Belle Isle DGC

Detroit, Michigan     1 course · 18 holes     Driving directions

Course reviews

Log In or Sign Up to review this course.
Most votes   |   Newest first   |   Oldest first
-  -1 votes  + Brandon Ulewicz › November 12, 2011
C
19 hole layout... This (C) is a literal average rating. Loved playing on the isle, gorgeous views, especially when the freighters are sailing by. Being able to see downtown Detroit and Windsor really makes this place awfully special. Some unique and fun holes, and very challenging overall. Difficult basket placements really make you concentrate on accuracy. This course tests your skills in moderate to extreme wind situations. Belle Isle is a fantastic place for a new disc golf course, and I am w ...
continue reading ›
-  +6 votes  + Fred Vocino › October 31, 2013
B+
Time folds into itself when I play at Belle Isle. My father, as a teenager, jumped safely off the main bridge on a $5 dare. Personal memories over the decades include a Ren-Cen-less skyline, hippie trips, wild pygmy deer, and a free-style tournament in 1978. I played DG with my long separated God-son this year. The advocates/activists supporting this course deserve credit for more than inspiring this one Senior Grandmaster; they are placed within the positive forces of a Detroit revit ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Eric Sledz › October 28, 2012
A
Awesome temporary course , multiple water shots along with a few aceable ones. Like the layout alot , also some good views of detroit skyline, They had mats laid out for pads, but everybody prefered natural right next too them. But no complaints for a temporary , hopefully it will turn into a permanent one sometime soon
-  +4 votes  + Bob DeCumen › October 28, 2012
B
If you build it, ...they will come.
-  +8 votes  + Paul Doherty › October 29, 2012
A-
They did a great job of building the course around the natural landscape. Good use of water that makes you think twice about what shot you want to throw. Nice variety of long holes that allow you to air it out, and short holes that challenge your precision. Weather was rough, but that wasn't a surprise considering it was late October in Michigan. Wind made even routine putts and approaches into more difficult shots that you could cost you a stroke. I would like to see this tournament played a ...
continue reading ›
-  +3 votes  + Michael OConnell › October 29, 2012
A-
This course has tons of variety and is amazing, all it needs is to be permanent!
-  +0 votes  + Joe S › October 30, 2012
B+
-  +2 votes  + Up In The Air Disc Golf › December 23, 2012
A+
Obviously I rate this an A+ because of all the work its been out there for me to get it ready but the course is now open permanently as a post course including a few changes. We have 18 holes with 3 par 4's and 3 par 2's, the rest are par 3. Each hole is equipped with a long and short pad. From the longs you will experience a tuff par course playing through multiple elements and selecting lots of plastic from your bag to get you through the variety that is offered here. The shorts provides a sim ...
continue reading ›
-  +5 votes  + Chris Haag › January 30, 2013
A+
I may be a bit biased with UITA for having some dirty hands in this thing, but every time I walk out there I see more and more potential. There aren't many urban courses throughout the country, and none that I know of on an island park designed by Frederick Olmsted. There are long fairways for the big arms, and plenty of technical shots for guys like me that are never going to drive 500 feet. A covered bridge, a canal, and the best group of devoted supporters I've ever scene. Truly honored to be a part of it.
-  +3 votes  + Andy Smith › February 5, 2013
A+
As well as some of the other reviewers I have to give an A+ to the course something I've been lucky enough to be a part of the building process! Love the layout of the holes and water&wind make for some real challenges! You can be in a down town area one minute and on a totally over grown island the next! Would love to see baskets down there permanently but like to see the post stay as well! Risk&reward holes for the techies. I look forward to putting in more work on the corse and to hopefully getting it to permanent status this year! Get down to check it out!
-  +0 votes  + William "Bullet Bill" Pope › May 18, 2013
B+
-  +0 votes  + Mitchell Bailey › June 7, 2013
A
