golf....
-  +0 votes  + Wayne bregg › May 27, 2013
A+
Awesome course and an even better owner
-  +0 votes  + doug smith › May 26, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Brandon Lyons › May 26, 2013
A+
-  +1 votes  + Nick Kohn › May 1, 2013
A+
Wow, this course is just awesome. i cant think of anything negative. this is probably the best course in Michigan
-  +0 votes  + Travis tullis › April 15, 2013
A
This is by far one of my favorite course and is also one of the best I have ever played with tons of natural beauty. Huge thank you to Joe gill for sharing his beautiful course with us.
-  +0 votes  + andy schroeder › April 14, 2013
A+
Best course uve played at. Can't wait to gi back
-  +0 votes  + Brian Fitz › September 27, 2013
A
Great course nestled in the buetiful rolling hills of west Michigan. This 24 basket course with alternate pin locations, challenges every skill level and forces you to pull all your best shots out of your bag. BlueGills offers elevation change, hyzer/an hyzer, a few water hazards, plenty of birdie opportunities, and a couple Ace runs. I will change my rating to an A+ when the concrete tee pads and tee signs are complete. It does help to play BlueGills with a Veterian, or follow the green pai ...
continue reading ›
-  +0 votes  + Mike Wolters › March 23, 2013
A
-  -1 votes  + Corey Kieft › March 23, 2013
A
-  +0 votes  + Connor Gortsema › February 17, 2013
A+
Wooh buddy way too much to say about this course. All shots are fair, well thought out and reward good shots and punish errant shots, but still give an oppurtunity for recovery (extremely important, since "just because you had a bad drive, doesnt mean you serve the five"). Some shots here are so scenic it will blow your mind. Its not stupid hard either. ive seen people shoot six or more down before. But this isnt a BS course, bring you A game.
-  +1 votes  + Victor Wahl › January 10, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Jayson Chapin › December 26, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + David VanLente---Big D › September 17, 2012
A+
beautiful course that challenges EVERY shot in your bag! from wide open to tight and narrow. Joe is an awesome host! Definitely the best course in the state...maybe nation! Thanks Joe!!
-  +0 votes  + Blake Ingalls › September 17, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + Tim Vos 3 › September 16, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Brian Basinski › September 5, 2012
A+
I've played over 30 different courses in 6 different states and this hands down is my favorite yet.
-  +0 votes  + Andy Holt › August 8, 2012
A+
-  +0 votes  + Zachary Vaughn › July 26, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Daniel J Lee › June 28, 2012
A+
-  +1 votes  + Mark Oller › June 20, 2012
A+
awesome course. great variety of holes.
-  +0 votes  + Chris Granger › June 18, 2012
A+
Best I've ever played.
-  +0 votes  + Emily Wood › June 15, 2012
A+
hit your lines or this course will eat your dics!!!!
-  +1 votes  + Shaun Albrecht › June 14, 2012
A+
i have never been as happily challenged by a course as i am every time i throw here.
-  +0 votes  + Dave Davies › June 13, 2012
A+
Awesome land, awesome layout, and fantastic owner. Thanks for giving us a tour of the holes this morning, we really appreciated it. Will definitely be back!!
-  +1 votes  + Luke Fleischmann › June 12, 2012
A+
Better bring every shot in your bag.
-  +1 votes  + Mitch Hubbard › June 4, 2012
A+
Just plain awesome
-  +1 votes  + Mike Durco › May 28, 2012
A+
Amazing course! So much fun and challenge on every hole. 24 holes of awesome disc golf.
-  +0 votes  + Darius Leverette › April 19, 2012
A
-  +0 votes  + Will Boekeloo › June 27, 2012
A+
So sick... thank you Joe for making such an awesome course.
-  -1 votes  + Andy SmithFactory › April 2, 2012
A
-  +1 votes  + Tim Wiersma › February 17, 2012
A+
Perfect
-  +0 votes  + Marty McKibbin › January 28, 2012
A+
My first time to Bluegill and it left me wanting more of it !! Beautiful land great layout , well maintained and just plain SWEET! I The course tests every shot in your bag and some you might not know you have. Great course !!