This just plain and simple is a great course. Baskets are going in and over time once this pace gets beat in it has the potential to be so much better. There is a good overall hole layout challenging but still very payable for everyone. The scenery is absolutely beautiful. The only downside I see of this course is the grass is a little overgrown but I'm sure it will be more maintained over time. All in all I would recommend this course to anyone I've personally helped in the establishment and think it was very well done.
-  +0 votes  + Patrick Costyk › July 27, 2013
A
Might be a bit high for a true rating of the course, but the lay out uses the property just about perfectly, had a blast for my first round out there and glad to call it my home course! 15 of 18 baskets were in 3 post still play well, should really figure out something else for the 17th hole when you guys actually drop that on in, a bit water logged in that area. Great job!
-  +0 votes  + steve nolff › November 4, 2013
A-
First round.
-  -3 votes  + Ben Tayor › October 25, 2013
F-
cant review a course that IS NOT OPEN...WTF
-  +0 votes  + Sean Mannooch › January 27, 2014
B+
-  +0 votes  + Ryan Ripaldi › July 3, 2014
A
-  +0 votes  + Brain Evans › July 12, 2014
B-
Nice layout lots of potenial course needs to be played on to beat down the rough. There a couple signature holes there once the pads are in and it's maintained
-  +0 votes  + Ben Jackson › July 12, 2014
B
I really like the new layout this year. The course needs a bit of tlc but there's been a lot of improvements from last year.
-  +0 votes  + Rob Dahmen › July 12, 2014
B
The fairways are still a little high, and the rough is unbelievable! Spotter are recommended on many of the holes just so you don't hold things up. Bugs aren't so much an issue, but long pants or high socks are recommended to keep from getting all scratched up from the rough. The layout is great though!! There is a drastic difference between the longs and the shorts on some holes. Once the course is played some more and the paths flatten out (very lumpy right now) I can see this being an A rated course!
-  +0 votes  + Geoffrey Johnson › July 16, 2014
B
once some traffic makes its way through the course and the rough isnt crazy im sure my rating will go up.
-  +0 votes  + Eric Guimond › July 31, 2014
A-
Great potential, very cool location with a nostalgic feel.
-  +0 votes  + Cody Barz › August 1, 2014
B+
fairways are well groomed, but the rough is still very thick - likely to lose a few discs if you aren't careful.
-  +0 votes  + Brad Fuelling › August 3, 2014
B+
needs concrete tee pads to be an A but what a great course
-  +0 votes  + Brian Morba › August 4, 2014
A-
Course is in fantastic shape due to some serious course maintenance
-  -1 votes  + Jeff Griffiths › August 7, 2014
B
Fun to play, still needs work. They charged 4 bucks to play. I hope that money goes to cement tee pads. Way to easy to lose discs without a spotter because the rough is really high, and the water shots are difficult. Footing is messy which makes it more difficult. For tournament play, it would be fun. For casual play, it's not worth it. All in all, nice course
-  +0 votes  + Steve Albert › August 10, 2014
A-
-  +0 votes  + Ricky D › September 10, 2014
A-
I'm glad to see that mast newly established courses I play are getting longer- with technicality involved as well. The designers of this course really used what was available well as far as pin and tee placements. I'm giving it an A- because I see potential in this course. It still has a long way to go before it is in the A average, but I know it will get there so I'm just rating it that now. Beware there is P.I. EVERYWHERE off the beaten paths! This is something that I hope will be taken care of immediately.
-  +0 votes  + Don Slater › September 15, 2014
B
-  +0 votes  + Devon Kearney › September 21, 2014
D
I give this course a D. My reasoning is because of how confusing it is to get around and how it's maintained. I was there today 9-21-14, and was very disappointed. The guy running it was a nice guy but the course sucked. There were beer cans, signs to holes laying on the ground, abandoned buildings, bottles all over that looked to have pee in them. I lost 2 discs in the big body of water. I was lost for 5 minutes walking from hole 11 to 17. With more work it could be good but I don't think I'll ever go back.
-  +0 votes  + Joe McConnaughhay › September 23, 2014
B+
Course has allot of potential. We played the day after a large rainfall. A few spots still had standing water. Loved the abandoned buildings and the old willow trees. very neat!