-  +2 votes  + Jared Dow › December 27, 2011
A+
As Mark's review states - every mistake is punished...keep your cool or you'll be punished again and again...and once more for good measure. Bluegill has a lot of memorable holes that are not only awesome, but test your skill. Flip has some nice scenery but Bluegills is just as nice, especially when you hit the garden and water holes. Flip is a great course but comparing Bluegill to Flip is like comparing Cedar Point to Candyland. The pin placement is spectacular and almost nerve racking. O ...
continue reading ›
-  -1 votes  + Alex Grimes › December 26, 2011
A
-  +1 votes  + Bryce Balcer › November 8, 2011
A+
This course is awesome. It will test your ability to perform every shot possible in a single round. It has a ton of elevation, water, deep woods, pine and open holes.
-  +0 votes  + Jerry Thacker › June 27, 2013
A+
-  +0 votes  + Katie Pickell › October 10, 2011
A
beautiful but it kicked my ass!
-  +0 votes  + Scott Johnson › October 10, 2011
A
-  +0 votes  + Mitchell Winters › October 9, 2011
A+
-  -1 votes  + Jim Fries › October 9, 2011
A+
Bluegill is the sweetist course I have stepped feet on. The varity of holes keeps u on your toes. All of the elevation change is amazing and challenging. When it comes to the ponds u better b on top of your game or you will b wet, and I think that is what makes it better than flip.
-  +0 votes  + Dustin Humphrey › September 21, 2011
A+
Best course around!!
-  +0 votes  + Sam Smigiel › September 15, 2011
A+
What else could you really want out of a course? There are big open holes, tight wooded shots, aces runs, long bombs, tons of elevation, water shots....perfect. This course is maintained so well and I'm really glad I got to shoot it. Thanks Joe!
-  +0 votes  + patricio gonzalez III › September 9, 2011
A+
words cant say enough.
-  +0 votes  + Matt Blocksma › September 8, 2011
A
absolutely beautiful. to think i grew up 10 minutes from there and its def one of the best courses ive ever played. thanks for the invite and thanks for having such a gorgeous course in michigan.
-  +2 votes  + Andy Bawol › September 6, 2011
A+
I was afford the opportunity to play BlueGill on Labor Day after the long weekend in Ludington. After calling Joe and getting permission he told us he wouldn't be able to show us around and we may get lost. Once we arrived he drove up on his cart and showed us around anyway. Joe Gill is nothing short of an excellent host. The only word I can use to describe this course is "phenomenal". Joe takes great care in maintaining his property, and what a plot of land it is. While Joe was showing us h ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + robert ramsdell › July 27, 2011
A+
The best our state has to offer.
-  +1 votes  + Jav Kowalski › June 28, 2011
A+
-  +3 votes  + David Hedstrom › June 1, 2011
A+
Bluegill is a true labor of love and is one of the best courses in the country let alone the state. Bluegill has every type of shot/ hole you could possibly desire. Uphill and downhill bombs, shots over water, through rows of pines, big 600 and 700ft open bombs. OB ropes defining fairways. Bluegill is disc golf heaven. If you ever get a chance to play here make sure you respect the property and Joe, he has spent a lot of time and $ making the course what it is today.
-  +2 votes  + Brian Hunt › May 12, 2011
A+
Best. Course. Ever.
-  +1 votes  + Matt Elgersma - Team Frisci Disc › May 5, 2011
A+
this is one of my favorite courses, it is very technical and if you don't hit the gap your screwed, if you want to get better at disc golf this is the place to be, Blue Gill provides the most variety of shots I have ever seen, with a sweet 24 hole layout, great place, great host...overall amazing!
-  +1 votes  + Dan Bienkowski › May 2, 2011
A+
The course is amazing. You dont even have to be a fan of disc golf to appreciate the overall property the course is on. Much thanks to Joe for being a great host.
-  +1 votes  + MEAT BABY › May 2, 2011
A
Sweet place. MUST have permission to play
-  +1 votes  + Kyle Goodwin › April 11, 2011
A+
-  +2 votes  + Nick Bosovich › December 27, 2013
A
One of my favorite courses. Technical layout with elevation, water, open long holes, short technical holes. You name it, this course has it, very unique. Joe the owner is awesome, regularly gets the discs out of the ponds and will return them!
-  +0 votes  + Steve Hedstrom › June 10, 2011
A
Bluegill is a private course. If you get to play Bluegill, you will likely need an invite from Joe, know someone who has played there, or play at a tournament there. It is a treat of a disc golf course if you do. Bluegill has excellent pin placement on 24 holes. Land has open, left, right, woods, water on 4 holes. Multiple holes would be signature holes on other courses. Very fun to play. Both birdie opportunities and some holes that you can easily get 4, 5, or 6 if you are off the fairway ...
continue reading ›
-  +1 votes  + Zach Straayer › October 23, 2010
A
-  +6 votes  + Dave Milewski › October 11, 2010
A
This course is a roller coaster. The greens rival Flip City for the toughest putting conditions in Michigan. You will throw every single shot in your bag off the tee. The same goes for saving par on your upshots. Even the holes that seem straight forward are lined with intimidating OB rope. All of this in one course puts Blue Gill in the top 5 in Michigan. The course designers are obviously seasoned golfers who knows what pros want.
-  +13 votes  + mark ellis › October 10, 2010
A+
One of the best courses in the state. One of the best courses in the world. Every skill and shot are challenged and every mistake punished. The recent addition of yellow rope Out-of-Bounds, (lots of yellow rope OB) makes the long driving holes much more intimidating. It takes design genius to understand how to make fair challenges for players of every level and on this course power is of no help without precision. The topography is superb with big ponds and steep hills and many baskets ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Brian Cole › October 9, 2010
A
After two rounds for the Fall Color classic, I've got to give this course a near perfect A. Great pin placement, variety of shots, water hazard, ob/bunker hazards. Shots are technical and challenging, forcing you to play your best. Rough is very rough, which is a bonus (private course gets less play, doesn't change from year to year). In my opinion Flip City is more forgiving, making it more fun for a wide range of skill levels. Makes the most of beautiful land, and host of the best tournamen ...
continue reading ›
-  -13 votes  + josh king › September 19, 2011
B+
im sure donations and helpers would come out of everywhere for cement pads
-  -2 votes  + Tyler Sherman › April 11, 2012
A+
-  +3 votes  + Nick Crow › October 7, 2010
A
Great course. Awesome land to work with out there. Some great holes for every type of player. Long and open, long and tight, water, woods, elevation, duece options. What more could a golfer ask for. Thank you Joe Gill for the work and allowing the rest of us to enjoy the property.
-  -2 votes  + Shaky jake › October 4, 2010
A
This course overall is amazing. yesterday was my first day playing the course it was a great time with live music playing thanks joe. as far as the course go it has many deffernt shot types downhill, uphill, tight, open left, right. some of the pins have great pin postions where is do or die on the putt. i could probably go on about this course for hours ill just simplly say it is right there with flip as the best course in michigan
-  +2 votes  + Brad Ascherman › September 30, 2010
A+
-  +3 votes  + Jeff Kuehle › May 30, 2012
A
everyone donate so we can get concrete pads and it can be rated A+! Thanks Joe for letting us play your amazing course!
-  +0 votes  + Wade TF › September 29, 2010
A+
Blue Gill is the best.
-  +3 votes  + Luke Balcer › September 29, 2010
A+
-  +3 votes  + Joe Gabris › September 28, 2010
A+
-  +3 votes  + Greg Festian › September 23, 2010
A
-  +2 votes  + Daryl Davis › September 23, 2010
A
Awesome course. I just wish I could stay out of the water. LOL